Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 2
Average Mileage:
36,921 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Jun 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Felt like a surge then engine stalled. Had to pull over turn the car off then restart.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #34

May 112014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
At a very low speed, while pulling into a parking space, vehicle unexpectedly accelerated while lightly breaking and would not stop causing impact to another car.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #33

May 222013

Fusion

  • 8,037 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly increased acceleration and failed to decelerate when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact then crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy with the significant impact. The contact sustained a fracture wrist and injuries to the right knee. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the severe body damages to the front end were repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,037. Updated 05/06/2014

- Brownsburg, IN, USA

problem #32

Mar 102013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Starting out, throttle had no response on take off, now taking a right hand turn throttle has no response then jumps forward, very difficult pulling out onto a highway. I've taken it to two different Ford dealers and they refuse to do anything till the check engine lite comes on, meanwhile I'm driving a dangerous car...

- Aurora, TX, USA

problem #31

Feb 192014

Fusion

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #30

Feb 042014

Fusion

  • 1,500 miles
Received a letter extending the warranty of the throttle body, but I feel this is a safety issue, especially at high speeds on interstate highways, and should be a recall issue not a warranty extension.

- Gaines, PA, USA

problem #29

Jan 032014

Fusion

  • 35,944 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When passing another vehicle at 45 mph in 2012 Ford Fusion sel V6 (36,000 miles) car suddenly and without warning lost power but quickly regained it. A few minutes later, while turning corner, car suddenly and dangerously lost power again and didn't regain it. I managed to roll to curb; warning lights were on including wrench. I stepped on gas but car wouldn't move. Turned off engine and ten minutes into waiting for tow truck, I tried to start vehicle. It started and I was able to drive it two blocks to my home. Based on their experience with Fusion, mechanics at Ford dealership suspected throttle body problem and I was told there was nothing they could do because code for throttle body didn't appear during diagnostic check. I was told that when it happens again to bring it back to see if they could catch code and get authorization for repair. The sudden loss of power in this car while driving it is very dangerous and the series should be recalled and throttle body repair done by Ford because of this serious safety issue.

- Woodland, CA, USA

problem #28

Nov 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,445 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the wrench warning indicator illuminated as the vehicle unexpectedly lunged forward. In addition, the vehicle began to vibrate violently. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. Upon restarting, the vehicle was driven with caution to the contact's residence. The vehicle was later towed to an authorized dealer, who stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 78,445....updated 03/07/14 the consumer stated the vehicle lunged forward and lost power. The dealer replaced the throttle body and motor assembly. Updated 03/13/14

- Bethlehem , GA, USA

problem #27

Dec 012013

Fusion

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while in reverse, the engine rpms increased as the vehicle lunged in reverse, causing the contact to crash into another vehicle. The contact was not injured and a police report was filed. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic test or repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 95,000.

- Rahway , NJ, USA

problem #26

Nov 112013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,600 miles
Trip home from work, approx 45 miles into my trip, car on cruise control going 72 mph and stalls, the wrench light comes on. I cannot accelerate using the gas pedal. Pull to shoulder, car idles rough. Turn off and back on. Continued trip without problem. Nov. 14. 2013: Car taken to local Ford dealer and they cannot retrieve any error codes. Mention throttle body but they didn't see any need to check this but replaced a supposed dead battery. Nov. 15, 2013: On drive back home from work, about 20 miles into my drive, car on cruise control at set at 70 mph stalled again with wrench light. Have no reaction at all with gas accelerator. Pulled over to stop. Car idols rough. Turned and back on again. Nov. 15, 2013:stopped at a stop sign. As I went to press the gas to make the left hand turn, I noticed that my car had died. This was a second instance with my car on November 15th. Nov. 20, 2013: On drive home, approx. 20 miles out, car on cruise control at about 75 mph, while attempting to pass a car, the car stalled. Again no reaction using the gas pedal. Had to hit break to get behind vehicle due to incoming traffic. Very bad situation. Nov. 22, 2013: In am approx 20 miles from home heading to work, not using cruise control going approx. 70 mph, car stalls. Nov. 27: cavender dealership (selma, tx) also was not able to get an error code on the car but found research information on the throttle body on 2012 for Fusion having the same issue as my car. Cavendar does not want to replace the part and it not being the actual problem. We had no incident to or from with this trip. Nov. 28: we were exactly 100 miles into our trip, when the car stalled. The car was on cruise control at 70 mph. Stopped the car, idols high. Note: I drive 120 miles daily to/from work and issue is not resolved.

- Karnes City, TX, USA

problem #25

Nov 112013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Trip home from work, approx 45 miles into my trip, car on cruise control going 72 mph and stalls, the wrench light comes on. I cannot accelerate using the gas pedal. Pull to shoulder, car idles rough. Turn off and back on. Continued trip without problem. Nov. 14. 2013: Car taken to local Ford dealer and they cannot retrieve any error codes. Mention throttle body but they didn't see any need to check this but replaced a supposed dead battery. Nov. 15, 2013: On drive back home from work, about 20 miles into my drive, car on cruise control at set at 70 mph stalled again with wrench light. Have no reaction at all with gas accelerator. Pulled over to stop. Car idols rough. Turned and back on again. Nov. 15, 2013:stopped at a stop sign. As I went to press the gas to make the left hand turn, I noticed that my car had died. This was a second instance with my car on November 15th. Nov. 20, 2013: On drive home, approx. 20 miles out, car on cruise control at about 75 mph, while attempting to pass a car, the car stalled. Again no reaction using the gas pedal. Had to hit break to get behind vehicle due to incoming traffic. Very bad situation. Nov. 22, 2013: In am approx 20 miles from home heading to work, not using cruise control going approx. 70 mph, car stalls. Nov. 27: cavender dealership (selma, tx) also was not able to get an error code on the car but found research information on the throttle body on 2012 for Fusion having the same issue as my car. Cavendar does not want to replace the part and it not being the actual problem. We had no incident to or from with this trip. Nov. 28: we were exactly 100 miles into our trip, when the car stalled. The car was on cruise control at 70 mph. Stopped the car, idols high. Note: I drive 120 miles daily to/from work and issue is not resolved.

- Karnes City, TX, USA

problem #24

Oct 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,200 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while in reverse, the engine rpms increased as the vehicle lurched backward, causing her to crash into another vehicle. The contact was not injured and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,200. Updated 11/21/13

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #23

Oct 012013

Fusion

  • 36,000 miles
Car gas pedal stopped responding on the highway. Had to pull over and turn off and on again to fix it. Turns out it's a defective throttle body, a widespread issue. Had to get it replaced.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #22

Oct 142013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
While driving on interstate 30 in traffic at about 70 to 75 mph the car just stopped accelerating and I had to coast off the roadway and kill the car and restart it. This is a dangerous situation in heavy traffic and has occurred on two different occasions in the past two weeks. I have researched this problem with other Fusion owners from 2010 to 2012 and this seems to be a common problem nationwide. This problem should be on a recall before people get hurt or killed.

- Texarkana, TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 272013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,250 miles
Was driving on interstate in heavy traffic. Car immediately-without warning- lost power to accelerate. Went to a limp driving mode. Warning light (wrench) came on. Was very dangerous situation. Had to maneuver to side of road. Almost was hit from behind. Car shook and stuttered. Turned off ignition and waited a couple minutes. Started car, all warning lights cleared. Was able to make it home without any other in incident. Few days later same malfunction happened again. Car lost acceleration and had to limp to safe place in heavy traffic. Turned off car and restarted. Took car to Ford dealership and was told car is out of warranty and diagnosis was throttle body. A common problem but not a recall. Wow.

- Mount Sterling, KY, USA

problem #20

Sep 092013

Fusion

  • 44,743 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted and the vehicle functioned properly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,743.

- Cordele, GA, USA

problem #19

Aug 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
While driving at approximately 65mph on the interstate vehicle suddenly lost all power. Started stalling, engine stopped running. We were fortunate to be able to pull off on the shoulder out of traffic and turn off the motor. After waiting approximately 15 minutes, we were able to restart the car and continue driving. We drove the car without incident until two weeks later when the same problem happened again. This time at about 35 mph. Again, after waiting 10-15 minutes, the car started again. This is a great inconvenience since we live in an area where a car is a necessity but it is also a serious safety hazard since this problem has happened when accelerating into traffic, on a busy multilane, high speed highway. From reading this site, we have become aware that there are many complaints of this nature for this make and model year and we question why there has been no recall or, at very least, a consumer alert.

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #18

Sep 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,498 miles
Driving at highway speed, engine stalls while attempting to merge. Orange wrench light appears near fuel gauge. Rough idling below 1000 RPM. Turn car off and wait one minute. Restart car and drive without incident.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #17

Jun 032013

Fusion

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled as the wrench warning icon illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 39,000 and the current mileage was 41,200.

- Wingate, NC, USA

problem #16

Sep 052013

Fusion

  • 35,592 miles
The car would not accelerate after stopping at a stop sign. I coasted into the intersection and stopped. The car would not accelerate so I was stuck in the middle of the intersection. Traffic was light so I was not in danger, but this is the second time this has happened and it is concerning that Ford is aware of the problem and has not made an effort to repair. I was informed that the throttle body was faulty. I am concerned that Ford has many vehicles that have this defect and are not making an effort to correct the problem.

- Degraff, OH, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?