Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,726 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 21 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Apr 202013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 36,825 miles


Need to replace the throttle body on my 2010 Ford Escape. I was driving and my vehicle suddenly failed and stopped working. I had a few seconds to pull over to the should before the car turned off. I was able to restart the car and get to my destination, but an accident would have occured had I been making a left hand turn or crossing lanes traffic. I took my car to Ford and was told I had to replace the throttle body, which will cost just under $500. My vehicle is 800 miles outside of warranty. I called Ford and lodged a complaint. I also know see online this is a known issue and should be part of a recall.

- North Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #52

Apr 172013


  • 48,000 miles
I was coming down a road to a stop light when the car shook then just idled. When I limpped over to the side of the road turned off car and when I restarted it the lite went out and it was fine.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #51

Apr 132011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and also experienced sudden acceleration. The contact mentioned that the check engine and the wrench warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 42,500.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #50

Oct 202012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,021 miles


While driving from central fl to asheville, nc. My 3.0 litr Escape basically lost all power a total of 6 different times on interstates 95 and 26 between savannah, ga and columbia, SC. Driving along at posted highway speed limit, engine would unexpectedly start losing power and eventually come to a stop in the emergency lane. The tachometer indicated that the engine was running at about 1000 RPM, but it would not take and thottle and barely move. Switching the engine off and restarting, reset something and allowed me to continue driving normally but only for about 20 miles before doing the exact same thing. This was a Saturday about noon and calling several Ford dealers was useless as most said they were getting ready to close, or could not look at it until Monday. Not wanting to ruin our vacation, we tried to continue with the above scenario repeating itself at least 6 more times, each time getting more and more dangerous, as traffic was heavy and each time the engine would lose power instantly and almost caused accidents before we could get off the road into the emergency lane. Finally called a Ford dealer in columbia, SC that was open till 4pm. And said they could check it out. Made it there at 3:30 pm and they diagnosed the trouble as a code P2111 throttle body stuck open. They had the part in stock and $326 later we were on our way. Vehicle only had 41K miles. Internet research has revealed several hundred complaints of the same exact trouble happening to them. There is even a youtube video showing this described trouble actually taking place, after a frustrated driver could not get any Ford dealer to recreate the trouble and take care of it, he videod it acutally happening. My calls to Ford Motor Co customer service, and my emails were a waste of time. Ford is ignoring a very dangerous problem that will get them many lawsuits I am sure. Ford needs a recall now!

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #49

Apr 022013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 46,640 miles
Problem with a 2010 Ford Escape stalling: The first time this happened I was just leaving house and was on a residential street when the car stalled, I was able put the car in park and restart it and proceeded to work but then approximately 3 weeks later when I was driving on the highway the car lost power and stalled. I was able to pullover, put the car in park and restart and drive home. This happened again the next day; also on the highway where the car just stalled and again I was able to pull over, restart the car and then I took it in for service. I needed have the throttle body assembly replaced. Of note, even though the picture of the wrench showed up on the dash, the mechanic said that there were no diagnostic codes showing up when he hooked it up to the diagnostic computer. It also did not show up on my vehicle health reports that I ran. He stated that he had to check with a few Ford service managers to help him diagnose the problem. I just wanted to make you aware as this is a serious safety issue and I see through some research that it is a known problem. I just don't want someone injured. I have also let Ford customer service know of the problem.

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #48

Mar 312013


  • 65,000 miles
This is about the 10th time I have experienced this issue. In every case the car stops accelerating and the car drops into idle with the RPM's ranging from 900-1100. Shifting gears does not have an effect and you have to shut off the car to turn in back on. The amber wrench light comes on every time and the few times that it happened consecutively in one trip the check engine light came on. On my first visit to a dealership they replaced the accelerator pedal. The second time they noticed my transmission was eating its fluid so the filled up the fluid. The third time the dealership replaced my transmission and the most recent they replaced the throttle body. This seems to coincide with the open investigation PE13003. I have had the car malfunction occur when accelerating through 65 trying to get onto a highway. Had it happen twice at 15 mph in a parking lot. Had it at 45 mph in the middle of an intersection and multiple times on back roads at 35 mph. Fortunately for me I was always able to flip my hazards on quickly and the other vehicles were able to get around me while I stopped on the road, but this situation is highly unsafe especially at higher speeds on highway when you have to pull over and stop the car to fix the situation. Based on multiple online forums it seems to be mainly the throttle body that is malfunctioning, but it seems to also degrade the engine over time and can end up costing you as an owner over time due to the dealers inability to always pin point the issue.

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #47

Mar 042013


  • 36,000 miles


I had approximately four occurrences of losing all throttle response, basically a complete loss of power while driving on the los angeles freeway system. Engine RPM drops to 1,000 and provides idle power only. A very dangerous situation while on a 4 lane congested highway traveling at speeds upto 65 mph.

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #46

Mar 162013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 36,693 miles
On March 16, 2013 I was driving my vehicle when I lost power in the middle of the road. I pushed the gas petal but vehicle would not accelerate. The wrench light illuminated on my dashboard. The vehicle was jerking. I was able to pull off the road. Examined under hood and everything appeared ok. Vehicle started ok and sounded ok so I continued to drive. Approximately 30 minutes later, the same thing happened. Vehicle was jerking worse and lost power. I pulled off road and shut the truck off. Restarted okay and decided to drive back home. I was fortunate that there was not a lot of traffic and it was early in the morning. Otherwise I could have been involved in an accident. Someone could have been seriously injured or killed when my truck stalled. I had my 83 and 81 year old parents with me. I took my vehicle to the Ford dealership in my home town and problem was diagnosed as throttle body faulty. Repairs were made, I paid for them, and left dealership. Losing power and vehicle dying on the road certainly seems to be a safety hazard.

- Hope Mills, NC, USA

problem #45

Mar 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 77,550 miles
Vehicle's throttle stopped working in traffic traveling at 35 mph and had to coast vehicle to side of road where engine was idling roughly but no response to pressing accelerator pedal. Vehicle needed to be shut off and restarted several times to get throttle working again. Vehicle exhibited this problem many times over last 30 days (even at 65 mph we lost throttle on interstate and had to coast off in traffic). We have been fortunate in avoiding an accident. Took vehicle to service station which read computer reading and said "throttle body actuator" needed to be replaced and that I should go to local Ford dealer asap as there should be a recall for a 2 year old vehicle with this dangerous condition. Ford dealer informed me that there was no recall and that its just something that happens and that it would be $399 to fix. This is a huge safety issue and I will not let my family drive the vehicle until Ford fixes this issue at Ford's expense. I researched online and this problem seems to be happening a lot to many owners. This needs an immediate mandate by NHTSA to Ford to issue a recall for this life threatening defect.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #44

Mar 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 75,450 miles
2010 Ford Escape XLT (V6) is having repeated incidents (at random intervals) of throttle failures. Vehicle suddenly has no "gas pedal", idles roughly (800 to 1000 RPM) and has to be coasted to side of road. Only way to reset is to put vehicle in park and turn off (dangerous on interstates or if in left lane and no place to pull off), restart and most cases the problem is eliminated for hours, days or more. Sometimes it can occur many times within a short drive period and then go away for hours of issue-free driving. Engine service light (wrench) came on one day after some extremely rough idling caused by issue (engine bucked a bit) and service station read computer analysis as "throttle actuator control system" was stuck open and closed. They told me that it was probably defective and dangerous and that I should proceed to my Ford dealer asap. I took vehicle to Ford dealer (3/20/13) and they acknowledged the throttle body should be replaced, but said no recall had been issued so I would have to pay for repair. I could not believe this for a 2 year old car. This is a huge safety issue and I would expect a manufacturer to fix this problem immediately and shocked at their nonchalance regarding this problem. I went home and googled the issue and I see many articles and agencies looking into this problem so apparently I am not the only one having this problem. I am not allowing the my family members to drive the vehicle due to this safety issue until it is repaired by Ford at their expense. This could be a major lawsuit (injury or even fatalities) due to the safety of having to "limp off" a busy roadway with no warning and becoming a target.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #43

Mar 012013

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles


2010 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to sudden unexpected loss of acceleration in vehicle. The consumer stated the vehicle would completely stop or slow to a miniscule speed.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #42

Jan 182013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 57,873 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and also experienced sudden acceleration. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who diagnosed the failure and stated that the evaporative emission canister needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The dealer was notified. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 57,873 updated 04/30/13 the charcoal canister was replaced. Updated 05/20/13

- Bokchito, OK, USA

problem #41

Nov 262012


  • 36,259 miles
For several months, my 2010 Ford Escape would stall while driving down the road. There were times that I was going 45-55mph and my vehicle would stall. I lost power steering as vehicle shut off. I had to slow down and pull off the road and re-start the vehicle. This was very dangerous and scary. This happened probably 10-15 times until I could no longer get the vehicle started. I had it towed into a Ford dealership and had their service department analyze the problem. I first took it by an advance auto to check the service engine light. The code that came up I believe was 9000. It had something to do with emission, fuel system concerns. The service department put a throttle body and motor assembly part on it. I haven't had any problems since. They also did an eec test P2111 and found etb to be at fault and replaced. I had to pay $356.52 including labor for this. I feel from reading other information on 2010 Ford Escapes that there has been a lot of issues with stalling. I feel I should be reimbursed for my expenses.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #40

Mar 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 30,075 miles
The vehicle experienced the exact condition as described in NHTSA investigation # PE13003. Traveling steadily at 30 mph, felt a sudden 'thump' from the drivetrain. The 'wrench' indicator light came on the indicator panel and vehicle went into "limp home mode' and engine continued to run at low RPM (@ 900). The throttle did not respond and vehicle could not be accelerated. Electrical and hydraulic power was maintained, pulled over to side of road and stopped normally. Once in park the engine began to rev erratically at lower rpms. Turned off engine, removed key. I have an obd scanner which I used to check for codes - delivered code "P2111". we were only a few blocks from our home, restarted the vehicle and it returned to normal operation and successfully drove home and has continued normal operation to present time (March 11, 2013).

- Forest Hill, MD, USA

problem #39

Feb 282013


  • 36,584 miles
Driving my 2010 Escape on the highway the engine stalled. The speed I was going was about 60 mph. With no prior warning the wrench light and check engine light came on, the RPM's fluctuated between 0500 and 2500 and I could not accelerate the vehicle. The dealer said the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced at my expense as it was not under warranty.

- Dorado, PR, USA

problem #38

Apr 022012


  • 43,869 miles
Driving at 35mph, check engine light came on and SUV went into "limp home mode", slowing to only 10mph. After re-starting SUV 2-times same error appear. Took SUV to local Ford dealer tom holzer, and they said it was a failing throttle body sensor. Inquired if there was a known warranty issue and dealer confirmed no, but a service bulletin existed at customer's expense - which was not agreeable. Tom holzer service manager advise to contact Ford directly (which we did) and Ford said to contact service manager (which we did). After numerous phone calls and formal complaints we received no satisfactory resolution. Ford was blaming the local dealer, the local dealer blaming Ford, and we still had to pay $525 to replace defective throttle body sensor. (ironically our good friends have a 2010 Chevy equinox with 80,000 miles that had the same problem and their local Chevy dealer replaced their throttle body sensor and provided loaner vehicle during service procedure, both at no charge). Needless to say, we were very disappointed with the local dealer and Ford's handling of this known problem, and this will be our last Ford vehicle purchase after 30-years of dedicated Ford vehicle purchases.

- Pinckney, MI, USA

problem #37

Mar 202012


  • miles
I was driving on the highway and my Escape lost power or ability to accelerate forward. The open wrench tool lite up on the dash board. My Escape slowed down significantly. The vehicle continued to run and would drive very slowly but when I would press on the gas, it would not go any faster. Once the vehicle was turned off and then back on, it appeared to work just fine. About a week later, the exact thing happened again when traveling at approximately 50mph. My car is now at a Ford dealership, but they say it is not happening when they drive it and unless it happens with them, there is nothing they can do about the situation.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #36

Oct 152012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Driving in traffic slowed to turn left across railroad tracks and car died. When I tried to accelerate the gas pedal went to floor but car crawled slowly to where we could pull off road. Disconnected and reconnected battery, car started ran 1 mile stopped again. Friend cleared electronic error code with tester and car has run ok until recently when back gate will not open until error code was cleared by car dealer. After car slowing incident occurred we returned car to dealer where we purchased it and they said they never heard of that ever happening and they could find nothing wrong with the car. We fear it may happen again and lead to an accident.

- Rossiter, PA, USA

problem #35

Dec 012011


  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning while driving at 55 mph. The failure was experienced several times and the vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer performed a diagnostic but was unable to locate a failure code. The dealer replaced a sensor. The contact was unsure of which sensor was replaced. The failure recurred. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000 and the approximate current mileage was 60,000.

- Nebo , NC, USA

problem #34

Feb 262013


  • 43,000 miles
Driving at 45-50 mph, car stalled and "wrench-shaped" warning light came on. By descriptions I've read, car went into "limp home" mode. I was able to pull to the side of the road... no acceleration capability, tight steering, RPM bouncing between 500-900. Shut off engine, restarted, ran fine for next 30 minutes of drive with speeds ranging from idle and 10-60 mph. Friend notified me of the below open investigation that fits what happened. Investigation subject : electronic throttle body malfunction date investigation opened: Feb 21, 2013 date investigation closed: Open NHTSA action number: PE13003 component(s): Engine.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?