ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,342 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Honda Civic engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Oct 062017

Civic

  • 87,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have experienced acceleration problems for over a period of 3 months, similar to those listed by other Honda owners online. Most recent incident occurred on 11/27/2017,10/6/2017,10/9/17 and in other several occasions when operating the vehicle and its inability to perform in a safe matter has greatly troubled me concerning my safety and the safety public. The following occurred on that day, while I was making a left hand turn crossing lanes of traffic and car would not accelerate when the gas pedal was being pushed all the way to the floor, nearly causing an accident. The car also launches forward while in the drive gear or on reverse after it has been parked for several hours. On other occasions, when pulling into or out of the garage/driveway the car clunked and lurched ahead. On other occasions the car has unattended gas control issue, the car also reaches top speeds of over 37 mph without even touching the gas pedal once. This now happens daily, I have taken it to the dealership and they tell me this is a normal function of the car when I know that this is not true. I have owned several cars and I know this is not normal. I no longer feel comfortable driving this car because it is unsafe. I have reached out to the manufacturer and I feel they keep giving me the run żaround. I have also taken the car to the dealership where I purchased it, but they say there is nothing wrong with it. I have also contacted the manufacturer (american Honda) requesting a field engineer have not been able to get any resolution and IżM getting nowhere with them. This car is dangerous to drive I fear for my safety and my families as well as the public safety. I have no other means of transportation and renting a car is not within my budget. I hope that with your help I can get this matter resolved. Thank you, genrry acosta 818-314-6340

- La Crescenta, CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 282017

Civic

  • 40,030 miles
I was stopped in traffic when all of a sudden the car tried to accelerate even though my foot was firm on the brake pedal. I had to "stand" on the brake pedal and I immediately shifted into park. The engine reached a very high RPM until I jiggled the acceleration pedal. Then the engine acted normally. The eco was not engaged and the cruise control was not engaged. Mileage is 40,078 miles.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #34

May 292017

Civic

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Civic. While driving approximately 2-3 mph and making a U-turn, the contact's vehicle accelerated independently and crashed into a parked vehicle. The contact stated that the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,000.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #33

Jun 202016

Civic

  • 16,356 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving up to a drive-in bank the car suddenly accelerated. I stopped the car a few feet beyond the teller window by a heavy application of the brakes. I put the car in reverse and backed up to the window. In reverse the engine was still racing. I put the car in neutral and the engine continued to race. Upon finishing my banking transaction I put the car in drive. The engine slowed to a normal idle I took the car to the dealer for service four days later; the dealer found nothing abnormal.

- Mashpee, MA, USA

problem #32

Jun 202016

Civic

  • 16,356 miles
Driving up to a drive-in bank the car suddenly accelerated. I stopped the car a few feet beyond the teller window by a heavy application of the brakes. I put the car in reverse and backed up to the window. In reverse the engine was still racing. I put the car in neutral and the engine continued to race. Upon finishing my banking transaction I put the car in drive. The engine slowed to a normal idle I took the car to the dealer for service four days later; the dealer found nothing abnormal.

- Mashpee, MA, USA

problem #31

Jun 292015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Social Circle, GA, USA

problem #30

Feb 062016

Civic

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For manual transmissions rpms remain high even after foot is off the gas pedal consequently making it impossible to match rpms and causing premature failure to friction disks (clutch). Un necessary wear causing 1200+ in repairs. Brakes locked up on highway.. lost control spun 5 times and even after new alternator.. the RPM never reduces properly.. had in shop 3 X's set at your spec is wrong to make brake elease jerk, car shake at lights and causes me to rear end another car. 2/6/16

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #29

Nov 142015

Civic

  • 45 miles
I have problem with my 2012 Civic RPM, especially while clamping hill, it will suddenly lose power before picking up. The RPM will go up to 4000. While going down the hill it just accelerate even if I step on brake. When I start the car in the morning, it accelerate itself. I consider this model of Honda as dangerous.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #28

Jun 252015

Civic

  • 28,000 miles
Climbing up hill the car lost speed and did not shift gears. Then it stalled. I believe this vehicle was recalled and not fixed by the dealership or it should have been recalled by Honda and was not. It exhibits the same drive shaft problems as recalled Honda Civics. While driving you only need to tap the shift by mistake with your elbow and the car goes into neutral. It is a dangerous car to drive.

- Sunnyside, NY, USA

problem #27

May 202015

Civic

  • 36,500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Civic. While the vehicle was in the park position, the rpms suddenly increased to approximately 4,000. After turning the vehicle off and restarting the engine, the vehicle continued to idle at approximately 4,000 rpms. After turning the engine off and back on a second time, the vehicle operated normally. The failure occurred on multiple occasions and was intermittent. While driving at highway speeds, the rpms would also erroneously increase. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,500.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #26

Apr 082015

Civic 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sudden unintended acceleration : while my wife was driving the vehicle on the driving lane on I-5 South at about 60mph and I was at passenger's seat, my wife yelled "the car is getting faster and faster." And I told her to step on the brake. She said she was already peddling the brake but it did not work, and the car was approaching to a big truck in front of us with frightening speed. Since there were many cars in front, behind and on the passing lane at the time of the incident, we could not do anything else but steering the car to the right side off the driving lane in order to avoid fatal accident. There was space covered with rough grasses, bushes and soft fences there. The vehicle kept moving along, crashing the objects with high speed of about more than 85 mph. Finally the car stopped after going along more than 50 yards. As soon as the car stopped, we barely opened the doors and escaped from the terribly damaged car. The car's front side was facing backward, and I heard afterward that my wife used the hand brake to stop the car. Air bags of driver's and passenger's seat, and side airbag were deployed. Other three cars stopped at the scene off the lane, and advised us to remove valuables inside the car, because it may catch fire. They called 911, and fire fighters and the police arrived at the scene. I reported the accident to my insurance, dmv, and Honda usa. My wife's right knee got bruise, and I have light pain on the left side of my neck and chest. My wife is panic, and afraid of driving. I am also very much shocked. I know Honda would not easily admit the defect of the car, even though it will investigate the car. But I swear to god that the sua took place. Now I believe that sua occurs without driver's maloperation of the car, because there was absolutely no misoperation of the car. I please request NHTSA consider this incident very seriously. Thanks

- Corvallis, OR, USA

problem #25

Dec 012014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The car loses power when going up hills and has stalled twice. If I lightly bump the shift while driving it goes into neutral. I must use the emergency brake when parked even on a flat surface or the car will roll.

- Sunnyside, NY, USA

problem #24

Feb 142014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 2,363 miles
Contact owned a 2012 Honda Civic with 2363 miles at time of incident. Before reaching a downtown intersection in the early evening one day last month, contact was going to turn right southbound towards home nearby. The car suddenly made a loud revving noise and shot straight forward at terrifying speed. Contact stepped on the brake and steered to the right. The car did not stop and seemed to have a mind of its own. Contact could not see where it went but heard it hitting hard at objects until it finally stopped. Contact did not know how long had elapsed before she saw through a haze wisps of smoke coming out in front of the car and noticed the airbag was deployed. Fearing the car might catch fire, contact pushed open the door and found the car had stopped in the southbound lane right next to the raised concrete medium that separated North and southbound lanes. Contact saw a black car on the northbound lane next to the raised medium with white side airbags deployed. Police officers and paramedics were at the scene. Contact and the other driver both sustained injuries. Contact's car was later declared "a total loss" by the insurance company. Contact was physically and mentally sound before and at the time of the incident and had a totally unblemished driving record in over 50 years. Contact is unwavering in the belief that the incident was due to the vehicle's sudden unintended acceleration. Contact had stressed this malfunction to the insurance company and also reported the incident to the american Honda Motors. Which contact believed had sent representatives to inspect the vehicle at the collision shop..

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #23

Mar 102014

Civic

  • 37,500 miles
The contact 2012 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the engine RPM increased excessively and the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 37,500.

- Flanders , NJ, USA

problem #22

Apr 012013

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to respond to acceleration attempts. The contact also mentioned that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 11/12/13

- Audubon, NJ, USA

problem #21

Sep 022013

Civic

  • 18,559 miles
Sudden acceleration: I have been observing that the vehicle suddenly accelerates while driving downhill or merging on the highway. I have also noticed that it will accelerate when you turn off the cruise control. The speed is uncontrollable for few seconds before the engine starts the deceleration. I have taken a vehicle to the dealer twice and they have assured that this is normal function since check engine light is not on. The vehicle is 1.5 years old and has @15K miles on it.

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

problem #20

Jul 082013

Civic

  • miles
My 2012 Honda Civic has intermittent problems with unintended acceleration. These occurrences only occur on the freeway and seem to occur more frequently when I am near sky harbor airport. The will suddenly go from 2 RPM to 7 RPM in a manner not achievable by applying the gas pedal or any other method. Once the car reaches 7 RPM it will immediately go back down to 2 RPM and this cycle will occur two more times before the car will operate normally.

- Laveen, AZ, USA

problem #19

Dec 152012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while attempting accelerate, the vehicle failed to accelerate in a timely manner. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 012013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
When exiting a speed ramp off of the highway the RPM's speed up causing a horrible sound in the engine and the feeling that you may not be able to slow down in time to exit the ramp. Additionally, more than a numerous times the car is very unsteady going over 55mph if it encounters any type of "bump" in the highway upon merging into another lane it is unsteady and the whole car "jerks",(feels like it could rollover easily)you need to have a firm hold on the steering wheel or you could lose control. Glare on windshield at night presents a safety concern with night driving. The headrests are a hinder to being able to effectively see your blind spot and the car with its horrible steering control presents another area of concern, you will be in the other lane trying to look over your shoulder more than once!

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #17

Mar 092013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
When I am about to go downhill and take an exit at 40 mph after driving at constant speed of 65 mph for some time I see this problem. RPM is suddenly spiking up from 1500 to 2500 and stays there for at least 5 seconds. Hit brakes or gas does not bring it down. Good thing is the speed of the vehicle is not going up. That's the good sign but who knows what happens. I thought this was the problem with econ drive but I turned it off about 3 months now and still having the same issue.

- Duluth, GA, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?