10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,205 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Jun 102010

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine lower case crank seal leak. I called Toyota Corp. Office and they refused to help me. I have read all the complaints, and I believe this problem should have been a recall. Toyota Corp. Needs to recall and fix problem before someone gets seriously hurt driving a car without oil. The engine oil light does not come on. It can also cause an engine stoppage. I am a senior citizen and fear something will happen. The cost to fix is about $2200. I am a senior citizen and cannot afford that kind of money. I would appreciate it if you could help me with this problem. I will type the date I bought the car at the bottom of this form because it is asking date incident happened and won't take recent dates. Thank you.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #40

Jul 122019

Camry

  • 171,364 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that his wife informed him that, while making a turn, an abnormal clicking noise was heard and the oil warning indicator illuminated. The contact stated that the failure recurred while driving approximately 40 mph. The vehicle was taken to Toyota of newnan (770-502-1333, 2 herring rd, newnan, ga 30265), but the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The technician added oil and advised the contact to return after driving 1,000 miles. The vehicle was taken back to the same dealer where it was diagnosed that the piston was faulty and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 171,364.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #39

Aug 032019

Camry

  • 233,000 miles
The first incident happend on 8/3/2019, my oil light blinked on and off and it was not time for an oil change. So I checked it the next day and I had no oil in my car. Well it happened again tonight 9/12/2019, I have synthetic oil and the light litteraly just came on at the 5K mark. Leaving my mom the oil light blinked on and off again. Took to oreily and I had no oil in the car. I do not have a leak so obviously my car is now burning oil like all the other complaints. Come on Toyota, you guys need to do better with this and recall the 2010's as well before I blow up my engine.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #38

Mar 302017

Camry

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine burns oil excessively over 5 qts per oil change every 5000 miles. I'm afraid this engine may fail on the highway and create unsafe situation during regular commutes. I also believe this problem is getting progressively worse, this oil burning started 4 years ago at a smaller rate 1 -2 qt per oil change now it has doubled. There has been a Toyota extended warranty issued from Toyota for this exact problem for 2009 Camry, but Toyota refuses to give this warranty to 2010 Camry owners.they say any engine damages is the customers responsibility. Toyota needs to issue another recall or warranty extension for this 2010 year and any others experiencing the same issue.

- Alsip, IL, USA

problem #37

Jan 012014

Camry

  • miles
The vehicle is burning too much oil.

- Phila, PA, USA

problem #36

Jul 012018

Camry

  • miles
My car has been using a large amount of oil in the past year. I want some suggestions.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #35

Feb 032014

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine burns oil excessively 2 qts per oil change every 3000 miles. I'm afraid this engine may fail on the highway from lack of oil on a long trip and if I do not check every week during regular commutes. I also believe this problem is getting progressively worse, this oil burning started 5 years ago at a smaller rate 1/2 -1 qt per oil change now it has doubled. There has been a Toyota extended warranty issued from Toyota for this exact problem for 2009 Camry, but Toyota refuses to give this warranty to 2010 Camry owners.they say any engine damages is the customers responsibility. The price to fix this problem was quoted by the dealer at $5000.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #34

Oct 162017

Camry

  • miles
Engine consumes oil at an accelerated rate. Toyota dealership confirmed that the engine on the 2010 Toyota Camry SE is consuming oil. They advised that there have been recalls on other vehicles however it skipped this vehicle year. Toyota has not provided an option for repair aside from dismantling the engine and rebuilding at my expense. Vehicle requires oil changes and/or oil replenishment almost every 600-1200 miles

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #33

Jan 022018

Camry

  • 100,000 miles
My 2010 canry 2.4L engine has been consuming 1 quart of oil monthly or every 1,000 miles. I woudl like Toyota to fix problem free of charge.

- Elmwood Park, IL, USA

problem #32

Jul 062018

Camry

  • 122,000 miles
Initially, I thought I may have been imagining things but over this summer I noticed that my car was burning oil so fast, that I needed an oil change every 1000 miles. Recently, I got my oil changed at the end of August 2018, used ow-20 full synthetic and two weeks later, the oil had burned out. Last week on 9/13/18, I put 4 quarts in and today I checked my dipstick and it nearly dry. I am afraid that this matter will only continue to get worse. I don┐T understand how Toyota wouldn┐T recall vehicles that are a safety danger.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #31

Jun 122018

Camry

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine was making noise ans intermittently stalled. Took the dealer. He charged $135 for the diagnosis and said the engine is burning excessive oil. Real solution is to replace the engine for $4500. He did not offer any compensation. I got the engine oiled filled and drove back home. The car is useless for me. I cannot sell it or trade it. It is a junk now.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #30

Feb 092018

Camry

  • 16,500 miles
Toyota dropped the ball and didn't recall this engine oil consumption issue. I check recalls frequently. Now I'm stuck with a car that drinks a gallon of oil every 700-1200K miles. Even though they did extend the warranty to 10yrs/150K miles, this issue usually happens after then. So they knew what they was doing. My car is going to fail the test but Toyota dealers tell me that Toyota is going to help with any of the repair costs. Talk about pissed. Toyota and Lexus just lost a loyal customer

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #29

Jul 032017

Camry

  • 92,000 miles
Excessive oil consumption; adding oil every 1000 miles. Noticed first approx. July 2017.

- Cooper City, FL, USA

problem #28

Oct 012017

Camry

  • 125,000 miles
The car maintenance has been kept up per the manufacturer and always taken to the Toyota dealer. The car was making a loud unusual noise from the engine; took it to Toyota and the oil stick was completely dry. This was after just having a routine oil change about a month earlier. About 1,000 to 1,200 miles later, the same thing, no oil on the dip stick. Interestingly, there is no oil leak in the driveway either. The service adviser explained they don't know what it could be and there was no recall on the 2010 Camry for this type issue. They topped off the oil again and said to come back at the 1,000 mile mark to have it checked again and to check it weekly as well. Made it to about 800 miles and again no oil. This is very frustrating as Toyota corporation got to know that this is a manufacturer defect and need to recall these vehicles and fix this issue before someone gets seriously hurt driving a car with no oil since the oil light never comes on either as a warning. Lastly, the adviser did say it may be something with the engine that would cost us upward of $5K to $6K.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #27

Jan 032017

Camry

  • 145,000 miles
Excessive oil consumption. About one quart per 1200 miles. Did have the oil consumption monitored by Toyota about a year ago and they said we passed. Then we exceeded the mileage covered in the tsb

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #26

Nov 082016

Camry

  • 82,000 miles
Like so many other Toyota vehicles; started using an excessive amount of oil ( @ one quart every 500 miles) at about 82,000 miles

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #25

Apr 242017

Camry

  • 54,000 miles
Brief engine knock/rattle noise at cold statup (1ar/2ar). Per Toyota T-sb-0041-13 -- immediately following a cold startup, some 2009-2013 model year vehicles equipped with the 1ar-fe and 2ar-fe engines may exhibit a brief knock/rattle noise from the engine compartment for approximately one second. Follow the repair procedure below to address this condition. This is due to worn / loose cam gears. A quick google search shows that this issue is rampant among many Toyota models. Toyota has issues a tsb, but not a recall. Failure of this part can cause engine stoppage while driving.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #24

Apr 212016

Camry

  • miles
Car takes synthetic oil and losing 2 quarts every 3 months or so. No leak on driveway and no smoke from exhaust...

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #23

Apr 102012

Camry

  • miles
Burning oil found the problem a 48,000 miles.I have to put a quart of every 1500 miles know I have 186,000 its getting worse no oil on ground

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #22

Jan 012016

Camry 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
My 2010, 4 cylinder Toyota Camry is using extreme amounts of oil. It has been tested for excessive oil consumption in 5/2016 and I was told it qualified for Toyota's repair under enhanced warranty. Car was manufactured in 2009. Called 1/18/17 that they had gotten to my name on their very long list and to bring it in. After looking at the car to repair it, I was told the engine is a little different and it does not qualify for the repairs-even though it is obviously having the same problems. I was told to call corporate Toyota to see if it could be included. They said no and that I need another oiled consumption test because last one is more than 6 months old. Basically, just told that I am responsible for the repair of the extreme oil consumption (approx 1 qt/250 miles).

- Chickamauga, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?