Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 21
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #133

Oct 092014


  • 31,410 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the engine hesitated and the front passenger air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V495000 (engine) and stated that the recall exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer advised that the part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 31,410.

- Foley , AL, USA

problem #132

Apr 302014


  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle independently decelerated. In addition, the contact stated that the service immediately warning light illuminated and the rpms would increase and decrease. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V495000 (engine) and experienced failures after the repair. The specifics on the failures after the recall was performed were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,000.

- Independence, WV, USA

problem #131

Oct 112014


  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the transmission was shifting abnormally in and out of gears and there was a sudden increase in engine rpms. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. During a second appointment, the technician determined that the computer needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who repaired the throttle body, the motor, the assembly control, the assembly transmission, and the gasket. The remedy failed to repair the failure. In addition, while traveling 45 mph downhill, the vehicle stalled and caused another vehicle to crash into the contact's vehicle. The contact sustained minor injuries and did not seek medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V495000 (engine). The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Beaver Creek, OH, USA

problem #130

Sep 252014


  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the service engine and engine malfunction warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Lakeville, MN, USA

problem #129

Jun 022014


  • 18,000 miles
Following service performed for recalls for possible coolant leak / engine fire, engine fault codes for low coolant began to display. Visual confirmation of low coolant in reservoir. Added coolant to proper level several times at weekly intervals while driving approx. 200 miles per week. Loss of coolant was not an issue until the recall servicing was done. Three or four service visit attempts to fully diagnose and resolve have resulted a replaced water pump (that leaked during pressure test). This most recent low coolant engine fault message occurred after four weeks post-new water pump. I am returning for another service visit in an attempt to fully and finally resolve the issue.

- Hamlton, NJ, USA

problem #128

Jul 302014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 27,500 miles
On 7/30/214 the vehicle hesitated and the engine stalled at a stop sign. I was on a trip to Pennsylvania on 8/19/2014 taken to mullinax Ford, 2317 S.R. 44, new smyrna beach, fl 32168 (866) 511-8666. No codes and they could not duplicate malfunction. After a few days car was returned to me. On 9/7/2014 the vehicle hesitated and the engine stalled at a stop sign. Engine restarted no check engine light(mil). On 9/15/2014 the vehicle hesitated and the engine stalled at a stop sign. Engine restarted no check engine light(mil). On 9/16/2014, today, taken to mullinax Ford, 2317 S.R. 44, new smyrna beach, fl 32168 (866) 511-8666. Currently in shop. Contacted Ford Motor Company 9/16/2014, today, they created a case number [xxx]. stated that Ford recall 14S17 was not applicable since my VIN indicates 4/19/2013 build date. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Edgewater, FL, USA

problem #127

Aug 172014


  • 6,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph and attempting to make a turn, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure occurred on three occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,000.

- Spokany Valley, WA, USA

problem #126

Aug 182014


  • 29,345 miles
While driving vehicle turns off/engine dies at any speed without warning. It has happen 6 times.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #125

Aug 212014


  • 35,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the cruise control failed to engage and disengage intermittently. The contact experienced an electrical short with the radio shorting out as well. The vehicle stalled multiple times and the contact had to make several attempts to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the wiring harness and the failure recurred. The contact noticed that the vehicle was idling rough, the cruise control was engaged and was stuck multiple times causing the vehicle to accelerate while attempting to disengage the cruise control feature. The vehicle also stalled more than five times and the contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not safe to drive and was parked at the contacts residence. The vehicle was towed by the dealer to the authorized dealer for further inspection, diagnosis and repair. The contact was waiting for a response from the authorized dealer who was checking for approval from the manufacturer to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure several times. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. Dyd

- Homer City, PA, USA

problem #124

Aug 242014


  • 18,300 miles
While traveling down a highway at approximately 50 mph, our vehicle suddenly lost power, red lights came on the dashboard, vehicle continued running but gas pedal did not respond. Coasted to a stop along shoulder, turned vehicle off, waited a couple of minutes, restarted without incident. 12 volt plugs remained off. Called Ford dealership today. They say this issue will be covered in another recall from Ford, has to do with the electrical wiring harness which shorts out, however replacement part not available at this time. Had we been on the freeway in seattle as we were earlier in the day, this would have caused a rear end accident for sure. We feel Ford has left us with an undependable vehicle, several recalls already and now this very serious safety issue. We no longer feel we can travel safely in this vehicle even after this next recall is repaired. Quality control is definitely absent, who knows what else will be recalled at this rate.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #123

Aug 012013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles


The check engine light comes on intermittently, and stays on for about 48 hours. When I have taken it to the dealership they cannot find out why the light is coming on because the code is no longer visible. The car idles rough and cuts off when the car is warm and I'm stopped in traffic, at a red light for example. It is very dangerous to have my car cut off in inner-city traffic. It also occurred once when I was trying to start the car after being off for about 20 minutes. I had to start it 3 times in order for it to stay on. Each time, it idled very roughly and cut off within a few seconds.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #122

Jun 142013


  • 3,000 miles
As I am driving along, my car starts to jump & sputter & dies. Information light comes on with "engine fault, service immediately." I take the car in to the Ford dealer & he tells me there is not a code showing up so they can't do anything. I have had my Escape to the Ford house 4 times for the exact same thing & everytime, no code shows up. What the heck" if the engine dies & it tells you engine fault service immediately how can there not be a code show up" we were on vacation this weekend and it dies 4 times while we are gone. I was nearly rear-ended several times because it is never at the same rate of speed! sometimes I am sitting at a red light, sometimes I am driving in town at 30 mph, sometimes I am on the interstate at 75 mph. This is extremely dangerous for one thing I could be hit from behind & injured along with my family & grandson, for another thing when it dies, I lose my steering & my brakes. Not good when you are in hill country either. I am tired of Ford not doing anything about this! I guess they are going to wait until people get killed before they finally do something about it! saving money to trade vehicles before something happens to my family! I only have 21,000 miles on this vehicle and I think it is a total of 8 times this has happened in the 13 months I have owned this vehicle.

- Dimmitt, TX, USA

problem #121

Jul 022014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 13,182 miles
Vehicle towed to Ford on 7/3/14 for fuel leak. Also told Ford that fuel range consumption gauge was not working right. Ford was unable to verify fuel leak concern but did the 13S12 overheating and 14S03 handle recalls. On 7/19/14 low coolant light came on. Called Ford and they said that it was an air pocket in the coolant system and to add distilled water and drive it to Ford. The dealership drained the coolant, added coolant and pressurized to check the system. Explained to Ford that our daughter was taking the car on a 500 mile road trip that afternoon. They reassured us it was fixed and that she would not have an issue, but if she did, simply add distilled water again to resolve. Later on 7/19/14, after driving 150 miles of the trip, the temperature gauge rapidly jumped from normal to hot and the engine overheated. Roadside assist. Towed to the closest Ford dealership. This new dealership said the vehicle had so many problems that they were going to have someone from Ford to come look at it. The new dealership faxed us the list of what was wrong with our vehicle: Leaking water pump, leaking turbo coolant tube, turbo coolant banjo bolt loose, hose clamp on turbo coolant tube not released, coolant stand pipe not bolted, engine harness taped but not secured to engine cover, coolant stand pipe harness not properly secured, battery cable rerouting not performed, foam protection not applied to coolant level module, active grill shutters not removed at all, thermostat housing bolts loose, cv boot ripped, bolts on oil deflector not tight to specs. Ford says they repaired the vehicle but we told them we could not risk our lives any more with this defective vehicle. On 7/29/14 we explained everything to Ford, sent them the list, got a case number and requested that Ford buy back the vehicle. On 8/8/14 Ford denied our request. We are too scared to pick up the vehicle.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #120

Aug 082014

Escape 4-cyl

  • miles
I buy Ford Escape 2013, SE ecoboost 1,6 in February $ 29,00, brand new.after 10 months send me recall notice(13V583,14V-239,14V-237,14V164000) after recall value for my car drop down 50%.who refund my.after fix my car, my car, no now car, this is fixed car.who agree for sell with no good condition car.

- Palm Beach Garden, FL, USA

problem #119

Jul 232014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 5,904 miles
In order to park in the single bay of our three car side entry attached garage, you have to pull up to the post between the double and single bays, back up and pull forward. After pulling to about one foot from the garage support post and bringing the vehicle to a complete stop, I attempted to shift from drive to reverse. The Escape suddenly accelerated into the post and our Expedition parked in the right hand side of the double bay. It felt like I had been slammed into from behind. With the engine racing I was able to use the start/stop button to stop the engine. The post was driven over three feet into the garage and the Expedition was hit with so much force that it jumped about an inch onto the cement curb in front of the garage. Hitting the Expedition prevented the garage post (wood and brick) from totally collapsing. The Escape has the 1.6L eco-boost engine and was purchased in Oct. 2012. It has been driven only 5,904 miles. At 5,672 miles the dealership had the vehicle for three days for three recalls 13S12, 14S04 and 14S03.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #118

Aug 012014


  • 24,400 miles
The engine had been idleing a little rough and stalled at a stop light. It restarted and then it would idle rough and like it was going to stall again. It has stalled a total of 3 times in the last 3 days and is idleing rough. Ford dealer service dept. Not open to get looked at. This is out of the blue and when I ran an engine diagnostic it came back normal. I dont trust this car now and am in the process of trying to trade it for a new Toyota, but I am not sure I will be able to get rid of this vehicle. I see Ford has had several issues with this and so far they cant find anything wrong.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #117

Aug 012014

Escape 4-cyl

  • miles
I have medical condition in car is registration in medical condition in not ready, nader few month.I want fix my recall in Florida.please send my dealer address in Florida 33418. Please help my! thank you!

- Palm Beach Garden, FL, USA

problem #116

Jul 012014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
I have the 2013 Ford Escape 2.0 with eco-boost. Suddenly it began stalling when I was in park, it has gradually began stalling when I am in drive but at a stop. Luckily it has not happened while I was in motion. The engine light comes on along with service now indicator and other dash icons. I put the vehicle in park and restart with no problem. All icon's disappear and the vehicle goes back to running normal. I have noticed it is idling roughly and a bit higher than normal about 900 RPM. It constantly idles as if it is going to stall although stalling does not always occur.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #115

Apr 082014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V583000 (engine); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bridgeton , NJ, USA

problem #114

Jul 182014

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • 13,800 miles
In 2 weeks my 2013 Ford Escape has stopped running. The first time I was at a complete stop. The second time I was slowing down for a stop sign and the engine cut off again. Both time the car restarted. It was taken to the dealer both times and they can fine nothing wrong. I am very concerned that it will happen when I am driving and someone will run into me.

- La Plata, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?