10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
30 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
38 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,905 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #142

Sep 052019

Civic

  • 278,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph with the cruise control activated; the cruise control turned off automatically twice, the contact then turned turned it back on each time. The air bag warning light then illuminated and soon after the vehicle's air bags deployed. The contact lost control of the vehicle as the failure occurred. The contact regained control of the vehicle, pulled off the highway and inspected the vehicle. The contact stated that there was no visible damage to the vehicle other than a cracked windshield. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to his home. The dealer nor the manufacturer have been notified of the failure. A VIN search showed that there where no recalls on the vehicle. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 278,000.

- Sebastian, FL, USA

problem #141

Feb 012016

Civic

  • 0 miles
TL- the contact owned a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact states while she was stopped at a traffic light, when the front driver and front passenger air bags deployed on it's own causing her to crash into the side walk. The contact stated no warning lights were illuminated. The contact states she sustained minor injuries and did seek medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not drivable. The vehicle was towed to her residence and then towed to unknown location. The contact called local dealer kelly Honda located at 540 lynnway, lynn, MA 01905, (781) 595-5252, where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer has been informed of failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- Everett, MA, USA

problem #140

Jul 022018

Civic

  • 188,000 miles
Complaint: SRS light illuminated - cause 32-1-X (X=0-9/A-F) open or increased resistance in the right side airbag inflator. Repair is not covered by Honda because "right side airbag inflator (in the seat, not the dash) not covered under the warranty extension" - repair estimate quoted at "around $1,200" at this point, the only issue is the light is on. This is true anytime the ignition is in the on position regardless of vehicle disposition. I opened a case with Honda usa (case number 09737616, and they denied coverage.

- Barre, VT, USA

problem #139

Jul 032019

Civic

  • 205,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was told my car needs an inflator but that it is not covered under recall. Why does this car have an airbag issue that is not covered? 802 Honda, in montpelier vt has replaced the drivers seat belt buckle twice and each time the airbag light goes out but now they say it needs a right side airbag inflator in the seat which is not covered by the recall and they gave me a repair estimate (range) of $1,000 to $1,500. This is a safety issue and should therefore be covered by recall. Additionally, there was a recall on the visors which fall into the line of sight when driving as a result of splitting apart which should also be covered but there was an expiration on that recall. The safety issue is the same regardless of whether the car is six years old or 16 and regardless of the mileage so this too should be covered by the manufacturer.

- Barre, VT, USA

problem #138

Jun 052016

Civic

  • miles
I have had my passages airbag recalled twice and ever since the last time - the airbags light goes on all the time and Honda 1) charges me - 2 times to even look at it since it wasn┐T a recall and 2) want me to pay to fix it. It a very common problem and they cause it by recalling it twice and wreaking the connection and says it's my problem - please read Honda strive bulletin 10-001 put out on 12/12/10. The SRS inductor comes on and dtc 32-10 is stored - Honda needs to fix this!,,

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #137

Jul 152018

Civic 4-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owned a 2006 Honda Civic. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact crashed into a tree. The air bags deployed and metal fragments were ejected. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard where it was deemed destroyed. The dealer and manufacturer were not contacted. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact suffered brain damage due to the metal being embedded in the front teeth and skin. The contact also sustained a broken orbital, reconstructive surgery, neurological damage, two broken ribs, and a collapsed lung. Medical attention was received. The failure mileage was approximately 190,000. Updated 11/27/18

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #136

Aug 242018

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: We have not heard back from Honda regarding repair of our son's Honda takata airbags. Our case # is 08936577.

- Eden, NY, USA

problem #135

Oct 202012

Civic

  • 65,000 miles
This vehicle was involved in an auto accident in 10/2012 and was labeled as totaled by the insurance company. Airbags deployed when car his railing on highway.

- Baldwin Place, NY, USA

problem #134

Jul 302018

Civic

  • 185,000 miles
Takata recall: I have had an airbag light on several times. I was told by the dealership it is an inflator code and I will have to pay for a $1,200 repair. On two occasions the seatbelt was replaced. Somedays my light is on, others it is not. There is a recall and there is a technical bulletin but my car is "not impacted" that is untrue. It absolutely is. The vehicle is presenting the same codes as those in these bulletins and recalls and it should be repaired at Honda's expense, not mine. Furthermore, the driver side sun visor is broken but it was not repaired before the end date of the recall (I did not own it then) and now that I own it I am told it is not eligible. I contest, the issue is as much of a safety issue for myself and others on the road in 2018 as it was when it was issued. This too shoulde be replaced at Honda's expenxe not my own. The airbag light goes on and off at will when moving, on city street or highway, turning or going straight. The sun visor does not go out of my line of sight as a result of the failure. This too happens anytime, any where, at any speed, and on any road.

- Barre, VT, USA

problem #133

Jul 312018

Civic

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. While driving approximately 15 mph, another vehicle accelerated through a red light and "T-boned" the contact's vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed. There were minor injuries, which did not require medical attention. The dealer (martin Honda (298 East cleveland ave, newark, Delaware 19711, (302) 738-5200) was made aware of the failure. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was serviced in September of 2017 per an unknown takata recall. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 132,000.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #132

Jul 042017

Civic

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V030000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to Honda of staten island (service manager, jeffery pasenkoff, 1232 hylan blvd, staten island, NY 10305, 718-720-0075) where the air bag recall repair was performed. Three months later, the air bag indicator illuminated and went off. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the same dealer where a courtesy diagnostic test was performed. The technician diagnosed that the passenger side "curtain air bag" failed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the contact would be responsible for the repair cost. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #131

Sep 202017

Civic

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V030000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer (lundgren Honda of greenfield, 409 federal St, greenfield, MA 01301) where the passenger side air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired on September 15, 2016. The contact noticed that the air bag indicator illuminated on September 20, 2017. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Sunderland, MA, USA

problem #130

Jun 042017

Civic

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. When the contact sat down in the vehicle and closing the driver side door, the driver side air bag suddenly deployed without warning. During the incident, the vehicle was parked and the key was not inserted in the ignition switch. The contact suffered an injured neck, which required medical attention. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer and local dealer (harden Honda in anaheim, ca) were notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #129

Jul 252016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall, propellant wafers degrade over time. See attached for details. I first received this safety recall notice in July 2016. I then contacted Honda. The phone representative contacted herson's Honda located in 15525 frederick rd, rockville, md 20855 and set up a phone appointment. When I spoke to herson's the poc told me that the replacement part is not available and dealership will contact me once it arrives. He also mentioned that it could take more than 90 days. As of today, I have not received any call from the dealership. I am not sure what is going on but I do not think Honda is taking this safety issue seriously.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #128

Apr 072017

Civic

  • 306,160 miles
As I was driving straight down rt 102 West bound in Rhode Island, in the left lane of a two land road in roughly the 30 - 40 mph range with my 7 month old toddler in the car seat in the back seat, the side air bags on the driver's side of the car deployed while the car was in motion for no apparent reason. My car was not in an accident and did not hit a pot hole or a bump in the road. It was a smooth drive up until I head a loud bang and was smacked in the side of the head while driving the car, when the side air bags deployed. My driver's side seat belt is locked up as well. I was left with a temporary red mark on my neck and a ringing in my ears. After 3 hours the hearing in my left ear has yet to return back to normal. I do not know why the driver's side airbags deployed or what component is the cause. This incident engaged my safety and the safety of my child.

- Narragansett, RI, USA

problem #127

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brisbaine, CA, USA

problem #126

Mar 272017

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall this recall has been active since May 23, 2016 and here we are nearing 12 months later and "remedy not available" language still being displayed.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #125

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall received letter from Honda July 2016. More than 60 days have passed. It has been approximately 260 days so I'm reporting this egregious affront to my family's safety.

- Graham, NC, USA

problem #124

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- West Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #123

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sunland-Tujunga, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?