Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,712 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 6 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #463

Nov 292015


  • 95,000 miles


The vehicle was apparently treated in the past for the affected part due to recall. However, the software update did not remedy the problem. At approximately 95 thousand miles the power steering failed upon start of the vehicle forcing me to complete a 200 plus mile trip without it on a mountainous route. The dealership I took it to said that recall repairs were made in the form of the software update and that they could not provide a recall repair.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #462

Nov 182015


  • 117,000 miles
I had stopped at a stop to turn right, as I was turning I received an alert and message power steering assistance failure and lost power steering, it did return after a moment or so. When I called the dealer I was told that the recall was closed and to contact Ford to file a complaint and to bring it to them in a few days to have them take a look. Today it happened again on my way to work but resumed working after a moment. When I tried to drive it at lunchtime there is absolutely no power steering and the alert is on full time. It is going to the dealer today for repairs on something that the recall never actually fixed, nothing was replaced when I brought it to the dealer in July of 2014. I feel that this needs to be investigated further since now my car is actually hazardous to myself and others

- Sharon, CT, USA

problem #461

Jul 152015


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled, lost braking and steering ability, and crashed into the rear of the preceding vehicle. The contact stated that several warning lights illuminated momentarily. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but did not help, claiming that there was no indication of vehicular malfunction. The vehicle was repaired by an independent mechanic. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #460

Oct 192015


  • 116,000 miles


I had a power steering recall done on my truck at dons Ford. The manager who did the recall only knew about a portion of the recall so all he did was reprogram my computer. After 2 weeks I lost my power steering all together ( while I was driving almost hit a wall ) brought it back to the dealer told them I was still having issues with the power steering the recall didnt fix it. They said the recall was closed because they did part of it. Come to find out the power steering torque module went and I would have to pay over $450 to repair it. In the mean time I called to find out about the recall there were 3 things involved in the recall 1) reprogram computer 2) replace the steering column 3) replace the power steering torque module. I went to the manager and told him about the 3 parts of the recall he said sorry over and over because he only saw the reprogram of the computer. He also said because they closed the recall that I would still have to pay to get the module replaced because if they did it they wouldnt be reimbursed for the repair. They also said well since they did the reprogram I put over 200 miles on the truck so the power steering torque could have gone out because of that.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #459

Nov 112013


  • 86,000 miles
3 years ago my radio no longer lights up, the heat & ac only works on high and inside lights don't work. Then in 2013 replaced the transmission with absolutely no warning with 86,000 miles on the vehicle now in 2015 the power steering has gone out on the vehicle and this was recalled in 2014 and I took it to the dealer and they said that they would have covered it if it was within 12 months. It was a week and half over that.

- Scottsville, NY, USA

problem #458

Oct 262015


  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). After the recall repair, the vehicle experienced a failure in the power steering assist system. Prior to the recall repair, the vehicle was diagnosed with having no fault code prior to the remedy being performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000.

- Crescent, PA, USA

problem #457

Oct 282015


  • 76,000 miles


When turning car on, electric power steering does not always turn on.. this use to happen once or twice a month, yesterday it happened 4-5 times, its getting worse you have to turn engine off and back on to see if it will turn on, sometimes it takes several times turning on / off to make it turn on. The problem has not happened while moving (driving) as I will not take off until its working. I'm afraid it will progress to turning off while driving.I'm sure the larger problem of turning off while driving, started off as P/S not turning on and progressed. I checked on line and Ford was recalling 100's of thousands of vehicles for P/S problems (elec. P/str.) from 06 to 15. I called Ford co. Direct and explained the problem and was told that my car was not included in recall even though my problem sounded exactly like their description except for car moving or not, in other words, P/S turning off while driving. Ford said it had nothing to do, with description, but with dates of manuf., parts used, plant location etc. Etc. They suggested I take to local Ford dealer pay to repair it and if they decided to recall it at a later date, they would inform me by mail and reimburse if I had alre ady had it repaired. The person at Ford informed me that there was an actual recall on my car # 14S19 I told him I knew about it and they had told me (earlier) they would inform me when parts were available.....never informed. The P/str. Problem, started at approx. 70K miles -6/7 months ago, now has 76K

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #456

Dec 202014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to power steering system issues. The consumer stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer, to address the steering recall # 14V284000. Up until that time, there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. On December 20, 2014, while driving 35 mph, suddenly the entire power steering system went out. The consumer returned to the dealer. Apparently, what the consumer experienced was described in the recall. Ford Motor Company stated they would not pay for the repairs, because the safety notice was a one-time fix.

- Orem, UT, USA

problem #455

Oct 232015


  • 86,447 miles
In July 2015 I received a recall notice from the Ford company. The recall stated that the power steering system might revert to manual steering mode due to an electric power steering system fault related to the torque sensor resulting in an increase of an accident the steering effort would become greater at low speeds. On September 14th, 2015 I had my local Ford dealership follow the guidelines stated for the recall and perform real 14S05 concluding that no code was present and proceeded in reprogramming the instrument cluster. On Friday, October 23rd, 2015 upon starting my car at work, the power steering wheel did not work and manual steering was required upon driving to the local Ford dealership. No light was on the dash board or the info setting to indicate that there was an issue. Upon starting my car at the dealership, the power steering started working again. On Monday, October 26th, the same dealership performed the recall 14S05 again checking for dtc's and the torque light sensor fault code B2278 was present. No pinpoint tests available for the code and the chart called for sensor replacement. The cost to fix this is $700 and would have been paid for by the recall a month prior if it had shown up on the performed recall test. The Ford dealership said that they had not seen any recall vehicles with the steering column intermittently working but had replaced the steering wheel column all together. Ford company: "any subsequent loss of assist repairs experienced after completion of module reprogramming are not covered by this recall". the software updates may extend the time steering assist is maintained. The update provides increased driver awareness by sounding a chime and displaying the wrench light or warning in the message center when a fault is detected." This clearly did not happen when my car lost it's power steering on October 23rd, 2015.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #454

Oct 222015


  • 91,000 miles
Power steering failed while driving, unable to make turns, extremely difficult to get car to safety. The vehicle was in motion and to make a turn required great strength.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #453

Oct 162015


  • 35,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at 10 mph, the wrench indicator illuminated on the instrument panel and the steering became difficult to operate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer a year prior in regards to NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the technicians inspected the vehicle and diagnosed that no repairs were needed. The contact was informed by the manufacturer that they would no longer honor the recall.the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #452

Oct 052015


  • 112,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 5 mph, the electric assist power steering stopped working. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 112,300.

- Cedar Lake, IN, USA

problem #451

Oct 022015


  • 83,500 miles
On 10-2-15 while making a 90 degree left turn at about 15 miles per hour, about half way through the turn, there was suddenly no power steering. I grabbed the steering wheel with my other hand and was able to turn the car enough to keep from hitting a curb. There was also a quick warning buzzer but no dash lights stayed lit. The loss of steering was only for a split second but enough to feel like the car had quit running which was not the case. I took the car to great lakes Ford in muskegon, Michigan on 10-5-15, told them about the problem and made an appointment for 10-12-15 to have it checked. I took it in on 10-12-15, they checked it out and they retrieved code B2278, diag. Needs steering column. They told me there was nothing they could do about it under recall14S05 and that I would have to pay to have the repair done. On 10-13-15 I called Ford customer care and told them about the problem and they told me there was nothing they could do. In Sept. 2014, I received the recall letter from Ford about the problem and took the car to great lakes Ford on 10-27-14. I had no idea what the recall was about and the paper work I got from them simply says 14S05 electric power steering recall 14S05 "14S05C". no one even said what the recall was about. As is, this car is flat dangerous to drive. Ford is aware that it is dangerous but doesn't seem to care even though they know it's a manufactures defect.02/15

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #450

Sep 302015


  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle experienced a loss of power steering. The vehicle was able to be stopped, but required a greater effort to operate the vehicle. The dealer diagnosed that the steering column malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was reprogrammed under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle would not be repaired twice under the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 132,000.

- North Apollo, PA, USA

problem #449

Sep 222015


  • miles
All instrument warning lights came on. Speedometer zeroed out. Steering failed. Also happened today(9/23/15). Computer update done 13 months ago for steering recall even though I had no prior problems.

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #448

Aug 242015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
On 8/24/15 my ignition switch housing had to be replaced on my vehicle per my invoice. Which I was told would be needed as it causes steering difficulties and may require an increase in steering effort. It could also result in the total loss of steering. Initial I went in because I had trouble with starting my car. The same issues listed in a safety recall back in July 2014 (recall notice 14S05) begin again. I feel this is still a matter that has something to do with the recall listed above. I would like a review of the details concerning my vehicle. Thank you,

- Channelview, TX, USA

problem #447

Sep 012015


  • 75,200 miles
We were driving home from St louis, mo on this afternoon. As we were approaching our street the steering, power, went out. Minimum control at rolling speed. No control at stop. I parked for the night. Called service, requested to test computer. Code came up B2278. They checked for recalled there is one. When the dealer serviced this vehicle on July 31, 14 the recall was performed 14so5. At that time the code did not appear and the computer was reset. Since then this code did come up, B2278. Which states replace torque sensor. Ford Motor Company and GEM city Ford, quincy il stated the safety recall expired. I am flabbergasted, how can a national safety recall expire"? if there is or was a safety defect placed on this vehicle how in the hell can it expire??? please explain how, if this was a true concern in July, '14 and the same thing is still happening "how" can this expire??" I have been without my vehicle since September 1, 2015.

- Quincy, IL, USA

problem #446

Aug 122015


  • miles
In a first incident, I was in N.Y. and I parked the car. When I wanted to go home, the steering wheel was stiff and it took my whole strength with both arms to turn the steering wheel. I turned off the car and when to sleep. The next morning, I went to the car that started normally and steered normally. Come to be that there was a recall on the car for the steering wheel. I made and appointment, the next week, with a Ford dealer and the fixed the recall by going on the computer. The second instance was around 8/12/15, the car was parked near my home and I intended to move it into the street and drive off. The steering wheel would not move, but a few inches, even with total strength. I had the car towed to a Ford dealer. The mechanic in charge told me that there was no recall on the car and that to check it I would have to pay around $90. I had it towed to another mechanic who told me that the problem was the electronic power assist steering system (epas).

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #445

Apr 062015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the steering wheel was extremely tight and difficult to turn left or right. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road, where it was turned off and restarted in order to reset the computer. However, the failure recurred. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired due to the dealer stating the VIN was excluded from the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was not available. MA 10/25/15

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #444

May 312015


  • 129,800 miles
Relates to safety recall notice 14S05/NHTSA recall 14V-284, received in July 2014, with my car first inspected on 08/21/2014. My car had not had a power steering failure but I took it in as directed by the recall notice. About May 30, 2015, I experienced a power steering failure as I was about to turn left, from a stop at a traffic light. I almost hit the car in the outer turn lane and was almost hit by the car behind me. I called Ford customer service and explained the issue. She gave me a case # cas7268220T6F2P6 to give to the dealer service dept as a matter of priority. After a few days, they said on inspection it only needed to be reprogrammed to fix the issue. About 3 weeks later, the power steering failure happened again. I took it to the same Ford dealer on 06/22/2015 and on 06/25/2015 was told by the dealership that Ford did not approve them to address my power steering failure because my car had exceeded 12 months or 12,000 miles from the first date addressed. I called Ford to dispute their decision, stating that I thought the purpose of the recall was to fix an overwhelming failure of a part or system. I said that what if the reprogramming did not work, were they not obligated to replace the defective part if necessary. Will Ford now hide behind a 12 month/12,000 mile rule. The Ford rep said her hands were tied by company policy. I am passing this on to the NHTSA for fair resolution. This 2008 Ford Escape had another recall # 14S19 relating to electronic cooling pump failure. Ford sent notices out in May 2015. My cooling pump failure occurred in May 2013. I spent $747.31 to replace the defective part. The dealership said, with the part replaced, I only needed reprogramming. Ford agreed to reimburse me for the $747.31. Should Ford not now be responsible for replacing the defective steering column if reprogramming has failed (quoted at $1135+tax).

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?