Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.

The 2013 is the first model year of the Escape's 3rd generation and proves once again that you want to avoid the first model year when at all possible.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 22
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,791 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 6 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #145

Feb 192015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall repair done in August 2014 for well publicized localized overheating of cylinder head issue. Have had two instances of overheating since... the last incident occurred on 2/19. The vehicle went to low power mode and instructed my wife to pull over immediately and stop engine... she did.... after sitting for approx 10 minutes she restarted the engine and temperatures returned to normal however the engine light is now on and I will be taking the vehicle for repairs again on Monday. I am very concerned about the reliability of this vehicle and specifically this engine option. I have no idea what damage was caused by this latest incident... I'm sure there will be some residual longevity impacts if I keep the vehicle. I predict that this engine will continue to have issues.. both incidents did occur during extreme cold (below zero) so it seems to be cooling system related... which was the basis of the original recall.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #144

Jan 292014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 9,205 miles
Oil leak found at routine oil change. Oil leak was with turbocharger. Turbocharger was replaced. Engine shuts down due to low oil. This car is extremely dangerous to drive in high traffic areas due to unknown shutdowns. Car exhaust is a blue cloud. Car exhaust pipes drip oil. The car sticks of oil. The windows need constant cleaning for oil residue. Ford says oil consumption test passes. Ford refuses to test the engine oil level after 3000 miles and adding one quart of oil. Ford is making every effort to get this vehicle out of the warranty period by refusing to admit their failure to accurately perform an oil consumption test with documentation. Ford refuses to perform another oil consumption test. This car is a lemon. I4 engine is a gutless gas-guzzler.

- Garrison, MN, USA

problem #143

Oct 142014

Escape

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle went into power saving mode. The vehicle's speed reduced and the check engine warning light illuminated. The engine was shut off then restarted, and the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure recurred multiple times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The mat sensor was replaced, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #142

Jan 302015

Escape

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the vehicle overheated and stalled. Additionally, the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Upper Marlboro, MI, USA

problem #141

Feb 122014

Escape

  • 32,000 miles
This is an intermittent power loss issue on a 2013 Ford Escape purchased on December 31, 2013. We have had the issue since that date. At speeds under 35mph and always while making a turn, the vehicle loses all power and must be coasted to a safe spot, stopped, put into park, and then turning the key to restart. This issue happens 1-4 times a week during daily use. We have taken it to the dealer ship 3 times. The first two times I notified them of the issue verbally, but since it did not happen during their test drives, nothing was done or noted. This last time, the issue occurred on December 24, 2014, while making a left hand turn through a city intersection that also put the vehicle on a slight incline, the power was lost, and we could not coast to safety to restart the vehicle. Another vehicle had to lock its brakes to avoid a collision. On Jan 2, 2015 I took the vehicle back to lakewood Ford in lakewood, wa where it was purchased. They had the vehicle from Jan 2 - Jan 9 2015. They test drove it a total of 26 miles. They did not use a "flight recorder" to capture any data. The vehicle is still under warranty and I will be taking it to every Ford dealership I can find until one of them acknowledges and repairs the issue. I will also be recording video of the issue. The camera will capture the instrumentation and road.

- Gig Harbpr, WA, USA

problem #140

Dec 272014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 39,500 miles
Car has been giving us an error message "engine fault service now" since we bought the vehicle. Ford has been unable to repair for the life of the vehicle. The car has no started to shut off in traffic. The incident on 12/27 I was slowing down in heavy traffic and the vehicle shut off. Cars where able to avoid us and we were able get the car restarted but it is becoming a hazard to not only us but everyone on the road. Two weeks prior the car shut off while we were at a red light. Ford has been unable to fix and unwilling to work with us on this issue. I have seen comments on line that other people have faced similar problems with the 2013 Escape. We just want the safe working car that we thought we paid for. We have tried everything and been very patient but now it is a safety hazard.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #139

Dec 292014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 26,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just turned on car and was pulling out of the driveway. The information light came on and said it was low on coolant. I noticed a burning type smell when I got out of the car to see how low the coolant was. This car had been recalled before for engine coolant leaks and overheating. I took my car in to get that recall fixed in May 2014 and now it's having that problem again. I don't know if something else broke or that they didn't fix it right. I didn't buy this car brand new so I could take it in like 5 times for recalls. I also checked the coolant level last week and it was at the level it should be at...so it may be a fast leak.

- Milan, IL, USA

problem #138

Nov 202014

Escape

  • 23,000 miles
The vehicle had been turned in to brown daub Ford in nazareth, pa where it was reported to have died twice on the road. They then reported it died on them twice also. They replaced the engine fuel pump as this is the ecoboost there are two pumps (one at fueltank one at engine) and returned the car. It drove for 30 minutes and died again in an intersection where it almost caused a serious accident. The dealership wrote up the complaint as car wants to stall which is not what was said. They were told it died and was dangerous, they returned it with the same mileage as they took it in so it was not test driven. This is a very dangerous problem and will cause a death. The none turbo engine has a recall for wireharness splices not done properly and that is what this sounds like. Please look into this.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #137

Nov 092014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 33,212 miles
Engine was making odd noise, red light appeared on instrument panel. Driver pulled to side of road. Car began smoking. Driver exited vehicle. Driver called 911 and waved for help. Vehicle burst into flames approximately 30 second after driver exited vehicle. Car completely burned.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #136

Nov 102014

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • 19,020 miles
While slowing down for a stop light on a busy state highway, and without warning vehicle stalled. Loss of electric temporarily. No collision bc vehicle behind me was able to swerve.

- Buffalo , NY, USA

problem #135

Oct 292014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

10/29/14: While in the buffalo, NY area, I turned on the car and noticed the engine fault service nowŁ notice came on. After I clicked ok to make the message go away I put the car in drive and tried to accelerate but noticed the engine was very sluggish. The car had no pickup even with the little pressure I applied to the gas pedal. The tachometer was acting sporadic and the engine felt as though it was close to cutting out. I decided to err on the side of caution and since we were in a big open parking lot I decided to park the car and call for a tow truck to take us to the nearest Ford dealership. The dealer (basil Ford, cheektowaga, NY) kept the car overnight and replaced a sensor. 11/9/14: At local shopping center, I started the car the ┐┐engine fault service now┐Ł notice came on again and when I put the car in gear and applied pressure to the gas pedal I could feel the engine was sluggish. But this time I parked the car and turned the engine off and waited for a minute and turned the engine back on. When I turned car back on the engine fault notice did not come on and the engine seemed fine. Apparently the sensor fix did not fix the problem concerned for safety now based on other reports by drivers.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #134

Jun 022014

Escape

  • 18,000 miles
The car stalls at low speeds, after braking and then trying to accelerate. It's happened at least 8 times, and it's been to the Ford dealer (veterans Ford in tampa) at least 4 times to check it out, but the service dept cannot duplicate the problem. They have run tests, and checked for 'codes' in the engine, but no codes appeared, although the last time, I drove it directly to the dealer after it stalled. It always restarts, but I'm often in traffic and dangerous situations. It's very sporadic, and there is no warning before it stalls.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #133

Oct 092014

Escape

  • 31,410 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the engine hesitated and the front passenger air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V495000 (engine) and stated that the recall exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer advised that the part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 31,410.

- Foley , AL, USA

problem #132

Apr 302014

Escape

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle independently decelerated. In addition, the contact stated that the service immediately warning light illuminated and the rpms would increase and decrease. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V495000 (engine) and experienced failures after the repair. The specifics on the failures after the recall was performed were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,000.

- Independence, WV, USA

problem #131

Oct 112014

Escape

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the transmission was shifting abnormally in and out of gears and there was a sudden increase in engine rpms. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. During a second appointment, the technician determined that the computer needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who repaired the throttle body, the motor, the assembly control, the assembly transmission, and the gasket. The remedy failed to repair the failure. In addition, while traveling 45 mph downhill, the vehicle stalled and caused another vehicle to crash into the contact's vehicle. The contact sustained minor injuries and did not seek medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V495000 (engine). The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Beaver Creek, OH, USA

problem #130

Sep 252014

Escape

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the service engine and engine malfunction warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Lakeville, MN, USA

problem #129

Jun 022014

Escape

  • 18,000 miles
Following service performed for recalls for possible coolant leak / engine fire, engine fault codes for low coolant began to display. Visual confirmation of low coolant in reservoir. Added coolant to proper level several times at weekly intervals while driving approx. 200 miles per week. Loss of coolant was not an issue until the recall servicing was done. Three or four service visit attempts to fully diagnose and resolve have resulted a replaced water pump (that leaked during pressure test). This most recent low coolant engine fault message occurred after four weeks post-new water pump. I am returning for another service visit in an attempt to fully and finally resolve the issue.

- Hamlton, NJ, USA

problem #128

Jul 302014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 27,500 miles
On 7/30/214 the vehicle hesitated and the engine stalled at a stop sign. I was on a trip to Pennsylvania on 8/19/2014 taken to mullinax Ford, 2317 S.R. 44, new smyrna beach, fl 32168 (866) 511-8666. No codes and they could not duplicate malfunction. After a few days car was returned to me. On 9/7/2014 the vehicle hesitated and the engine stalled at a stop sign. Engine restarted no check engine light(mil). On 9/15/2014 the vehicle hesitated and the engine stalled at a stop sign. Engine restarted no check engine light(mil). On 9/16/2014, today, taken to mullinax Ford, 2317 S.R. 44, new smyrna beach, fl 32168 (866) 511-8666. Currently in shop. Contacted Ford Motor Company 9/16/2014, today, they created a case number [xxx]. stated that Ford recall 14S17 was not applicable since my VIN indicates 4/19/2013 build date. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Edgewater, FL, USA

problem #127

Aug 172014

Escape

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph and attempting to make a turn, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure occurred on three occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,000.

- Spokany Valley, WA, USA

problem #126

Aug 182014

Escape

  • 29,345 miles
While driving vehicle turns off/engine dies at any speed without warning. It has happen 6 times.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?