Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: What the heck happened here? A year after getting our "seal of pretty good" for the 2004, Chrysler turns around and delivers this crapwagon.

This minivan has problems ranging from rack and pinion steering failure to door locks that won't let you out. And trust me, you'll want to get out.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,850 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Town & Country seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Dec 102005

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag sensor I have complained to the dealership since I purchased the van new I have not been able to get results.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #13

Mar 182008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 31,404 miles
The airbag warning lamp came on intermittently at first over the course of a week or so then it stayed on solid. I took it to the dealer for service while under warranty and they replaced the right front airbag sensor without cost under warranty which fixed the problem. The reason I'm filing this complaint is because the sensor recall (id # 07V192000) only covers vehicles with build dates between Apr 24, 2003 and Feb 2, 2005. My vehicle, which has a "date of mfr" of 07/05, is not covered by this recall. My concern is that if the problem with my vehicle is not just a random occurrence Chrysler may have underestimated the number of vehicles potentially impacted by the recall.

- Essex Junction, VT, USA

problem #12

Sep 152007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We own a 2005 Chrysler Town & Country minivan. Earlier today, the vehicle was in a 65mph full frontal crash with a light pole at the side of a tollway. For reasons unknown, both the front driver and passenger airbags failed to deploy. The van was towed to a collision yard pending insurance claim.

- Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, USA

problem #11

May 162007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact's vehicle was rear ended and her head struck the steering wheel. The air bag failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The engine size and vehicle speed were unknown. The current mileage is 51 and failure mileage was 50.

- Newton , TX, USA

problem #10

Nov 232006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
- the contact stated that the air bags lights continued to turn on and off. The contact stated that on rainy days the light came on and off more frequently. This started in November 2006. She took the vehicle to the dealership on 1/10/06, and was told that a clock spring in the steering column was the cause of the malfunction. The mechanic did inform ed the contact that this could cause the horn, signal lights, and air bags to malfunction. Updated 1/30/2007 -

- Lepart, WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Nov 252005

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,585 miles
I was involved in an accident in November last year. Upon repairing the van, an inspection was done on the front airbag sensors, and it was told to me that they were in working order. I believe that to be a lie. Everytime my wife moves in the front passenger seat, the passenger airbag light in the center panel comes on. This light usually will stay on for approx a couple minutes at a time. A gentleman from the safety department had contacted me and told me they were investigating the failure of the front airbag sensors. He had asked for pictures, which at that time I did not have. I have pictures that I have found which I can send you upon request.

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #8

May 282006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Chrysler Town & Country LX 2005, unfortunately I had an accident, I received a lateral impact from a car that passed a red light and we were projected to the opposite corner where we finally stopped because we crashed against a pole that was over the sidewalk. My concern is that even though we had a frontal impact, air bags did not open (we broke the pole). The advertising from Chrysler says that minivans scored the 5 stars from NHTSA. I do not feel secure any more in that vehicle and I was wondering if there is a warranty against air bags failures; what can I do? I do not want that minivan anymore; I do not feel that my family could be safe in case of accident.

- Torreon, Coahuila; Mexico, 00, USA

problem #7

Jun 022006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was involved in a front end collision an the air bag failed to inflate on my 2005 Chrysler mini van.

- Lake City, MI, USA

problem #6

Sep 222005

Town & Country

  • miles
I was a front seat passenger in a 2005 Chrysler minivan Town & Country. It was a rental. We had a front end collision and upon impact the front passenger airbag did not deploy until we were at a stop. Also, the seat belt did not lock in place and I was thrown into the windshield and dash. Injuries were sustained. Please advise.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #5

Sep 222005

Town & Country

  • miles
I was a front seat passenger in a 2005 Chrysler minivan which was a rental. We were in an accident in which there was significant front end damage. My seat belt did not lock on impact and I flew into the windshield. Also, my airbag deployed late as we were rolling to a stop, therefore my knee slammed into the dash. According to records, this model van has a recall, but it was not purchased until 6/05 well after the recall it appears. Please advise.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #4

Sep 102005

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bags did not deploy in front end collision. Air bag indicator was illuminated after the collision.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #3

Sep 212005

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
The consumer's vehicle was involved in a crash at 55 mph. The vehicle is a 2005 Chrysler town and country. Upon impact, the airbags in the front of the van did not deploy. The point of impact was the front end of the van. The van was hit almost head on. Neither of the front doors of the vehicle would open. The doors had to be pried open to get the passengers out. The driver and the passenger sustained injuries to the neck, ribs, sternum, and the collar bone. Both drivers were wearing seat belts. The consumer have not contacted Chrysler as of now. There were police and ambulances involved. Police and insurance reports were taken. The consumer has pictures available to view. The van was totaled, and the it was only a month old with less than 1,500 miles. Phone interview update (Oct 24, 2005): The air bag warning light was not "on" before the crash. She agreed to send pictures with the follow-up voq form. Updated 11-02-05.

- Brooklyn, MI, USA

problem #2

Jan 012005

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer had taken his eyes off of the road due to a distraction and accidentally hit a stopped vehicle that was in front of him. The seat belt did not hold and the air bag(s) did not deploy. The consumer was injured in the crash. Phone interview update (Oct 24, 2005): The accident occurred on an exit ramp, so the vehicle speed was probably too low for the air bag to deploy. There was no warning light on the dash prior to the crash.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

Nov 302004

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer was involved in a collision while driving at 30 mph. Upon impact, airbags deployed. After the collision. Consumer tried to unbuckle safety belt it loosened, but would not unbuckle. Consumer had to cut the safety belt. When airbags deployed, the knee blocker failed to work. Instead it pushed out the plastic panel located on steering column. This resulted in injuring consumer's legs. When passenger side airbag deployed buckle on safety belt came apart.

- Petal, MS, USA

Not what you are looking for?