Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,598 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Apr 102013

Town & Country

  • 43,000 miles


The tire valves just give out. The first time I was putting air in and the valve broke and left the air out. Yesterday I was cleaning the vehicle and the valve just broke upon being touched with a brush and the air gushed out the tire. I have replaced these valves three to four times. Under warranty at first. The cost of $67 is almost the cost of a tire. For safety reasons they will only place the valves in that are monitored. I've never had a valve break on regular valves, I can imagine if riding on the highway with my grandchildren and this valve would have been hit by any debris it would have caused a blow out and me losing control of the car and possibly wrecking. Just to monitor air pressure seems more important than maintaining the air in the tire, what is more of a safety factor, knowing whether your tire needs air or losing all the air in the tire when the valve gives way.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #36

Jul 012015

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
The car didnt start. I have had the starter abd battery replced within the past year. Each have been tested multiple time because this isnt and isolated incident. I go to turn the car on I have hed the fobik replaced but the problem still exists. The car eventually started after an hour.

- Camden, NJ, USA

problem #35

Feb 052014

Town & Country

  • 46,000 miles
My problem is involving a safety recall L25/NHTSA 14V-373. I received a safety recall notice well over 1 1/2 years ago. I made repeated calls to my dealer and was told every time that there were no parts available. About 6 weeks ago I received another safety recall notice RO3/NHTSA 14V-373. Again, no parts available. Every time I call I'm instructed to call back in two weeks. Although I have been told that the second recall replaces the first, that recall notice states that the records indicate that your vehicle also requires repair for notification L25. I bought this mini van for only reason - to Transport my grandchildren. It is extremely important to me that this safety recall be completed.

- Mckees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #34

Jul 272015

Town & Country

  • 84,200 miles


The rear lift gate on my mini-van opened fully then came crashing down. It missed my head but hit my shoulder. It could have caused severe injury to an adult or small child. The lift gate now will open fully then come crashing down because of the defective part.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #33

Jun 292015

Town & Country

  • 120,310 miles
I received two safety recalls, L25 / nhtsa14V-373 and R03 / NHTSA 14V-373. I have called bob brady auto mall several times, and I am still waiting for the parts. For safety recall R03 / NHTSA 14V-373, I called on 06/29/2015. They said they must order the parts and will call me when the parts come in. I have checked several times to see if the parts are in. I checked on 07/22/2015, and there are still no parts. As far as L25 / NHTSA 14V-373 is concerned, I never heard back from bob brady auto mall on this issue.

- Decatur, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #32

Jul 032015

Town & Country

  • 80,888 miles
Recall repair. Went to the dealer with a 9:30 appt, after waiting 2 1/2 hours in the lobby, I checked on the status of my vehicle. I was told that nothing had been done yet, and it would cost me to have the remote starter disconnected in order to do the repair. When I originally purchased the van there was no mention of a remote starter in the description, no "fobs" came with it and I didn't add one. I am told that over 60% of the vehicles in the recall have remote starters. And if they are all in the same boat as I am, they will have to fork out cash to have a "free" recall completed. I believe Chrysler should have, at the very least, noted the additional consumer cost in the the recall letter if they were not going to cover it. However, I do not see how they are not responsible for the full cost. Obviously I want safety for my family so I paid the cost to have this repair completed. However, as a single mom, an unexpected $130 out of my budget is a large chunk and I am not happy with Chrysler for causing me a hardship for their mistake. I am quite sure I am not the only customer who feels this way, especially those who may have to decide between safety and day-to-day living expenses like shelter, food, etc. Considering this is the 3rd recall for my vehicle, and with the way this one was handled, I don't feel that I want to be a future customer. I wonder how many other customers will not be returning!

- Brookfield, IL, USA

problem #31

Jun 262015

Town & Country

  • miles


I made an appointment for the recall to be fixed. The dealer called me the night before and said the part was used for another customer. I made the second appointment for June 26, 2015. The dealer called the day before and confirmed. I got to the dealer at 8:10am. At 9:15am a sales associate came out and told me that the part was not there. I wasted my time and am very disappointed!! I do not have anything positive to say about Chrysler. Their customer service is the worst I have ever had to deal with as a consumer. This is one week later and not even the manager has called me. I will never ever purchase with Chrysler again!!

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #30

Aug 182014

Town & Country

  • 66,867 miles
Vehicle acted up for a couple of weeks, would start fine then I would turn it off, next time it would not start. Would wait a while and then it would start. Finally went to start and it would not at all. Had it towed and it took two days to have a new win module and two new fobs replaced charged $600 now I have to have them replaced again because of recall R03 that replaces L25. Chrysler says it is not the same problem so no reimbursement and have to replace again because they didn't have new win part last year, so I feel they basically charged me for a defective part but their investigation says it is not the same problem they are recalling but it is the exact same part. I really like my van but will not be purchasing another Chrysler product, I was looking for a new vehicle when I received this recall, but since all of this apparently I do not matter to this company and I will be taking my business elsewhere.

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #29

Mar 272015

Town & Country

  • 73,779 miles
I got in the van and it woul not start. I continued to turn the fobik until it started. I drove the van to Chrysler dealer in collierville Tennessee. They installed a win kit. I drove it home and had various electrical problems. The wipers and lights would come on automatically. I took the van back to the same daler. They replaced the tipm. I took it home aagain to discover the van to have the original problem along with the electrical problems. My van has been in the shop approximately 2 months for these problems. It is presently there now. I have spent a total of $1689.61 for these repairs. I am not getting any results.

- Oakland, TN, USA

problem #28

Sep 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
I received a recall September 2014 for the wireless ignition node module (L25). I took my vehicle in to dealership to see if I had the problem. I did need a replacement. The dealership said they would order the part and contact me in about 2 weeks to repair. 4 weeks later I stopped into the dealership to check on part. They were extremely rude and said the part wasn't in yet. I waited another 4 weeks and still no part. I am in receipt of another recall notice for the same recall that the dealership hasn't fixed since last September!!!!!

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #27

Sep 092013

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles


I own a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. I received notification (at least a year ago if not longer) of L25/NHTSA 14V-373. However, the part to do the repair was unavailable every time I contacted the dealership. I believe the manufacturer has exceeded a reasonable amount of time for this recall repair. My vehicle has experienced a failure at least five times. The first failure mileage was 20,000. Yesterday, I received R03/NHTSA 14V-373. I again called the dealership regarding both notifications and was again told that they do not have the parts. I asked when they would receive the parts and was told they don't know. I asked how I would know when they were available and the dealership told me that I could get on a list of about 300 they had to call and they would get to me when they could or I could just keep calling back.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #26

Aug 012013

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
The keys system would not lock/unlock the car consistently. Manual operation of unlocking/locking the car was the work around. Subsequently the ignition or wireless remote system has gone bad which now affects the igntion displaying a "bad key" and solution is to replace the entire wireless remote system. The wireless remote system controls the ignition, the doors, the engine.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #25

May 122015

Town & Country

  • 96,000 miles
The vehicle continues to shut down unexpectedly while driving. I must drive in the slow lane on the highway so that I can pull over every time this happens and restart the car. I was driving app. 65 mph when I heard the dreaded click and saw that the key again turned to the off position. The safety of my children and myself is being compromised on a daily basis as I have no other choice than to drive this vehicle as it is not paid off. Chrysler is noncompliant and rude when I contact them monthly to ask about the recall. I currently have no other keys or key chains on the vehicle because I was advised by Chrysler not to. They continue to tell me that the part has not yet been made (I was sent a recall notice last summer).

- Olmsted Township, OH, USA

problem #24

Apr 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
When I try to turn off the ignition, it will will not go all the way to off. The key will not come out.

- Damascus, MD, USA

problem #23

Sep 292014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
I would like to submit a complaint against Chrysler for their slow response to the L25 fobik recall. We received notification about the recall last year, but have been told by two dealerships on 4 occasions that the fix hasn't been manufactured as yet. We have responded to the dealerships that we are currently having difficulty with the fob, as it often will not release from the ignition when the car is shut off. We were told that we could pay for an "old part ignition" and then when the new part is created we can be reimbursed. That doesn't seem like a good remedy-replace a defective part with another defective part! Chrysler's customer service line is worse than slow-it is non existent. I attempted to call Chrysler's customer assistance line, but after remaining on hold for over 30 minutes, I hung up. I am fearful to drive the vehicle. I am uncomfortable with trying to sell it while under this particular recall.

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

problem #22

Apr 062015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,080 miles
I received a recall notice from Chrysler last fall. The NHTSA website dated the recall 6/16/11 and then it was expanded 6/26/14 to include my vehicle with letters being sent to owners 9/11/14. As of today, the problem has not been fixed by Chrysler. I have called them twice and been on hold for over 30 minutes each time and not spoken to anyone! Chrysler has definitely failed to remedy this in a reasonable amount of time. I had an incident yesterday in which my fobik moved to the accessory mode and the engine shut off while I was traveling 67 mph and in moderate traffic. This was very dangerous and gave me quite a scare. I am grateful my three children were not with me. I have followed Chrysler's precautions to ensure my safety, but the incident happened anyway. Chrysler needs to get the defect fixed immediately and in the future maintain better contact with vehicle owners about the status of recalls.

- Walkerton, IN, USA

problem #21

Feb 132015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice on my van. Called the local dealer & was told parts were on backorder. The dealer stated I would receive another form from Chrysler when parts were available. I waited several months & called the 800 hotline; recording stated parts were still on backorder. It has now been a couple months & no word. Are parts still on backorder" what's taking so long" thank you for your time in dealing with this matter. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Quincy, IL, USA

problem #20

Jan 252015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 89,571 miles
Wife stated that she went to her car to leave from work and once she got close to the vehicle the horn began blaring non stop, wipers running, fluid spurting out, dash lights going on and off and door locks going up and down. I arrived and removed the battery cable and it stopped. I replaced the cable a short time later and was able to start the vehicle and I started driving it home and as I got up to about 30 mph it did it again and this time the car cut off and I lost steering and brakes but was able to come to a stop on the side of the busy street I was on. I removed the key from the ignition and got out of the vehicle at which point I noticed that the car had cut back on and was actually running without the key in the ignition. I drove it home without further incident. At 3 am the same night we were awakened by the vehicles horn blaring in the driveway. I went outside and it was doing the same thing that my wife originally stated but the car was actually running without a key being anywhere near it - we do not have the remote start installed on the vehicle. My wife and I refuse to drive it due to the fact that if the above problems happen at 70 mph we would probably be dead.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #19

Dec 032014

Town & Country

  • miles
The key phobe gets stuck in the ignition and wont turn all the way off and today I put the key in and the ignition would not turn. This is an ongoing issue that has resulted in me being stranded until the igniton decides to work.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #18

Nov 012009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
I have had several problems with the 2008 Chrysler minivan. Electrical, engine, ignition, etc. I even had the one door not have the sensor go off and pinch my one twins leg into the door! over the years, the ignition switch pops over and stops the car completely while driving at intermittent times. I could be going 20 miles an hour or on the highway driving at a higher rate of speed. The whole van shuts down so if you are on the highway, you can barely steer to get over (and thankfully I have been able to do so). I received a recall notice in June. It is November and my van still isn't fixed. The dealership and Chrysler know that I am having the issue and have had it. I have called and voiced my complaints. I am "number 5" in line to get the part! so, what will Chrysler do when I get rear ended or injured when my vehicle fails to operate. The van shuts off at least once a week while I am driving it. If I didn't have full, lifetime warranty, this van would have been traded in the year after I purchased it. It has been nothing but problems since I have owned it. Chrysler is not doing its job to keep people safe. They have not taken my issue seriously and brush it off as not a big deal. I have a van because I have kids. I would think that safety would be of utmost importance but it falls on deaf ears.

- Smithsburg, MD, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?