ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Be aware that there's a significant trend of owners complaining that the Elantra's fuel economy is significantly less than the EPA estimates.

7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
64,000 miles
Total Complaints:
16 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (13 reports)
  2. mpg no better!!! (2 reports)
  3. give me a new spare tire and send me the $200.00 plus i was (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2012 Hyundai Elantra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #16

Mar 242016

Elantra Limited 3.2L 4 Cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I purchased this Elantra Limited I was told 40 mpg on Xway. Lie !! If I had gotten 35-37 mpg I would have been VERY happy! I get 31-32 mpg and 24-25 in city. I was told by a sweet saleslady at Hyundai in Huntsville, AL that this is an extremely well-made car, and I thought "WOW, this is the perfect car for my wife of 47 years to ride off into the sunset of our lives almost trouble free." Pretty dumb of me not to think I was being "taken" by a car salesperson.

Did not notice no spare tire for a week after purchase. Was told that would help mpg. REALLY?! When we are stranded in no-man's land with no cell phone reception and a flat tire (I think you get the picture!).

On the mpg I have receive two measly checks for less than $100. I was told I would get a payoff of $200.00+ in November 2015. This is 3/24/2016. No check. With what I have experienced with Hyundai so far, I don't expect to get a check. I believe the lawyers are laughing all the way to the bank with hyundai customers' $$ while I am being taken advantage of by this deceptive company.

I have written twice to Hyundai headquarters, and I didn't expect any kind of response, and I was right!

I wish everyone thinking about buying one of these cars could read this before deciding.. However, with my past experience, I've probably just sat here and wasted a perfectly good hour.

Update from Mar 28, 2016: When I asked about "no spare tire" I was told a spare tire would lower mpg. QUESTION: Why didn't they leave out the back seat also?! THAT would have increased mpg!!! If we were in some neatherland with a blowout and no cell phone reception I would much rather have a spare tire than a back seat!!!

HYUNDAI, ARE YOU HEARING YOUR HELPLESS CUSTOMERS?!!!!!!!!!!!! This is a rhetorical question, because it is more than obvious you are NOT listening!!

And again, what about sending my $200.00 plus I should have received 4 months ago as promised?!

- James P., Woodbury, MN, USA

problem #15

Jul 022012

Elantra ES 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

We now have 35k miles on the car and the fuel efficiency continues to be comparable to a bigger car or a car with more hp. We've had Nissan, Chevy and Honda and with our driving habits we obtained mpg very close to and sometimes exceeding estimates from the manufacturer. Missing the mark by 25% when other manufacturers are essentially spot on is cheating. And programming the dash board mpg display to lie makes the first lie significantly worse.

There are many other car makers out there, I recommend choosing one of them instead of Hyundai.

- Charles B., Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 302011

Elantra Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles

I bought a 2012 Hyundai Elantra instead of a Volkswagen TDI, which does get the 40 mpg. I thought I was going to get 40 mph with the Elantra. Nice car, TERRIBLE GAS MILEAGE! The gas card Hyundai gives us is a JOKE, allows for about 2 miles per gallon, which would be 38. I hardly ever get "30" with mine. I paid cash. If I had financed it I would have let it go back and be damned if I got bad credit....I got a FALSELY ADVERTISED PRODUCT....STILL HAVE STICKER OF MY CAR WINDOW SAYING 40 MPG OR BETTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hyundai says to even begin to get proper gas mileage have to drive 50 mph and on Totally FLAT roads!! There are no flat roads in Northern California. The mechanic actually laughed when I complained about my gas mileage. He said never meant to be got......REALLY!!! He said to expect to get advertised mileage or what was on the sticker was unrealistic!!! The sticker driving is done under perfect conditions. Why would they do this to All of their Customers.....Lie. Before I bought this car I had always been a Honda owner. If I would have known the gas mileage I was going to get I would have bought another Honda.

I HAVE BEEN COMPLAINING ABOUT THE GAS MILEAGE SINCE DAY ONE AND FOR OVER 2 YEARS NOW. I THINK THEY SHOULD GIVE US NEW CARS!!! I ran into someone the other day and she had a 2012 Hyundai Sonata and said she gets 36 on freeway. Now why would a heavier car get better gas mileage than the stupid Hyundai Elantra!!!!!????

Read more: http://www.justanswer.com/new-question/optional-information.aspx?tqid=405501838&pt=630&catid=59245&r=autobeef&rpt=220#ixzz3OXypeH3m

- Lynn S., Auburn, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 152011

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car primarily for the gas mileage. They were promising 40 mpg highway and 29 city, with a mix of the two supposedly yielding about 32. This alleged efficiency at a cheap price wooed me away from buying a hybrid like Prius. What a mistake. NEVER, AT ANY TIME, has the car's performance come close to the promised level. If I do nothing but highway driving, the car never sustains more than 34 mpg or so; the highway/city mix is usually more like 26 and often worse. In sum, though Hyundai has admitted to overestimating fuel economy by 1 mpg, the real deficit is more like 6 mpg, so I'm getting only about 80% of the promised performance.

When I complained to the dealer, their answer was a variation on: "Who do you believe, me or your own lying eyes?" Their first suggestion was always: well, sometimes the mpg gauge on the car is faulty; did you calculate your mileage directly? Isn't that a hoot: they're trying to say that the gauge is faulty, not the rest of the car! Pretty pathetic. Then when I tell them that I DID calculate the mileage directly and found that the gauge was accurate, they just hemmed and hawed about how hard it was to do anything about that, and hinted that the problem was my driving style. Wrong again: even when I drove with the absolute minimum amount of pressure on the gas pedal, there was no improvement. All I got from that exchange was the conviction that they couldn't fix the problem and didn't want to try. I don't see much else to do except to vow never to buy a Hyundai again.

- stuartde, Bear, DE, USA

problem #12

Dec 312013

Elantra Limited 1.8L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 850,000 miles

There is high fuel consumption when the weather is cold. The car maker does not take responsibility. They are making me an idiot. It is very sad.

I see one solution, to avoid Hyundai in the future.

- Alexander C., Brooklyn, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Sep 192013

Elantra Limited

  • CVT transmission
  • 78,000 miles

I bought this car brand new because of the great gas mileage it was suppose to get. Then I get a letter in a mail from the maker stating they messed up on the miles per gallon it would get. I do get a very small reimbursement....like $100 for every 25000 miles I put on it. I would have never bought this car if the mileage wasn't correct!

- tiredofthis, Charleston, MO, USA

problem #10

Jul 052011

Elantra Limites

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In 1994 I bought a new car, Mercury Topaz and got around 24 mpg. I sold my previous car, a 1999 JAG XK8 and it was getting about 18 mpg because I wanted something better in gas consumption. Well,,,,,,,,I am the fool. All these years later and a brand new "car of the year" with advertised MPG of 30 (city) and 40 MPG (highway) gets around 24mpg in the city.

HYUNDAI you should be ASHAMED of the lies you told. 30 MPG my ass.

- alphakitty100, Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #9

Jan 202012

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

I also feel deceived by Hyundai. I have about 9000 miles on a 2012 Elantra, and like the others complaining, I get about 24 mpg in town and 29 on the highway. I recently made 12 trips of 150 miles each to visit my wife in the hospital. Dead flat roads in ND and mileage was never greater than 30 mpg. I sold a Honda that always got in the low 40 mpg and bought this because it was advertised at 40 mpg. I FEEL I'VE BEEN ROBBED. And now they send a notice admitting their guilt but claiming they only overestimated by 1 or 2 mpg, and established a fund. ALL TO AVOID a lawsuit. I definitely will go back to a Honda the next time. They never deceived me with any of the hondas I owned.

- joend, Grand Forks, ND, USA

problem #8

Jul 012012

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,400 miles

They lied! Gas mileage is at best 23.7 in city and 34 highway. I tried all the methods to improve mileage but nothing changed. I had a 2007 that got as good fuel economy as my 2012 does. The only reason I bought this car was the MPG and the reliability. Other than the low mileage I have no other complaints.

- gundermantexas, Austin, TX, USA

problem #7

Aug 132012

Elantra GL 1.8L L4 Dohc 16-valve

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,592 miles

I've clocked 9000 km in the past 10 months I've owned this car. I get an average 24 mpg (mostly city driving) which is nowhere near the figures quoted by Hyundai. This is false advertising through and through!

- cowwoc, Montreal, Quebec, canada

problem #6

Feb 162012

Elantra LS V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

poor gas mileage poor gas mileage

I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA ON FEB. 16, 2012. I NOTICED AFTER HAVING TO FILL IT UP WEEKLY AND I DO NOT PUT MANY MILES ON IT, THAT IT WAS EATING THE GAS QUICKLY SO I CALLED HYUNDAI AND THEY SAID WHEN THE CAR IS CLOSE TO EMPTY REFILL IT AND RESET THE TRIP AND GO ON THE HIGHWAY. I DID THIS ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS, FIRST TIME WAS APPROXIMATELY 2000 MI (PHOTOS INCLUDED) AND ANOTHER TIME AT APPROXIMATELY 3000 MI. IT IS NOW AUGUST AND I HAVE HAD THE CAR FOR 6 MONTHS, I HAVE ONLY PUT A LITTLE OVER 3000 MILES ON THE CAR SO FAR. I ALREADY HAD THE OIL CHANGED AT THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP. I SAW THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT IN CA. COULD YOU PLEASE GIVE ME ADVISE AS WHAT TO DO. THANK YOU. DEBRA

- debstar5552, Meriden, CT, USA

problem #5

May 152012

Elantra Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

Bought my Elantra in April and was doing good until I started checking mileage. 22 mpg is best I do . On highway it gets 30 . I expect a 10% decrease in the advised but not 30%. Took it to the service people but nothing wrong. 40 /30 is under best ideal conditions, their answer. Will what did I expect of course nothing wrong with their model. I am very dissatisfied. Lost my money and will have to deal with it. Anyone have answers to this problem. .

- dheston, Brandon, FL, USA

problem #4

Apr 082012

Elantra EX 2.0L

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,015 miles

My Elantra isn't even getting the 24 mpg in city the lowest of the calculations. I just got 22mpg and that was city and hwy. I have called the salesman, taken the car in to have service look at it. My next appt is with the sales manager. I feel I was taken and I am so unhappy with this car, I just want to take it back.

- Karen B., Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #3

Mar 302012

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38 miles

What a farce!!! 40mpg-ha, ha. That is what I was told when I bought the car-40mpg highway. No way am I getting that and that is why I bought this car. Should have stayed with Honda!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- concetta, Toms River, NJ, US

problem #2

Feb 272012

Elantra GLS 1.8L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles

I have the 2012 elantra with the manufacturer boasting 29/40/33 mpg and am only seeing around 25-28 mpg primarily all city. will update more as the miles continue.

Update from Sep 1, 2013: I now have 27,000 miles on the vehicle...doing a mix of highway and city driving i am averaging only 25 MPG. I have a 2001 Eclipse with the 4 cyl. & automatic transmission, doing the same type of driving getting 30 MPG. The gas mileage reimbursement deal with Hyundai is a JOKE!!! Do they think were stupid??? Only getting a check for $50/year...should be around $400 to cover the difference. Now the car has started making a tapping noise up front when turning...took it to the local dealer and they can't find the problem. NOT HAPPY with this car!

- jonrene3, Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #1

Jan 042012

Elantra Limited 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35 miles

Bought 2012 elantra based on 33mpg average after 1000 miles i do not get 23mpg have reported this problem to Hyundai and heard all excuses ! sent a letter to hyundai motor company and told them i want to return the car for false advertising! waiting for answer ! i would like to hear from other elantra owners with similar problems! rickpvalente@aol.com

- valente, Huntington Station, NY, US

Not what you are looking for?