ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,900
Average Mileage:
109,050 miles
Total Complaints:
200 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. add a quart every 1000 miles (70 reports)
  2. not sure (51 reports)
  3. add oil (34 reports)
  4. repair pistons/oil leak (24 reports)
  5. replace engine (12 reports)
  6. repaired engine (5 reports)
2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 10)

problem #200

Jun 012009

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Camry LE2.4 L has used excessive oil since I bought it in 2009. Went through the testing twice and dealer denied it qualified for the TSB repair. This put it passed the extended warranty coverage conveniently. With my personal mechanic, we ran our own test going to 1,500 miles and it burns 2 (two) quarts of oil in that span. Obviously it qualifies for the repair which was more than 1 quart in 1,200 miles but no more warranty for this obvious known defect. Toyota needs to permanently fix these with a recall.

- Jeff L., Huntingdon, PA, US

problem #199

Jul 092018

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,355 miles

Apparently there was a TSB issued in August 2011 re excessive oil usage as a result of piston design; we never heard about this until our latest service on the 9th of July 2018.

Estimated cost of repair was $4,400.00 which included: kit, hoses, clamps, pistons, piston pins.

A second opinion was obtained 07/13/2018 and they suggested a rebuilt engine or a used engine with a price of between $5,000 and $6,000

- rkjackson99rj, Bringhurst, US

problem #198

Jun 042018

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 256,369 miles

First of all I had the same problem in in January 2011, Miller Toyota of Anaheim had my car on three separate occasions for about 3 month and the problem, oil consumption was not fixed. They finally replaced the engine. It is now 2018 and this car has 260,000 miles with the replacement engine having only 180,000 miles on it, it is now burning oil in the cylinder. I'm going to talk to Toyota again about this problem but I'm concerned because the testing period has not expired and the care is out of warranty they are not going to do anything about this. I want this problem fixed.

- Richard M., North Las Vegas, NV, US

problem #197

Feb 132018

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,111 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

So I heard Toyota recalling 2007 Camry for oil consumption, but once I got there, they said that program has expired 3 month ago. Today is 07/07/18. I never received mail from Toyota and I bought it from Toyota certified dealer 2 years ago.... now the program expired. They won't help. They should never expire the program until they fix this problem 100%......

- Tego M., Lake Zurich, IL, US

problem #196

Mar 242009

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,142 miles

No one said anything about it, but now I am burning 2 quarts between oil change at least. Since we live in remote area, I check between trips to town and noticing it is getting worse. No oil leaks, so it must be burning it. Talked to a Toyota Master Tech and he said there was a paper on it, but due to my miles now, we have to pay. Absolutely not acceptable. We have been toyota users since 1997 and will shift to another next auto. Mechanics never said I was burning oil, just did the oil change. Loved Toyota once.

- Glen H., Logandale, US

problem #195

Jul 052017

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

Burned a quart and a half in 800 miles after last oil change. I have to watch the dipstick like a hawk. It's a real pain, and I worry about missing an oil check and damaging the engine.

- David C., The Dalles, US

problem #194

May 282018

Camry XLE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 167,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought Toyota Camry XLE because I thought they were reliable cars. I asked the salesman if there was anything wrong or any type of recalls on the vehicle. I was told it was just traded in by a local couple and is considered one of Toyota's best cars and best engines,2.4L. Within the first month of ownership and about 1000 miles I noticed the oil was low by one quart. Toyota says this is normal as cars get older, but I also own a Mercury Grand Marquis with over 200,000 miles which does not burn a drop even after 7500 miles.The Camry is such a beautiful car and otherwise is in near perfect condition. I looked up Toyota recalls and the only thing mentioned is this complaint site. If anybody knows of any legal actions that can be taken, I would love to know about them. I am very disappointed in the service Toyota has provided. I should have stuck with Ford.

- Daniel B., Wenona, US

problem #193

Apr 042016

Camry CE 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 110,000 miles

I have a 2007 Camry that I bought new. After a few years I noticed that the engine was burning oil. As I do all of my oil changes, I noticed over the years that the oil consumption was getting greater and greater. My engine was consuming approx. 1qt. of oil every 800 miles. I went on line and searched "2007 Camry Oil Consumption" and found that others were having the very same issue with their Camrys and that Toyota provided an extended warranty on 2.4L engines with this problem. I've lived at my current address for more than 20 years and never received a notice from Toyota abut this problem. Upon finding out about the extended warranty in 2016 I took my Camry to the local Toyota Dealership (Halterman's Toyota in East Stroudsburg, Pa.) which did an oil consumption test. As expected, my engine failed the test miserably and the dealership agreed to fix it under warranty. And that Toyota would provide me with a loaner car while the repairs are being done. At this point my car had approx. 103,000 miles on it. It took approx. one week for the repairs (new pistons, piston rings, gaskets, etc.) and Toyota held true to their promises. The engine is no longer burning excessive oil.

However, I would like to add a comment about the dealership. When I was notified that the repairs were completed the first time I checked out the repair and noticed that the engine had very little oil in it and that there was very little coolant in the radiator and none in the overflow bottle. The service manager said that they were sorry and that they would make sure that all of the fluids would topped off when I picked up my Camry on the following day. I went back to the dealership on the following day and all of the fluids were topped of as they promised but now I noticed that air conditioning wouldn't blow any cold air ( they purged the system and didn't recharge it). Again, excuses from the service manager and this time they would recharge the air conditioning while I waited. Fast forward approx.,2 weeks and the "CHECK ENGINE" light turns on. I have a code reader and the codes that were logged were" Cylinder Misfires on cylinders 1,2,3, and 4". Being disgusted with Halterman's Service Center I decided to fix it myself. What I found was when the engine was reassembled the camshaft timing for both intake and exhaust was way off. After restoring the camshaft timing, no more "Check Engine" light and no more oil consumption.

Beware the Service Dept. at this dealership is TERRIBLE!!!

- Jerry S., East Stroudsburg, PA, US

problem #192

Oct 012016

Camry XLE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

I bought my Camry 2 years ago. I thought there was an oil leak but after awhile I just realized that it was engine oil consumption. I spent a lot of money in oil changing and resealing the oil pan.

- Ahmed H., Farmington, US

problem #191

Jan 092018

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,185 miles

On my regular oil change, the mechanic informed me that the oil was nearly gone. He had no reason as to why this happened as he was the one that changed the oil. I decided to get a second opinion and was recommended another mechanic. Requested an oil change and again the same thing happened as the oil had considered consumed and informed the new mechanic. It was at that time he informed me of the oil consumption that was a major concern and that I had to now monitor the oil. I am now averaging 1 quart of oil every 1000-1400 miles. This has become a serious concern for me. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AND CORRECTED BY TOYOTA. They obviously knew of the defect and still continued to sell without no recourse. As the mechanic commented, " Toyota was one of the reputable and has now lost that, as this manufacturer was considered to be most reliable". I hope they will recall all vehicles with this issue. I will not purchase another car from Toyota.

- tigerp25, Margate, US

problem #190

Apr 052014

Camry XLE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought this car used at a reputable dealer and they never told me this car burned oil. I never knew it burned oil because I always had to bring it to them for oil changes in order to keep the warranty good. So for the last 4 or 5 years I have been adding 1 quart of oil every 500 miles.

- Jeannette I., Cutler, ME, US

problem #189

Jan 012015

Camry 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

My 2007 Toyota Camry 4-cylinder burns oil bad. First noticed it in 2015 when the low oil pressure light came on while my wife was driving. In 2016 the dealership told me that it was a common problem with 2007 Camrys, and the fix is new piston rings, but the warranty or recall had expired! The problem has continued for the last 3 years.

Given that the fix would cost thousands, I just add oil. I add 2 quarts every other time I fill up the gas tank, so that works out to about 1 quart burned every 400 miles. It's a major annoyance, and I worry about one day forgetting, running the engine dry and burning it up! Hopefully I'll keep remembering to add the oil.

- Andrew G., Humble, TX, US

problem #188

May 172018

Camry XLE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,236 miles

I love this car. We always take care of the maintenance. My husband just changed the oil for me and we discovered when he took out the old oil there was only 2.5 quarts of oil in there. How the heck could that be. Its only been 3000 mile since the last oil change. I have just hit 100,236 miles on this car. Very disappointed in Toyota right know. Especial that Toyota knew this to be a problem. I never received any type of notification of this heavy oil consumption.

- Stacey R., Youngstown, OH, US

problem #187

Sep 012016

Camry SE 2.4L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

Having purchased this vehicle from a previous owner, I was not entirely sure what I would be facing in the realm of auto maintenance whether in the immediate or relatively distant future. He told me that he had the car serviced regularly, he never had any issues with the vehicle, and that it was a great car. My guess is that by having work done in the shop, he was never made privy to the amount of oil his Toyota went through.

Now it's my Toyota, has been for the better portion of three years.

While I do enjoy driving this car, it does well getting me where I need to go, I have always been blown away by how much oil I actually need to put in the engine just between oil changes (I do it myself...had a garage stiff me a whole quart one time and ran out halfway across the Mass Pike...that was the end of taking it in somewhere).

Upon reading the owner's manual, I noticed that it does state there is an expected amount of oil that will be consumed over a certain amount of miles, however, my Toyota's rate of consumption far exceeds this. I am putting so much oil in that sometimes I feel like oil changes are a waste of resources considering the rate at which I'm adding fresh oil. By changing the oil I'm draining about a quart or two of oil that is virtually fresh. The only other car owners who ever mention adding SOME oil between changes own old trucks/car with larger, more powerful engines. Naturally, those cars will burn a bit due to the load continually put on the engine and thus the seals in it.

I should not have to add oil to a car at the rate I do. I should not be expected to pay extra to maintain an engine that was negligently engineered. I know that Toyota got into some hot water for this a while back, just hoping the water hasn't cooled off too much and I can still get this taken care of. Ignorance is bliss, but it sure makes for increased annoyance/frustration when revelation occurs.

- Cameron S., Quincy, US

problem #186

Apr 022017

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 148,000 miles

I have my oil changed about every 3,000 to 5,000 miles at the Toyota dealer. My husband ask me to ask the Toyota dealer to check for an oil leak because my oil level would be low before my next oil change. They told me I did not have an oil leak and they did not know why my oil was low before each oil change. My husband did some research on the 2007 Toyota Camry and found out Toyota knows there is an issue with the 2007 Camry burns oil excessively. The Toyota dealer knows about this and did not say anything! Why has Toyota or the dealer not told me about this problem! Are they going to wait until my engine lock up?! I bought my 2007 Camry brand new and have been the only owner. I love my car and it's my only transportation. What can I do?! They should have told me about this over a year ago and fixed the problem!

- Delanie T., Chattanooga, US

problem #185

Oct 102017

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

MAKE THIS A RECALL! EPA IS TO BLAME FOR TOYOTA TO USE SUBSTANDARD PISTON RINGS.

- Chris R., Salem, OR, US

problem #184

Apr 262016

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I am in the process of looking for an attorney to take this matter up as a class action. The case that was filed before was voluntarily dismissed and there are no pending lawsuits on this issue right now. One needs to be as I see so many having the same issues as me. If you are interested in being part of the this, please send me a way to contact you and I can fill you on the details. Thanks

I have 2 of these affected cars. One had already been "repaired" by Toyota dealer because it failed the oil consumption test. The other one passed despite the existence of the problem. The one they repaired also required engine repairs due to this issue. They would not fix this damage and told me that they were only responsible to replace the rings. The car is still using too much oil and now also has this engine damage that they would not fix.The other car has the same issues.

I cannot afford to either fix these cars or replace them. It is not fair that Toyota sold these cars with this known engine part defect and then waited till it got pushed by the lawsuit that was filed to replace the defective parts and are not owning up to the subsequent damage caused to the engine itself due to low oil.

Please contact me to start another class action to force Toyota to make these repairs. Please send a way to contact you if interested. Thanks

- Susan G., Foxboro, US

problem #183

Sep 012017

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,662 miles

I'm the third owner of this vehicle and went to the dealer to see if this issue is still covered by Toyota and they told me NO. They said they only covered vehicles under 10 years since the manufacturing year. When I asked how much it will cost to fix they said it is a 27hrs job and will cost $3,500 Canadian + taxes + some additional parts. I'm so pissed. I was hoping to drive this car more than 500,000 Km. I'm so disappointed. I was thinking to buy Toyota Sienna in the near future, but I don't think I will buy any Toyota products anymore.

- seyoumtek, Maple Ridge, BC, Canada

problem #182

Jan 102018

Camry LE 4cycl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

My 2007 Camry has only 53K miles and is starting to use oil. It is near the 1 quart of oil for every 1K miles. I maintain my cars and have been happy with the many Toyota verticals I've owned in the past.

This is a big issue for me and I hope that Toyota takes ownership of the cheap parts they used on this model of camry.

I owned a 2000 V6 Camry till it had well over 250K miles and I never had it use a drop of oil.

Has anyone had a dealership replace their engine? My local dealership only tells me that I'm past my 5 year warranty.

- awolsfeld, Richardson, US

problem #181

Jan 012017

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

My Car runs fine apart from this oil consumption issue. With almost 4.5 qts of motor oil it just goes 1000 miles and then it's time to refill the motor oil again. It's pain filling up the oil every 1000 miles and it's hitting my pocket every 1000 miles. My car currently has 155k miles on it but it runs smooth and I'm using the best oil i can afford which is Pennzoil platinum high mileage full synthetic oil. On an average i drive 1000 miles every 15 days.. so now you can see how bad the problem is and being a loyal customer to Toyota, the company don't even want to fix this problem.

- David D., San Antonio, TX, US

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?