Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,726 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 14 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #193

Jul 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the freeway at 65 in the slow lane when suddenly the vehicle seemed to loose power. The engine was still running but the accelerator would not work. No gas seemed to be going to the engine but it was still running. The good thing was I was in the slow lane otherwise I would have been in serious trouble. I shut the engine off and waited a few moments before restarting. It started up and I was able to drive home. Researching the problem on the internet led me to this site but it would appear that this is a common problem which Ford needs to take of before someone is killed.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #192

Jun 262013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I drive a 2010 Ford Escape and it will lose power while driving. Once power drops out, the vehicle may only be driven at about 20 miles per hour or less and sounds/drives rough. I pull over, shut vehicle off, wait a minute or so and re-start and it will run fine. Then at some later point will randomly quit again. A little wrench shows up on the corner of the screen but goes away and resets itself when the vehicle is re-started so no information there to assist with this issue when connected to a computer.

- North East, PA, USA

problem #191

Jul 142013

Escape

  • 46,130 miles
On July 14 2013, my vehicle 2010 Ford Escape XLT stalled in the middle of the highway. The vehicle was traveling at 60 mph when the incident occurred. After the stall, the vehicle did not respond to gas pedal. It slowed down. I was able to pull the vehicle to safety lane. During the incident, the wrench sign appeared on the dashboard indicator. After the vehicle came to complete stop, I was able to restart the vehicle. I drove the vehicle to the dealership service center at reduced speed of 25 mph. They diagnosed that the issue is with the throttle body and mentioned that the whole throttle body needs to be replaced.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #190

May 172012

Escape 8-cyl

  • 49,542 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Ford Escape has an intermittent issue where the accelerator stops working, the engine wrench alert comes on, the engine is still running. When this occurs the vehicle has basically stalled, in that you can't accelerate only slow down or coast. After the problem occurs you must turn the vehicle off and wait a few minutes, then it will usually start up and the accelerator will function again. This problem has happened probably a dozen times since it started, we usually just pull over and turn vehicle off/on, yesterday the problem nearly caused an accident though as my son was pulling out of a parking lot into traffic and the vehicle stalled.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #189

May 062013

Escape

  • miles
Vehicle had entered "limp" mode several times. In the beginning, it was an intermittent issue, but soon progressed to happening several times in a single trip. Sever times it occurred while on a freeway. Ford has had the part to fix it on back order and is not estimated to be in stock until September. I have been without a vehicle now for almost 2 months, and will continue to be out one for what appears to be 2 more months.

- Garnet Valley, PA, USA

problem #188

Jul 202013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 79,710 miles
While driving down the high way at approx. 65mpg the "check engine" light and the orange wrench light came on indicating an issue with the power train. At the same time the gas pedal became unresponsive while the engine rpms dropped to a rough idle the fluctuated between 800-1200 rpms. After turning the car off and then back on the "check engine" light was on but the orange wrench symbol was no longer lit. I continued to drive home, multiple times after that the wrench light came on, throttle became unresponsive and the engine dropped to a rough idle. Each time this happened I turned the engine off and then turned it back on and the engine operated as normal for a time till the wrench light came on and the throttle became unresponsive. Upon plugging the car to a diagnostic I had 3 error codes that indicated that the throttle actuator was stuck open.

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #187

Jul 212013

Escape

  • 62,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving with my daughter, mother and sister at approx. 40mph. In traffic, when the car apparently went into fail safe mode and bogged down the engine to where she could not accelerate or maneuver the car out of traffic. She finally was able to get out of harms way and pulled of into a parking lot. From there she turned the car off, and started the car and proceeded to baby the accelerator so she was able to return several miles home. From there, I took the car around the block and accelerated quickly where the car returned to fail safe mode and cut the engine. I checked the car with an obdii code reader which came up with the P2112 code and said "throttle actuator control system - stuck closed".

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #186

Jun 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,500 miles
The first incident occurred around June 3, 2013, but I don't remember the exact date. After backing out of my driveway and shifting into drive, as I accelerated through 2nd gear, it dropped out of gear into idle and I had no engine acceleration response from the gas pedal, no matter which gear I put it in. The wrench light also came on. After turning the engine off and restarting, the wrench light went out and the car worked normally. This happened approximately 5-7 times beginning around June 3, 2013 until I decided to take it to the dealership on June 18, 2013. I paid Ford $120 to diagnose the problem. They were unable to find anything wrong, but did reset the shift points. It did not happen again until July 12, 2013. While driving to work at approximately 60mph, the engine dropped out of gear and the wrench light came on. I had no engine response with the gas pedal and had to carefully coast over to the service/emergency lane. While on the side of the road, I called Ford and they told me after I brought my Escape in, multiple Escapes and Fusion had come in with the same problem which was troubleshoot down to the throttle body. They ordered the throttle body and said they would call me when it came in. I turned off the ignition, restarted, and continued driving. Approximately 2 minutes after getting back on the road it happened again, only this time the check engine light came on along with the wrench light. This time after restarting the engine, the check engine light stayed on. I drove to Ford and left it running so they could acquire any codes that were active. The throttle body was ordered on July 12, 2013 and Ford has no estimate of a shipment date. The car is currently with Ford awaiting the part while they pay for my rental. There are also two vehicles ahead of mine at the dealership waiting for the same part.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #185

Jul 152013

Escape

  • miles
Traveling 55mph on a main road in nc (rte 13). With no warning my engine loses all power. Car is still on, but I cannot accelerate. I have to pull over on the side of the road. When I come to a stop the car is bucking. I have to turn the car off, wait a minute then start it again to "correct" the bucking. The engine light and a light in shape of a wrench come on simultaneously. I drive a little bit further and the same thing happens. I use the same procedure five more times to get it to the auto shop, where I'm told I need a new throttle body. Mine is sticking open. 5,600 are on back order, so I have no idea how long it will take to get vehicle repaired.

- Gates, NC, USA

problem #184

Jul 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
I was driving at 60mph on the highway, the car suddenly lost power, I pulled over quickly and it was barely running, the engine was sputtering. I shut it off waited a few minutes and then started, it worked after. That problem then happened 3 more times in the next 20min. I immediately took it to a garage and the error code showed electronic throttle body.

- Newburyport, MA, USA

problem #183

Jul 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at 55 mph, car jerked and the gas pedal failed to respond. Coasted over to the side of the road. Turned vehicle off. Restarted and started driving again with out problem. Same thing happened again except with a large cement truck behind me. The Ford died and there was no shoulder on the side of the road. The cement truck was able to go into the oncoming traffic lane to miss me. The Escape did the same scenario twice on the way to the garage. ( with out the cement truck) the problem was diagnosed as the throttle body malfunction.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #182

Jul 192013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 59,834 miles
I was driving to work and my car started to jerk. Then my power train light came on and my car totally stopped on me in the middle of the road. I took it to the shop that day and the told me it was my throttle body. My warranty didn't cover it, so I had to pay over 300 dollars for a new part.

- Whitwell, TN, USA

problem #181

Jun 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Made turn into traffic, speed was about 30 mph. Went to accelerate, no power. Engine rpms dropped. Stepped on gas pedal to accelerate. No response. Drifted over to side of road. Placed into neutral and tried to increase rpms. No response. Turned off ignition to call for aid as the roadway was busy, then tried to restart car. Car started normally. Rpms resumed normal. Placed car into drive and drove off normally. Happened again on three different occasions. Happened the other night three times. Deemed the car unsafe to drive. Waiting for an appointment to get repaired. On line forums indicate there is a problem with the throttle, whether it be a sensor or communication with the on board computed.

- Bayport, NY, USA

problem #180

Feb 162011

Escape

  • 35,000 miles
While driving at 60 mph the vehicle quit running and a trouble light was displayed. Within days a took the vehicle to a local dealership and the throttle body assembly was identified as the problem and was replaced under warranty. About 13 months later the incident occurred again while cruising at 60 mph. Again I took the vehicle to my local dealership and again they diagnosed the throttle body assembly and replaced it, at a cost to me of $540. I spoke with several friends who also had the same problems with their identical vehicle. I also read where the NHTSA had received numerous complaints of a similar nature and that Ford had acknowledged there was a problem and had subsequently resolved it in later production. I would like to recover my costs as they admitted a problem. Has there been a recall issued related to this issue?

- Thonotosassa, FL, USA

problem #179

Jul 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Driving with cruise control set at 60mph, cruise disengaged, stepped on gas no throttle response pulled over and shut vehicle down restarted and proceeded home. Next day went to my Escape started vehicle and service engine light came on and remained on throughout the day. Called my Ford dealer to set up appointment to bring in the car for inspection. Was given a appointment in 3 days time (July 18,2013 @11:30am) was told by service advisor that it would be okay and safe to keep driving the car. Following day went to a meeting with my car, service engine light did not come on. While driving home the vehicle lost power and once again no throttle. Dealer service called and reported that the throttle assembly required replacement, asked if this was a known problem with the Escape and was told that there have been issues with the throttle assembly but no recall to date was told to keep the paid bill once the work was completed in case of a recall and reimbursement.

- Amherstburg On Canada N9v 2y8, MI, USA

problem #178

Jul 112013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was driving down the highway at 70mph and my vehicle lurched, knocked, and then began to slow down no matter how much I pushed the gas pedal. I made it to the side of the road and once completely stopped, the vehicle vibrated until put in park. I turned my vehicle off and waited about 5 mins and then restarted it. Everything appeared to be fine, so I began to drive down the highway again. Within 2 miles, the same incident happened again. I made it to the closest auto zone and they diagnosed my vehicle with a trouble code P2111, throttle body stuck open. They sent me to a locally owned body shop, where they too, diagnosed my vehicle with the trouble code P2111. I managed to make it back home and take it to my Ford shop, where they confirmed the trouble code of P2111, so they replaced my throttle body. Unfortunately, my vehicle was no longer under warranty, so it came out of my pocket to replace the part. My Ford had the nerve to mention this has been a recurring problem they are seeing, which is why they already had a throttle body in stock. This should be sent to recall; it is dangerous, and has affected many people from what I've read.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #177

Jun 182013

Escape

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving 55 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted and operated as designed for a few miles at which time the failure recurred. The failure recurred twelve times over the course of a month. A diagnostic test was scheduled with a dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 56,000.

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #176

Jun 242013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
My 2010 Ford Escape limited has completely lost power when driving on four different occasions. The vehicle will be running find and then you suddenly lose all power. I took the vehicle to my local dealer and they informed me that it was a problem with the electronic throttle body. They also informed me that they did not have the replacement part and were unsure of when they could get it. I find it very dangerous driving a vehicle that could suddenly lose power at anytime. Although I believe Ford should have to replace these defective parts, Ford could at least be responsible enough to have these parts so that I could at least pay to have my vehicle fixed.

- Branson, MO, USA

problem #175

Jun 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Problem occurred several times and appears to be more frequent. The first time it occurred I was driving 55 miles per hour and all of a sudden the check engine light came on and the gas pedal did nothing, the car did not accelerate. I had to pull over and shut the car off. When I started the car beck up it hesitated, the check engine light turned off, and worked fine. The same thing happened approximately 2 weeks later. Now I noticed that the RPM gauge fluctuates quite a bit when I start the car and then again when I am stopped at a traffic light. Today, I was driving with no problem and stopped because the car in front me was stopped to make a turn. When I tried to continue driving, my car stalled and I had to turn it off and then back on. There were a line of cars behind me and I was almost rear-ended.

- Kerhonkson, NY, USA

problem #174

Jun 282013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Escape sputtered & stalled. Restarted & was serviced by Ford to 'clean' the throttle body. Within a few days, it exhibited the same behavior but much more frequent rendering the car unreliable. Replacement parts are not available from the dealer for another 3-4 weeks.

- Highland Village, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?