Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,539 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 4 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #182

Sep 282010

Town & Country

  • 24,171 miles


I bought a 2008 Chrysler town and country in 9/08. I received a warranty extension regarding the front brakes. Took in to a dealer 8/20/10 was told that there are no front brakes available as there is a national backorder from Chrysler but the rear brakes are okay. I called 3 times to inquire on the parts status told not available from Chrysler. Went to another dealer who had the brakes but am now told that my rear brakes will not pass nys inspections on 9/28/10. I have exactly 24,171 miles on my car. I was told by the dealer that it was my bad driving habits that caused the rear brake failure and not defective parts although the front brakes are defective and Chrysler is extending the warranty out of their commitment to the customer. I have never had a car have rear brake issues especially at 24,000 miles. I had to pay the additional $50 toward the deductible B/C Chrysler was out of brakes and I went over the 24,000 threshold while waiting for them to ship. Now I had to pay $267 for rear brake pads in a two year old vehicle. I have noticed on the internet that many more people are having this rear brake problem with Chrysler as well.

- Voorheesville, NY, USA

problem #181

Sep 042009

Town & Country

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler town and country. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, both of the side door panels opened suddenly. The contact pulled over and closed the doors. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the doors were repaired. The failure occurred again. The contact also stated that she heard a grinding noise while driving back to the dealer and the transmission fell out of the vehicle onto the ground. The air conditioner failed twice and the front brake pads also fell off. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000. The current mileage was approximately 20,000.

- Scotch Plains , NJ, USA

problem #180

Sep 292010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 14,317 miles
I own a 2008 town and country van purchased in may of 2008. The vehicle has 14,317 miles on it and all four brakes, front and back are gone. Front down to 1% and the rear are metal to metal. Something is wrong.

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #179

Aug 112010

Town & Country

  • 18,000 miles


Front and rear brake pads and rotors on 2008 Chrysler Town and country vehicles are inferior and wear out prematurely; and in some cases the pad material separates from the steel backing plate. Rotors are also inferior and warp. All of this occurs usually in under 15,000 miles. Chrysler is aware of this problem, and knows that it extends into may other vehicle lines. New rotors and pads have been installed to correct this issue on my vehicle which now stops properly. The brakes on this vehicle can become ineffective due to loss of friction material, or heating caused by inferior rotor materials.

- Oakland Gardens, NY, USA

problem #178

May 012009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The vehicle shakes and the brake pedal pulsates when he applies the brake while driving at any speed. The consumer also experiences an increased stopping distance. He has had the brakes replaced four times at either an authorized dealer or independent repair shop. The contact declined to provide any further details. The failure mileage was 24,500 and the current mileage was 59,700. Updated 02/09/11

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #177

Sep 162008

Town & Country

  • 15,000 miles
2008 Chrysler Town and country vans need brakes well before they should. My first set of brakes only lasted approximately 15000 miles and the van has needed new brakes every 3000 miles since. According to Chrysler this is "normal maintenance." However many other Toyota and Honda mini van owners that I have spoken with have had their brakes last for 35K to 40K miles. If you research Chrysler van brakes online, many people have posted in forums that their brakes also wear down at an alarming rate. Chrysler acknowledges that there is a problem but as of yet has not provided a fix besides replacing the pads and rotors a ridiculous amount of times (although they are footing the bill minus a deductible up until 36,000 miles at which point it becomes the owner's problem). Chrysler should be held responsible for making a product which does not perform properly and poses a safety hazard as many people have said online they did not realize they even had a problem with the brakes until they brought it in for other service and were told that the brakes were completely worn down after being replaced only a couple of thousand miles ago. My brakes pulsate violently on the highway and going downhill, but there is nothing Chrysler can do about it short of replacing the rotors when the pulsation gets unbearable. In 30K miles I am currently on my 6th set of rotors and I have spent countless hours on the phone with Chrysler but they will do nothing for me. Chrysler has taken a lot of money from a lot of people and has not provided a safe product. They should have to fix the problem or take back the vehicles.

- Newtown, CT, USA

problem #176

Sep 082010

Town & Country

  • 25,000 miles


Front brakes and rotors needed to be replaced at 16,000; now rear brakes and rotors need to be replaced at 25,000; Chrysler has subsequently covered the front brakes under warranty but will not cover rear brakes even though same issue is occurring.

- Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #175

Sep 072010

Town & Country

  • 30,000 miles
2008 Chrysler town and country front and rear brakes worn out at 30,000 miles. Front rotors worn out at 30000 miles and had to pay $100 deductible to have replaced. Paid out of pocket to have rear brakes replaced. All of my other vehicles I have gone over 100,000 miles on rear brakes and 100,000 miles on the rotors. I have never had front brakes that needed to be replaced before 60,000 miles.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #174

Dec 302009

Town & Country

  • 25,000 miles
Brake issues - having to replace brake pads and rotors, we are on our third set for our 2008 chry Town and country mini van. Present mileage 39884. On two occasions the brakes over heated with smoke, lots of smoke. Once in Dec.2009 and the other 2010. We used snow to cool off the brakes. We were concerned that a fire would start. We had taken our vehicle back to the dealer for the brakes and we were told they were fine this prior to the smoking incident in 2009. Later in October 2009 we went to Firestone to get the tires rotated they advised the brakes need to be replaced at 22,324 miles. They called the dealer and reported the brakes, the dealer advised brakes were not covered. We had the brake pads and rotors replaced a couple days later on own. Then in July 2010 the brakes over heated and smoked again. On Sept 2010 the brake pads and front rotors had to be replaced. Upon looking into this issue on the internet there seems to be a lot of complaints with the 2008 chry Town and country having brake issues. We did get a notice from chry. But there seem to be a bigger issue.

- Port Orange , FL, USA

problem #173

Sep 012010

Town & Country

  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. While having the vehicle examined the contact noticed that the front brake pads were worn down to the rotor. The vehicle had not been diagnosed and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 29000.

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #172

Mar 012010

Town & Country

  • 32,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 45 mph, the brakes began to sequel abnormally. The noise would cease once the brakes were depressed. In addition, there was a burning odor coming from the vehicle. The failure continued to recur intermittently. The dealer discovered that the rear brake pads and rotors were destroyed and would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired by an independent mechanic. Approximately 4 months later, the failure recurred. On one occasion, the contact noticed smoke coming from the rear passenger tire. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where she was informed that there was a failure within the calipers. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 32,000 and the current mileage was 37,000.

- Adams, NY, USA

problem #171

Aug 112010

Town & Country

  • miles
The brakes are constantly needing to be replaced due to wear. The problem begins with squeaking and then grinding begins. Brakes are being replaced as often as every 12,000 miles. Repairs involved new brake pads and either new rotors or repaired rotors. This has been an ongoing problem since about 12,000 miles.

- Olmsted Falls, OH, USA

problem #170

Aug 122008

Town & Country

  • 9,000 miles
Brakes failed I have replaced front and back rotors and pads twice in 30,000 miles rotors were warped but pads not worn out, just misshapen from rotor. Unsafe driving condition.

- New Canaan, CT, USA

problem #169

Jul 212010

Town & Country

  • 33,333 miles
2008 chrsyler town and country front brakes are defective and ear out within 5,000 miles. Manufacturer is aware of problem and has designed new brake pads. They have not recalled the vehicles. They do not have enough brake pads available for replacement and are telling customers that they must wait 4 months to get brake pads. They suggest that people simply drive with metal on metal until brakes are available. This is absurd and obviously unsafe.

- West Roxbury, MA, USA

problem #168

Aug 112010

(reported on)

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2008 Chrysler Town & Country. S10 appropriate handling-letter from regarding Chrysler problems the consumer was informed the vehicle needed new brake pads and rotors. The technician stated the pads had cut into the metal of both rotors. The consumer received a recall notice after having the brakes and rotors replaced by a third party. Chrysler denied the consumers requested for reimbursement because the consumer did not have the repairs done at a Chrysler dealership. The consumer stated the dealer didn't have the parts readily available.

- Fitchburg, MA, USA

problem #167

Jun 152010

Town & Country

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds and making a turn, she heard a grinding sound on the rear passenger side of the vehicle. The problem occurred intermittently but began to happen more frequently as time progressed. The contact planned to take the vehicle to the dealer on August 9, 2010. Prior to the rear braking failure, the contact replaced the front brakes in January 2010 for the same grinding noise. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they could not assist her. The current mileage was approximately 29,100. The failure mileage was approximately 27,000.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #166

Aug 062010

(reported on)

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Chrysler town&country with brake issues. The consumer stated within a day or two of washing the vehicle, all four wheels again became covered with black brake dust. The consumer stated the issue should be treated as a recall not as a warranty extension.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #165

Jun 082010

Town & Country

  • 23,800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. While the contact was driving approximately 35 mph, the brakes were engaged, followed by a stutter. The failure occurred at any speed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician informed that the four brake rotors were warped. The contact received a manufacturer notice pertaining to the replacement of the front brake components. However, the authorized dealer would not honor the remedy repair due to the brake pads specs not meeting the manufacturer requirements. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 23,800.

- Williamsburg, PA, USA

problem #164

May 182010

Town & Country

  • 18,794 miles
I have a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country that has severe brake problems. I was told the front brakes are covered under the warranty and there is a known issue with them. ( I was sent a letter concerning this by Chrysler) the same described problem occurred with the rear brakes. The calipers froze, warping the rotors and braking the pads. I was told by Chrysler that the calipers would be covered because of being defective but the damaged caused by this condition would not be covered. The vehicle only has 19,000 miles on it.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #163

May 282010

Town & Country

  • 12,000 miles
2008 Town and country van. Rear brakes pads and rotors replaced at 12,000 miles. Left rear caliper froze shortly after, smoking and very hot. Fire hazard. Front brake pads replaced at 14,000 miles. Brakes have major issues, undersized for this vehicle" reports online indicate they need replacing as soon as every 10,000 miles. No longer think that my wife was the problem. Can someone force Chrysler into recalling this vehicle and replacing with larger braking system? must an entire family with kids perish? now wheel bearings are noisy - many online reports - related to brakes"

- East Hampton, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?