Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
39,964 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Jul 202014

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problem with this car, is when car is in motion it would cut of loose power, no gas to engine. Put car in neutral and restart car. This is a constant problem started.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #43

Aug 132014

Fusion

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was on and in the park position, the air conditioner failed. The contact stated that the air condition unit started emitting hot air. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact was informed that the air condition actuator and wires was burned. The vehicle was repaired; however, the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Kent Store, VA, USA

problem #42

Jul 082015

Fusion

  • 40,850 miles
While driving on the highway at 70 mph my car start to stall to where im not able to get any gas. The wrench light comes on. While in the far left lane I had to make it to the right shoulder before my car stopped in the middle of the highway. As I make it to the right shoulder my car starts to jerk in which the service engine light comes on. I put the car in park and turn the car off. I wait a couple of minutes and start the car in which it starts back up. As im driving my car stalled on me at least five times before making it home. I took my car to a mechanic to do a diagnostic test which I was told that the throttle bottle need to be replaced. The mechanic cleaned the throttle body to see if that would work but it only lasted a day until my car started to stall again on me as I drove.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #41

Jun 092015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,463 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 55 mph, the contact noticed a failure of the driver side indicator bulb. The contact stopped to check and noticed that the rear driver side indicator bulb was burned and fused to the electrical socket. The contact was able to change the bulb; however, the failure recurred. The contact notified the dealer of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 58,463. Updated 8/6/15

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #40

Sep 192014

Fusion

  • miles
When the wipers are on intermittent they start running at full speed and do not stop until you turn it off. They replaced the wiper switch and it is still doing the same thing.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #39

Oct 092014

Fusion

  • 79,000 miles
Interior door handle broke. I was just opening my door to get out and it just quit opening and not engaging. I have to roll my window down to open my door to get out of the car every-time. I heard that this was part of a recall but when I call the Ford dealer here in town they said that there is no recall on this problem but I did here that there was a recall on this problem and on this model car on the news recently. The dealer at patchetts Ford in turlock, ca said I needed a recall number. Please if I can get some help with this issue.

- Ceres, CA, USA

problem #38

Apr 072015

Fusion

  • 33,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering failed. After taking to dealership was quoted $1885 to repair. Reviewing online showed a class action lawsuit for the same problems. Also showed that there is a open investigation into this matter. Needs to be noted that this is another complaint for the same issues that are being investigated and for the litigation that is under way. Ford needs to make it right for the consumer.

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #37

Dec 142012

Fusion

  • 79,000 miles
Driving one day had just took off so wasn't going that fast an was approaching a turn and found out that I had to hold the steering wheel real tight because I could not turn the car.tried to get my car fixed as a matter of fact I did take it to a Ford dealership and got charged for something that I thought was going to take care of the problem but didn't the problem came back. My car is still saying get power steering rack advance trac serviced. Tried 3 times to fix but nothing seems to work, I need your help !

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #36

Feb 172015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Received a fault message of "power steering assist fault", several times over a 2 week period. Turning the engine off then on again reset it. On Monday 2/23/2015 received the same message but could not get the steering to work by turning vehicle on and off again. Took it to a certified Ford mechanic who is currently replacing the entire steering component for $2167.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #35

Jan 232015

Fusion

  • 24,000 miles
Power steering on my Ford Fusion 2012 failed - I was on a highway off ramp and almost got into a crash as a result. I have contacted Ford several times about the issue, they seem not to care. Please help and look in to this before I actually get into a crash as a result of the powertrac steering failing. I have seen from online reports that many other people have this problem. This is now the sixth time this happened.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #34

Jan 222015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 67,954 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on a highway traveling around 65 mph when suddenly a warning light came on saying "power steering assist fault" and the steering wheel became hard turn. I managed to get out of the highway and drove home on streets with very difficult and hard to steer. I since contacted Ford dealer for probably there has been a recall on the problem, but they stated there is not and since my car is no longer under warranty I need to paid for repairs. I believe this issue should be consider for a recall, since the problem happened while I was driving and I easily could had been involved in automobile accident.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #33

Aug 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 17,900 miles
I have lost power steering several times while driving my 2012 Ford Fusion - mostly on the highway.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #32

Oct 152013

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled after the wrench engine indicator illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Greenwood , MS, USA

problem #31

Jul 092013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Was in the car at stop light. When I went to step on the gas the warning lights came on and car had no power steering. Car was very hard to steer and could have caused an accident. Got to a parking garage and managed to park and turned off the car. Restarted it and power steering came back on. It happened again about a week later in my driveway as I went to leave. Turned car off and it came back on again. Took car to Ford dealer where they said they had to replace the whole power steering assembly to the tune of $1800 on basically a 1 year old car! sent a complaint to Ford where they blew me off and dealer said there was nothing he could do. This is hazardous and should be recalled.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #30

Oct 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 14,300 miles
According to the driver, the vehicle was put into reverse backing out of a parking spot, then when the car was put into drive the vehicle would not stop gaining high speeds up to 50mph. The engine rpms were high and the car was "out of control" as the driver had their foot pressed on the brake. The Fusion struck a few parked cars and eventually hit a vehicle head on coming the opposite way in a parking lot. There was one fatality as a result of the crash and other minor injuries from the victims. According to Ford a notice was sent out in January of 2014, field service action number: 13N03, which they offered an extended warranty for the defective part but never explicitly stated a throttle body could stay open causing the vehicle to surge or runaway causing a fatal accident. See also 10649298.

- Perkasie, PA, USA

problem #29

Oct 172014

Fusion

  • 14,300 miles
According to the driver, the vehicle was put into reverse backing out of a parking spot, then when the car was put into drive the vehicle would not stop gaining high speeds up to 50mph. The engine rpms were high and the car was "out of control" as the driver had their foot pressed on the brake. The Fusion struck a few parked cars and eventually hit a vehicle head on coming the opposite way in a parking lot. There was one fatality as a result of the crash and other minor injuries from the victims. According to Ford a notice was sent out in January of 2014, field service action number: 13N03, which they offered an extended warranty for the defective part but never explicitly stated a throttle body could stay open causing the vehicle to surge or runaway causing a fatal accident. See also 10649303.

- Perkasie, PA, USA

problem #28

Oct 082013

Fusion

  • 22,145 miles
On 10/5/2013, I had to call roadside rescue to jump start car. I took vehicle to advance auto on 10/6/2013 to test battery. The printout results found, indicator light was yellow, cold cranking amps 500 on battery, temperature was to high at 124degrees. On 10/7/2013, call roadside rescue to jumpstart vehicle. I let the vehicle idle for a bit, hoping to recharge the battery back to full function. On 10/8/2013 called roadside rescue to jumpstart vehicle for the 3rd time and then drove to Ford dealership. With great hesitation, Ford replaced the battery. I had to tell the technician to look at the battery's yellow light.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #27

Jun 052013

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
Two failures reset by turning car off and on. One, permanent, still not working. Worst failure was the second one while on the freeway.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 022014

Fusion

  • 66,655 miles
When first starting the car after it has been parked for a while with turning the ignition on with the key. The steering wheel feels like it is locked in position and can not be turned in any direction. This usually lasts for less than a minute or two, then the power steering return as normal. This has happened several times now in the past 2 months and appears to be increasing in frequency. The Ford dealership at first replaced the passenger side lower arm and charged $637. After returning less than a week later to complain that the same exact problem was still happening. The dealership did a diagnostic check and said it was now the gear assembly which would cost $1,713.18 with parts, labor and tax.

- Tequesta, FL, USA

problem #25

Sep 102014

Fusion

  • 54,800 miles
I was driving downhill at a steady 60 mph with no turns and got a error message on the dashboard to "service power steering now" and "service advancetrac now". the tow was covered under roadside assistance, however the estimate for this fix has not yet been received. For a brand new vehicle purchased with 0 miles, this sort of problem has been common among other vehicles and deserves a recall. Had I not known what to do given the situation, there could have been a very bad accident.

- Westminster, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?