Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 6 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #475

Dec 292015

Escape

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car is equipped with electronic power steering. The vehicle started experiencing intermittent power steering issues where the steering wheel would shutter while driving normally at any speed (stationary or in motion, and on city streets or highways, while braking, etc - everything) and sometimes completely shut off power assisted steering all together making the vehicle extremely difficult to steer. The vehicle was taken to Ford for the recall procedure approximately a year ago from this posting, however, only a software update was performed. This seemed to temporarily fix the issues we were describing, but about 10 months to 1 year later the same issues started occurring. The vehicle has no power steering available and we were told that the torque sensor in the power steering unit needed to be replaced (implying that the pscm module was reporting a faulty sensor), but the procedure was not going to be covered by them since the car was previously 'serviced' by Ford for the recall. Had we waited about 10 months to 1 year before performing the first recall, everything would have been replaced as it should have been. Now, we are forced to replace the torque sensor for a quoted $550 - which they tell us may not solve the problem (although that is the only code that is being reported) and might have to replace the entire column. Identifying a recall procedure by only checking if the codes were present at the time of recall is not a guaranteed way to replace all faulty sensors. A more accurate way to find the faulty part is for Ford to analyze their data of faulty power steering vehicles and replace vehicles equipped with sensor serial numbers from specific ranges, manufacturing dates, and manufacturing locations.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #474

Nov 302015

Escape

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel seized. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the road. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic. The diagnosis was that the torque sensor of the steering column was damaged and needed replacement. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the vehicle was repaired under a software manufacturers recall in 2014. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #473

Dec 182015

Escape

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 55 mph, the power steering seized without warning. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and then to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Prosper, TX, USA

problem #472

Dec 172015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was approximately 106,000. Updated 06/15/16 updated 06/15/16.

- Miami, OK, USA

problem #471

Nov 302015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel seized. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the road. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the lower torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was ot repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under a manufacturer recall related to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000. Updated 04/06/16 the consumer experienced two steering failures. The consumer was informed lower torque sensor needed to be replaced at a cost of $ $1500. Updated 04/20/16.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #470

Nov 092015

Escape

  • 99,348 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light indicator illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column and the power assist needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 99,348.

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #469

Dec 022015

Escape

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at various speeds or even at the initial start of the ignition, the steering wheel would lock. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the power steering would fail intermittently following the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Natrona Heights, PA, USA

problem #468

Dec 022015

Escape

  • 115,000 miles
Lost power steering. Vehicle was stationary. Dealer is claiming that B/C I brought it in to them 10 months ago and had the codes checked (none found at the time), that my recall coverage is now null and void. I would have been better off never taking it in for the recall, as the charges are around $1000 and are exactly what my car is recalled for (electric power steering assist failure.)

- Natrona Heights, PA, USA

problem #467

Nov 142015

Escape

  • 133,700 miles
I was driving around a corner (on a residential street) going about 20 miles per hour and the power steering went out and I almost ran into a brick mailbox--when it went out, a yellow wrench light came up on the dashboard. I had to have the car towed because the steering was completely locked up and the car was not driveable. Based on my discussion with the repair shop, this is related to NHTSA campaign #14V-284 -- Ford recall #14S05. The repair shop (midas) said it was a faulty torque sensor and indicated that it would need to be replaced at a cost of $889.30. I had the repair made, but I had to schedule a follow-up appointment with Ford because they had to do software updates because the steering wasn't completely right after the first repair. The vehicle has 133,700 miles on it.

- Lisle, IL, USA

problem #466

Oct 232015

Escape

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph, there was a vibration coming from the steering column without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions while driving at various speeds. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the vehicle failed to start after the recall repairs were performed. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #465

Dec 012015

Escape

  • 131,119 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle experienced a power steering failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 131,119.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #464

Nov 302015

Escape

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact mentioned that the dealer completed the recall for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). Within 8,000 miles, the eps failed. The contact indicated that the steering wheel was extremely tight and difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who replaced the torque control sensor for the second repair and the third repair was the steering column, but the failure continued randomly. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and provided no permanent remedy to repair the condition. The contact indicated that the remedy for the recall was not sufficient and the failure could recur without warning. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #463

Nov 292015

Escape

  • 95,000 miles
The vehicle was apparently treated in the past for the affected part due to recall. However, the software update did not remedy the problem. At approximately 95 thousand miles the power steering failed upon start of the vehicle forcing me to complete a 200 plus mile trip without it on a mountainous route. The dealership I took it to said that recall repairs were made in the form of the software update and that they could not provide a recall repair.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #462

Nov 182015

Escape

  • 117,000 miles
I had stopped at a stop to turn right, as I was turning I received an alert and message power steering assistance failure and lost power steering, it did return after a moment or so. When I called the dealer I was told that the recall was closed and to contact Ford to file a complaint and to bring it to them in a few days to have them take a look. Today it happened again on my way to work but resumed working after a moment. When I tried to drive it at lunchtime there is absolutely no power steering and the alert is on full time. It is going to the dealer today for repairs on something that the recall never actually fixed, nothing was replaced when I brought it to the dealer in July of 2014. I feel that this needs to be investigated further since now my car is actually hazardous to myself and others

- Sharon, CT, USA

problem #461

Jul 152015

Escape

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled, lost braking and steering ability, and crashed into the rear of the preceding vehicle. The contact stated that several warning lights illuminated momentarily. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but did not help, claiming that there was no indication of vehicular malfunction. The vehicle was repaired by an independent mechanic. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #460

Oct 192015

Escape

  • 116,000 miles
I had a power steering recall done on my truck at dons Ford. The manager who did the recall only knew about a portion of the recall so all he did was reprogram my computer. After 2 weeks I lost my power steering all together ( while I was driving almost hit a wall ) brought it back to the dealer told them I was still having issues with the power steering the recall didnt fix it. They said the recall was closed because they did part of it. Come to find out the power steering torque module went and I would have to pay over $450 to repair it. In the mean time I called to find out about the recall there were 3 things involved in the recall 1) reprogram computer 2) replace the steering column 3) replace the power steering torque module. I went to the manager and told him about the 3 parts of the recall he said sorry over and over because he only saw the reprogram of the computer. He also said because they closed the recall that I would still have to pay to get the module replaced because if they did it they wouldnt be reimbursed for the repair. They also said well since they did the reprogram I put over 200 miles on the truck so the power steering torque could have gone out because of that.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #459

Nov 112013

Escape

  • 86,000 miles
3 years ago my radio no longer lights up, the heat & ac only works on high and inside lights don't work. Then in 2013 replaced the transmission with absolutely no warning with 86,000 miles on the vehicle now in 2015 the power steering has gone out on the vehicle and this was recalled in 2014 and I took it to the dealer and they said that they would have covered it if it was within 12 months. It was a week and half over that.

- Scottsville, NY, USA

problem #458

Oct 262015

Escape

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). After the recall repair, the vehicle experienced a failure in the power steering assist system. Prior to the recall repair, the vehicle was diagnosed with having no fault code prior to the remedy being performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000.

- Crescent, PA, USA

problem #457

Oct 282015

Escape

  • 76,000 miles
When turning car on, electric power steering does not always turn on.. this use to happen once or twice a month, yesterday it happened 4-5 times, its getting worse you have to turn engine off and back on to see if it will turn on, sometimes it takes several times turning on / off to make it turn on. The problem has not happened while moving (driving) as I will not take off until its working. I'm afraid it will progress to turning off while driving.I'm sure the larger problem of turning off while driving, started off as P/S not turning on and progressed. I checked on line and Ford was recalling 100's of thousands of vehicles for P/S problems (elec. P/str.) from 06 to 15. I called Ford co. Direct and explained the problem and was told that my car was not included in recall even though my problem sounded exactly like their description except for car moving or not, in other words, P/S turning off while driving. Ford said it had nothing to do, with description, but with dates of manuf., parts used, plant location etc. Etc. They suggested I take to local Ford dealer pay to repair it and if they decided to recall it at a later date, they would inform me by mail and reimburse if I had alre ady had it repaired. The person at Ford informed me that there was an actual recall on my car # 14S19 I told him I knew about it and they had told me (earlier) they would inform me when parts were available.....never informed. The P/str. Problem, started at approx. 70K miles -6/7 months ago, now has 76K

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #456

Dec 202014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to power steering system issues. The consumer stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer, to address the steering recall # 14V284000. Up until that time, there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. On December 20, 2014, while driving 35 mph, suddenly the entire power steering system went out. The consumer returned to the dealer. Apparently, what the consumer experienced was described in the recall. Ford Motor Company stated they would not pay for the repairs, because the safety notice was a one-time fix.

- Orem, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?