ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 5 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #571

Jun 032015

Fusion

  • 36,325 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle suddenly lost power, malfunction caution light illuminated. Did not lose power steering or brakes, but could not accelerate beyond 5 mph, if at all at times. Engine shook/vibrated very badly. Nearly rear ended by another car. Activated 4 way flashers and was able to pull of highway into shopping area. Any type of gas pedal pressure did not help. Let car sit for 10 minutes, restarted engine and no issues while slowly drove around parking lot for a while to ensure no issues. Do have a letter from Ford for extended warranty, customer satisfaction program 13N03 to get the throttle body device replaced, but I consider this a hazardous condition. Will now take to dealer and demand this be replaced before any other occurrences,

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #570

May 292015

Fusion

  • 59,800 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled and the service vehicle soon warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,800.

- Mather, CA, USA

problem #569

May 142015

Fusion

  • 79,784 miles
Well just purchased this car a month ago and already in the shop. It was jerking and losing acceleration as I was pressing the gas also it shut off on me while I was driving. The check engine and wrench light came on. So I did a vehicle report on the car and it brought up the engine, transmission diagnostics. Also the recall for the throttle body. Since I have warrenty I took it to the shop where they say it was the transmission. Changed it. Picked it up today still doing the same thing and light still on. Have to take it to the Ford dealership where they can check the throttle body. Called them and told them the issue, they telling me it's just saying I have a warrenty. So I had my fiance call and they said for us to call in the morning. They giving me the run around. I don't have money to waste. I have 2 children I have to get back and forth to school. I have classes I have to get back and forth to. When I purchased a car I didn't expect this. Second time purchasing a vehicle. Never had a problem. This problem needs to be fixed I can be driving with my children and god forbid this car continue to malfunction.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #568

May 162015

Fusion

  • 38,218 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I tapped the gas after I stopped at a stop sign & the car revved really high but didn't go anywhere. Then the 2nd time I was on the highway the car revved really high again & again went really slow, like something wasn't catching. I'm glad the highway was empty because I could've caused an accident

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #567

May 162015

Fusion

  • 83,000 miles
I was driving down the highway at approximately 65mph and came up behind a truck doing about 50mph. I changed lanes and went to pass the truck. As I passed the truck my car accelerated slowly and seemed to not switch gears at the right time, causing a hard shift and a "chug" feel. I passed the truck and slowed down to 60mph and as the car shifted again, it caused another hard shift and "chug" feel. This seems to be a common issue with Ford Fusion. Mine didn't start happening until after the PCM update recall that was done on 2/26/15. I took it into Ford after it happened the first time and they told me that since there is no wrench on the dash and no check engine light with a code, they can't find anything wrong and cannot replicate the problem I described to them. This is ridiculous that many cars have an issue but it looks like since there is no one that has been significantly injured or killed in an accident due to it, that it isn't being fixed. Please recall this and fix it before someone loses their life from this.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #566

May 062015

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles
Car had sudden deceleration, loss of power, waited about 30 seconds and tried to restart. Car restarted and parked due to safety concerns. Did some research to find that nhtsb is failing to issue recall but Ford has voluntarily agreed to fix and extend warranty. The dealer is playing dumb about it being throttle body issue even though it is supposed to be fixed free under Ford csp# 13N03 and had the exact symptoms as described. This item should be recalled as it is a serious safety hazard on the vehicle.

- Killingly, CT, USA

problem #565

Apr 202015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,523 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 04/13/2015 I experienced rapid deceleration while driving home form work on the highway and the wrench light came on the dash. I called the dealership and made an appointment to have the problem looked at on 04/15/2015. While driving home from work on 04/16/2015 the problem happened again so I called the dealership and made another appointment on 04/17/2015. After about an hour they couldn't find any error codes and failed to replicate the issue. They told me to drive the car and hope it doesn't happen again. Since then the problem has occurred on the following dates: 04/18,4/19,4/21. I ordered the part myself and will do the repairs myself since I can't wait until a complete failure happens. That would increase the chances of causing a serious accident.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #564

Apr 182015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,387 miles
I had been driving for about 5 minutes and traveling at about 45 mph when I felt a reduction in power. The vehicle did not respond to movement of the throttle pedal. Vehicle speed slowly reduced and we braked to a stop at a junction. The vehicle was running rough. The vehicle had almost zero power when pulling away and I had to pull over to allow following traffic to pass. Speed increased slowly over 2 miles of driving to 40mph. Lack of power was again experienced at the next stop junction. We arrived home 1 mile later. In my opinion the limp home mode is totally unacceptable. We were lucky that we were on local roads with little traffic around.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #563

Apr 082015

Fusion

  • miles
I was stopped at a 3 way stop. As the car started moving I could not steer the car. When I finally stopped the car I was partially in a someone's yard with a culvert and telephone or electric pole only 2 or 3 feet from me. I thought the car had gone dead. I tried to crank the car only to realize it was still running. I then put the car into reverse and backed out. That was when I realized the steering was the problem. The advance track system then came on. After reading the manual I was hoping that it was due to us having put new tires on the week before. When we took the car to our mechanic he said that Ford would not sell the part and we would have to take it to a Ford dealer. Needless to say it is costing $1700 to repair this. There was a new motor put in the vehicle when it was 2 1/2 years old. It also went out with no warning whatsoever and Ford told us this was the second car they had this happen to.

- Bremen, GA, USA

problem #562

Feb 022015

Fusion

  • 70,000 miles
Ford Fusion transmission oil leaks from left side half shaft area. Had transmission work done at 30,000 from screwed up transmission. Was told seal was too small and Ford new and would replace if those affected brought in for repairs. Now at 70,000 miles, leak as listed above with trans slip as so many posted on internet and going through the same situation. Ford will not repair since they have not been informed that it is a recall item. How many do you need to get this fixed before it becomes a danger driving and trans slips when cold and have to keep filing trans fluid. I bought brand new and still in my possession. Car taken well care of in my possession.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #561

Feb 022015

Fusion

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford Fusion transmission oil leaks from left side half shaft area. Had transmission work done at 30,000 from screwed up transmission. Was told seal was too small and Ford new and would replace if those affected brought in for repairs. Now at 70,000 miles, leak as listed above with trans slip as so many posted on internet and going through the same situation. Ford will not repair since they have not been informed that it is a recall item. How many do you need to get this fixed before it becomes a danger driving and trans slips when cold and have to keep filing trans fluid. I bought brand new and still in my possession. Car taken well care of in my possession.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #560

Mar 292015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Upon accelerating from a full stop at a red light the car entered "limp" mode (would not accelerate, but I could still steer and the engine was still on) and the wrench light appeared on the dash. I already had the dealership perform the throttle fix of the 2014 recall on various Ford models of 2009-2012.

- Ladera Ranch, CA, USA

problem #559

May 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving at 55 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to two independent mechanics who diagnosed that the vent canister kit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 6/3/15 updated 10/3/2017

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #558

Mar 122015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 71,075 miles
Driving the car home from the dealership cruising down the highway and suddenly the car just would not accelerate any more. Scary feeling when your cruising at 55 and suddenly the car would not stay at highway speed. It would still idle but it idled roughly. You could push down on the pedal but it would do nothing. It just lost all power so I had to quickly pull onto the shoulder of the road. Good thing no one was following me to close. I called the dealer and they sent out a tow truck. I had to get a ride home and the car went back to the dealer for repairs. Turns out that the throttle body sensor quit working.

- Cecil, WI, USA

problem #557

Mar 102015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I was driving about 30 mph on a two lane, rural road when suddenly my 2010 Ford Fusion started sputtering, coughing, jerking. The car slowed down to a crawl and would not respond to my pressing the accelerator; then the engine shut off and a red-wrench light appeared on the dash. I cranked the car again; in park, the engine sounded fine, but when I placed it in drive, the sputtering and coughing started again. I drove a few feet, again without any response from the accelerator, and the car shut off again. I repeated this three times, all to the same effect: Drive a few feet, engine is coughing, sputtering, jerking, then engine shuts off. After the third time, I cranked it, but while still in park I revved up the engine as high as I could (accelerator to the floor). After that, when I put the car in drive, there was no coughing, no sputtering, no jerking, accelerator responded smoothly. I was able to drive home (half mile) and park the car. But I am terrified the problem will happen again--this time in heavy traffic or even on the interstate--and the engine may again stop without warning while I am driving along. I am even too afraid to drive it to the repair shop. A scary dangerous car.

- Woodstock, AL, USA

problem #556

Mar 062015

Fusion

  • 149,000 miles
I was driving at approximately 60mph on a highway and the engine suddenly revs but all the power is gone. The engine couldn't maintain a gear and started decelerating in the middle of traffic while the little service wrench light came on. I had to quickly get off the road and to safety before I was run off it.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #555

Sep 142014

Fusion

  • 46,219 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 10 mph, the engine stalled without warning and the wrench warning light illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart but the failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,219.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #554

May 302014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 42,356 miles
While driving at speeds over 30 mph the engine will loose power and the rpms will drop and then rev back up. This happens when there is a quick acceleration, like merging onto the freeway, pulling onto a busy street. The worst experience happened just last night, March 2,2015. I was accelerating from a stop on to a busy street and the car stuttered and shook as if it was a manual transmission. I had no control over the speed of the car and traffic was coming towards me in both directions. Out of nowhere the vehicle clicked into gear and accelerated. We replaced the throttle body last year and are still having the same problems. Replacing the throttle body has made no difference. This vehicle is completely unsafe to drive in its current condition.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #553

Jul 312013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 98,500 miles
The first time I noticed something wrong I was trying to pass a slower moving car. I turned the signal on, moved over to the passing lane, went to accl. And the car basically red lined and went no where. So I don't pass and god for bid pull out in front of faster moving cars. Now, after driving across town, and it gets up to normal running temps the car has trouble shifting around 3rd through 5th gears. It lurches like it would if a new driver in a manual transmission might do, until you let off the gas and I guess let the motor catch up.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #552

Dec 012014

Fusion

  • 78,000 miles
Wrench light comes on. Ford is trying to say it's covered because the wrench light is on, and then bring you in to the shop to pay $2000 for a valve body in the transmission. They are pulling the wool over the NHTSA by making it seem like they have covered it when it's something entirely different. Should have bought a Nissan. Basically the car doesn't accelerate. Come the time I might get hit by a car, I wont be able to accelerate properly.

- Royersford, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?