Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
40,157 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Aug 062014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 38,500 miles


Left for work this morning and first time I used my right turn signal, the signal made that fast clicking sound indicating the vehicle had a bulb that needed to be changed. After work I stopped by autozone to buy a replacement bulb. I removed the socket from the lens, and noticed that the bulb is melted into the socket. The bulb cannot be removed from the socket. I then checked the drivers side rear tail light bulb, and that bulb is also melted into the socket. I took my car to art hill Ford dealership (where I purchased the car), and was told that this would not be covered on my warranty. I was told I needed to make an appointment to have a technician look at it. I asked to have a technician please look at it now because I was concerned about the vehicle safety. The service rep said that could not happen because the technicians would have to be paid $56 just to look. I was shocked, disappointed, and worried. I made the appt. I only have approx 38500 miles on my vehicle. This should be covered under warranty or recall.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #21

Oct 152012


  • 2,489 miles
While driving my new Ford Fusion, only 5 months since purchase, the vehicle lost power and stalled. When I took it to the dealer they could find nothing wrong and said what's the issue it started didn't it" the same thing happened again in may and July of 2014. It is a known issue with Ford and a customer satisfaction was issued to replace the throttle body, but the dealership won't do so because no code shows up when I've taken the car in after each episode. This is a safely issue and a known issue. Why NHTSA allowed them to get away with not doing a recall is beyond me. It is unsafe driving a vehicle that suddenly loses power. It should not matter that a code doesn't show up. What happened before computers? it's a known issue and is happening so it should get replaced. Thankfully I wasn't driving over 35 when this occurred, but what about the next time if I'm on a highway going 60? what will it take - people to get seriously injured to get a true recall"

- Spring Valley, NY, USA

problem #20

Mar 042013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
There have been four incidents with the car: Battery had to be replaced in less than a year car shut off on the interstate in 60 miles per hour traffic taken in June 2014 for a recall *last incident, car is 2 years old with 44,000 miles, front end failure; parts needed to repair include lower control arm and tie rod ends at a cost of approximately $1500 I've called Ford to report the latest incident and have not had anyone to call me back to discuss the car's malfunctions. From the customer service department to their manager, all I have received is a promise that I would hear from someone within 24 hours of the next business day. This run around has gone on for the past week.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #19

Jun 292014


  • 46,087 miles


I got off the highway and when coming off the ramp I got an error message stating advancetrac power steering failure. There was also a chime and the dashboard light came on. I read that turning off your engine will reset it and it did but I am afraid to drive the car.

- Reisterstown , MD, USA

problem #18

May 142014


  • 36,000 miles
When stopped at a red light, power steering failed and warning message to service advancetrac. Not the first time, don't remember dates of prior incidents. Turning off ignition and restarting car solved problem (for now).

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #17

Apr 072014


  • 18,900 miles
Yesterday in the evening while there was a rain storm the front lights of my 2012 Ford Fusion went out completely, luckily for us school teachers there was sufficient daylight to help us get home from work. Several months ago, the same thing occurred while I was traveling on a busy wilmington, Delaware state road.earlier the right side brake light fizzled which was replaced on February 10, 2014 and the driver's side headlight had to be replaced at the dealership the year other areas, the transmission of this car has a tendency to slip whenever I move it from park to drive. In addition, last year the car battery was drained and triple a road service had to recharge the battery. The dead battery caused us to lose several hours from teaching.the am car radio reception, is also poor and subject to interference, and drops in volume. The cd player is erratic and has a tendency to skip songs and stop all less than two years of operation, this car is only used for short distance travel of 30 miles a day as we fear continued breakdowns.venturing into night time travel or long distance interstate travel is not advisable given this car's tendency to lose external illumination.what is most troubling is that the internal dashboard did not warn me when the tailgate break light and front passenger beam light went out of order.the only time I have experienced the dashboard in operation was when one of the car tires needed to be re-inflated and when it was time to refuel the gas tank.I have taken this model to sheridan Ford dealership where they have rotated the tires and changed the oil. On May 13, 2013, I paid $17 service charge to rotate the that time they conducted a multipoint inspection where it was determined it was ok.the above issues merit Ford recall this car.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #16

Mar 012014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles


My horn no longer works.

- Gibsonia, PA, USA

problem #15

Mar 082014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
While driving the vehicle the service power steering notification came up on the dash. Car was still drivable with no loss of power steering. Car was shutdown once arrived at destination. When restarting car the service power steering now was displayed. Car was placed in to drive, no power steering was identified in addition to service advancetrac was displayed.

- Holts Summit, MO, USA

problem #14

Sep 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 90,599 miles
September 24, 2013-I was driving home and the car began to shut down. The wrench came up and it lose all power. I was able to coast into the median as it was 5;00 traffic. I turned completely off and restarted again. December 5, 2013.. the same thing happened as I was on a side street. I turned off and restarted. 2/24/2014 I was going to work and it cut off on very busy 6 lane highway. It was very scary as no one was behind me. I turned off and then restarted the car. I was so relieved that no one was on this busy road which is always traffic going very fast. I have a service all into Ford for Friday 2/28/2014.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 042014


  • 1,500 miles
Received a letter extending the warranty of the throttle body, but I feel this is a safety issue, especially at high speeds on interstate highways, and should be a recall issue not a warranty extension.

- Gaines, PA, USA

problem #12

Dec 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles


I was turning onto the street at about 25 mph and as I approached my home, the advance trac system light came on and then the service power steering now light came on. Steering wheel locked up as I tried to turn into the driveway and I ran over the cable box on the curb because it was hard to turn at that point. Prior to this incident, there were problems with air pressure in the tires at least three times. Light continually came on indicating low tire pressure. Car was purchased on November 2, 2013. Dealership offered the extended warranty, we signed papers for it. When it came time to use it, the warranty was not there. We didn't sign any cancellation papers for it. Now we have to deal with a bogus dealership/finance company and pay for a part that may or may not be needed.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Jun 032013


  • 28,000 miles
I noticed a "jumpy ride' during trip to albuquerque and back....first road trip since buying car in April, '13. It was sort of a shifting of a gear when there should have been nothing like that at that speed. Started noticing around town at 35 the same jumpy feeling...just seemed like too much shifting. The ride is very "rough"...never had a car like this...loved my '09 Fusion, but this one stinks. Afraid it's wearing out the tranny and could be dangerous. 3 dealers have just blown me off along with the corporate person I talked to...a "[xxx]" for my region for Ford. I am worried and can get nothing done! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ruidoso, NM, USA

problem #10

Jun 192013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
On 10/9/2013 I was stopped at a light and then when I proceeded to go on a green light, my car stalled without any warning or lights on my dash while in traffic. There was a car behind me that almost rear ended me. Went to restart the vehicle and it did not start right away. I had to put the car in park with hazards on, in the middle of traffic, and tried to start the car two more times before the car started again. The car has been giving me issues with hesitation and vibration for the past 4 months. I have taken it to Ford and they have checked my car 2 times and never was able to solve the problem. Before I took it to Ford the car has stalled on 6/19/2013 prior to taking the car to the local Ford shop. They said it was the programming and they installed the update for the computer, but it never solved the problem. The last time it stalled on me, my husband, who is an Acura technician, pulled the P2111 code out using a pocket code reader out of freeze frame data. There was no codes stored in PCM 6 hrs after the incident. 2 days later checked for freeze frame data again and there was no freeze frame data.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #9

Aug 312013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 37,723 miles
My son got into the car, going to the store, he said something wrong with the car. I said what, he said when I cranked it up, sound like I heard it clicking. He check the oil, it was a half of a half quart low. He left in 2 seconds he called back, said something is wrong, so his daddy went where he was, it was still running, but lost speed, it would only go 2 or 3 miles per hour. After getting it back home, it sat a little while and it was good to go. Labor day I was on interstate 85 it done the same thing to me, but I had to call a wrecker I was to far away from home. Now everyone want me to pay for the testing of the car to determan what the problem is. Ford need`S to do something about this too many complaints I have read them. !!!! don`T wait until death occurs!!!!.

- China Grove, NC, USA

problem #8

Aug 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,987 miles
I started my car as normal and shifted into drive. After I had started driving my vehicle had began to shake & the accelerator would not work. I turned the engine off and waiting a few moments and turned back on and the exact same thing happened again. The third time I started the vehicle the check engine light and service wrench were lit on the dash. The third time I turned on the vehicle it was able to drive with what felt like limited power. The check engine code pulled from the cars computer ready P2111. The car was taken to the closest Ford dealer and was diagnosed. I needed to replace the "throttle body" & have all of my "fuel injectors" cleaned. When I asked Ford what the cause of this issue was they said, "its because of the places you pump gas like walmart because they are always changing who they purchase fuel from and its not a good quality." (seriously) they recommend getting gas from racetrac or qt instead of walmart. The repairs are to cost $830 parts/labor. After alot of research on this matter I have seen that alot of people are having the same issues with their vehicles & alot of them are traveling at a high rate of speed (freeway driving). This situation needs to be resolved asap before its takes a innocent life. Ford needs to accept responsibility for this problem.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #7

Aug 122013


  • 67,000 miles
After some time I noticed the blower cutting off on the ac, for a short period of time then it would come back on. This happened about 3 times then one morning I got into the car and the blower would not come on at all. I smelled a burnt smell as well, I took into Ford and they stated that they module that controls the blower motor had burnt up, and just so happens that it was outside of warranty by 2K miles. The dealership wanted a lot of money to replace this part it took us about 12 mins to replace.

- Dickson, TN, USA

problem #6

Jul 092013


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the air conditioning system failed to blow any air from the vents. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the motor and wires had burned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Abernathy, TX, USA

problem #5

Apr 042013


  • 35,100 miles
Windows on driver and passenger front windows found open after car came home, power turned off, and locked. I came home in the rain, so I know that I did not open windows.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #4

Aug 222012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
Front windows and moon roof have spontaneously opened on two consecutive days after the vehicle has been shutoff, locked, and vacated. This problem can allow unauthorized access to the vehicle and exposure to the elements potentially damaging the interior.

- Bowling Green , OH, USA

problem #3

Apr 192012


  • 6,000 miles
I went to my car one rainy morning to discover the front windows were down and the moon roof was open, and the seats and floor were soaking wet. I filed a police report thinking it was vandalism. The open windows and moon roof occurred again this past weekend and between google and the owners manual, found out this is a "feature" that happens if the unlock key is depressed for a short time, as can happen when the key is in your pocket. This could give anybody access to the garage door opener which would put my family and house at risk, as well as the contents of the vehicle. This feature was not disclosed when I purchased the vehicle and it can only be disabled by the dealer.

- Auburn, WA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?