Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 1
Average Mileage:
41,973 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Jul 152011

Accord

  • 138,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. While driving at 65 mph, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle after falling asleep. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the chest, which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000.

- Baton Rouge , LA, USA

problem #47

Sep 162014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #46

Sep 082014

Accord

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact experienced a failure, but the specifics were not available. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Stewart, FL, USA

problem #45

Jul 072012

Accord

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 7th, 2012, I was driving South on route 113 near milford, de with my wife and going the speed limit when the side airbags in our Accord suddenly deployed for no discernible reason. We did not hit anything, the conditions were clear as was the road. There were no other vehicles in close proximity to us. It was a frightening experience that very well could have resulted in an accident, and my wife sustained abrasions to her arm. We contacted Honda about the issue and they had us bring our vehicle to a local body shop for an inspection (we lived in hoboken, NJ at the time), after which they informed us that a sensor underneath the vehicle showed signs of distress/being struck, which triggered the deployment of the airbags. We were skeptical that something we could not/did not feel would have caused this, but after much back and forth with Honda, it was clear that the only option we had to get our vehicle functioning again was to file an insurance claim, which we did, resulting in out-of-pocket costs to us in the form of our deductible and other related expenses. Given the number of instances of faulty airbag deployments, with Honda being one of the usual suspects, we wanted to file a complaint to formally log yet another instance.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #44

Feb 022015

Accord

  • 108,628 miles
The side airbag light has been coming on and staying on. There has been no explanation or reason and no collision.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #43

Jan 282015

Accord

  • miles
I received a letter from Honda automobile division on September 2014 regarding the Honda Accord recall for the driver front airbag inflator. (NHTSA recall 14V-351) because of this I contacted the Honda dealer bella international in san juan pr on October 22, 2014. I was told that the part will arrive within a month and a half and that I would be receiving a call to make the appointment for the repair. That never happened. I called three months and a week later on January 28, 2015 and they told me that the they were unsure if the part was available under their inventory at the ponce dealer. I was told that it was Honda automobile division fault and that I need to wait again for an unknown period of time. I ask if I could call the ponce dealer and they gave me the name of a person that apparently handles their part inventory. That was it. In addition they did not offer any appointment at other dealer or to change the part to fix the problem. Again I was told that I would be contacted later to make the appointment nothing more. Because of this I decided to make a complaint because I do not want to suffer any injuries while I wait because of their lack of responsibility and incompetence by their part.

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #42

May 072012

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. While driving at an unknown speed, the air bag warning light illuminated and did not dim until the vehicle was turned off. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Williston Park, NY, USA

problem #41

Dec 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Honda Accord appointment for the replacement of the defective airbags. The consumer was informed the parts were not available. Recall # 14V351000.

- Charlotte Amalie, VI, USA

problem #40

Dec 122014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
You have stated that 2007 Honda Accord are being recalled B/C of driver side air bags made by takata. However, my dealer says not my vehicle. My VIN is [xxx]....... is this vehicle included in your recall or not? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #39

Dec 252009

Accord 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Vehicle slide over to hit with another vehicle and air bags launched. My wife/passenger has very bad injuries and hospitalized. Both legs broken and still she has panic attacks and occasionally experiences ankle pains from the injuries caused from the incident.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #38

Nov 032014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Submission from senator warner on behalf of constituent re defective takata airbag (attn: Shane clem) the consumer believed her vehicle should be included in the air bag recall. 2007 Honda Accord.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #37

Nov 122014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 41,903 miles
On November 3 or 4, I learned, based on VIN from the NHTSA database, that my car's airbag is the subject of an August 29, 2014, recall. / complaint - I had not (and as yet still have not) received a notice of the recall. (note: My address and car's registration address have not changed since I bought the car new.) / on November 4. I called american Honda. Someone said I needed to call a local dealer. The person said they would inform people in their organization that I had not received a notice. / same day, I called anderson Honda (palo alto, ca), the dealer from whom I bought the car. I got an appointment for November 12 (which I was told was the first available day) for the work. I was told that people had verified availability of needed parts and that the work might take a half a day. / approximately November 10, american Honda called. I again stated that the recall process should have notified me regarding the airbag problem. / on November 12, I took the car to anderson. A representative told me that, based on the VIN, anderson needed to order a part and that I could reschedule the work for a day possibly as early as the 14th. I did not have my calendar with me. I asked about the possibility the part would not be available. The person said that the part would be tied to the VIN and could not be used for another car. / complaint - anderson failed to make good on its statement that the work would occur on the 12th. / later on the 12th, I called anderson. A person said that the first available appointment was on November 24 and that the work might take 2 hours. I accepted that appointment. Also, I was told to call in on the Friday or Saturday before the appointment to check regarding availability of needed parts. / complaint - anderson should call me well before the 24th to confirm parts availability and the appointment.

- Portola Valley, CA, USA

problem #36

Nov 122014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). However, the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #35

Apr 132013

Accord

  • 79,000 miles
I have filed complaints twice before. Out of 251 complaints(reported by consumers who know there is such a complaint mechanism), 42 are related to airbag issues. Of the 42 there have been 19 injuries reported for the 2007 Honda Accord alone, not having researched other models. From 2006 100% of vehicle air bags have been equipped with the required advanced frontal air bag which sensors the weight, height of front passengers along with how much force and when air bags should deploy. Why then has my family member and I suffered life altering injuries in a minor left side (not frontal) scrape accident" repair to vehicle was only $800. Is anyone reading these complaints???? if people are lucky enough to not have shrapnel thrown at them, they are experiencing complete failure of air bags to deploy or air bags deploying from "possibly hitting a rock in the road" while driving at 45 to 65 mph on a major highway or having air bags spew chemicals and deploying at forces that do not dictate the situation. In any of the situations people are getting seriously injured. How many complaints and injuries does it take to have authorities realize there is a much bigger problem going on"

- Washington, NJ, USA

problem #34

Jul 302014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
My car airbags are recalled and it has been over 90 days and I have not received a new air bag from the dealer.

- Chatham, NJ, USA

problem #33

Oct 232014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
How can Honda not recall all takata airbags" how does it make sense to limit the recall to cars driven in regions of the country with extended hot and humid conditions" other regions of the country have seasons with extended hot and humid conditions that put the occupants at serious risk with these airbags.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #32

Oct 222014

Accord

  • miles
I called O'donnell Honda to see if my car is affected in the recent recall due to airbag issues and was told NHTSA released the information before it should have been released and not to take it seriously. I believe where safety is concerned it should always be taken serious. Please investigate. I am concerned that they have summarily dismissed other callers. They were not helpful to me. They could not tell me if my car was affected and said to just wait and see if I get a letter from Honda. I have tried to research to see if my car is being recalled and can't because I don't know if I have a 4 cylinder or 6 and the dealer couldn't tell me!!!!!!

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #31

Sep 012014

Accord

  • miles
To whom it may concern- I got a letter in the mail for a recall for my 2007 Honda Accord regarding my driver's side air bag. I tried to make an appointment and they said they can fit me in until November 15th. This is Honda's fault, so why can't they fit me in sooner. What happens if I get a car accident and my air bag doesn't work accordingly" is there something that you can do for me" my Honda dealership is in lake worth, Florida. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #30

Sep 172014

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to dealership repair order air bag disclaimer. Also, the vehicle had a transmission leak. The dealer replaced the left and right inner axle seals...updated 10/16/14 the consumer was concerned about the air bag recall and disclaimer. Updated 12/02/14 the consumer stated the dashboard became sticky and caused the drive to have some difficulty being able to see while driving. Updated 8/17/2015

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #29

Sep 052014

Accord

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 60 mph, the driver side curtain air bag and driver seat air bag deployed independently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000.

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?