CarComplaints.com Notes: It's rare when a newer vehicle has defect trends. Judging from the identical 2017 model year, the 2018 Honda CR-V is likely to have at least two — overfilled oil levels with a gas smell, & heat not working.

Both problems affecting the Honda CR-V's 1.5L "Earth Dreams" engine appear to be related to cold-climate regions.

CR-V owners report overfilled oil levels due to fuel in the oil, & sometimes a gas smell in the cabin. That problem appears to be related to fuel injection which Honda hopes to fix via a software update. Honda so far has only conducted a recall in China & a "product update" in Canada.

CR-V owners also report no heat even after warming up their CR-Vs for 30 minutes — not even enough to defrost the windshield. So far, there has been no fix from Honda for this issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,140 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2018 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2018 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 19)

problem #375

Apr 022021

CR-V

  • 12,575 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since new, engine intermittently stalls for a several seconds and then recovers with a burst of acceleration. Happens mainly at intersections when stopped or rolling at a very slow speed and turning either left or right. Dealer cannot diagnose the problem, and I cannot purposely duplicate the problem at will. However, it averages happening every approximately once per week. It happened 4/2/2021, on a heavy traffic loop and caused a fender bender accident. This could have been a major accident resulting in serious injury or death. After investigation, I find engine stalling is a common problem with this model Honda.

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #374

Mar 222021

CR-V

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while his daughter was driving up hill at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle decelerated and stalled with several unknown warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to thelen Honda (1020 N. euclid ave, bay city, mi 48706, (989) 402-0532) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the turbo needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. The VIN was not available.

- Roscommon, MI, USA

problem #373

Mar 252021

CR-V

  • 30,000 miles
Dilution of the engine oil with gasoline, causing level to rise. Smell of gasoline outside vehicle. Dealer says Honda techline told them this is normal. My VIN is not part of Honda's extended warranty as an answer to this issue.

- Clinton, MT, USA

problem #372

Mar 162021

CR-V

  • 39,271 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I star the car and drive the yellow warning light stay on and the red light blink and not go off. All warning light. (tps, collision mitigation problem, emisiN syst. Problem, electric brake problem, etc.). aslo this happen already 4 times before. Couple times I use my brakes when I was drive and I felt that the car no stop righ at time and almost hit the other car. Also I change my motor oil and the old one is mix with gasoline and is more volume that I put in. Also some time when I drive the car star to stalling.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #371

Sep 182018

CR-V

  • 0 miles
Unintended acceleration from stop. With the engine at normal operating temperature, transmission in drive, and the vehicle stopped at a stop sign or traffic light, when I remove my foot from the brake pedal, the engine RPM instantly and abruptly increases from 700 RPM to approximately 1000 RPM. The vehicle moves ahead suddenly with no pressure on the accelerator pedal, and can reach a speed of 7 mph on level pavement. The same acceleration occurs when I am moving very slowly into a parking space or garage and my foot is pressing lightly on the brake pedal -- the engine RPM increases suddenly and the vehicle "jumps" ahead, requiring increased pressure on the brake pedal to prevent acceleration. I believe that this condition constitutes a safety hazard because the driver does not expect the vehicle to move ahead with no pressure on the accelerator pedal, and therefore the vehicle could impact the vehicle ahead of it, a wall or parking barrier ahead of it, or a pedestrian crossing in front of it. I have taken the vehicle to two Honda dealers for this condition (September 25, 2020 and March 12, 2021). The first service report stated "system scan found no dtcs, road tested and found all normal." The report from the second dealer stated "check and found normal/proper operation." This condition has existed since we bought the vehicle (new) on September 18, 2018. I firmly believe that this condition is not normal and has the definite potential to cause damage to the vehicle, other vehicles, property, or pedestrians. Honda should be required to fix this problem.

- Charlotte Court House, VA, USA

problem #370

Feb 202021

CR-V

  • 83,000 miles
While driving all warning lights on the dash came on and the car shut down. Honda diagnosed the intercooler and turbocharger assemblies needed to be replaced. Car is undriveable.

- Cedar Falls, IA, USA

problem #369

Mar 121021

CR-V

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Many times I start and drive the car and the yellow warning lights stay on and and also the red light brake keep blinking. When this hapen cruise, presure tires malfuncion. One the las time I parked and turn off and when I tried to star again the brakes stay engaged and no go any wheare. I have to disconect the batery 2 times for reset the alarms. Also when I drive low speed the motor start to stalling. When I changed motor oil I smelled gas and old oil is mix with gas and is more volume that the original

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #368

Feb 232021

CR-V

  • miles
3wks feb23, 2021 I purchased a 2018 Honda CRV I was looking at some customers that complaining about oil deletion in the engine, I'm very worried because I do get a gas smell inside my car, from the exhaust and when I check the engine oil dipstick. It doesn't show as a recall but it is very concerning and I'm worried the vehicle would burst into flames.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #367

Feb 082021

CR-V

  • 106,000 miles
TL the contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. the contact stated while depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle failed to respond. The contact stated that several unknown warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed with needing the fuel injectors to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 106,000.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #366

Feb 092021

CR-V

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle loss motive power and stalled with several unknown warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that there was an abnormal sound coming from the engine. The contact coasted the vehicle to the shoulder of the roadway and turn the ignition to the off position. The vehicle failed to start and was left on the shoulder of the roadway. The following day the vehicle was towed to ashland Honda (2301 lake shore dr. E, ashland, wi 54806, (715) 682-5252) where it was diagnosed that the turbocharger was under boosting and needed to be replaced. Additionally, there was an issue with oil consumption. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000. The VIN was not available. ## VIN failed ## 2018 Honda CR-V ##

- Gordon, WI, USA

problem #365

Jan 242021

CR-V

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving a short distance, driving slow as I was in my subdivision my vehicle started jerking, it felt like it was going to stall, the engine light came on and started flashing repeatedly. I noticed a bad odor. I was only a minute or so from home and driving slowly, maybe 10 or 15 mph. The sputtering, jerking and flashing engine light continued the rest of the way home. I got half way up my driveway and it felt like it was stalling so I stopped and shut vehicle off. A strong burning smell continued and I noticed smoke coming out of the passenger side exhaust pipe.

- Blasdell, NY, USA

problem #364

Dec 242020

CR-V

  • 63,000 miles
I have a 2018 Honda CRV ex. The check engine light came on with the emissions system problem warning at times, and at other times, all warning lights came on simultaneously. At times it drives fine while one or all these lights are on, but twice when I was driving 30-40 mph, I have lost power, having to pull off to the side of the road.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #363

Jun 112020

CR-V

  • 40,000 miles
Driving car on slight uphill grade a a misfire occurred causing a flashing check engine light. Throttle control was defeated by design and the car came to a stop in a lane with no shoulder and semi trucks behind me. Was able to cycle key a few times and throttle control was restored until car misfired again and same thing happened again. Talked to local Honda service department and was told that what happened is by design, to protect the catalytic converter in the event of a misfire..this is a dangerous design flaw. There are other ways to protect the catalytic converter and still leave the car running with at least partial power. Many manufacturers simply cut fuel delivery to the cylinder that is misfiring, leaving you less power but still safe to drive.. this problem is a simple fix for Honda with a reflash. This dangerous situation was created by a simple spark plug issue on one cylinder.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #362

Nov 192020

CR-V

  • 25,800 miles
Entered the vehicle and began to drive. The problem lights all appeared as driving: Steering, tire pressure, emergency brake, engine. The car stalled as driving and steering was made difficult, did the der der der noises. I felt endangered with my children and puppy in the vehicle.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #361

Jan 152019

CR-V

  • 1,000 miles
Recently after purchased 1/2019 noticed oil level was 3/8" over high mark. Reported to local Honda dealer and they said its normal to have gas in the oil. Also car emits smell of raw gasoline both in cabin when stopped. Also smell raw gas in garage and sometimes in our house while car is parked. After more investigation found that others were having problems tool

- Oconomowoc, WI, USA

problem #360

Oct 212020

CR-V

  • 114,533 miles
About a month ago, I was parking my CRV and all of my dashboard warning lights came on. My cruise. Lane keep assist other features are completely disabled when this happens. My dealership states I need fuel injectors. I have done research on this problem, and Honda is very aware of this fuel injector problem. They actually put an extended warranty in place on the powertrain to remedy this. Unfortunately the powertrain warranty does not cover fuel injectors.on one occasion. Nov. 3 2020, my car stalled while going 70 miles per hour on the highway. Afterwards I smelled a strong fuel smell in my car. I have smelled this odor several times, however Honda says this is not a safety issue. I bought the car Jan. 2020. It had 89K miles on it. I did not think this new car would need an extended warranty. So Honda wants over $1100 to put fuel injectors in. I have read online about the many issues with the 2017 and 2018 crvs. The dream motor is a problem and Honda knows it. I guess it will take someone dying before anyone will pay me any attention. Honda says this is not a safety problem therefore I am assuming it is safe to drive, as I have to have my car. I am a nurse and travel on my job. I have no cruise, lane keep assist, lane stability or any of those features. I dont know how this car will pass inspection like this. Please help me. Google problems with 2018 CRV......Honda knows all about it. I have already filed a complaint with them. Please advise if seeking legal counsel will be beneficial to me. Thank you.

- Kings Mountain, NC, USA

problem #359

Mar 192020

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2018 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to engine shutting off, defective heater, gas in the oil.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #358

Sep 282020

CR-V

  • 40,000 miles
I keep smelling gasoline and having to get oil changes well before 5,000 miles. I believe that gas is getting into the oil. I have complained to the dealership service department and have been told that there is no fix available. I fear that the engine is going to give out soon.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #357

Sep 092020

CR-V

  • 20,000 miles
On two occasions the engine lost power and there was a strong smell of gasoline inside the car. The vehicle was in forward motion on a busy highway. This occurred on two occasions within the past two weeks. Symptoms are indicative of an abnormal oil dilution problem with this vehicle.

- Edwardsburg, MI, USA

problem #356

Jan 252020

CR-V

  • 56,752 miles
Vehicle dashboard gave multiple warnings while in motion on the highway; the Honda sensing system no longer functioned at this time. Took to nearby independent mechanic who narrowed malfunction to ECM. Took car to dealer who replaced vsa modulator. After approximately 30 days, vehicle would not start; engine starts but shuts back off immediately. Vehicle was towed to dealer; body control module was replaced.

- San Jose, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?