6.8

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
$150
Average Mileage:
33,650 miles
Total Complaints:
15 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. new battery (10 reports)
  2. check fluid levels; replace battery under warranty (2 reports)
  3. not sure (2 reports)
  4. revamp electrical system so it doesn't drain the battery (1 reports)
2016 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #15

Dec 202019

Accord EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Replaced an 11 month (new) Interstate Battery. This is the first time that I had a battery die pre-maturely. Nothing was left on inside the car and the car is garaged. Yes, it was a little cold but the car was not outside. I replaced the original battery at the 3 year mark, which I believed is normal. But I think this is a problem because it definitely died pre-maturely. I will update this post if it dies pre-maturely again. From what I am reading, this is becoming a common problem. Funny that I didn't have this problem with a previous Honda Odyssey and Civic...

- Tranquilina P., pomona, CA, US

problem #14

Dec 122021

(reported on)

Accord Sport 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 34,934 miles

Decided for the 3rd time replacing the Honda battery to go with an AGM battery that can handle being recharged a lot and last much longer. Purchased a Die Hard AGM battery with the exact same size and CCA specs Honda had prescribed for the vehicle. Much more expensive however, the extra price has paid itself off in my opinion preventing premature replacements. It has been 14 months, I have put 11,000 miles on the vehicle and the AGM battery is still going strong. Periodic battery checks render the voltage staying at proper levels at or above 12.6 volts depending on how long the car has sat. Decided to check the AGM battery today, pulled it out of the vehicle for a winter check up and perform a slow float charge all day on the bench. The Cold Cranking Amp (cold weather starting) rating on a Honda battery for my vehicle is 435 CCA. I tested this AGM today and it was at 339 CCA and needed a charge however, it was putting out the correct voltage to properly start my vehicle. Not very cold in Phoenix, AZ. Also found a loose ground wire not properly secured under the battery box. Looked like a main ground wire from the factory wiring harness. Cleaned it up and properly re-secured it. No problems so far. The Conclusion I have made is the battery size and charging management system for this particular Honda Accord was not calculated or calibrated correctly by engineers when designing and building this car. There is a parasitic draw from all the electronics when the vehicle is shut off and the charging system is not correctly monitoring the health of the battery and supplying a sufficient charge long enough when the engine is running to properly maintain and preserve the health and life of the battery. I have to live with checking and charging the battery (regardless of which brand or type) every 6 months to ensure the vehicle battery is reliable to start the engine especially in colder weather. A larger replacement battery from the store or dealer will only make it worse and make the battery fail sooner. The replacement battery at the dealer was larger with more CCA and it failed sooner than the smaller factory battery originally equipped because the computer doesn't know the replacement battery is larger, so the charging system does not compensate in my opinion. Buy an AGM battery to the vehicle factory specs and keep an eye on it, pull it out every 6 months and charge it for a day on a slow charger. keep the terminals clean. If you find yourself prematurely replacing batteries, take a look under the hood, look for loose wires, you'll be surprised at what you might find.,

- monty4169rm, Phoenix, AZ, US

problem #13

Jan 122019

Accord Sport 2.4L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,366 miles

First time it occurred on January 12, 2019 at 7300 miles. Second time on January 26, 2020 at 23,383 miles. Took it to Advance Auto parts and got a better battery after reading about all of the issues, because the battery is weak and gets worse when it's cold. Don't go to Honda - they will give you the exact same battery and you'll be back to change it out.

- Teneal H., Lawrenceville, US

problem #12

Sep 182020

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Battery died last year when using the accessory electrical system to listen to radio while vacuuming the car.

Dead as a doornail. Replaced by Honda just before end of 3 year warranty. Yesterday 9/18/20 vacuumed my car again. Same thing happened, but Honda would not pay for replacement or HONOR THE 100 month warranty on their replacement from the first time after 12 months, saying it was covered under the original 3 year warranty!!

They need to fix the problem which is draining the battery on accessory rather than to ignore this continuing problem for Honda owners. Not pleased with Honda's customer service when they know it has been a problem for for what I have read 6 !! years. Shame on you Honda. The other option I see is to never vacuum my car again.

- Lucianne C., Charlotte, US

problem #11

Sep 012020

Accord ES 6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

My Battery has died and been replaced twice, now on 3 and it is dead again today. I took to Woodland Hills Honda and they said they couldn't find anything. They said it is because I'm letting it sit that the system drains the battery - which I find hard to believe. I drove the car 1 week ago for over an hour and today 1 week later the battery is dead again. It is infuriating and doesn't seem to have a resolution as I am at home because of covid.

- John B., Reseda, US

problem #10

Aug 202020

Accord EX 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 51,750 miles

Battery was 48 months old on a 100 month battery, half price for the battery but $68 to install it. Honda should use a 24F series battery in all of the Accords not the 51 series in the 4 cylinders. Bought the v6 battery tray, box hold down bolts and clamp online from Honda and bought a 24F series battery from Napa.

- Michael K., Port Jervis, US

problem #9

May 172019

Accord EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1st time it happened on 02/06/2017 mileage was 9410. 2nd time 10/25/2018 and 3rd happened yesterday on 05/17/2019.

- Jagdeep M., San Jose, CA, US

problem #8

Dec 082017

Accord Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

I leased a new 2016 Accord Sport, March of 2016. Throughout the fall of 2017 the car died and needed to be jumped several times (Original Honda battery still in it). The final straw was when the car stranded me and my kids at the gas station. I tried to jump it like normal and it wouldn't start. I called my insurance to have it towed home (5 minutes away) and the tow driver jumped it. It started and he told me to drive it home and get a tech to look at it the next morning. I ended up replacing that battery (a year and a half old) and put in a new battery in October 2017.

Now, April 29, 2019 I am being told that my dash maintenance indicators that are all on are as a result of the sensors not getting enough power from the battery? So if I replace this battery, it will be the 3rd battery installed in this 2016 Honda in 3 years??? This cannot be normal? I have checked for recalls on my VIN and it is not covered by the only battery recall right now which is for the battery case not covering the battery enough and water is causing shorts/malfunctions and possible fire hazard? I have seen hundreds of complaints of batteries in these 2016 Accords and Civics.

Does anyone know a way around replacing and having Honda cover these batteries? This is a $27k car! 3 batteries in 3 years is ridiculous, and NOT cheap! Thanks!

- Brandi O., Troy, US

problem #7

Jul 252018

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

The first time the car didn't start, July 2018, I had driven about 200 miles the day before, but I had been using both of the car's USB ports to charge my electronics. I assumed that my use of the USB ports was the culprit for draining the battery, because it should have been charged after driving so far the day before. I found a fellow motorist to jump me and I haven't used my car's USB ports since.

About a week later, there were 2 mornings where the car started, but it took longer than normal to turn over and I suspected the battery again. At this point I went and bought a portable battery & jump start kit so that I could jump myself if I needed to without having to wait for another motorist, in case it wouldn't start.

The following week (2 weeks after the first time my Accord didn't start), it didn't start. I jumped myself with my new jump start kit, drove around for about 30 minutes, and didn't have any issues starting it for the rest of the day. I called the dealer in Napa, CA where I bought my Accord new, and since I was out of town, they recommended I contact a Honda dealer that was closest to me.

I called the nearest Honda dealer in Fairbanks, AK, and they explained that even though my car is only 2 years old, I'm past the 36,000 mile warranty (I'm at 55,000 miles). They quoted me $170 to replace and install a new battery. The battery is either draining too fast or it isn't holding the charge. I'm on a road trip, so I'm definitely driving enough to theoretically keep the battery fully charged every day. I haven't used the USB ports since the first incident.

I do not leave the lights on, and I turned the radio and AC/ heat off so I don't know what could possibly be draining it over night. Also, the overnight lows where I have been on this trip, haven't dipped below freezing. The average morning temp when I attempt to start the car and need to jump myself has been 43 degrees F with humidity.

- ss2016, Napa, CA, US

problem #6

Jun 072018

Accord Touring V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,122 miles

The vehicle is 2 years old and for a battery to die...is ridiculous. It wasn't winter the beginning of summer and my battery only had 10AMPs..

What is Honda doing?

- reddrumm, Nyc, US

problem #5

Dec 102017

Accord Sport 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 11,870 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I drive this car maybe 2 times per week. When I do drive it, I put some miles on it and enough to keep the battery charged up (in theory).

Car sat for about 5 days and yes, it is cooler outside but nowhere near freezing in Phoenix, AZ. I went to pick up my son from the airport and the car was slow to crank over like the battery was weak. I disconnected the battery, cleaned the terminals, charged the battery on a charger, re-installed the battery and problem solved. Should not be happening over 5 days on a new car that is less than 2 years old. Honda is not making cars like they use to, that's 100% for sure.

Update from Jun 5, 2019: Battery replaced May 2019 under warranty.

Battery was soo dry, I could not see water inside the cells (not good)

Battery not holding proper charge, correcting fluid level did not resolve problem

- monty4169rm, Phoenix, AZ, US

problem #4

Jan 142018

Accord EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,100 miles

Car is two years old. I didn't drive it for about a week, and temps got cold. Battery died, car wouldn't start. A jump brought it back to life, and I drove it for about an hour to charge it. Because the battery was only 2 years old, I took it to our mechanic to see if there was something wrong with it. They said it was low on charge, even after an hour's driving, and charged it fully at their garage. They were surprised it went dead so quickly. If it dies again, I'll have to take it to the dealership (ugh).

- twitchly, Plymouth, US

problem #3

Sep 042017

Accord Sport 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 11,410 miles

Battery Died ...Went out to start, cranked over slowly, but did start up, then I drove it for about 5 miles, went to retry started fine, Made it home, car sat over night, went to start car in the morning, did not crank over was dragging, I had to put it on a charge. once fully charge started up just fine, however after siting for approx 6hrs went to start again same non crank issues. Replace the Battery, issues gone. Car cranks, starts fine.

- Michael A., Jacksonville, US

problem #2

Sep 012016

Accord Sport V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

The dealership has replaced the battery twice. We have to keep jump starting the car. I guess if I had a penis, the dealership would listen. WE ARE NOT LEAVING ANYTHING ON TO DRAIN THE BATTERY.

- Jennifer R., Fayetteville, US

problem #1

Oct 122016

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,899 miles

I purchased a brand new Honda Accord from Curry Honda in April 2016 and in October I went to crank up the car for work and nothing would start. Called Curry had the car towed to them and it was the battery, completely dead. I could not believe I was left stranded with a brand new car purchase. this was the first issue.

- Wendy S., Covington, GA, US

Not what you are looking for?