Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 21
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #113

Jul 232014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 14,096 miles


While driving the engine fault light came on. The car began to lurch when changing gears almost causing an accident. Once car turned off and turned back on the fault cleared and the engine ran smooth. Took the car to the Ford store san leandro (ca). Like the similar complaints on this website they could not find record on the car's computer and could not replicate the problem. Therefore I go away very concerned about my safety and future occurrences of the same event. From this website I see lots of complaints. When will Ford do something to rectify. How many people are going to have to be injured or die to get them working on resolving this issue?

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #112

Jul 182014


  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle overheated and stalled. The contact mentioned that when the vehicle was turned off, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the popped off coolant hose needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 31,000.

- Yuba City, CA, USA

problem #111

May 312014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 21,805 miles
On 5/31/14, upon starting vehicle (2.0 L, sel), vehicle running rough, sputtering, lurching when accelerator was depressed, etc. Message on dash screen stated "engine fault - service now". drove car approximately 8 miles to a Ford dealer I was not familiar with. Turned car off but then decided to move car. Started car, all issues disappeared, so I left and drove car 35 miles to my home with no issues. Drove car until 6/20/14 when exact symptoms happened again. Drove car with symptoms occurring to local Ford dealer. Mechanic suspected cooing system problem, turned off engine without hooking up to computer for diagnosis. Minutes later, mechanic decided problem was not cooling system related since Escape was a 2.0 L (cooling system problems apparently occur with 1.6 L models), but was instead the map sensor which was replaced on 6/26/14. Next day (6/27/14) after map sensor replacement, same exact issues. No time to take to a dealer, so I shut it off and restarted it and all symptoms disappeared. Drove regularly until 7/16/14, when exact symptoms occurred again. Drove directly to local Ford dealer, left it running. They hooked up the diagnostic computer while running which showed error code related to map sensor again. Explained to mechanic that my research has indicated that tsb 13-12-12 might address the problem which is related to wiring in the "signal return splices." He agreed. Made appointment for next day, 7/17/14. Upon starting on 7/17/14, same symptoms. Turned off, restarted, symptoms cleared and I drove it with no issues to my local Ford dealer. Local dealer called and said they looked at the wire splices, made some "adjustments" (no new parts) and that vehicle is ready for pick up. If this occurs again, which I believe it will, I will ask for wire harness replacement to the signal return(s). Dangerous, well-documented problem.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #110

Jul 012014

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,300 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph and making a right turn, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate mileage was 9,300. Updated 9/18/14 updated 2/11/2015

- Carteret , NJ, USA

problem #109

May 012014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
First occurrence was nearly three months ago. 2013 Ford Escape as repeatedly, with increasing frequency but randomly lost power and with the engine shutting off. Car has lost engine power and with no ability to accelerate while driving speeds up to 40 mph. It has occurred while approaching a stop, sitting at a stop sign, accelerating post stop, turning left, turning right and while navigating around-about and crossing a railroad track. Car will restart once I place it in park. This is an extreme safety concern. I have had several near misses and only because I have learned to respond quickly with my hazard lights. I called don hinds Ford in fishers, in at the second occurrence and they failed to express the same level of concern telling me I would have to wait 4-5 days for an appointment. The frequency has increased, albeit still random and not daily it does occur multiple times a week. I made a service appointment with don hinds waiting again 4 business days on 7-8-2014. I was extremely disappointed as their report was based on their inability to not replicate the problem. The likelihood to replicate a random occurrence in a short test drive was not expected by me and I am disappointed they were foolish to think it would. The history of the last 10 starts and stops on the car's computer didn't report any error code. Don hind's states that Ford has no reports of any incidents and their technical support had no recommendations for the mechanic. The advice of the mechanic was to wait until it was more frequent in occurrence and able to be replicated and then bring it back. I am afraid to drive my car and to Transport my children. This needs urgent attention. This poses a high risk of injury.

- Westfield, IN, USA

problem #108

Feb 142013


  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the engine coolant fluid leaked onto the exhaust manifold. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was repaired under recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V583000 (engine). After the remedy repair was performed the failure persisted. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- North Tazwell, VA, USA

problem #107

Apr 212014

Escape 4-cyl

  • miles


It started as a recall. There was danger of fire in the motor. Took in on April 21, 2014 and told it would be back in 2 days. Down hill from there. Bad water pump. Waiting for parts. The motor has been taken apart and put back. Dealer test drove and "check engine light" came on. This has happened twice. Ford has said they would send a "new" motor. This is July 7th and I still don't have my car back. Dealer said they don't know when I would get it. Also -- the Escape has a steering problem. It hangs when you are turning or changing lanes driving 70 mph and they can't identify the problem. They say that Ford hasn't had any complaints. Updated 02/05/2015

- Graham, NC, USA

problem #106

Jul 032014


  • 24,000 miles
I am filing a complaint that after my recall service for the risk of localized overheating of the engine cylinder head that may lead to oil leak fires my 2013 Ford Escape started overheating. The engine heat went from regular heat to maxed out heat in the red in a matter of seconds with no warning or time to pull over safely!!!!! I purchased my Ford Escape 2013 sel in April of 2013 and use my car often for work so have put on 23,000 miles so far. I got a letter of a recall and called to schedule my recall asap only able to get an appointment 2 months out. I got my 3 recalls of only one I was notified of performed June 16th 2014 and picked up my car June 20th from san leandro Ford thinking and hoping I would now be driving a safe vehicle. Shortly thereafter I realized my right head-light wasn't working so took it back to find out the technician forgot to plug my headlight in. Two weeks later I took a trip over 300 miles away and had no troubles after multiple mtn passes until our final climb when my 2013 Escape jumped from regular engine heat to overheating and maxed out in the red in a matter of seconds. We pulled over let it cool and tried again, overheated again and had an oil burning smell with fear of engine catching fire!! immediately made an appointment at bishop Ford. Car is currently at Ford dealership 6 hours from my home with no reason as to why it is still overheating! Ford tech (corporate location) was non-responsive to local tech and car is unsafe to drive! warning recall does not work!

- San Francisco , CA, USA

problem #105

May 232014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
1.6L ecoboost: Service engine indicator comes on. Dealer has determined several instances of engine misfire. Initially too, a more urgent indicator light came on (amber) indicating that the coolant level is low. A yet more urgent indicator light comes on (red) indicating the engine is overheating and the engine is reduced to running on two cylinders. However, this indication appeared only shortly after the engine was started, and surely at that point, the engine was far from overheating. On other and subsequent incidences, engine misfires during the first seconds following start-up. After 3 to 5 seconds, engine usually stops misfiring. On a couple of occasions, this misfire-at-start-up event has been accompanied by a faint odor of antifreeze. The most recent misfire-at-start-up event included a faint smell of something/not fuel or oil, and gray smoke from the exhaust. Because dealer has tested the cooling system (okay) and no hint of coolant has been found on the ground or engine compartment, I'm now assuming that coolant is getting into one or more of cylinders, either from the engine head or from the turbo charger (it is water-cooled, I'm told) and is then coming out of the exhaust. Both tail pipes are carboned up. Mention of is made on several web posts and is apparently a common occurrence with ecoboost engines?? based on my vast (high school) knowledge of chemistry and the oxidation process, that just ain't right. I have asked fmc to replace the vehicle. They have thus far declined to do so.

- Belton, MO, USA

problem #104

Apr 222014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 15,500 miles
Vehicle sputtered and shut off while in traffic at approx. 35 mph. This has happened 3 more times, it is now at the dealer for the 4th time in attempt to repair. Ford has so far been unable to provide the dealer with an adequate explanation or fix. The dealer has been more than cooperative but is at the mercy of Ford. A vehicle shutting off for no apparent reason and without warning could lead to serious injuries.

- Southampton, PA, USA

problem #103

Jun 032014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles


On the first incident I was slowing down to make a left turn in a busy intersection. The service engine now default light came on and the car stalled. I was nearly killed as cars had to swerve to go around me. The second and third incidents happened as I slowed down to make a right hand turn. The car has also stalled at stop signs.

- Cleves, OH, USA

problem #102

May 082014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 11,497 miles
I have 2013 Ford Escape titanium.I have to have the car towed into coughlin Ford, johnstown, oh twice. This is what the car was doing. Vehicle bucked and lurched and went into limp mode. The car quit and would not restart. I called Ford roadside assistance and had it towed to coughlin Ford, johnstown, oh. Coughlin called and said that they could not find anything wrong with the car. On the second occasion the car ran very rough, the engine fault light came on. Again it did the same problem. Could barely get it home. I was on a busy highway nearly being hit both times. Again the car was towed to coughlin Ford. Later was called saying they could not duplicate the problem. We are senior citizens and very afraid to take the car anywhere. Twice we have had to rent a car.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #101

Jun 122014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 9,050 miles
Since our 2013 Ford Escape had the Ford recall 13S12C and 13S12D completed in early April, the vehicle fuel mileage has dropped by an average of 2 mpg. Some aerodynamic features of the vehicle were compromised under the recall to help keep the engine from over heating and starting a fire. Its a good thing we leased this vehicle because we will be returning it to the dealer when the lease is up and most likely will not purchase a Ford vehicle to replace it. Buyer beware of 2013 Ford Escapes built in late 2012 and early 2013 with the 1.6 liter ecoboost engine.

- Beloit, WI, USA

problem #100

Mar 302014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
Vehicle bucked, lurched and went into "limp mode" and would not accelerate over 40 mph on a 70 mph interstate highway (just as I was trying to enter the highway) engine service light came on and I called Ford roadside to have it towed to the dealership. This was actually the second time. This had happened previously but I cannot find the date - that time, I was entering the same interstate and the car did the same thing and I "limped" the car to the dealership (only being able to drive 40 mph on a 60 mph four lane highway.) on 6/3/2014, the car did the same thing as I was attempting to enter interstate 35 (70 mph) - again - bucking, lurching and then going into the "limp mode". very scared to drive this car anywhere as I fear being hit or killed on the highways because of the cars inability to go anywhere near the speed limit. This is very much a safety issue especially for the area that I live in because all the roadways around me are at least 60 mph or higher and Ford has not been able to fix this problem. The car's engine is now idling very rough, too, so there are other issues with this engine.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #99

Jun 012014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
My 2013 Ford Escape started with a jolting, rocking and rough ride. The engine fault service now light came on. If you turned it off and restarted it, would be ok and light would not come back on. This started around 28,000 miles. I took to Ford dealer and they kept for a day, hooked to computer and told me nothing was coming up as wrong. They took it out on the road and could not replicate it. But they did fix 5 recalls on it! 4 days later with the air conditioner on while making a left turn on a busy road, the engine went completely dead. I nearly missed having a car hit me broadside. Then 5 days later as I was making a right hand turn, the engine once again completely died. By some very good luck the car behind me was able to go around me. I had my small grandson and granddaughter in the back seat. They could have been seriously injured had I been rear ended. I called the Ford dealer and was told my the service manager what did I expect them to do since it keeps telling them nothing is wrong when hooked to the computer ( in a very sarcastic tone). Then again today, the engine went completely dead coming out of my granddaughter school in front of a school bus!! I think Ford is going to wait until people actually die in a an accident before even attempting to try to correct this problem. I am so distraught that I don't know what to do. GM waited to long and look what happened to them!

- Bel Air , MD, USA

problem #98

May 312014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 7,200 miles
Car stalled while driving at 35 mph with no warning, nearly causing an accident.

- Smynra, GA, USA

problem #97

Jan 062014

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V583000 (engine) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/14/2014

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #96

May 252014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
As I was slowing to turn left the car stalled in the middle of the intersection. And again, as I stopped at the stop sign, it stalled again. I took this car into the dealer ( third time) because of the stalling issue and I had just picked it up from the dealer service department, (who said they could not find anything) when the car stalled a mile away from the shop. It was closing time on a holiday weekend, when I picked it up, so they were closed by the time I turned around.

- Maumee, OH, USA

problem #95

Nov 132013


  • miles
Engine fault, service engine now. Automobile loss of power, stall, engine cuts off completely at any given time. Hopefully to help so many people on this site with the same problem. My vehicle did this for many months and always the same answer from Ford and error code so nothing is wrong. Finally it happened as I pulled up to dealership for oil change. So they could clearly see what the car was doing and there was an error code. I looks to be addressed by Ford tsb 13-7-5 superseded by Ford tsb 13-12-12 wiring harness fault in signal return splices. Why has NHTSA and Ford Motor Company not nationally published this information so all dealership understand (hopefully) the solution to this very dangerous problem. Amazing so many dealership are not aware of all Ford tsb's.

- Troutman, NC, USA

problem #94

May 192014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
2013 Ford Escape as I back out of parking lot, car dies, engine light comes on and oil light appears also. Car also shut down at busy intersection. Took car into dealership next morning, started car up and it died, did this 3 times and the Ford service man witnessed this. They have had car 4 days in the shop. Shop foreman has driven car home to see if it can be duplicated and can not. They say when they hook up to computer no problems register. They just called and said I have to pick up the car today, they can't keep it any longer. If it happens again, to bring it in. Very frustrated. Hope I don't get hit and injured!!

- Belton, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?