Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,162 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Aug 172015

Town & Country

  • 113,612 miles


We had just filled up the gas tank and we're ready to get on the highway when the radio shut off. It came back on after 2 minutes without any interference. This alarmed us as lately we have had a hard time starting the car and also the steering wheel goes rigid sometimes and the car stops. Our dealer has checked and tells us there is no problem.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #42

Mar 042015

Town & Country

  • 74,000 miles
While driving down a smooth road, and without warning, the vehicle suddenly shut completely off. The power steering and power brakes were disabled as was the engine. This resulted in me having to make evasive maneuvers with little to no maneuverability and no ability to control the speed of the vehicle. It is my understanding from other recall notices that air bags are also disabled when this event occurs. This failure results in a very dangerous situation and in my opinion, the vehicle is unsafe to drive because of this product defect. The incident has occurred at least 6 more times since the first occurrence. I contacted Chrysler because there is a recall for the make and model of my vehicle, but I was informed that my vehicle was manufactured on October 13, 2010, which is outside the window for that particular recall. Again, I repeat that this is an unsafe vehicle and someone will get seriously injured as a result of this defect if it is not remedied asap. Again, the vehicle randomly and without warning will turn itself off in the middle of driving down the road. All systems power off and it is a very distressing event. Please expand the recall to include the additional manufacture dates which include my vehicle. I do not want my vehicle or any others out there like mine to be involved in a fatal accident that could have been avoided.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #41

Aug 122014

Town & Country

  • 95,000 miles
We have had recall done! it did not work. This vehicle is dying for no reason/no warning while driving!!!! we have always had issues starting vehicle for last two years. Put key in and nothing. Switch to neutral and suddenly it starts. Well, now, the newest thing that is happening more and more frequently, is it just stops. Last night, the stability control light came on but nothing else and you have no control over steering or braking. Lights are still on vehicle but until you switch to neutral and restart with key you are gliding. It is not safe and we are taking this vehicle to a dealer that says they are backlogged and don't know when they will get to it. Very scary situation!!!!

- Granite City, IL, USA

problem #40

Jun 242013

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles


In June 2013 my engine stalled without warning. I lost power steering and power brakes. I was traveling <10 mph. I had another incident later that same year in October. The incidents were so random and I thought perhaps I didn't turn the key fob all the way after starting the vehicle via the remote start system. Again in 2014 it occurred several times, so I started trying to determine the common denominator, but could find none. The service station I brought it to couldn't diagnose or repair due to the inability to replicate the problem. In 2015, the problem became more frequent and today I am now experiencing this 2-3 times per day 3-4 times per week at speeds traveling up to 40 mph. I brought it to my local Chrysler dealership where I purchased the vehicle and after having my vehicle for 5 days they were unable to diagnose or repair due to the inability to replicate the problem. This has truly become a serious safety issue as I always lose power steering and brakes. Typically, I put my hazards on, place the vehicle in neutral, restart it, return to drive, and turn hazards off. However, I came very close to being involved in an accident when this occurred while I was making a left hand turn through an intersection. I am at a loss as what to do.

- Zelienople, PA, USA

problem #39

Jun 302015

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
I purchased my 2010 Town and country used in Sept.2013. Shortly after, I started experiencing issues with the vehicle starting. It would take several attempts before the car would start. It is always random and sporadic. I took the vehicle to the dealership but they said because they couldn't duplicate the problem there was nothing they could do. In addition to not starting, the doors would not work properly. They'd open and close on their own. They also don't stop if something is in the way. Recently, the radio/front video screen started shutting off and turning on as I was driving. And occasionally, the steering seemed to get tight. Then yesterday, June 2015, I was driving to work and my steering totally locked up. I could not steer at all. Fortunately, I was only 25 yards from a stop sign. I was able to brake but was unable to push the gas pedal again, so I started coasting back toward the car behind me. I quickly put the vehicle in park. I shut it off and turned it back on and it appeared to be fine. I drove the car straight to the dealer. They have had it for two days and again cannot duplicate what I experienced, so there is nothing they can do. I am now seriously concerned for my safety, the safety of my children, and those driving around me.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #38

Jun 182015

Town & Country

  • 174,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 15-20 mph, the vehicle began to veer left and right. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who diagnosed that the rear axle frame fractured and needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 174,000.

- Paragould, AR, USA

problem #37

Jun 082015

Town & Country

  • 54,800 miles


2010 Chrysler Town & Country shuts off while driving. Transporting children. Bought used with 42,819 miles. Took to shop Sept and Oct from where purchased due to shutting off while driving. They could not find problem. Took to Chrysler dealer December 2014 and again March 2015 - again, can't find problem. Dangerous. Have to quickly pull off road - it shuts off, steering column freezes. Called Chrysler for help, want more money to check car again. No guarantee they can fix. Recall for ignition problem on cars of this series ran from August 3, 2009 to June 17, 2010. This vehicle was manufactured June 30, 2010. I'm just amazed the issue has not been fixed. Family is at risk in the vehicle not to mention and other cars and or pedestrians nearby when it shuts off. Something needs to be done. I'm expected to drive it to the dealership again. They should really pay for the tow as it's not a safe vehicle to drive.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #36

Apr 052015

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
I was driving on a state road at about 60 mph when the van died. I was able to glide off the road and restart it. It has happened several times since, at various speeds. Also, sometimes when I brake, the car pulls to one side or the other, or the steering wheel vibrates. Again, at various times, and at various speeds. Also, the RPM drop while at a steady speed, and twice have revved high while on cruise control. All these problems are intermittent and do not show up on diagnostics at the dealer. I had the transmission replaced, because that did show up on diagnostics at the tom O'brien Chrysler dealership, but the problems continue, and I may have spent that money unnecessarily. I found on my own that there is a recall on the win module and the key fob--the reasons for the car dying while driving--and will get them replaced. But I resent that I paid for a new transmission and that wasn't the problem, and that Chrysler most likely has been aware of this problem for years but allowed the vehicle to be sold, putting our lives in danger.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #35

Nov 032014

Town & Country

  • 56,400 miles
Vehicle stalls with loss of engine power, loss of power brakes, and loss of power steering. Stalling event normally occurs within first few minutes of driving and seems to occur in temperatures below 40. Radio stays powered during occurrence and this can make notice of the stall event difficult until you need to turn, brake or accelerate and find you do not have engine power. Stalling events have occurred while pulling into traffic on major streets within first few minutes of driving and often while driving in parking lots and subdivision speeds. The vehicle has been taken to a Chrysler dealer several times and Chrysler cannot replicate the issue. Chrysler does not find any trouble codes stored to indicate an issue. The Chrysler dealer indicates this minivan is not subject to existing Chrysler recalls that indicate a loose key related stall.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #34

Apr 262015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Experienced power steering failure (feeling was complete loss of steering) in following condition. While driving at about 40-45 mph and coming to middle lane for making a left turn approaching red light. ESC light came on. This has happened twice on this vehicle. Road condition: Dry. I am worried that vehicle may loose complete control if this happens at highway driving speed. During both incident, use the key to turn off the ignition and power the vehicle back on and it started functioning as intended. There was no aggressive event or environment condition which should have triggered ESC light upon loss of power steering.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #33

Mar 282015

Town & Country

  • 71,000 miles


I was driving the van and the steering wheel and brakes locked up. The van stalled in the middle of driving. Happened two separate days.

- Cape May Court House, NJ, USA

problem #32

Apr 022015

Town & Country

  • 92,000 miles
As I was running errands all of a sudden the steering wheel froze and my brake pedal and accelerator quit functioning, I noticed my stability control light was on and within about 10 seconds the vehicle just stopped running in the middle of the street, thankfully I had avoided the highway that day, it's usually faster but with it being a pretty day I wasn't in a hurry. It was 80 degrees and sunny, this happened on a paved road no standing water, no hazards. This isn't the first time it has happened, leaving my home it's shut off. But since the ignition switch recall and the replacement being installed I have had nothing but problems, my $250 key had jammed and it takes multiple times of starting and re-starting the van to get it out. Yesterday was my breaking point, had I been on the interstate which is how I usually move about the city it could have been devastating. Fortunately I have a extended warranty plan and the dealer will fix the issue for $100, but it doesn't fix the fact that I have a broken key and ignition switch that something is obviously wrong with it. I've owned 4 Chrysler mini vans and this is the first one that has scared me.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #31

Aug 262014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
While driving the vehicle for the 2nd day after ownership (purchased used from Honda of bowie in bowie, md) and we were leaving the parking lot on vacation when the car stopped. It was warmed up, it was working and then it just stopped while I was driving. My husband, and 3 kids (1 1/2, 3 months and 11 years old) were in the vehicle. Noone was behind us and we were able to get the car to start again. However, this was just the beginning of a series of shut-offs to come. Since that initial shut-off the vehicle has stopped several times on the highway, in the neighborhood, while on the busy street of Washington, DC, in the snow, in dry weather, raining, while on the road with cars behind me...and more. I am afraid for the safety of my family, myself and those other vehicles around me. When the car shuts off, the power steering stops and I immediately have to manually get the car to a safe position before I can restart the vehicle.

- Landover, MD, USA

problem #30

May 062012

Town & Country

  • 24,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at 60 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the steering wheel jerked. However, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken multiple times to a dealer and an independent mechanic, who stated that the front brakes and rotors needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 24,600.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #29

Jun 142013

Town & Country

  • 21,500 miles
According to my local service manager, my van does not come under recall L25 because it was built in Aug.2010 and has the new and improved ignition switch. I don't agree! there have been 5 or more incidents with 3 during the van moving at different speeds. I have had the car in for this repair 3 times at the madison, ct dealership. We were told different opinions as to what the problem is. I clearly stated that this is a safety issue. The 3 moving stalls were all with my wife driving at different speeds, one with my daughter. We were very lucky that no one hit the car when there were these sudden stalls.. I pointed out to the service manager that my opinion is that the ignition switch was much to loose but he said that is the way they are. I don't agree again! we have had Plymouth and Chrysler vans since 1985 and have never had this problem.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #28

Mar 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 126,280 miles
For the third time in three months, and while driving, the vehicle lost electrical system, engine power, power brakes and power steering, plus loss of all panel & engine lights, and loss of radio. The latest incident happened in a residential area at 30-mph on 2 March 2015, odometer approx 126280. The previous two events like this occurred when vehicle was on highway at highway speeds and while accelerating, during November 2014 and January 2015. Please note that the ignition switch during this latest event remained in the on position. I am not sure whether in the previous two incidents whether the ignition switch had (or had not) slipped out of the on position. During this latest event on 2 March 2015, to restart engine while still coasting down the road, I had to carefully put trans in neutral position, then turn ignition switch to off, and then turn the ignition switch to start, to restart engine. The engine thus restarted normally in all three of these incidents.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #27

Feb 192014

Town & Country

  • 105,000 miles
Our 2010 Town and country minivan has been stalling since Q1 of 2014. We have taken it to normanden in san jose, ca numerous times to have them diagnose the problem. We have left it with them on each occasion to drive it with their diagnostic computer and they have never been able to find a code telling them what to fix. On Dec. 27 we took it back in to normanden after it stalled 19 times in the previous 7 days. We left the car with them while we were on vacation for 12 days, and asked them to have their lead mechanic drive it home every day with the computer on it to see if they could get it to fail. It did fail, but we were told that he did not have the computer on it at the time. We also were told that it did not fail for him since then with the computer on it. I just talked to our service writer [xxx], and he said again, without a code they are not able to fix the problem. They cannot try swapping parts like the main computer, because they will not get reimbursed by Chrysler, if does not fail when they send it back. My wife drives this car every day, as I do not drive. She takes me to work and baby sits our 2 beautiful grand children who live 75 miles North of us. Every time it stalls, the power steering no longer works and the power assisted breaks do not stop the car very well without a lot of pressure on the brake pedal. She has to drive in the right lane in case it stalls so she can try to coast to a safe spot to restart the car. She has almost been hit from behind which is a very scary and dangerous situation. She and I are always scared that we will be hit by someone, putting us and our grandkids in danger. I hope you can help us get these problems fixed, or a new car, before one of us is injured or killed. We will be more than happy to give you more details if you will call either my wife or me. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #26

Feb 012015

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles
Steering the van was hard because both steering hoses had leakage. I was lucky that the fluid leakage didn't cause a fire and that I was driving very fast at the time of the incident.

- New Brighton, MN, USA

problem #25

Oct 152014

Town & Country

  • 55,000 miles
Van engine will randomly stall when in drive and in motion which leaves the driver unexpectedly without power steering and power brakes (and perhaps without active airbags?). this has happened several times within the past month. The local Chrysler dealer is unable to duplicate or find the issue. No active or any relevant codes (dtc's) stored in the PCM. Observations: Has only happened on a gravel road (luckily - with low speeds). Traction control light is illuminated every time. Upon coming to a stop and once the van is put back into park or neutral, it will immediately restart.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #24

Oct 272014

Town & Country

  • 73,675 miles
I was driving into work around 5 a.M on 10/27/14. I was going around 35 miles an hour. All of a sudden my headlights started blinking, then all the lights on the instrument dash board was going off & heard a binging noise. All of a sudden my 2010 Chrysler town & county van shut off causing me to loss steering & brakes ! I tried to turn the wheel as hard as I could right to avoid going left into oncoming traffic & ended up hitting a telephone pole. The air bags didn't deploy either. I was taking to the E.R. & dignosed with a mild concussion from hitting my head off of the steering wheel & have right groin and hip pain ! now I feel it is unsafe to drive this van since this happened!

- Andreas, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?