Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 26 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #247

Sep 222014

Town & Country

  • 57,406 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the battery had failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, however, the failure recurred. Also, the contact stated that when the vehicle was parked the hatch opened and closed without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 57,406.

- Freeland, MI, USA

problem #246

Apr 072015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at 55 mph, the engine stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 6/8/15

- Romeo, MI, USA

problem #245

Jan 012015

Town & Country

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at 25 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags) but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Westfield, NJ, USA

problem #244

Apr 212015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #243

Mar 142015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
I was preparing to leave home on the morning of March 14, 2015. I backed the car out of the garage and just as I was about to pull forward there was smoking coming from the front passenger side of the hood. The vehicle had barely warmed up, there were no warning lights illuminated so I exit the vehicle to see what's happening. Just as I left the hood about two inches, there is a fire in the rear of the engine cabin with sparks from it. I immediately backed away from the car and within minutes the entire engine compartment was engulfed in flames. The eastpointe, mi fire department came out and ruled the fire an electrical fire. This fire could have killed me as there were no warnings just fire and spontaneous combustion should not occur on a vehicle five years old. This is the vehicle I transported my five kids in and had this occurred on the freeway we were heading for death or injury would have been eminent. I am now afraid that others are at similar if not worse risk. Shame on Chrysler for marketing a family vehicle with such significant risk of death or injury.

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #242

Jun 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
On numerous occasions, as the car is parked, the front windows go down, the sliding doors sometimes open, the lights come on, often the locks fail and the drivers side front window won't go back up. Occasionally, the car starts up or the hatchback goes up. These incidents are numerous and have been happening off and on for over a year.at times, the car will not start unless it is jumped. It appears to be a tipm related problem.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #241

Nov 122014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country.the contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #240

Nov 052014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer disconnected the rear quarter vent window switch, but did not give a specific date for when the part would become available for several months. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #239

Jan 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer more than twice. The technician was unable to replicate and diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the win module. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000...updated 05-26-15 updated 6/30/2015

- Mt Washington, KY, USA

problem #238

Oct 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While the vehicle was at the dealer for routine service, the technician disconnected the rear quarter vent window switch as a temporary remedy. The part was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canton, IL, USA

problem #237

Aug 012012

Town & Country

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact filled the vehicle with approximately 3/4 of a tank of fuel and parked it on a hill. The next morning, the vehicle had approximately 1/8 of a tank less fuel. The contact smelled fuel inside the vehicle. The failure recurred on more than one occasion. While driving approximately 50 mph, the interior lighting illuminated without warning. The contact had to manually turn off the lights. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator was intermittently illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact also stated that the vehicle hesitated when shifting from second to third gear without warning. The failures recurred on several occasions. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Centereach, NY, USA

problem #236

Sep 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/1/15 the consumer stated the electrical component was disconnected. The consumer is still waiting on the replacement part. Updated 07/09/15

- Oakgrove, OR, USA

problem #235

Mar 292015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning and failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and it was determined that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The contact spoke with the manufacturer regarding NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 8/10/15

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #234

Mar 282015

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the engine stalled as an unknown warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Manchester, MD, USA

problem #233

Aug 262014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
While driving the vehicle for the 2nd day after ownership (purchased used from Honda of bowie in bowie, md) and we were leaving the parking lot on vacation when the car stopped. It was warmed up, it was working and then it just stopped while I was driving. My husband, and 3 kids (1 1/2, 3 months and 11 years old) were in the vehicle. Noone was behind us and we were able to get the car to start again. However, this was just the beginning of a series of shut-offs to come. Since that initial shut-off the vehicle has stopped several times on the highway, in the neighborhood, while on the busy street of Washington, DC, in the snow, in dry weather, raining, while on the road with cars behind me...and more. I am afraid for the safety of my family, myself and those other vehicles around me. When the car shuts off, the power steering stops and I immediately have to manually get the car to a safe position before I can restart the vehicle.

- Landover, MD, USA

problem #232

Mar 032015

Town & Country

  • 43,049 miles
While backing vehicle out of driveway, driver noticed thick black smoke coming out of the window button area. Driver opened door out of fear as she was still backing up vehicle. Vehicle struck 2nd vehicle in driveway, a 2010 Honda CRV in back right panel resulting in a dent. Driver placed vehicle in park and ran from vehicle after collision. Called dealership to ask why recall wasn't taken care of when vehicle had been brought into crown motors of holland, mi on November 4, 2014. Dealership notified driver that the part was on backorder but that they had made the error of not disconnecting the part which is what lead to accident and fire.

- Holland , MI, USA

problem #231

Mar 222015

Town & Country

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the cam shaft sensor was replaced. The failure recurred after the repair. The contact experienced the same failure as mentioned in the recall under NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage 66,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #230

Nov 012011

Town & Country

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated the key was difficult to turn and remove. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch and the wireless ignition module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. Additionally, the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #229

Aug 122014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Chrysler Town & Country. Consumer writes in regards to the rear quarter vent window switch recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer the part was not available. Recall # 14V234000.

- Wyoming, MI, USA

problem #228

Mar 192015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 8,100 miles
I was returning to work after a dinner break and the motor suddenly turned off as I was driving. I verified the engine was off by looking at the tach. Which read 0 RPM. Since I was in a large parking lot without many vehicles, I brought the vehicle to a stop. I then turned off all the accessories, radio, heater fan and tried to restart the vehicle. It restarted on the first try. After restarting the vehicle I drove around for a few minutes and everything seemed fine. Several hours later I drove the vehicle home and have not experienced the issue since this night. Several weeks earlier the day after I bought the vehicle the vehicle felt as if it lost power (steering became hard) and I pulled to the side of the road and stopped. I could not hear the engine, unfortunately I did not look at the tach. I turned the ignition to the off position and restarted the vehicle.

- Hartland, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?