10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,157 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 6 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #211

Sep 132013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,586 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First incident Sept 13, 2013. Traveling at a speed of 55mph on highway 32 when a sensation of someone just pulling the plug on the engine fuel intake. There was no response at all when pushing the accelerator pedal. The vehicle remained idling and I was able to pull safely off the road into a nearby parking lot. I was able to maneuver it still while idling, to position the vehicle of possible towing. I had left the vehicle idling and called my local Ford dealer. They asked me if I had "cycled" through by turning the motor off and trying to restart. I told them I had not. They told me to turn it off and let it sit for a few minutes and try to start it and see if the electronic throttle body would reset itself. I did and it did reset. Second incident Sept 16, 2013. Car was parked in my driveway on slight incline. I put into reverse to exit the driveway. Once in the street I put into drive to start going forward and there was not response at the accelerator, just like the first time. I turned the car off and let it sit for a minute and restarted it. Throttle body had reset and I proceeded on my way again.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #210

Sep 082013

Escape

  • 43,000 miles
Car throttle almost stalls to rough idle, sputters but cannot give it gas or rev engine wrench symbol lights up you must turn off car to restart after about 10 times and it happening every mile or so the check engine light is on and stays on even after restarting. This will happen out of nowhere while driving at any speed but idles just enough to pull over to safety ! restart and drive a mike and either just idling or accelerating it just quits going. I called taylor Ford and was told I was out of warranty but need throttle body and approx $450 ! so they too know it's an issue!

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #209

Sep 102013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Stopped at light. Got to 20 mph then engine shut off. Coasted 50 feet shifted to neutral restarted car shook, but got me to safety. Got towed. Error code P2112.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #208

Sep 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After stopping at a stop light I proceeded to accelerate through the intersection when my Ford Escape began to jerk, then seemed to die in the middle of the intersection. There was no check engine light on and after listening to the engine I realized that it was still running, but there was no gas getting to the engine when I pressed on the accelerator. I let the car roll out of the intersection, turned off the engine and restarted it. After another mile upon stopping before making a left hand turn it stopped again after gaining up to about 10 mph. I turned the engine off again and when attempting to start it cranked, but would not turn over. On my third attempt to restart the engine it turned over and the check engine light came on.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #207

Sep 062013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 47,700 miles
While driving approx. 40mph over a freeway overpass, the car lurched repeatedly, and slowed way down. I could not accelerate. The wrench light came on. I was able to eventually get it pulled over, turn it off and restart it. For the next day and a half, it would die almost every time I came to a stop for more than 30 seconds, or any time I tried to drive up my inclined driveway. I rested it the next day (Sunday) and Monday morning drove it to the dealership for repair. It did not die on the way to the dealership. Now the dealership has it and they have road tested it 2 or 3 times and can't get it to repeat the problem or show codes. I've found several links online to people having the exact same problem and it turns out to be the throttle body. However, the Ford dealer says they cannot fix it under warranty unless it shows them codes or repeats the behavior for them. They are not allowed to just take my word for it that this happened. As it's apparently an intermittent problem, who knows when it will happen again? so if it doesn't do it for them in the next day, I'll have to pick the car back up unfixed, and am terrified to drive it on the freeway for fear of being killed when it loses power at 65mph and causes an accident.

- Windsor, CA, USA

problem #206

Sep 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 61,478 miles
Vehicle would not accelerate, would miss fire and stop running.

- Mount Airy , NC, USA

problem #205

Jun 242013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving along & suddenly lost all throttle. A wrench appeared on my instrument panel & it was running very rough. I was able to idle over into a parking lot, but had no throttle power. I shut the vehicle off & just sat there, thinking about my options. I tried to start it & it started, so I drove it straight to a shop, where they hooked it up to their diagnostic machine. The wrench in the instrument panel was no longer there & the vehicle didn't throw any codes. The mechanic told me to drive it & contact Ford that next day. I called the Ford dealer & was told there are no recalls on this. Since June, this has happened several times & it finally threw a code in which the engine light came on, so I had my mechanic take a look at it. He removed the throttle body & cleaned the plates. It seemed to do much better, until a couple weeks ago. It's started it again & is now happening much more frequently. On 08/27/2013, I was driving on a highway in the passing lane, going about 60 mph when it happened again. I could have been rear-ended! I was able to limp it over to the shoulder, where I shut it off, waited, & then started it back up again. It happened three times in about a 15 mile period on 09/06/2013 & two times on 09/08/2013. On 09/06/2013, I again called the local Ford dealer & spoke to someone in parts. I was told the part I needed was recalled & was also on back order (3,800 parts behind). I called back to speak to someone in the service department & was told the parts person was wrong, because the part had not been recalled, although he had three cars there waiting on the same part for the same exact problem. If this is a known constant problem, why hasn't there been a recall? someone is going to get hurt in a rear-ender accident & I hope it's not me.

- Pleasant Hope, MO, USA

problem #204

Aug 232013

Escape

  • 61,000 miles
I was driving home with my five year old son when I noticed my vehicle seem to be running rough. First, I noticed a rough idle when I stopped at a stop light. Then, while turning accross on coming traffic the vehicle looses all power with no throttle response and the engine light illuminated. At this point I was still in the way of on coming traffic and could not accelerate to finish the turn. Thank god I did idle to safety. I then stopped on the side of the road and put the vehicle in park and observed a very rough idle and no throttle response at all. I shut off the vehicle and restarted it after thirty seconds and it ran normal again with the engine light off. I immediately took the vehicle to a parts store to have the the ECM scanned for trouble codes. The tech could not recover or read any codes at that time. I found that troubling at the time but found out later that not all scan tools can access stored codes. I had this occur twice the next day while driving to work. I then called my local Ford dealer to schedule service and when I told him the symptoms he immediately knew the problem. I ordered a new throttle body assembly per their instruction and asked if there are any recalls or tsb's on this issue if it's that common. The dealer checked and found a tsb on this problem but no recalls. I personally feel this is definately a safety concern and should treated as that before someone does get hurt or worse, killed in an accident. I called Ford customer service the next day to file a complaint and find out why they aren't being proactive with this serious issue. I was told that they have no known safety recalls or tsb's at this time. I was also told that this problem was not something they had encountered very often. Since then, I have researched this and found that it is very known and being investigated at this time. Thank you.

- Earlville, IL, USA

problem #203

Aug 282013

Escape

  • 75,000 miles
My service engine light came on. I took the car to the shop to get it checked out & they did a smoke test & determined that my car was leaking gas vapors from the vapor lock system - to be specific the fuel filler area. It cost me $500 to fix. The shop said my car was leaking a lot of gas vapors which is dangerous. Thank goodness I dont smoke. There seem to be quite a few of these complaints & there should be a recall on this. Aparently from what I have been told - Ford has known about this issue since 2006 & yet they still put them in vehicles.

- Dracut, MA, USA

problem #202

May 292013

Escape

  • 70,000 miles
The vehicle lost power while driving at relatively constant speed. The engine hesitated, car did not accelerate when the gas pedal was applied. The engine then stalled. I pulled over, restarted the engine, and the car seem to run normally after this first incident. The vehicle has continued to intermittently have the same issue, although it may need to be restarted a few times before acting normal again. The vehicle was towed because it stalled and seem unable to make the drive home. The engine throttle was cleaned in August by a mechanic, but stalled repeatedly 3 days later. Using dry gas and keeping the tank nearly full has not solved the issue either. My experience seems similar to many complaints found at this website and other places on the internet.

- Dracut, MA, USA

problem #201

Aug 232013

Escape

  • 84,345 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the freeway, the engine cut out and spit and sputtered. Vehicle restarted and went about a mile and did the same thing. At that point a tow truck was called and vehicle was towed to a service shop where the throttle body was replaced.

- Chesterland, OH, USA

problem #200

Aug 262013

Escape

  • 57,600 miles
While accelerating onto the highway, the vehicle lost all power and forward motion. It went into "limp" mode and I had to pull over. Once I shut the vehicle off and restarted it, the vehicle was fine. After the Ford dealer's inspection, it was deemed that the throttle body is the culprit, and needs replaced.

- Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #199

Aug 012013

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
My 17 yer old daughter was driving at highway speed and vehicle lost power and immediatley slowed quickly. There were vehicles in front and in back of her at the time and since the vehicle slowed on it's own, there were no brake lights to warn traffic around her that she was slowing. Very scary situation. Ford dealership diagnosed the problem as a bad throttle body, with a 2 month wait for the part due to high number of Ford vehicles with this problem (part on backorder). I am guessing with a 2 month wait on a part, there are thousands of Ford owners who have had similar experience. Thought this was a joke, but after calling other Ford dealerships and checking the internet soon found out my duaghters experince was not unique.

- Eagle Lake, MN, USA

problem #198

Jul 182013

Escape

  • 51,000 miles
My throttle body broke which put the car into safe mode.this happened 5 times before I could get it repaired at the Ford dealership.the dealer told me he replaced 3 that same day.

- Washington, MI, USA

problem #197

Aug 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
While driving at approx 65mph on freeway, the vehicle's throttle dropped to idle speed. The accelerator would not allow the car's RPM's to increase despite pushing it to the floor. The car did not stall, but rather was in a sudden state of idle.the "wrench" icon flashed on, then "check engine light" and my car went from 65 to 5mph in a matter of seconds. After car's ignition was shut off, the car restarted without problem. However, the incident happened again after reentering freeway nearly causing a serious accident. Dealership was able to confirm that the throttle needed to be replaced, but not under powertrain warranty. Research shows that this is a common problem. This is very dangerous and needs to be recalled asap.

- Belmont, CA, USA

problem #196

Jul 052013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
July 5, 2013 I was driving hfrom St simons island, ga to florence, SC. I was on a connector bridge when the vehicle lost power but the engine kept running. I steered the vehicle to the side of the road, parked it, and turned off the engine since I could not get the vehicle to move. When I started the engine again, it started up, and I had power so I drove for about a mile, and a repeat occurrence happened. Again, I turned off the engine, and on restart was able to get the vehicle moving. I found a meineke repair shop in brunswick, ga and pulled in there. They checked the vehicle out but could find nothing wrong (no dash lights appeared). So I drove the vehicle to florence without further incident. A short time later, on July 27, 2013, I was once again in St simons island and the vehicle lost power with the engine running. I had to steer the car to the side of the road, turned off the engine, then started it up again. I was able to get the vehicle to the island auto repair shop (this time the "check engine" light was on. They cleaned the part, said it should work fine, use fuel injector cleaner, and sent me on my way. On August 19, in florence, SC, the same thing occurred again, only this time the vehicle was unable to move at all, even though the engine kept running. I had to call aaa, who had it towed to millers foreign auto repair shop, where it still sits waiting on a new part. They have told me it's the electronic throttle body assembly w/ wiring harness and sensor that failed, and I am waiting on the part for so long because so many of these have failed. I am one of thousands whose vehicle is affected by this flawed technology. This is a dangerous condition for consumers to have to put up with, as Ford is not going to voluntarily correct this issue. Please issue a recall before this flawed technology kills someone. Thank you.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #195

Aug 242013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
While driving at approximately 70 mph the engine suddenly cut out, there was no response to the gas pedal. A blinking yellow wrench symbol came on the dash board. We coasted to a stop on the side of the road, where I switched the car off and after a couple of minutes started it again seemingly to be fine. The next day it happened again, 70 mph on a toll road, again it restarted after a shutdown. This time we went about 3 more miles down the road and it cut out again. 2 more times after that, before getting it back home. It was the throttle body unit according to the failure codes, I have replaced it at a cost of $295.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #194

Jul 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,415 miles
Driving at 60mph motor shut off no lights no sound, no warning.

- Edwards , MO, USA

problem #193

Aug 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
We were traveling at 55 mph on the highway when my Ford Escape suddenly stalled and would no longer respond when I pressed the accelerator. My SUV slowed to a stop where I cut it off. Unfortunately, I did not have enough speed to pull off to a safe location and was stuck in the middle of the very busy highway where I was almost sideswiped by a tractor trailer truck. It was a very scary situation to say the least. This has since happened 3 more times, the most recent being yesterday August 23 on an interstate overpass in rush hour traffic. Again I did not have enough speed to pull off to a safe location and was stuck in the center lane of the overpass. I was able to restart my car soon after stalling out and was able to an auto store that pulled the code of P2112, which is the throttle body code. Of course my warranty ran out in June 2013 and Ford estimates the repair to cost $500 minimum. And sadly, I am now afraid to drive my Escape as I fear it will get me into an accident. I ask that Ford take responsibility for the obvious flaw in throttle body and make the recall!

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #192

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Car would occasionally lurch forward while driving, then on August 21st 2013, car lurched forward then felt like it stalled out. Took it to Ford dealership they stated that the throttle body went out and needed to be replaced.

- South Lake Tahoe, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?