Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
39 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 2
Average Mileage:
81,757 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #97

Jan 162009

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling home in the far North bound lane going 40 mph and was hit head on by a Dodge durango traveling South bound in the far right lane. (2 lanes each way with a center.) I was driving and the airbag exploded as the durango cut off another car and hit head onto me. The airbag explosion produced a burning smell which I thought the car was on fire but it was the airbag explosion. My face was very red and swollen and just felt on fire from the explosion which covered my face. I had a scratch in my left eye and needed a rinse and a small laceration above my eye. My right hand was swollen immediately and was throbbing from the grip of the wheel and the airbag explosion. My right pinky was totally numb for quite a while with radiating pain up the right arm. The right had still has issues with grasping things and dropping them. I had and still have headaches from the jolt and neck injury especially in the frontal area. I noticed my speech became slurred and thoughts took longer to process when speaking to people. On the job this created difficulty.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #96

Jun 032013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Air bag light turns on and off.

- Wyoming, MI, USA

problem #95

Oct 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
SRS light is on, which is for airbag. I searched the recall in Honda owner's website and found there is one (letter dated Sept 2014) which is for driver airbag for humidity area (which include California). So I called dealer on 10/8/14 and I was told part will be ordered and available in a week. I called after a week and I was told that it is back ordered so it cannot be order part until two weeks later. Dealer promise again to order it after two weeks, and I will call them after Nov 6 if I don't hear from them.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #94

Sep 132011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

SRS and air bag sensor lights appeared intermittently at first, now stays on constantly, this seems to be an issue with Honda for many years and ignored, my car has more miles and age and the Honda customer service assistance decline to cover with a warranty or safety recall. The Honda dealer wants megabucks to diagnose and replace sensors. I have been told that the air bags may not now deploy correctly or at all and this is a serious safety concern and liability for my wife and/or children/passengers from this defect in the event of an collision. I would like Honda to fix and make their product safe for their customers. Thank you

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #93

Sep 122014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #92

Jul 312014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 71,663 miles
I slowed down at a traffic light and my car was rear ended by another car who failed to apply the brakes and/or may have hit the gas pedal instead of the brakes. The car has been deemed a total loss as the car chassis seems to be crumpled. What I find very surprising is that neither the seat belts tighten nor the air bags were deployed despite being hit so hard. I was wondering what may have been the reason and what needs to be done so that it doesn't happen with anyone else.

- Wynnewood, PA, USA

problem #91

Jun 162014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 108,201 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was headed West in the left lane of a four lane highway. A big SUV headed in the opposite direction was turning to the left. He didn't have time to go and stopped right in my lane. My car hit hers on the passenger side. When we crashed, both of my air bags exploded. I thought my car was on fire because smoke was coming from the bags. My right arm and hand swelled up so big and is still painful. I think there must be medal embedded in my arm. Blood was gushing from my arm and right knee. The inch gash in my right knee was on top of my total knee replacement. This had to be stitched up. I had contusions on my chest, arm and left knee. My ribs and sternum were bruised badly. My right ankle was fractured. My car was totaled. I was taken by ambulance to emergency and stayed until June 26, 2014. I was ordered to put no weight on my right leg and was transported by ambulance to a medical rehabilitation center. Before my release from there, I developed pneumonia and could not leave until July 14, 2014. I still have to have surgery on my left knee for torn meniscus. That surgery is scheduled for September 9, 2014. My back was fractured also; however, I have not scheduled that surgery as of yet.......updated 09-03-14 updated 11/26/2014

- Tucker, GA, USA

problem #90

Dec 292012

Accord

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact crashed the vehicle into a parked vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a skull fracture and was hospitalized. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Mt Vernon, NY, USA

problem #89

Jun 072014

Accord

  • 136,000 miles
I received a recall for my 2002 Honda Accord in May. I scheduled an appt to take it to Honda in my local town. They said it was fixed and ready to go, not even a month later my SRS came back on. I took it to my local dealer who ran tests on it and there response was "did Honda even fix the recall issued"" and I said "yes they should have." Anyway it seems the issue is happening again. He said to alert my company Honda and file a complaint. I was also told that this is a very important recall because it can cause death. What to do? how to solve this"

- Port Charlotte , FL, USA

problem #88

Jun 032014

Accord

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated the air bag warning indicator was illuminated. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign id number 11V260000 (air bag) however, the VIN was not included on the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000. Updated 08/19/14

- Davis, CA, USA

problem #87

Jun 112012

Accord

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated intermittently. The failure has recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000.

- David, CA, USA

problem #86

Mar 132014

Accord

  • 65,000 miles
SRS light came on. At first it comes & go, comes on at turnings. Now it is permanent.

- Crown Point , IN, USA

problem #85

Sep 062012

Accord

  • 66,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a Honda Accord. The contact stated that he received recall NHTSA campaign number: 11V260000 (air bags ). the contact stated that he had the vehicle repaired under the recall but stated in the recall began to actually happen to the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they stated that they could not repair the vehicle a second time. The failure mileage was. 66,000.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #84

Aug 242012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 167,000 miles
I jus got into the vehicle in a parking lot along hugh howell rd reverse from out of my parking space as soon as I put the vehicle in drive I heard a loud revved coming from the engine the car then sped off I tried to stopped it but they brakes would not stop it. About 30-40ft it crashes into a guard rail. Both airbag deploy. Damage front bumper, front passenger door and left front axle.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #83

May 012013

Accord

  • 150,200 miles
SRS warning light came on while parked. Took vehicle to dealership, where diagnostic service showed the driver's side seat belt detection mechanism was failing to function properly. This safety system is connected to the airbags, but is not covered under warranty (per american Honda and local dealer). This malfunction is a known problem, but Honda will not repair/replace without charging customer, thereby putting lives and safety at risk in the name of profit.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #82

Nov 072002

Accord

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the side curtain air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. There were two recalls associated with the air bags under NHTSA campaign id numbers: 11V260000 and 10V041000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer threes times and they were unable to duplicate the problem. The technician was unable to repair the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #81

Sep 172006

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
My uncle was traveling on a state highway when his 02 Honda hydroplaned on a rainy afternoon and hit head on with another vehicle. My three month old daughter sustained severe head trauma and died at the hospital a little later. Eleven days later my uncle died from severe bleeding and brain damage. Honda said nothing was wrong with this car. My daughter who was 2 at the time was a passenger along with two other cousins, they all came out fine. Now 6 years later we received a recall notice about the airbags and I'm concerned that this vehicle was not safe enough and could have been the main result in my daughters death.

- Mt Pleasant , TX, USA

problem #80

Jan 162013

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a technician stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 11V260000 (air bags) and needed a diagnosis performed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 160,000.

- Wyoming, MN, USA

problem #79

Aug 162012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
1.request for an immediately recall for Honda Accord LX 2002 models as having dangerous transmission problems, widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS ), and overall the car's safety or quality numerous concerns. Orderly problems occurred as it bulleted down: "got it with slipping and jerking gear. Within two days returned, but I was advised that there are no urgent problems and that only my imagination. ?key time from time do not starts or hard to remove. ?problem with a back window to close when opened it. The dealer closed it and recommended not to open it anymore. ?wheel bearings going out and car drags that cause to replace a few times tires and the brakes pads. Premature tire wear. ?ball joint it was thought in the beginning, but then a transmission or both. As of per carscomplaint.com January/2013 report it talks about subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel. ?change sensors but still ?check engine light remains? ? it shows P1166 and P1167 an air /fuel ratio sensor ? are generally wide band O2 sensor that could be anything. Smells. ?it could be this problem with sensor & check engine light as according to the Japanese automaker ?Honda said the sensor wire could break and cause the air bag warning light to be illuminated and prevent the sensor from working properly. When the sensor fails, the air bag system automatically moves to full inflation pressure, which could increase the risk of injury for smaller drivers in a frontal crash?. "finally transmission gone and my car now taking a long rest in someone's parking lot. I believe it is also a gear breakage! my core survival existence is in a great danger due to it, I have encounter numerous damages/injuries.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #78

Nov 132010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Your urgent response and an action needed 1.request for an immediately recall for Honda Accord LX 2002 models as having dangerous transmission problems, widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS ), and overall the cars safety or quality numerous concerns. 2.to fix the problems and refund caused damages and personal injuries due to it, refund paid purchase cost including damages, replace to a new car with included paid and damages occurred to whom it may concern, 2002 Honda Accord problems & complaints carcomplaints.com notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague. The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000S model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109K miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck. Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000. The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?