2016 Hyundai Tucson engine problems: no accelerator response

No Accelerator Response

2016 Hyundai Tucson

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Hyundai dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2016 Tucson comes with a dual-clutch, 7-speed transmission. But Hyundai forgot to tell you about one key phrase – zero-move. That's right, an alarming number of owners have said their SUV wouldn't accelerate after a stop.

Turns out that's because the transmission's application logic has been stumbling all over itself. Hyundai recalled the issue in September 2016, but it's difficult to say if owners are out-of-the-woods, or if this is just a sign of things to come.

8.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
11,900 miles
Total Complaints:
9 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (8 reports)
  2. they say it is a "software" issue. no fix yet (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2016 Hyundai Tucson engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments

problem #9

Jun 252018

Tucson SE 2.0 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,195 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this 2016 Tuscon Se 2.0 last October, it was a lessee return with very low kilometer on it. It ran just fine but now it has about a 2 to 3 second hesitation from a complete stop when making a left turn. I need to exercise extra care for on coming traffic distance. It never ever did it all winter or last fall but just started in the hot weather. I do not know if hot weather is an issue or its just a coincidence. A week ago it seemed like the transmission was starting to slip a bit when I pressed on the gas from a compete stop. It looks like the car is not getting any gas as the tachometer hardly moves till I fully depress the gas pedal. It's almost like the computer does not see the pedal being depressed from a stop or the transmission clutch is slipping. My car has a normal 6 speed automatic transmission in it. I know the 7 speed dual clutches have issues but mine is not that transmission. I thought maybe the gas was vapor locking. I was putting gas with ethanol in it, so I switched over to a high grade but still have the same problem. I called the dealer about the transmission slipping and they said it was in my head or that its normal. So I'm taking it in next week, they can go for a test drive and see what the issue is.

Update from May 18, 2019: well it seems every time they have it it ; there is no problem ; i;ve noticed that myself too sometimes theres a hesitation some times none but I think its mostly happens when the a/c is on ;' at the dealer they said turn off the air like i;m suppose to turn off the air on each stop is ludicrous ;;like i said previously I got a normal 2.0 with 6 speed tranny ; the dealer also told me to keep it in just sport mode but damn that is not right either ; last summer I complained about the air not working right that it seemed to be freezing and not blowing air ; when they checked it it was working ok ; finally in the fall they told me there was a service bulletin on the issue back in the freaking spring and they finally fixed it . ithink the dealers do not want it on their records that your car needs repairs due to faulty equipment installed and their vehicles will look better at end of year for consumer reports ;

- Ricky J., sarnia, ON, Canada

problem #8

Nov 242018

Tucson

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,459 miles

So, I did a 3 point turn. Went to put her in reverse, to back into a parking spot, the engine died. I thought nothing of it, put it in park, restarted engine, parked, all good. Little while later, heard loud ticking from engine bay. No loud bang, no no reason to think engine blew. Loud ticking and then loss of acceleration. Coasted to side of highway and put on four ways, turned car off, waited. Tried to restart, engine wouldn't turn over. Just a click then nothing.

Towed to dealership. Car's sitting there for 4 days so far with no call from them. They said possibly seized engine and friends in the industry said maybe they will replace with brand new engine - will try to update once results come.

- Skylar B., NEPEAN, ON, Canada

problem #7

Jul 082016

Tucson Limited 4.O

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

The acceleration is so bad that I fear I will have an accident!!! There are so many complaints and yet Hyundai has yet to fix it!!! I've brought it previously for what they call, "an update" Has a class action suit started yet?

- Carolyn M., Mountain Top, US

problem #6

Mar 102017

Tucson Limited 1.6L

  • CVT transmission
  • 5,568 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

OCCASIONALLY WHEN GOING TO ACCELERATE FROM AROUND 25 MPH YOU DEPRESS THE GAS PEDAL AND NOTHING HAPPENS. THE HARDER YOU PUSH IT, THE SLOWER IT GETS. YOU HAVE TO LET UP COMPLETELY ON THE PEDAL AND THEN IT WILL ACCELERATE. RPM DOES NOT INCREASE, JUST STAYS AT ABOUT 1900 RPM. THIS ALSO HAPPENED A FEW MONTHS AGO ON A 2 LANE ROAD AND AT ABOUT 55 MPH I ATTEMPTED TO PASS THE CAR AHEAD, HALF WAY AROUND THE CAR MY CAR JUST STOPPED ACCELERATING AND I DAMNED NEARED GOT IN A HEAD-ON ACCIDENT.

MENTIONED THIS TO SERVICE PERSONEL AND THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. IT IS TIME FOR HYUNDAI TO REPURCHASE THE VEHICLE AND I WILL FIND AN AMERICAN MADE CAR.

- John D., Cottage, US

problem #5

Jul 212016

Tucson Sport 1.6L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,039 miles

A month ago I was driving in town and from a stop light, I would attempt to accelerate, when reaching 2,000 RPMs the cars gas pedal would not give me anymore power. About 3 to 4 seconds into the "Stall of power" it would then regain power to the gas pedal and jump into action. Luckily I was not hit. This went on all morning while taking my child to babysitter, then myself to work. I drove very carefully, knew what to expect and had my hazard lights on!!

Called the dealer, brought it there. They took it, finally within a few days got the problem to replicate for them. NOW they have had the car ever since. There is no fix!! I called Cooperate and said the regional manager will get in touch with me within 3 to 5 business days. That Its been way beyond 3 to 5 days!!!! I call the 1800 633 5151 customer service number and they all tell me its out of their hands now and I just have to wait for the regional rep to contact me, I'm stuck waiting. All I want is my money back. I'm not asking for a fix I know they can't fix. Just refund money.

I will not drive that death trap even if they claim they come up with at solution. After reading all of the SAME complaint about this car, WHY ARE THEY NOT STEPPING UP AND RECALLING AND OR REFUNDING PEOPLES MONEY!!!! I see commercials for this Hyundai Tuscon and I feel like I should go picket outside the dealerships to save lives!!

- mkate, White, NY, US

problem #4

Jun 302016

Tucson Sport 1.6t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles

I drove my new vehicle off the lot Jun 28th 2016, Drove it for a few miles thru local streets and then onto the NJ Turnpike. By the time I got home (about 20 miles from the dealership) I was having the same issue others have complained about, No Acceleration when you need to pick up speed. At first I dismissed it thinking that it just needs to be broken in, I also experienced the same problem upon driving my mother's brand new Mercedes Benz back in 2004 but with her car it eventually stopped. My vehicle has less than 700 miles at the moment. I'm hoping that it goes away but so far it's still happening and as others have said, it could cause an accident.

- Andy H., Woodbridge, NJ, US

problem #3

Jul 052016

Tucson Limited 1.6L T

  • CVT transmission
  • 5,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened two times in the last 2 weeks; after having been parked for about 40 minutes (car turned off), when trying to move the car out of the parking spot, on Reverse, I accelerated, but the engine only revved and power was barely transferred to the wheels. Moving the gear shifter to D or Manual, the power also barely transferred to the wheels as well. Only pressing the accelerator harder, to the bottom, caused the car to move, but this caused the car to move faster and suddenly. One of the two times, the car was parked in parallel, with very little space in front and behind; it was relatively easy to hit the surrounding cars like this, since accelerating harder caused the car to move aggressively.

After finally getting out of the parking spot and driving normally, the clutch/transmission seemed to work correctly.

The sensation is exactly as if the clutch is barely engaged. This must be fixed by Hyundai!

- Mohamed D., Oakton, VA, US

problem #2

Jun 252016

Tucson LX Tubo 1.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,600 miles

Purchased car end of February 2016. Other than a whistle (unknown origin) no problems until it started getting hot in Arizona. When stopped at light, car would rev but not accelerate when light turned green. This has happened numerous times over the last two weeks but the car would go. Yesterday, stopped at a red light near house. When light turned green, stepped on the accelerator and the car revved but would not go at all. Fortunately no one behind me at the time because it took a few minutes until it actually got going and the power did not feel right. This was 4pm. Got home and called the dealer. They of course never heard of this and already told me it was unlikely they would find anything since no warning lights had come on during any instances of this happening. I wanted to bring it in but it was too late for them to look at it on a Saturday. Said they couldn't see me until Thursday am. (Yesterday was Saturday!). I see on the web others have same problem. Will be going in tomorrow with comments listed on the web. There is a problem and it is dangerous. Can't loose acceleration in the middle of traffic!

Update from Jul 31, 2016: Car in dealer for last 30 days. Hyundai Manufacturer involved. Hyundai reports that they now know what is wrong. They say it is a "software" issue in the transmission and are working on a fix. That could take another 4-6 weeks. Did offer to send re-purchase packet which I filled out and sent back. Corporate gave me the choice but tells me both processes will take the same amount of time. Why is that? Still selling this car knowing they have a significant safety issue. Why not issue a "stop sell" until a fix is found and performed on all cars, especially ones still being sold that will be back in the dealer in no time!

- robinaz, Scottsdale, AZ, US

problem #1

May 142016

Tucson Limited 1.6L T

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,400 miles

Car fails to respond to the accelerator when traveling in traffic. Starts to go from legal stop but then rpm falls to 1000 rpm and car just coast. Several times nearly rear ended in traffic because of fast drop in speed. Was near dealer when last episode so now setting on their lot and unsafe to drive. This was late Saturday and now wait till Monday to call and see what is wrong. With only 6400 miles I am really upset I bought this car. Backup camera has gone blank several time when starting to back up and GPS screen has gone blank till you touch the screen. Never find any problems! I see now that others have posted this loss of throttle control so it is not just me and my car.

Update from Jun 6, 2016: Car is still at the dealers as of 6/6/16 and I test drove with computer hooked up to car with tech and recorded data to now have a Hyundai engineer review and see if they can resolve problem. It did reproduce the problem driving it so hope they now have better idea!

- gvetterick, Albuquerque, NM, US

Not what you are looking for?