Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Escape has problems where the engine shuts down while driving. Ford finally issued a September 2014 recall. Time will tell if the recall fix really solves the problem.

However the 2005 Escape also has a defect where the PCM (Power Control Module) fries at around 100k miles. Ford extended the PCM warranty to 80,000 miles, but only after most owners were past the mileage limit. Now owners are on the hook for the average repair cost of over $2,000 (!!)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
102,745 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Jul 242015

Escape

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our daughter was driving her 2005 Ford Escape. She had just gotten on the turnpike - as she was driving the dash board lights started flashing and the car started slowing down - the steering wheel locked up and the car died. She luckily was able to get to the side of the highway and was not hurt. It was about 99 degrees outside at 2:00 in the afternoon. We had to have a tow truck take the vehicle to a car repair shop. It was determined that the spark plugs and coil had burned up and it would be $2,200 to repair the car. After looking online, this is S common problem with 2005 Ford Escapes. There are no recalls. Ford has said to keep the receipt in case there are recalls in the future. That is little relief from the fact that we are out $2200 now and don't feel safe having our daughter driving this vehicle any longer. She has had regular maintenance on her car. One other problem with vehicle is that the leather interior has started coming off the side door panels - it's like the adhesive has just worn out. We have tried to fix this but it looks bad and no one will guarantee a repair on it because they say it's a manufacturing error and it is a difficult repair. This 2005 Ford Escape should be considered a lemon!! we have always driven Ford with no problems - very disappointing.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #81

Apr 142015

Escape

  • 115,000 miles
On several ocassions, vehicle security alarm sounded several times while trying to start engine. Alarm horn eventually deactivated after pushing key button during several starting attempts. Drove vehicle out of parking lot slowing for stop light and vehicle completely shut off. Major safety concern. Restarted engine and gauges swing minimum to maximum continually with air bag light on, check engine light on, theft light on. Gauges worked alternately during min-max swings, then stopped working completely. Day after occurence, new battery was completely drained and would not hold a charge. When trying to charge battery, vechicle had clicking sound in gauge console. Had vehicle towed to auto electrical mechanic who tells me it is a faulty dash console and not the vehicle computer and dash gauge console needs to be replaced at a new part cost of $700. Replacing dash gauge console with a new one to find if this fixes vehicle problems. Major consern if engine shutting down while driving.

- Vancleave, MS, USA

problem #80

Jun 082015

Escape

  • 76,300 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving at 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and all electrical functions failed. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 76,300.

- Fairfield Bay, AR, USA

problem #79

Feb 282014

Escape

  • 89,014 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford customer care case #cac-4150994-B2G8C6 & #4151017-N07B9 this was the 2nd major incident; the first occurred in 1/2009. The second major occurrence was 2/2014, when the check engine light came on and the vehicle very quickly lost all power and engine shut off, the power steering and power brakes also did not respond. The vehicle would not restart and had to be towed a Ford dealership. The dealer stated the PCM had failed causing the coils and spark plugs to also fail. The vehicle was at the dealership for 2 weeks waiting for a replacement PCM; dealer stated there was a shortage of PCM availability due to an extremely high nationwide demand for the part. Dealer replaced the PCM, as well as all coils and spark plugs in mid March 2014; the total cost of was, $2,875.70. The PCM, coils and plugs had also been replaced in 1/2009 for the same failures. Coils and plugs were also replaced an additional 2 more times between 2009-2014. When the PCM fails, the vehicle immediately looses all power, steering and brakes, and stops dead in its tracks and cannot be restarted causing a potentially catastrophic situation. Had this failure occurred in traffic, a major collision would have been eminent and a fatality probable. When I contacted Ford on 3/19/2014, they stated they are aware of the issue and assigned 2 customer care case numbers; but they refused any reimbursement or compensation of any kind. The multiple incidents of defective PCM failures should be investigated as a potentially deadly safety issue.

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #78

Apr 192015

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving at 65 mph, the engine warning light illuminated first and then all the lights on the instrument panel illuminated. In addition, the vehicle stalled. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle shook. The vehicle was not able to restart. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the spark plugs were burned. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Greensboro , NC, USA

problem #77

Oct 232014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I had purchased a used Escape, in very good condition, in Aug 2014. I bought from the original owner, a family member, with only 55K mileage over their 10 years of ownership (they were upgrading). I drove the car an additional 1,500 miles here (to 56K, total) over my first two months of ownership, and the car had passed all its regular annual inspections. Suddenly one night on the road the car's engine began chugging when I attempted to travel beyond 45mph, and a blinking yellow check engine light appeared. Upon restarting that indicator did not come back on, but the engine was still sluggish and so I attempted to coast home at managed speeds (as I was only a mile away) to have a mechanic check it out during business hours. I didn't even make it home. The engine light went on full and I soon lost power completely, with barely enough notice to pull off the 6 lane highway. The sudden power loss seemed very unsafe as I had to steer manually with no power steering nor acceleration. After the car stalled out it would not even restart for a long period of time. I towed it to a mechanic the next day and they read me a long list of error codes that had been identified, all of which went back to the power control module (PCM) failure, apparently, as described in tsb 10-18-10. I have been told by two different mechanics, including my local Ford dealership, that it would cost at least $2,000 to service the PCM and replace all affected spark plugs, coils and cylinders. Despite the very low mileage below the 80K PCM warranty, the vehicle reacted rather sporadically and unpredictably and it created an unsafe condition. I would have liked to have been informed sooner of this known issue. There should have been a recall notice since the PCM is known to cause a hazard. I now see that there are 113 complaints logged at carcomplaints.com, citing similar PCM and/or engine problems.

- Haddon Township, NJ, USA

problem #76

Apr 042015

Escape

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure only occurred once. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the spark plugs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #75

Apr 062015

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
Have tried and called Ford dealers mechanics I found out yesterday tech bulletin issued plugs coils new computer cost over 2700. Defective engine mounts rattle Ford new in 2005 coils would burn out computer. Never issued recall or warranty. Car is junk still paying called Ford took info. Said sorry nothing they can do paint terrible rust. I hv a piece of poop car with balance not safe to drive round idle stalls decelerating jumping. Great. Ty Ford glad U get rich of us.

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #74

Mar 152015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 144,410 miles
Was driving at highway speed (appx 55mph) in 5 O'clock traffic in raleigh, nc on us 1 and the vehicle lost speed. All emergency lights came on. Forced to pull the vehicle off onto the shoulder and was almost rear ended. The vehicle sputtered and totally cut off. Attempted to restart the vehicle but it kept cutting off. I was unable to restart the vehicle and was stranded on the highway. After a call to a family member and to aaa, the car was towed home 3 hours later. The next day, the car was towed to crossroads Ford in cary, nc. They determined that the PCM, spark plugs and ignition coils all failed at once and charged me $2700. Error codes P0351, P0354 and P0353 appeared on the diagnostics. The vehicle was repaired the next day. This is a huge safety issue since the vehicle suddenly undergoes a catastrophic failure with loss of power and acceleration and could lead to an accident.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #73

Jun 232012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Around 150,000 miles the vehicle started stalling when slowing down or coming to a stop after exiting the highway, but it would only happen on very hot, humid days. I took a 2,000 mile round trip down South and it started happening more frequently, stalling at every toll booth, and didn't need to be as hot or humid for it to happen. They finally diagnosed it as the transmission solenoid, which I replaced. It ran ok for a few months, then it started up again. This time they said it appears to be running too rich, but they don't know why or how to fix it (I have consulted 2 garages). It intermittently idles rough, acting as though it wants to stall out and actually has several times.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #72

Mar 032015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at 30 mph when the service light came on. Two minutes later vehicle lost acceleration power, seemed to stall. Had to coast to side of the road quickly to get out of way. The service light is no longer on and vehicle seems to be driving ok. Was told it was a sticky throttle body.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #71

Jan 282015

Escape

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the to an independent mechanic, who was unable to determine the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hollywood , FL, USA

problem #70

Nov 032014

Escape

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving over 30 mph, the vehicle overheated and stalled. In addition, the stop safely warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000.

- Cumberland , WI, USA

problem #69

May 052012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,881 miles
First occurrence of problem: 48800 miles, 5/2012. Engine light on and engine misfiring. Ford dealership determined faulty ignition coil in # 6 cylinder. Replaced ignition coil and spark plug. $295 second occurrence of problem: 74,400 miles, 11/2013. Engine light on and engine misfiring. Mechanic replaced sparkplugs in cylinders # 1-3 all at once since it is difficult to access those. $276 additional occurrences of same problem: Upon misfiring in 2014 I bought a code reader which indicated cylinder #5 misfire - replaced ignition coil and spark plug. More misfiring indicated cylinder #4 misfire - replaced ignition foil and spark plug. Major problem update. 2/2/2015 - travelling 55 mph car shuts off, all warning lights come on, coast to shoulder. Restart car, seems fine, no warning lights. Again cylinder # 4 misfiring - replaced spark plug. My research indicates the ECM/PCM may be damaged and that this is a very frequent problem with this car, often manifesting after the warranty expires/recall mileage, and costs $2000-$3000 or more. I don't wan't to pay to have it fixed because many people have had the PCM fried multiple times but I'm scared it will shut down while driving again and think this should be covered by a recall. Many people are having this problem and it appears to be caused by Ford engineering. Please help force a recall or provide me with information for a class action lawsuit.

- Sykesville, MD, USA

problem #68

Jan 272015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
While driving about 30 mph, the car started sputtering as if it were running out of gas. I was near a gas station and as I was pulling in, the engine just stopped and the power steering went dead. The car then wouldn't restart. I called aaa and they couldn't start it, so I had the car towed to the Ford dealership. They examined the car and later that day told me the coils overheated and fried the PCM. Now it needs new coils on 2 cylinders, possibly more, and a new PCM with reprogramming. Cost quoted was $3520. The service tech that looked at the car said he hasn't seen this before, nor heard of this. After researching this problem online, I don't believe him. I wonder how many people haven't reported this because they were made to think their problem was a very rare occurrence.

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #67

Jan 012014

Escape

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the instrument panel lights illuminated and the vehicle would hesitate to accelerate. In addition, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the computer and the ignition coils needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable the approximate failure mileage was 114,000.

- Montoursville , PA, USA

problem #66

Dec 042012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
After totaling a 2004 Escape, I purchased another 2005 Escape because I loved it. Well not so much anymore. I bought the vehicle from a dealership in September 2012. Only three short months later I started having the exact same problem I am reading in all complaints. I tried to push on the gas and nothing. It was misfiring bad. I then took it too a shop and they told me coils 1, 3, and 5 were out and needed to be replaced. The dealership wanted close too $2,000 to repair it. I was furious because I had bought my 2004 from the same dealership and my family alone had purchased a total of 6 vehicles from the dealership. I was a loyal customer and was not going to pay to have it fixed. So they split the cost of $1000 with me. Now it is acting up again and I've replaced the fuel filter and the thermostat bc that's what the computer said only for it to still not be running. I am a single mother, college student, and server and it's 2 days before christmas so I am very disappointed! fix the problem Ford!!

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #65

Nov 232014

Escape

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- Detriot, MI, USA

problem #64

Oct 092013

Escape

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 65 mph, the check engine and power loss indicator illuminated continuously, which caused the vehicle to stall. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the hybrid system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #63

Aug 202014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving downhill on a steep road at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart but the failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 12/24/14 updated 9/28/2015

- Merced, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?