ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
58,337 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 22)

problem #430

Jul 012018

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL-takata recall- the contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) and 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The crossroads Ford of indian trail 8587, 88 dale jarrett blvd, indian trail, nc 28079 (704) 912-0560 was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer were made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Wingate, NC, USA

problem #429

Dec 072018

Fusion

  • 135,676 miles
TL the contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving various speeds, the check engine indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to cavalier Ford greenbrier (1515 S military hwy, chesapeake, va 23320) where it was diagnosed that the evaporator purge valve needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the same dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel vapor vent valve failed and the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V79300 (fuel systm, gasoline). The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 135,676.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #428

Dec 142018

Fusion

  • 150,000 miles
Filled car with gas a couple of weeks after replacing canister purge valve began to smell fuel. I took the car into the dealer on 14 December 2018 for the air bag recall and asked to have the fuel smell checked. The technician told the tank was cracked and needs replacing. He showed me with the car on the rack that fuel was leaking from the top of the tank.

- Sheffield, AL, USA

problem #427

Apr 012017

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car has a capless fuel system but my check engine light keeps illuminating after I fuel up and stays on. I have had the code that appears tested and always comes back as a "missing or loose gas cap " which clearly is immpossible since it does not require one, when I called my Ford dealership they informed me that they are aware of a problem with it but would cost $700-1000 to fix the issue and Ford will not issue a recall. It's alarming that my check engine light stays on for a silly problem and have no way of telling if something else is going on with the cr since the light is always on. I should not have to pay up to $1,000 for a Ford faulty system

- Willimantic, CT, USA

problem #426

Nov 202015

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) and 16V384000 (air bags). The dealer (gene messer Ford lubbock, 6000 19th South, lubbock, tx 79407, (806) 793-2727) stated that the parts were not available and did not know when they would arrive. The manufacturer was contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #425

Jun 202018

Fusion

  • 173,100 miles
Takata recall I got a recall notice about my gas tank leaking fumes. I took it to a Ford dealer and they told me that it was fine and that they did not have to replace it. I thought that if there is a recall that they had to replace the defect the date it happen is when I bought

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #424

Mar 012017

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed today there is a Ford recall for 2012 through 2018 Ford Focus for a faulty part that could lead to engine stalls. The recall states a malfunctioning valve that could result in inaccurate fuel level readings and potentially engine stalls or an inability to restart the vehicle. This is exactly what I have been experiencing in my 2010 Ford Fusion. While I am driving and start to slow down at a stop sign or to turn the corner the engine stalls and jerks and then it goes away until the next time I slow down or turn. I believe this to be the same situation as the current recall for the Ford Focus.

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #423

Oct 032018

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall I was driving and the car began to slow down rapidly. I was unable to control where I was going and unable to accelerate or decelerate. I have no control over the vehicle when this happens. It is not an all the time problem, but does happen very often. The check engine light comes on when it happens and the car accelerates briefly before instantly shutting off. The wrench symbol also comes on before this all takes place. I could be using cruise control or just normal driving and it happens in both situations. The vehicle tends to do it no matter where you are such as a high way or on a regular city street. I have had the vehicle checked out numerous (six) times to see why it does this. The mechanic hooks it up to the computer every time and states there is nothing wrong but then resets the symbol lights so they go out. The car will be fine for a week or so and then do it again! it is scary when it happens and I try not to drive the car due to this issue. How can you fix something the mechanics state is not broken? something isnt right with the vehicle and something needs to be investigated to see why it does this! it can not only be my car!

- Dubois, PA, USA

problem #422

Sep 262018

Fusion

  • 180,000 miles
Took my car in for the fuel tank recall. The dealer replaced the purge valve and said they inspected my tank, which was good. I was not able to fill my tank full until 5 weeks later and when I did I went straight home and smelled gas very strongly. My car was parked for about an hour and a half when I noticed a huge puddle under it which turned out to be gas. It leaked a quarter tank out! I immediately called the dealer and they told me they couldn't get me in until Thursday, this was Monday. The car sat until then. I drove it to the dealer Thursday. They submitted paper work and pictures to Ford. Friday they heard back from Ford stating they needed to drop the tank to take better pictures. The dealership was not able to do this until Monday. Monday came, Tuesday still no word, and finally on Wednesday I get word saying that Ford denied the recall and are not paying for it. The whole point of the recall was that the purge valve in the canister was building up pressure and cracking tanks. But they denied it. I called Ford's customer line and was connected to a very rude man named ryan who acted like I know absolutely nothing about cars when in fact I have worked on (specifically Ford) cars for over 20 years. He refused to let me speak to a supervisor and then proceeded to tell me that the supervisor would tell me the same as he did. I am very upset. My car is not fixed from the recall and they want me to pay $1000 for a new tank that cracked at the seal from their faulty part.

- Almont, MI, USA

problem #421

Nov 202015

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) and 16V384000 (air bags). The contact called towne Ford of redwood city at 650-366-5744 (located at 1601 el camino real, redwood city, ca 94063) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect for 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) and VIN tool confirms parts not available for 16V384000 (air bags).

- Belmont, CA, USA

problem #420

Sep 022018

Fusion

  • 83,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this vehicle a week ago from a well known dealership. I was told the car was tested and had no mechanical problems. It had clean carfax and one owner. After having the car a few days the engine light came on and the car started surging and I lost accelerartion and ability to keep car on the road. I barely made it home and am fearful to drive it. I think there is a problem with the gas tank or similar component. The dealer said it was sold as is so now I have to pay for repairs that should have been detected and fixed. I am seeing other owners of this vehicle having same issues. Ford needs to issue a recall for this. Someone is going to get seriously hurt. I get dialysis 3 times weekly and thought this car would be reliable. Now I will be paying for repairs.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #419

Aug 102016

Fusion

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the check engine indicator illuminated and the vehicle hesitated when started. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the canister purge valve (cpv) needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was also taken to billy howell Ford Lincoln (1805 atlanta hwy, cumming, ga 30040, (770) 887-2311) where it was inspected per NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) in August of 2016. At that time, the contact was informed that no leaks were found on the cpv fuel tank. The contact called the dealer again, but was offered no assistance since the vehicle was previously inspected under the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 105,000.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #418

Jul 252018

Fusion

  • 85,200 miles
When accelerating uphill a gas smell permeates inside car

- Helena, AL, USA

problem #417

Jul 142018

Fusion

  • 150,000 miles
Car dieing while driving down the road

- Lagrange, GA, USA

problem #416

May 092018

Fusion

  • 10 miles
Every time I push my brakes to stop, my brakes goes all the way down to the floor. I've replaced my master cylinder and my brake booster but it's dong the same thing.

- Hazel Crest, IL, USA

problem #415

Dec 012015

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
Check engine light stays on as well as check fuel fill inlet message. Obd code shows small emissions leak. The check engine light will occasionally disappear on its own and the check fuel fill inlet message will also go away, but both always reappear eventually. This car has the capless fuel inlet.

- Benson, NC, USA

problem #414

Dec 012017

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles
Started bout December 2017 put gas in read hundred ten miles to E maybe bout 75-80 miles later be 10 miles to E smell fuel especially when idiling

- Georgetown, DE, USA

problem #413

May 012015

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning numerous times. The vehicle was taken to priority Ford Norfolk (7520 N military hwy, Norfolk, va 23518) where fault code P1450: "unable to bleed up fuel tank vacuum" was found, which monitors the fuel vapor vacuum and pressure in the fuel tank. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #412

Apr 202018

Fusion

  • 210,000 miles
I have a 2010 for Fusion. I have had it for 2 years now and it recently started leaking gas a few weeks ago. It is leaking from my tank by the rear passenger tire and it leaks mostly when I fill up or put at least 3/4 tank of gas in the car. I see that there was a recall on my car for this very issue and I am trying to see if it were too late for me to get it looked at as a part of the recall

- Pittsboro, MS, USA

problem #411

Mar 052018

Fusion

  • 73,000 miles
Recall 15V793000: Fuel tank cracks and leaks fuel. 03/05/2018 my car had check engine light on. I checked it at Firestone service and it showed code P1450. They found that valve cover gasket was leaking. Iżve been told that this is a recall and I have to go to dealer. While I waited 3 weeks for appointment with dealer my check engine light went off and they just charged me for test and didnżT do any repairs. Also they told me that my car was not recalled. Right now I have check engine periodically on for couple days and after that off.

- Hayward, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?