If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.

7.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,515.00
Average Mileage:
93,614 miles
Total Complaints:
336 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. recall should be issued, replaced @ Honda's expense (180 reports)
  2. replace transmission (47 reports)
  3. not sure (42 reports)
  4. replaced transmission (31 reports)
  5. replaced transmission, split cost with Honda (14 reports)
  6. Honda refused to repair under warranty, had to pay (9 reports)
2002 Honda Accord transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 17)

problem #336

Aug 182014

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this Honda off a friend of mine. Never had issues till now. Had shop read code and came up wit p0780. Cost me 4k to fix and that was my savings I had built up. I think these Honda people should of paid for it since its a everlasting problem.

- , West Covina, CA, USA

problem #335

Aug 012014

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles

First indication of a problem was that the Check engine light came on.

Next (minutes later) there was noticeable jerking motion while decelerating.

Computer reports an issue with the transmission.

Was able to drive it 80+ miles back to a Honda service center for repair.

Diagnosis was that the car needs a whole new transmission.

Mileage on the car is 107000 miles... far too early for a Honda to have a major malfunction.

- , Portland, OR, USA

problem #334

Oct 062010

Accord EX Coupe 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,450 miles

I have driven older Honda's for at least 10 years. So, when I came across this car I had to have it! (mistake) I bought this car,being the second owner. A few months after buying this car, the Transmission(automatic) started slipping, as time went on it had gotten worse. It started out slipping from a stop, then started slipping going into 2nd gear. It couldn't be driven anymore. So I brought it to the local dealership, for an estimate of almost $5000. They said no recall, no warranty.

About a year later the SRS light came on airbags? Just to track down this problem it could cost a few hundred dollars. One more thing some of the Black 2001 and 2002, Honda used cheap paint and clear coat. Therefore they fade quickly. Even way up in the North.

I see there are lots of these complaints, strange how they are the exact same ones huh?

COME ON HONDA BACK YOUR REPUTATION OF MAKING RELIABLE CARS Thanks, Pete

- , Duluth, Minnesota, USA

problem #333

Mar 172014

Accord LXI

  • Automatic transmission
  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had the transmission in our 2002 Honda Accord replaced in 2009 when the car had 97,696 miles on it. Went to Honda to have it replaced. Now 4 years later (less than 33,000 miles later) the transmission needs to be replaced again. And Honda will not provide any assistance to replace what I believe was a bad transmission back in 2009 (let alone the original bad transmission). When I call their customer service line they said there is nothing they could do and said the car is 12 years old now -- insinuating that the car is not worth them investing money in or providing financial assistance to me for the repair. I think it is very interesting that they said they gave me a one time goodwill gesture when they sold me the first transmission -- I wonder if by goodwill gesture that is code for we are going to give you a used piece of crap that will last just a little longer than the warranty so that we don't have to cover any further repairs.

I also think it's terrible that Honda would bash the tenure of the car especially given the miles (now 131K) when Honda's are supposed to be such good cars. Seems like they say whatever they need to in order to help their argument. I will not be buying any more Honda's. And I thought I was doing the right thing using Honda parts and going exclusively to the dealership for repairs. I guess I was a fool for doing that.

Seems like there has been a history of Honda and poor transmissions. Seems like they still don't have it under control. Very dangerous and very unprofessional. I gave my son the car in 2011 so that he would have a safe reliable car to drive to and from school and then college. But this is not good. As a corporation they are not acting responsibly, otherwise they would have acknowledged the problem and poor history and would have done the right thing to replace the transmission without charging me yet another $2K+

- , Levittown, PA, USA

problem #332

Mar 152014

Accord ES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

Let me start off by saying, I purchased this vehicle in 2002 off the showroom floor, and in 12years it only has 84,000 miles on it. Oil changes every 3000 miles I have all paperwork I purchased a honda because I thought these vehicles we're suppose to be excellent cars,boy was I wrong. A transmission going with only 84,000 miles on it speaks for itself. I feel as if I've been robbed all I could do was cry I can't afford a car with a payment I don't have 2,500 to put into a vehicle right now. I feel honda needs to step up to the plate with this. I am not well off to purchase this vehicle took a lot for me but I went in thinking I wouldn't have to buy another vehicle because of the way I drive as u can tell by the mileage we are talking a vehicle that averaged 7,000 miles a year. I'm getting emotional again.

- , Richmond, VA, USA

problem #331

Sep 142013

Accord EX 4 cyllinder

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,995 miles

We have owned seven Hondas over the past 30 years and have religiously had our vehicles serviced at Honda of El Cerrito. We have confidently recommended the Honda brand because of their vehicle's reliability, but no longer is the case.

We currently own a 2000 and 2002 Honda Accord. On 9/21/13 we took our 2002 Accord EX 4 cylinder into the Honda of El Cerrito dealership because we noticed the transmission slipping a week prior. After leaving the car with the dealership, they later called and said, we could not find any problem with the transmission, but recommended a tuneup ($700), which should fix the problem. We trusted the dealerships advice and agreed to the repairs. Unfortunately, the tune-up did nothing but put a hole in our pocket as the transmission continued to slip. And now a check engine light was on.

We returned the car once more to the dealership with the check engine light on. This time they ran a diagnostics test and determined there was a problem with the transmission. No sh*t!!! We asked why they didn't run a diagnostics when we first brought the car in and gave them an accurate description of the problem. The manager replied, we don't run the diagnostics test unless there is an error light showing. He offered no solutions and basically told us we were out of luck.

It's apathetic business practices like this that cause owners to change car manufacturers. Needless to say, we will never... I repeated NEVER purchase another Honda as long as We live. Had Honda taken responsibility for their workmanship... I wouldn't have felt compelled to post this comment.

We have now turned our attention towards Toyota and have steered our family and friends away from any future Honda purchases.

Update from Oct 14, 2013: I called Honda headquarters to see if they could assist in any way. Surprisingly, they didn't care any more than El Cerrito Honda. They said there was nothing they can do. At a minimum, I would have at least expected that they might offer to call El Cerrito Honda on our behalf, but no....they simply didn't care. Loyalty isn't a value to them any longer. They apparently only care about selling a car, and after that you're on your own.

I posted the issue on Yelp and received a response by Larry of El Cerrito Honda saying they cared and someone would call, but apparently that was just words, since it's been over a week and no one has called. It's easy to say you care, but if no action is taken, then you pretty much don't.

For those who plan to buy a new car, consider that loyalty no longer matters and it's just an issue of you getting bad service and no one will apparently care. The manufacturer doesn't care after they get their money. The dealer doesn't care after they get your money.

Honda of El Cerrito used to have good salesman and honest service, but that has obviously changed. Read the postings on Yelp and you'll see. They warrant the drive train for 100,000 miles or so many years, counting that years will pass first. Look at their records for transmissions. It's really bad and you don't find out until several years pass, but by then your car is worth zero dollars, even when the rest of the car should have another 150,000 miles left on it.

El Cerrito Honda wanted another %5,600+ dollars to fix the transmission, with no credit for their poor service guessing of $655.00 . When checking with other Honda dealerships, they only wanted $4,200 for the transmission plus alignment, which couldn't possibly take more that 4 hours of work, so that would be about a $4,600 job. Someone is getting rich and it isn't us.

- , Pinole, CA, USA

problem #330

Jan 012009

Accord LE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

jerks every time you go forward after idling

I'll have to get the VIN number when my car gets out of the shop.

Midlands Honda (Killian Road, Columbia SC near Blythewood) caused this problem, I believe. I had mistakenly thought that taking my Honda to a certified Honda Dealer, etc, for certain repairs would be a good thing. Instead they created a whole new issue. I really have to check the dates of the "repair" I don't have the paperwork with me. It's in the car.

Midlands Honda denied it even when I took it back. All they ever did was want to fix something else they "discovered." AND they mixed my auto records completely with someone else's. I don't know if they will even claim they worked on my 20002 Honda Accord now. Poor service, worse management there.

I'll probably try out Honda of Columbia (Columbia, SC) next. Right now, I'm having the brakes and bearings assessed.

They asked me about the transmission jerking and I told them: "compliments of Midlands Honda."

- , Columbia, SC, USA

problem #329

Sep 092013

Accord EX 2.3L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 131,000 miles

I bought this Honda because it is very clean and well maintained. My Nissan Sentra has 190,000 trouble free miles with just normal maintenance. Honda is supposed to be a superior vehicle. What a shame to be having such a serious and expensive issue and to find out that Honda is aware of it and is not recalling these. I have spoken to others who own the same vehicle and they have had the same issue. This is too common. Come on Honda! Honda should at the very least offer the parts at cost. At the very least. I was hoping to put high miles on this car but now I fear that the new transmission will fail prematurely.

- , Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #328

Jan 012006

Accord VP 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,456 miles

This is the second one replaced. I have close to 200,000 miles on the car now. Fixing to give to my youngest son when he turns 16 in August. Other than the transmission this has been a great car. A/C still works, engine uses a little oil, but it gets you from A to B now with problems.

- , Chelsea, AL, USA

problem #327

Sep 012009

Accord SE 2.3L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I told honda that my transmission was bad within the factory warranty! It always shifted bad. Check engine light came on around 90k miles. I knew it would happen which is why I got an extended warranty. Cost me $2000!

- , Cypress, TX, USA

problem #326

Mar 192010

Accord DX SE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When taking off from a stop, shifting from 1st to 2nd the transmission slips then jerks. when attempting to accelerate to pass or change lanes the trans does not down shift smoothly at all. slips and jerks. I have spoken with 2 Honda dealerships' service depts in the Austin, Tx area, they acknowledge that the problem exists and still have refused to replace the trans at Honda's expense. My car has over 189K miles, I know the engine is good for over 300K but with the transmission having a manufacturer malfunction it won't last that long. I love my Honda. It has taken me over most of this country. It is my rolling sanctuary!

- , Austin, TX, USA

problem #325

Jun 302007

Accord EX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

the car transmission sucks!!! thats all i can says very desapointed wiht honda. this is my first and last!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- , Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #324

Feb 022013

Accord EX 2.3L L4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,061 miles

Transmission Problem. need to help for Recall i can't spend 2500$ for this problem. As i know from Honda service center its common problem for 2002 Honda accord cars. Please help me.

Thanks

Narendra

- , Middletown, New Jersey, USA

problem #323

Jun 302013

Accord V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

first noticed issues at least a year ago, but keep checking the transmission fluid levels. Hesitated going into gear OR would just not engage into 1st or 2nd while engine revved. I drive only a few miles a day in my small town, so I only have 73K on my 2002 Accord. I didn't worry too much about it other than having it checked by my dealer repair a couple times (they gave me the P0780 code but could never duplicate the error in their shop); I specifically asked if it was roadworthy b/c I was taking a long trip to Odessa, and they said it was safe. I drove it 9 hrs into west texas (middle of nowhere) and we limped into town that evening, jerking & wondering if we were going to make it to my destination. We were VERY frightened. I took it to the Honda dealer in Odessa and paid for a complete diagnostic of the transmission the very next morning.. however, all that dealer told me was "yes, you need a new transmission" and "no, this is NOT typical for a vehicle with only 73K miles". 2 days later was so afraid to drive home, but hit the road, with the same problem after a few hours on the road (transmission had difficultly shifting into 1st, 2nd, & 3rd gear). Most of the trip went alright because we could cruise over long stretches at 75 mph, but after so long on the road without being able to stop, by the time we returned to Houston the car could only shift into 2nd gear for the final mile or two of the trip, so we barely made it to my house.. went back to the Kingwood dealer I purchased this BRAND NEW car from (they also did 99% of the maint) and was told my VIN doesn't warrant any help whatsoever, they gave me a referral to a transmission repair shop. I'm just floored that my car is obviously defective, but I don't get any help with the repairs. I owned a Civic for 10 years that was a great car at 115K miles, but I could tell Honda cars are not what they used to be.. I'm not sure what to do, it drives ok for the moment in town, but I'm afraid not to repair since I don't want to end up dead.. can't drive out of town, won't drive it into the city of Houston; meanwhile, $3-$4 thousand dollars is a lot of money for a repair that I don't think I should be making on a car with relatively low mileage of now 74K. I bought this car because I'd known Honda to be quality and the dealer convinced me and my husband that these are the most reliable vehicles, but what a joke that is now! I probably will not ever buy Honda again after this!

- , Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #322

Sep 172011

Accord 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,488 miles

I heard this problem with the Accord transmission, was never fix and Honda knows about this common problem. Also a mechanic on youtube worked on these cars, said, " Honda spent the money on the robot and not on R&D". Which I totally agreed. WHY not fix the crap and make the customer happen. The new Honda are crap in my opinion comparing to the 80's. Say what you want about HONDA, its crap..even a HYUNDIA and Kia are getting better and better for the $$$, which I think are better vehicle, as where I work, I drive and do maintanence on a daily basis.

I am looking into a VW also had driven a few at work.. lol

Update from Aug 17, 2014: Engine light came on, would not upshift to 4th gear, running high rpm in 3rd gear. Checked all the solenoid and found Linear A was not clicking and lock up / shift solenoid with weak click. Cleared engine code and checked fluid. Drove over 1000 kms was ok with slow acceration / try to still under 3000rpm therefore vtec would not engage and no slip and jerk. If try accerate with fast rising rmp, would slip 2500 to 3000 rpm in a heart beat with a jerk. After changing the Linear A/B solenoid no slip or jerk with fast rising rpm to 3000/4000 rpm then gear upshift smoothly for now. But however when downshift from 3rd to 2nd gear there is a lag and a slight jerk and also from 2nd to 1st gear too. Not sure what is it, a downshift solenoid or worn out clutch plates ???

Update from Aug 19, 2014: Driving with engine light on for about week, the transmission is slipping from 3rd to 4th and its stuck in 3rd, would not shift to 4th. So running about 3000 - 4000 rpm on highways. After a few kms, parked vehicle for over an hour, restart vehicle- shifting from 3rd to 4th is back to normal. I have put in alot of work to maintenance the vehicle- timing belt and water pump, adjusted camshaft valves, new valve cover gaskets, upper control suspension components w/polyurethane bushings, lower ball joints, sway bar links and wheel bearings etc. Just 1 thing I don't want to touch is the damn piece of sh*t TRANSMISSION which can't live up to the honda reputation! NO buying HONDA or ACura for me period! EXtremely disappointed.

- , Calgary, Alberta, canada

problem #321

Jan 012007

Accord Limited 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles

I think honda needs to recall 2002 accord transmission,I've been having trouble since i had the

car.

I'll never buy any kind of honda again......

- , Bayou Vista, LA, USA

problem #320

Aug 242012

Accord 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,313 miles

I am fan of Honda Accord. My first car in Canada was Honda Accord 1993. I was very happy. I upgraded the model and now I am feeling cheated. I always refer Honda Accord to my known. Now I have to think before referring. I think there should be recall according the reputation of Honda in the market. Nothing more to say.

Just frustrated with Accord 2002.

- , Windsor, Ontario, canada

problem #319

Jan 012013

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles

I am the original owner of this car. Though the mileage is high at 180K miles, I am a sales rep and have many road miles on the car. As the original owner, I have every service record and have always maintained the vehicle, changed the oil, etc as recommended. The transmission fluid has been flushed twice. My college age daughter drives the car now, and it started hesitating shifting from 1st to 2nd, then slipped into neutral (very dangerous) while she was driving the car. It is out obviously out of warranty. Looking at a $4,000 repair, which is the value of the car. As I have been a loyal honda owner for many years, I am now questioning my logic. I also owned a 98 Accord several years ago, and the transmission failed in that car at 40K miles. Honda did replace it at no charge to me. In addition to the 2002 Accord, I now drive a 2007 Accord, which is causing me to second guess whether or not I should keep it. I am very disheartened to read all these posts from so many people with the exact same problem. Since this is now my 2nd Accord to experience Transmission problems, I find it impossible to believe that Honda does not step up and do the right thing on this very obvious flaw in their transmissions. Never thought I'd say the words, but my next car won't be a Honda. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, I gotta figure I'm the fool and move on.

- , Madison, WI, USA

problem #318

Feb 012012

Accord SE 2.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,000 miles

I've owned Honda(s) in the past and never had any issues.

However, my 2002 Honda SE 4-dr sedan which I bought brand new from the Honda dealership is now turning into an expensive proposition.

I never had any problems with this car. It all started when my car went over 100K. Transmission started jerking and slipping. Within a month or two I was having hard time driving it. Took it to the Honda Dealership to which they told me that I don't have any warranty and It will cost me around 4K to fix it.

I didn't want to invest that kind of money and took it to Aamco shop. They were able to fix it around $2100. This was back in early Feb-March of this year. Now it is happening again. I'll take it back to Aamco. Aamco do have a warranty on their repairs for a year. Hope fully I can get it fix. I will keep you all posted.

As for Honda dealership, I'm really disappointed with them. I hope and wish they can get this issue on their recall list. If not, I'm never buying a Honda again. This is highly unprofessional to own up your product and services.

- , Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #317

Sep 152012

Accord EX 2.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

Yet another story of a 2002 Accord having transmission problems. Its a 2002 with 104K miles. Took it to the dealer. Total estimate ~$4600. Honda is willing to pay ~$1500.00 and rest on me.

Transmission jerks when going from 1st to 2nd gear.

I've been the lone owner since Dec 2001.

Asking the same question almost everyone is. "Whys isn't there a recall for this generation of Accords"?

- , Austin, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?