Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,746 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #284

Nov 072014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,144 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Initially, "wrench" icon on instrument panel turned on and then turned off. Vehicle brought to dealer and no issues found after computer diagnostics. Subsequently within a week, vehicle would not accelerate beyond 50 mph on highway and RPM gauge was fluctuating erratically. Vehicle brought into dealer and trouble code P2112 found. After discussion with dealer, it was discovered that there was a known issue with this model's throttle body/motor assembly and that Ford would only replace part when code was present. Dealer replaced part and was very accommodating and trouble seems to have gone away. This complaint is being written to identify the issue for others and to recommend that NHTSA require Ford to recall all models impacted and replace this part regardless of whether code is present.

- Mohegan Lake, NY, USA

problem #283

Sep 082014

Escape

  • 45,000 miles
My daughter and I were driving home traveling at approximately 40 mph. All of a sudden without any warning the car totally lost power and I had to coast into a driveway. Had my daughter been driving by herself she would not know how to remain calm and get to the side of the road. Fortunately I have been driving for a long time and knew what to do. Once I turned the vehicle off and back on it ran fine. I thought it was an isolated incidence and thought maybe we had junk in the fuel. The next time I drove the vehicle we were doing 60 mph when it shut down again and this time I was on the freeway next to a semi in heavy traffic and had to turn my emergency flashers on and coast to the shoulder. I had to cut off vehicles in the right lane to get safely to the shoulder. Once again I turned the vehicle off and back on again and went home. My husband did research on the internet and found that there were lots of complaints with identical symptoms and when they went to the Ford dealership were told they knew nothing about this problem. The other people found out that it was the throttle body that needed replacement. We went to the local Ford dealership and asked about it and they played dump and said they hadn't heard anything about it and were actually rude to us. I located a throttle body in stock at a Ford dealership 3 hours away. We picked the part up and my husband installed it. It took approximately 1 hour to replace and cost $207.22. I have not had a problem since. It is criminal to allow this to go unfixed. It posses a terrible risk to drivers. The throttle body is not just on the 2009-2013 Ford Escape it is also on : 2010-2012 Ford Fusion, 2011-2013 Lincoln mkz, 2010-2011 Mercury Milan, and 2009-2011 Mercury mariner.

- Anacortes, WA, USA

problem #282

Nov 062014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Immediately after having two items fixed that were recalled on my vehicle, (throttle body etc), the check engine light came on. I thought it was something done while fixing recall items; however, the Ford dealership service dept advised me that it was not due to the recall items fixed. Also it would cost $527 to fix, as the flap inside the nozzle/flex fuel pipe was not closing properly. I showed my anger and disappointment - which at that point, the service manager advised that my car had a white funnel that they would use to try to undo the flap. It worked. Why in the world did they try to get me to pay $527 without first trying the funnel. Another client in the service dept advised me to do the funnel thing before the service guy did. He has had the same issues. As of this morning, however, the check engine light is on again. I am going to try the funnel first, before I take it to my personal mechanic. I feel assured that I am not the first Ford Escape 2010 owner that has experienced this issue. Please check into recalling this problem. Thank you very much.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #281

Sep 252014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the highway and the vehicle lurched and lost power. The motor was still running, but when pushing the accelerator there was nothing. I pulled to the side of the road and stopped. The vehicle continued to "lope" and there was a light on the dash showing a little wrench. I turned the vehicle off and started it back up again, and it ran fine. This same thing has happened at least 4 more times. If there was no immediate way to get off the highway, this could be very dangerous resulting in a rear end collision.

- Chester, OH, USA

problem #280

Sep 272014

Escape

  • 33,700 miles
The easy fuel capless fuel filler cap broke off inside the fuel filler neck. Now gas will only go in very slowly and check engine light is on due to vapor leak. Will cost $400 plus to replace entire fuel filler neck.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #279

Jul 162014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
While driving on 70 mph speed limit highway, the vehicle without warning suddenly appeared to downshift dropping my speed approx. By 20 mph, then lurched at 50 mph until I pulled off on the shoulder. This was on a unlit stretch of highway and was very dangerous. I tried again to drive the vehicle with the same results, meanwhile the dashboard warning lights came on. I then pulled off the road and turned the vehicle off for about 5 minutes. When it restarted the warning lights were off and the car drove normally. With about a hour left on the trip, the car started to downshift and upshift randomly as I reduced my speed to about 40 mph on a 70 mph highway, which is very unsafe, so that I could make it home. The last time I had my oil changed, the service technician suggested that I change the transmission fluid. I felt like the old fluid may have been the reason why my car shifted in an erratic manner. So, I took the vehicle to my local Ford dealer for the transmission service. This was on July 21, 2014. It was a about week later, that the vehicle began lurching again. This time I decided to try a full tank of gas with cleaner to see if that would improve the performance. It didn't. finally, I made an appointment with a repair shop to fix it on Aug 18, 2014. They were the ones that told me the fuel throttle body was bad and that's when I googled and found the extended warranty had expired on July 31, 2014. There should be a recall for this part, not just a bandaid to make it look like the NHTSA was concerned. It is a safety issue and also and expensive repair at $400. NHTSA: Do your job and force a recall on this part. You know it is unsafe.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #278

Feb 012012

Escape

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving to go to lunch when my throttle body just stopped working in the middle of the road. I was unable to drive my vehicle to a safe location out of the way of traffic. I had to shut it off several times to just get it a side road. I have contacted Ford in regards to being reimbursed for having this part replaced which I paid for out of my own pocket and they are not willing to reimburse me stating that the date for reimbursement was over July 31st 2014. I have found on the NHTSA that the warranty is good for 10 years or 150,000 miles from the data of original purchase, which I purchased the car in November 2012 and there is only 55,000 miles on it which is clearly under the warranty. I had the part replaced at bartow Ford in bartow, fl and the are refusing to reimburse me as well.

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #277

Sep 042014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
While on a busy 6 lane hwy., I was at a center turn lane and completed my turn when light changed, then went to make my right turn on to the next road.... when my cars started to shake very badly and lost all power down to a crawl, and then stall, with cars behind me almost rear ending myself!! with horns blaring I was able to restart it to only have it do it again, only this time I was able to pull into the oil change shop there on that corner, where they checked for codes & found the "tac system stuck open"... they checked all fluids and I drove to the local repair shop and went on to work to start researching the problem!!

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #276

Aug 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
While traveling about 65 mph down the highway my 2010 Ford Escape's engine stopped completely. A warning light (the wrench on the Ford models) came on as a I coasted to a safe spot on the highway. Steering gave out a bit too. Car started right back up after I found a safe location to stop.

- Suffield, CT, USA

problem #275

Jun 092014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
I was driving to work on I75 at 75 mph when my 2010 Ford Escape lost power dropping to less than 20 mph. I was able to get from the left lane to the berm three lanes to my right. I waited about 5 minutes and restarted the car driving about 100 yds. When it happened again. I turned the car off and waited about 20 minutes then restarted and was able to get to work on side roads with the car surging and jerking along the way. I took the car to huntington Ford the next day and they could not find a cause. The following day I received a letter from Ford regarding what huntington referred to as a "limp home" mode which let take to a dealer and have the throttle body reprogrammed, which I did. The car was ok for a few days after that and then started stalling and surging again. I called the dealer and they said I should replace the throttle body but that even though it was under an extended warranty I would still need to pay for the replacement.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #274

Jun 142014

Escape

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wrench light came on and vehicle began sputtering and idling low, unable to exceed 5 mph.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #273

May 292014

Escape

  • 61,000 miles
Traveling about 6 pm (rush hour heavy traffic) 3 lane expressway when car would no longer accelerate. Had to coast over to the left shoulder since we were in the left passing lane. The left shoulder was not as wide as the right shoulder and we felt the situation was very dangerous we stayed in the car with our seatbelts on and called for road service (aaa). We did not receive help for two hours. Just purchased this car two months before this incident - pre owned certified by dealership. Can't understand why Ford waits until the part fails before replacing it. I feel strongly it should have been replaced as part of the "certification" process. There were no warning lights or indications this was going to happen before it happened. After the car "died", a wrench light appeared, but not until after we had coasted to a stop. If we had been in the middle lane instead of the lane next to the shoulder, I feel certain we would have been involved in a high speed possible multiple car accident as traffic was heavy and fast. This is so very wrong! thank you for making this complaint possible. I hope it helps result in a recall by Ford right away so no one has to get hurt or even die.

- California, KY, USA

problem #272

May 142014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 32,800 miles
Slowly approaching a stop sign, vehicle stalled. Battery light, wrench light, and oil light came on. Put the car in park to restart it, started and went on.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #271

May 122014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 13,300 miles
I was driving on I-45 just South of dallas when the engine lurched slightly and I lost power. I had to coast to the side of the road, dodging traffic. There were no warning or indicator lights; gas tank was half full. Once I came to a stop I turned the vehicle off, waited several minutes, started the engine and drove normally for about 30 miles when the vehicle stalled again. I could hear the engine "rev" when I pushed on the gas pedal but the vehicle did not move forward. Again, I coasted to the side of the road, restarted the vehicle and was able to drive about 15 miles to where I found a Ford dealer. The dealership was great and fixed the vehicle at no charge, installing a new throttle body, they said under warranty. But this is very dangerous when the stall occurs on a very busy interstate highway. I consider myself to be very lucky.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #270

May 122014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Escape sitting at stop light wrench light illuminated on dash and Escape had no power turned car off and then restarted the Escape and drove home not another issue for the next 16 miles.. used obdii code reader to scan Escapes on board computer and it had freeze frame data from a P2111 code which indicates throttle body issue.

- Rocky Mount, MO, USA

problem #269

Apr 082014

Escape

  • 440,000 miles
Car would reduce speed on its own no warning, almost got rearended at a speed of 55 due to my car losing speed even has I was giving it gas. Then two weeks later did it again took to a shop on May 6 2014 and they replaced a tbi unit said this was a very common problem Ford was having I would like to be reimbursed.

- Plainfield, IN, USA

problem #268

Apr 292014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 39,870 miles
Driving down 40 West at 65mph with cruise control on, the car decreased almost to a stop, a light came on that looked like a wrench, I had to pull off the highway, car went dead. I started the car up, we a few feet it did it again. I turned the car off, took the key out waited 5 minutes, it did it again. Then a fourth time, stopped, waited 30 minutes and it did it again. This time I was on a four lane highway and cars were having to swerve to miss me and I ended up against the wall of the highway.

- Rural Hall, NC, USA

problem #267

Jan 242014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
First event, 1/24/14: Lost all but 2% power (surged along at ~3mph) with several flashing lights in dash, vehicle limped onto driveway. Restored power by restarting vehicle a few times, warning lites out. Second event, later same day: Lost all but 2% power in okc at 70mph and luckily was in the right lane at the time, limped to shoulder. I might not be so lucky next time, this Ford problem is a life threatening hazard. Called Ford after receiving 13N03 letter in late January. 2/3/14 was informed if I called customer relations number they would be able to put a comment against my VIN so a dealer would be able to fix at Ford cost. No ECM codes, my cost. Conversation was held with service manager [xxx] at autonation of South fort worth. Third event: 4/23/14: Lost all but 2% power with only the wrench light flashing, restarted vehicle and light went out, power restored - checked ECM codes and the code did not store on the computer. Why? called 4/23 customer relations number 800-392-3673 1-5-4 attempting resolution. Talked to [xxx] who in turn talked to [xxx], service person at autonation of South fort worth. But since the code is not recorded Ford will not find an issue - all costs would be my responsibility. So I am left with a daily driver vehicle with a potential loss of life - safety hazard. I drive in heavy traffic, this is a danger to myself, occupants and others on the road. Both [xxx] and [xxx] denied anyone at Ford can add comments to VIN for parts replaced and I would be responsible for cost of diagnosis of the issue and follow on repair with no codes. I told [xxx] that my driving is sometimes in heavy traffic and this is a life threatening hazard, I also reminded her this conversation is being recorded in Ford database. [xxx] did not seem to care. Fix or repair daily > Ford is an accurate term for Ford products but this is a serious - danger. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #266

Mar 302014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,129 miles
While driving approx 45-60 mph wrench icon and engine icon lights came on vehicle stopped accelerating everything else worked and engine was still running, gas pedal did not accelerate or raise RPM's. pulled to side of road put in park and turned engine off, vehicle started with hesitation wrench light did not appear, engine light remained on though vehicle was drivable again. Problem happened repetitively the rest of the 45 min drive home with wrench light appearing and acceleration ceasing had to pull over and restart numerous times. Engine icon remains lit.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #265

Feb 012012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Went to accelerate and vehicle stalled. Replaced at 50,000 miles. On the new replacement, at 70,000, replaced at my cost at dealership, throttle body stutters and chugs between 40 and 50 mph.

- Charlotte, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?