ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn't seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It's worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Swedish Magazine's "moose test". The test measures a vehicle's ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn't want to hit while driving down the road ... like a moose.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,780
Average Mileage:
66,400 miles
Total Complaints:
18 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. change the parts (7 reports)
  2. not sure (5 reports)
  3. replace alternator, belt, battery, and pcm (5 reports)
  4. the dealer replaced the alternator, belt, battery, and pcm a (1 reports)
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #18

Mar 272018

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.0L Crd

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,778 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The Jeep Alternator stopped working and everything else stopped within about 30 seconds. Fortunately we had just completed a serious mountain pass, where the problem could have been fatal. A new alternator was ordered and took a month to get to he dealer. I was on holiday when this happened and sat without transport for the entire holiday, and had to get back home on my own costs. I then had to get back to the dealer (about 800 Kms) to collect the car when it was repaired more than a month later.

Jeep needs to recall these vehicles before someone gets killed. If this happens at night in a mountainous area, it could be fatal. The vehicle is a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland and is a great vehicle, except for this potentially lethal problem.

- Fred V., Bloemfontein, South Africa

problem #17

Jan 012018

Grand Cherokee Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

Jeep has a recall on the 160 amp alternator which were aware of during the purchase. Found out a week later that it was on back order and that we'd be contacted when one was available. That was in Aug 2017.

Jan 1st 2018, I drive to a Reserve with my girlfriend and 4 month old daughter only to have the battery light come on. Everything goes on the fritz in the vehicle, which ended up shutting down. After a few jump attempts from a good Samaritan to no avail, we call triple a to get the car towed. It took 3 towing agencies attempts before the 4th one 6 hours later found us.

We thought "well at least every one is ok and it's under the recall so Jeep will handle it, right?" Wrong. They tell us the alternator is still on back order and they have one that will fit for $1100 and the replacement battery that also went bad because of THEIR faulty part is $400.

The fact that they want us to pay only to fight for reimbursement later is historically farfetched. As far as I know this is extremely unethical on Jeeps part and they should be held accountable or else they should be looking at some kind of class action lawsuit. If nothing gets resolved within the next 30 days, next time you here from me it'll be asking for your signature to file suit.

- Lauren L., North Palm Beach, FL, US

problem #16

Aug 032017

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles

While driving at a speed of approximately 35 miles an hour, a "battery" light came on the dash. Since the vehicle was more than 5 years old, I assumed it needed a new battery. First the radio went off. In short order, the air conditioner stopped and suddenly the power steering started going. I pulled into a local Walmart Auto Center and by the time I got there, the entire car shut down. It would not start and I could not shut the windows. The Walmart technician told me it was the alternator, so I had the vehicle towed. The cost to repair was over a thousand dollars, partially due to the price of the replacement alternator.

I have received notice from Chrysler Jeep that there is a recall coming, but I have not seen it, nor have I notified my dealer yet, which I will do to see if they will reimburse me.

Fortunately, this did not happen the next day as I was scheduled to take a trip requiring highway driving.

- Jim M., Glen Mills, US

problem #15

Aug 272017

Grand Cherokee Limited 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Similar issue with the alternator. Lighting bolt started over the weekend. My wife attempted to turn on the Car and experienced symptoms of low power with a whinny noise. We attempted to jump the car to get it to the dealer. We noticed smoke during the attempt, therefore had it towed. Appearantly there is a recall but the part and it is on back order. My car has been at the dealer for almost 4 weeks. They finally agreed to replace the alternator to get my car on the road. Upon replacing the alternator they discovered the battery needed to be replaced. They attempted to charge us but through a helpful SA it was covered. We thought the issue was resolved but we just received a message that they are still having difficulties. We are fortunate enough to have an extended warranty and a loaner for the time being. Really disappointed at Chrysler.

P.s. have also contacted the FCA customer service who took over a week for call back.

Update from Sep 21, 2017: Update from the dealer. The PCM is also toast and will require replacement. They will continue to work out the car for another week.

- Darell V., Harwood Heights, US

problem #14

Aug 202017

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

Was driving on the interstate, 8/20/2017. First the battery light, neon red went on. Then a few minutes later and image of a lightning bolt hit the battery. Then I lost all electrical power. Was able to pull over to the side of the high way. called for a tow to find out that it was a restricted highway . Cost 185 dollars to get it towed off the highway. 4 tows later got it to the only jeep dealership in my town on the evening of 8/23. Because of other recalls, they were not able to get to my car. And as luck would have it, since my car was not involved in a crash, I was not covered for a rental. Finally, 8/31 They left me a message to call them to discuss. Of course it was at the end of the day so I was able to reach them the next day, 9/1. They told me it was a faulty PCM and that it would cost close to $1000 dollars to fix. The next day, Saturday I get a recall notice for a faulty alternator diode. Holiday weekend. Today 9/5 still do not have my automobile, awaiting to see if this would be considered part of the recall. Horrible experience with this Jeep. I have had it less than a year. Have always owned jeep vehicles. First time in 17 years have I have such horrific experiences with a vehicle.

Update from Sep 5, 2017: Jeep Dealership in Berwick Pa fixed the recalls Sun visor electrical problem, and alternator diode. They replaced the alternator as well. Replaced the pcm that was "fried". They deny that one thing has to do with the other. Final charge for the repair,. $911+. Other associated charges, tow fees, car rental fees. I requested the part back they stated that I would need to pay a core replacement fee of 130 dollars before I can get the part back. Will contact Chrysler, NHSA, Consumer affairs to pursue this matter. Its unfair how they can get away with cheating the consumer sacrificing human life over money. Kudos to their actuaries. Hopefully people keep reporting these issues to the proper forums especially consumer affairs and National Highway Safety Board.

- firstsylvia, Berwick, US

problem #13

Mar 092017

Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

alternator actually caught on fire, this car has been a nightmare.

- Erica D., Germantown, US

problem #12

Apr 222017

Grand Cherokee 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,384 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very disappointed with my jeep to say the least! On April 17, 2017 my husband took my jeep to the dealership for the sun visor wiring recall we received. Ironically that next Saturday I was driving down interstate and my battery light comes on. I pulled over and killed my car. I restarted with no problem and continued down the rode, suddenly my windshield wiper came on, my radio went off ,heat was coming from the vent and I started losing power. I steered my jeep off to the shoulder of the interstate . My jeep was completely dead. I had it towed to our mechanic because electrical is not under warranty . After they replaced the battery and alternator, still NO power. We were told that the computer was fried! However we will be out $900 for our mechanics labor and parts. They could not repair our less than 5 year old vehicle . It will be towed to Peter Chevrolet tomorrow. After talking to the service manager he said he would see what he could. He was aware that Jeep is having problems with their alternators. We are not very confident after reading all the complaints about Jeep's alternators. Hopefully the dealership will prove us wrong and Chrysler will come through like they should. Come on Chrysler do your customer right.

- Carolyn B., Longview, US

problem #11

Dec 022016

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,826 miles

My 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland (3,6L V6) stalled in traffic in Dec 2016 nearly causing a collision whilst my wife was driving. after much drama and getting my Jeep towed to the dealer, I was told that the alternator was faulty. I was quoted R25000.00 for the repairs. This price tag was a kick in the guts as the vehicle was outside teh warranty period. I also discovered that there was a SAFETY RECALL on the 160 amp alternators but not the 180 amp that I had in my car. I approached both the dealer and Chrysler South Africa for assistance but was only offered a 25% discount on the alternator and 1 our labor cost discount. The parts discount was subject to the fitting of the part by the Jeep dealer. The labour on the alternator was quote as 4 hours (R3000.00).

My vehicle is still not functioning 4 months later and I am exploring other options to have this repaired.

I am shocked by how unsympathetic Jeep has been in this and how the ignore the danger hear and only go by what the recall states. The is a clear and present danger to 2011 - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE overland 3.6l v6 petrol drivers and JEEP appears to be ignoring it. Hopefully nobody get hurt or dies before they take ownership of this problem.

- quinton66, Sandton, South Africa

problem #10

Feb 252017

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,511 miles

Hi

I drive Jeep Grand Cherokee 3,6 V6 just like many out there, i recently experience an alternator blew off, what happened is that a friend of mine was driving my car and the car just shut down while in motion nearly causing a crash. the vehicle gave him several messages in essence it was malfunction and didn't start again. we then called insurance to come and towed my car away straight to the dealership. they then confirmed that it was an alternator. Upon investigation i realised that there have been reported cases similar to mine infact the US government forced Chrysler to recall several cars with same problem. this however was limited to cars fitted with 160 amp alternator excluding the ones with 180 amps. I however have discovered that there are a lot of people around the globe who are facing same problem. it is shocking to say the least that Jeep,Chrysler and Fiat choose to ignore this fast growing issue related to the 2014. Their arrogance wont help anything for the problem will continue to grow. It seems like somebody is waiting for major fatalities to be reported before this issue is taking serioulsy. Are they envious of what happened to VW in the US, Honda or even Ford Kuga in South Africa... their reactive nature wont get them anyway. it is high time that we as consumers stand our ground demand answers from these manufactures for their negligence. Their must be put to their place. My Car is sitting at a dealership and have no intentions of pay for something that is clearly a factory faulty! I intend to pursue this matter until justice is served. Shame on you Chrysler and Jeep

- Lebo K., Nairobi, Kenya

problem #9

Aug 022016

Grand Cherokee Limited 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

Got in my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee one afternoon and smelled smoke. Engine was smoking really bad. I turned it off and the smoke continued to pour out of the hood. Poured water on it because it was in my garage with a boat next to it. The Jeep was completely dead. Doors wouldn't open etc. Had it towed to dealership and found out it was the alternator. Not the ones that have been recalled but same problem. The dealer has been fighting with Chrysler because this is the second 180 amp that the exact same thing happened. Our bill is currently up to $4000.00 and still going. I still owe $24,000. Next step is calling my local news station to report on this. I've owned many cars and this is by far the most expensive, and the ONLY one that has had an alternator go out like this. The dealer has been helping us a great deal but he can only do so much. They were sure Chrysler would do something because it's the second investigation at their shop alone with this same model alternator. Loved my Jeep, but it's going and I'm getting a Chevy Tahoe before someone gets hurt or killed from the faulty parts.

- Stacy T., Foristell, MO, USA

problem #8

Dec 122016

Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,875 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the worst car I have ever had cause I have always got my hand in my pocket to pay to get it fixed. Its not worth the money I paid for it. I have two girls 6 and 9 and don't want to put them in this car in case something goes wrong with it whilst we are traveling. I have a Ford Falcon and have had it for 10 years now nothing has gone wrong with it. This is the worst decision I have ever made and would like every cent back that I have paid to fix this peace of sh*t car. paid for new alternator & battery still not going

- darrenbarton021db, Gunnedah, Australia

problem #7

Dec 302016

Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,516 miles

I was driving when Jeep slowed down, wipers came on, turn signals started flashing by themselves. The Jeep stopped in the middle of street and burning smell came out. I took my car to Jeep Local dealer and they diagnosed that the Alternator burned out and need replacement, they are not sure about the PCM (Computer)

I since learned that most of the 2012 alternators were recalled but not the 180 amp alternators but it appears it is the exact same problem and I have learned from my mechanic and other websites that many other 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee's with 180 amp alternators are having same issue as the ones equipped with the 160 amp alternators.

Now the car with Local Dealer; I still did not approve to them the cost of repair which is initially estimated for 3200 AED (870 USD) for replacing the Alternator only.

- Mamdouh E., Dubai, United Arab Emirates

problem #6

Aug 232016

Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 180 amp alternator. While driving, battery light came on. Headed straight for parts store as I figured it was my battery. Started losing power and vehicle started whining. Pulled into parts store and went to get help. Left car running and upon return, parts manager turned car off. Then we restarted it and it made this awful grinding screeching noise, lost all power, and then windshield wipers randomly came on. Within 10 seconds smoke poured out from under the hood for approximately 15 minutes and smelled like rubber burning. Had car towed to independent shop and notified Jeep corporate. Jeep corporate advised me to don't do anything as they would send out a special investigator to look at my Jeep. Over a week later an independent investigator hired by Jeep came to look at my vehicle, took pictures of the alternator and the battery that had obviously received a voltage surge and warped all the sides of the battery. Investigator forwarded info to Jeep and a week later I received a letter from Jeep Investigations saying sorry this happened to you but not our problem. I am now waiting for the repairs to be completed. Repairs so far are a new alternator, new battery, and vehicle starts but only by bypassing the relay. Waiting for them to figure out what that issue is.

Update from Jan 21, 2017: The final verdict was the Alternator surged, blew out the alternator, battery, and PCM. Spoke with FCA again and they denied any reimbursement. Total cost for the fix was $2000.00

- chead, HIlton Head Island, SC, USA

problem #5

Aug 192016

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

My 180 AMP alternator burnt out and in the process burned the computer and other parts because of the way it fried. When I heard others had the same issue I was shocked to hear it was not a recall yet. Then even more shocked to hear there is a recall but only for the 160 AMP alternator and does not cover the 180 AMP model. REALLY???? Jeep should take more responsibility for the issue and replace all of the alternators.

This could have been a dangerous issue if it fried when I was driving on the freeway and lost power the way I did. My car just completely died with all of the power going out and my family could have been hurt. Jeep Chrysler – You should recall also recall the 180 AMP alternators and replace them proactively before someone is seriously injured or worse!

Update from Oct 14, 2016: The dealer replaced the alternator, belt, battery, and PCM and is working fine now. They said a few vehicles have had similar issues and if it becomes a recall then they may reimburse me for the $2,200 or so it cost

- Carlos P., Los Altos, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 252016

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,729 miles

NO RECALL YET FOR 180 AMP ALTERNATOR - 2012 JEEP HAS RECALL FOR 160 AMP ALTERNATORS. OUR VEHICLE HAS 180 AMP ALTERNATOR

AFTER BUYING A USED 2012 JEEP OVERLAND AND ENJOYING IT FOR 49 DAYS I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK AND....WITHOUT WARNING THE ALTERNATOR SHORTS OUT....

IT FRIED UP TAKING OUT THE BATTERY - BURNING PLASTIC SMELL WHICH WAS THE COMPUTER AND OTHER WIRING....THEN NOTHING- NO POWER TO GET OFF THE ROAD SAFELY

$3500.00 TO REPAIR IF THE PARTS WERE AVAILABLE. THEY ARE NOT EASILY AVAILABLE BECAUSE THERE ARE SO MANY ISSUES WITH THESE...EVERYBODY IS LOOKING FOR THEM.

CHRYSLER SAYS "SO SORRY" THERE IS NO RECALL FOR YOUR 180 AMP MODEL - GLENLEVEN MOTORS WHERE I BOUGHT MY CAR SAYS - SHOULD HAVE PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT WE CAN GET YOU A PREFERRED RATE ON A RENTAL CAR...GEE THANKS

JEEP CHRYSLER - YOU NEED TO REVIEW AND HAVE THE RECALL INCLUDE 180 AMP ALTERNATOR MODELS....

- Nancy W., London, ON, Canada

problem #3

Sep 062015

Grand Cherokee Laredo V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

The alternator failed as I was exiting the freeway, and within 1/2 mile the car completely shut down. Initially the AC quit, then the windows wouldn't roll down (on a 90 degree day), lights on the dash started flashing, the transmission stuck in 1st gear, the windshield wipers came on, and lastly the power steering failed. It required being towed for repairs.

- Romi C., Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #2

Aug 242015

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,100 miles

Alternator died, collateral damage to the battery. Car dead. There is a current recall on the alternator on 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.6 liter engine but mine was not on recall list. I have a feeling it will be soon added. Anyone else with the same issue?

- Betsy L., Baldwin, NY, USA

problem #1

Jun 162014

Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,069 miles

I had to present a complaint to the local dealer because the regular warranty was overdue. I was only charged with the labor cost. If I had had to pay the parts cost, the reparation had cost more than $2,500.00

- robertosolo, Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala

Not what you are looking for?