Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

Oct 062014


  • miles


Recently I noticed that my engine is consuming more and more oil. I routinely get my oil changed every 3,000-5,000 miles as suggested in the manual. This last time, I was at the 2,000 mile mark when my oil light flashed; I say flashed, because the light did not stay on, rather it would go on only when I turn a corner. Clearly there is an issue as a class action lawsuit has been initiated by people who had to repair this defect themselves. First, consumers should not be responsible for spending hundreds of dollars a year to maintain oil in their car due to Honda's error. Second, this issue can cause the engine to freeze/lock-up while operating which is a major concern while driving. I do not drive excessively either, I have a 10 minute commute to work. My car should not be burning oil this quickly. This is the second Honda I have owned, my first was a 2004 and I never had issues with the oil. In fact, I would not receive a low oil notification until I was at 10,000 miles. Hondas have the reputation to last a lifetime; however, if this continues, I will be forced to purchase a new car that I cannot afford due to their error and refusal to acknowledge that this is a problem.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #57

Dec 232014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 98,300 miles
On 12/22/2014, my 2008 Honda Accord LX (which has 98,300 miles on it) was towed into my local Honda dealer. The reason for my having it towed into my local dealer was due to the fact that my engine failed while driving on a residential street drive two miles from my home. There was absolutely no indication whatsoever that my engine would fail as the check engine light did not go on, there was no oil light illuminated, etc. Thus I was shocked when I was driving and tried to give the car some gas and the car did not accelerate ¿¿ thus I rolled to the side of the road and contacted a towing company. The service representative contacted me via phone and let me know that there was no compression in cylinder 2 and that I likely needed a new engine. The initial estimate would be $6,000 for a car with a blue book value of $6,500 (dealer trade in.) I have all service records and faithfully serviced my vehicle at the Honda dealership. The service rep also explained that I was low on oil and I reviewed my receipts to determine that I changed my oil 2600 miles earlier. I am hoping that Honda will provide goodwill to repair the vehicle as a 6 year old vehicle with 98000 miles on it should not need a new engine. Updated 3/10/16

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #56

Dec 042014


  • 37,140 miles
I am complaining about the excess engine oil consumption in my 2008 Honda Accord. I was told I have to pay $3,200 to have this problem repaired. Honda Corp. Said I would have to come up with $1,600 within 30 days to have the problem corrected. This is a problem Honda has been aware of (according to the dealership). I recently found out about this problem. I feel I am now stuck with this vehicle and the problem. Honda will not repair this problem saying they only recently became aware of the problem. Now I have to constantly monitor my oil level because Honda refuses to acknowledge there is a problem with all 2008 Accord.

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #55

Nov 202014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 87,220 miles


I was driving home from work and just pulled through an intersection when while I was accelerating I heard a loud rattling noise. I didn't think anything of it until I heard it again. When I got home I decided to check my oil level and found that there was practically no oil on the dip stick!! I put 2qts of oil in the car and the next morning took the car in to Honda service. The rep informed me that it was normal for a 2008 Honda 4cyl to require a qt of oil every 1 thousand miles. Really? this is not a 1975 car!! he said that this was within Honda specs. Maybe Honda make up a story and stick with it specs but that is not normal for a newer car!! I know that there was a fix for 6cyl models but Honda needs to address this issue for 4cyl models as well. My engine could have seized on me costing thousands to repair. I was told by the rep that I can have the dealership do an oil consumption test. I must bring the car back in 1000 miles. This is nonsense. Go to car and see that vehicle owners have been experiencing this issue for years. If nothing is done to correct this issue this will be the first and last Honda I buy.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #54

Nov 032014


  • 70,000 miles
Engine vtc actuator failure on third 3rd replacement. High oil consumption 1+ quart / 1,000 miles.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #53

Dec 202012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 65,513 miles
Around December 20th, 2012 I started to notice a decline in mileage with my oil changes. It has only gotten worse from there. The car burns up so much oil at this point so quickly, I would say that at about every 1000 to 2000 miles I am putting 4qts more of oil into my engine because it has all burned up. I have also notice that my oil light never comes on during this time. The only way I know that I have no oil in my car is by checking it myself and/or when I start to hear the cylinders grind. I took my car into Honda and asked them why my oil was getting burned up so quickly and they fed me a line of nonsense and told me it was because we sit in traffic so much. They basically were trying to get rid of me and tell me it was normal. After that experience I went to a jiffy lube a month later to get my oil checked again and when I brought it in they said that there was nothing in my engine that I had no oil in my car whatsoever. Honda refuses to acknowledge that there is a problem with my car. Even with the excessive oil use. Another problem I had is with the vtc actuator and I am starting to wonder if the two are intertwined.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #52

May 012014


  • 80,000 miles


The engine makes a loud knocking noise as soon as the car is started and doesn't stop. I took it to the shop and once they got inside the engine they said half of the engine wasn't getting oil. I now have to get a new engine.

- Irving , TX, USA

problem #51

Jun 302014


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The contact also stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear end of the vehicle. In addition, when the accelerator pedal was depressed the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was restarted however the failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 11V395000 (power train) was not valid. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Diberville, MS, USA

problem #50

May 152014

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to repairs on vehicle and seeks reimbursement since vehicle still under warranty. According to the invoice, the fuel and check engine light illuminated. The technician found a misfire in cylinder #5. the cylinder 5 spark plug was inspected and there was evidence of oil burning creating an ashy build-up on the plug.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #49

Apr 112012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord ex L 4 cyl burns an excessive amount of oil. Generally I have to put in a quart of oil every 1000 miles. I have taken it to the local dealership where they updated the software, but that did not fix the issue. There is also a loud sound that comes from the engine when the engine is started. I used to only here the sound on cold engine starts, but now it makes the sound every time it is started.

- Layton, UT, USA

problem #48

Jun 022014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 175,000 miles


I purchased this car last year and it had over 150000, as I checked the oil I noticed it was low I have added 1 qt in between every oil change. My second problem was during the winter on the real cold days the starter sounded like it was hanging up as described as the vtc actuator. My third problem is the warning light on the dash for the air bag has illuminated. I contacted Honda today and they told me the light only comes on after it has been to the body shop" also I have received a claim form for a reimbursable deployment prior to Feb 13 2014. I have not been in a accident and neither has the car. So if there is a claim for the air bag deployment why isn't there a recall for the air bag"

- Holly Springs, MS, USA

problem #47

Jun 162014


  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that her vehicle consumed an excessive amount of oil. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 115,000. The current mileage was 152,000.

- Castlewood, VA, USA

problem #46

Jun 012012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I noticed my car was making a strange noise when I first started it up. I took it to the Honda dealership in roanoke Virginia, and they told me I was running the car without oil. They filled it up for me, and change the oil filter. Not even 3000 miles later, the car was making the same noise. I looked up on the internet forums and found the oil consumption concerns. I brought this up to the service manager at the roanoke dealership, and he dismissed it. He said it is common to put a quart of oil in the Accord about every 1000 miles. I am in sales, and I drive about 900 miles a week. When this was first brought to the dealerships attention, I was just over 40,000 miles, and I was still under the factory warranty. I repeatedly brought this up to the same service manager, and he said he can do a consumption test, but it will take many miles to complete. He reassured me there was no problem. I bought this car based on its reputation of being a long-lasting vehicle with very few problems. Now knowing the Honda/the roanoke dealership is lying, my trust in Honda has been shaken.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #45

May 232014


  • 20,000 miles
Extreme oil consumption 4 cylinder engine several quarts are consumed in less than 3000 miles of travel.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #44

May 302010

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
General concerns. However I am concerned about the airbag, engine and brakes problem especially. Honda has not made us aware of any problems with this vehicle. Thankfully we have only had premature replacement of brakes. We are aware of consumer complaints only because we are concerned about our product which we assume to be safe and reliable. You can rely on our qualitymaintenance program, we have been alerted by mail of a pending suit we cannot benefit from class action because we have no incident to report. Honda corporate and dealers owe us consumers true and fair information and timely communications. GMC had to kill people before they were found to be irresponsible. Consider this a complaint about brakes, failure to take responsibility, failure to notify, regarding other possible problems especially airbags.

- Old Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #43

May 192014


  • miles
I have noticed that I am in need of oil changes more frequently than in the past. Historically, I went every 3,000 miles. Now, I notice the vehicle gets "sluggish" around 2,200-2,500 miles. I get an oil change, and everything is usually good..... for about another 2,200 miles. The vehicle is driven daily all open highway. 2 weeks ago, I got a full service oil change from a dealer. On 5/19/14 my check engine light went on, the vsa light, and the (!) light. I immediately pulled over and checked that all hoses were interact, I could not hear any air leaks, etc. I checked the oil stick and it was essentially bone dry! (the engine was warm) no oil slicks puddles in the driveway, parking spaces, nothing! I immediately put 2 quarts in at the gas station, fresh gas, and the everything turned off! is it possible to be burning oil that quickly? I hope not! I'll be monitoring this closely.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #42

May 182014


  • 79,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle; however, it would not shift into gear. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but they have not diagnosed the failure. NHTSA recall campaign number 11V395000(power train ) was related to the failure; however, dealer stated that the defect was not related to the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,300.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #41

May 062013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Car burns excessive amounts of oil. Known problem with piston rings. Honda refuses to address issue.

- Winchester, MA, USA

problem #40

Apr 142014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Summary: There was a premature failure of the SRS module in my 2008 Honda Accord which, according to a local Honda representative, renders the airbags useless in a crash or can cause premature deployment. The airbag light was on as well as the engine light which the dealership mentioned they were both related. Charging a diagnostics fee when I had already performed the diagnostics through work and associated partnerships (fleet management provider and maintenance vendors). I had to pay out of pocket close to $640 for parts and labor. Seems silly as this was a safety related service. My engine light was on about 4 months ago and they said the light was on due to my catalytic converter, so they replaced and now the engine light is back on and this is due to airbag issue...updated 05-27-15

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #39

Mar 192014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 62,450 miles
8/11:certified pre-owned purchased from Honda dealer at 35787 mi oil changes: 3/15/2012: 41659mi; 9/6/2012: 48687mi 7/1/13: 54340mi-oil pressure warning light and rattling noise appears;vehicle immediately taken to Suburban Honda dealer (farmington hills, mi);no diagnostic codes given. Only explanation was the oil level was too low and the noise disappeared when oil was filled. No explanation for suspected leak/excessive consumption despite last oil change being just 6000mi back 3/18/14:oil pressure warning light flashes once and car was not started until I made an appointment with Suburban Honda on 3/20/2013 3/20/14: 62450 mi- within 0.25mi of my way to dealer, the oil pressure light flashes in the middle of a signal intersection and engine fails amidst heavy traffic thereby, compromising my safety. On 1st notice(7/13), dealer completely neglected my concerns for oil leak/malfunction which led to massive engine damage (estimate $8000). Negligence led to engine failure on road causing massive compromise to my safety. Death could have been imminent if my car stalled on a freeway. Honda has a design flaw resulting in excessive oil consumption noted by multiple did not recommend an oil consumption test despite oil levels reaching critical levels within 6000mi of previous oil change.I was informed Accord consumes 1 quart of oil/ 1000mi and since my mileage was beyond Honda limits, I'm to be held responsible. Dealer mentioned that ¿¿apology¿ is what they can offer and that ¿¿no cost will be on dealer since it is not their responsibility¿. official rep of american Honda stated that this is purely a maintenance issue and that they do not possess ownership of dealer and have nothing to say reg irresponsibility of the official Honda dealer. Honda's design flaw&irresponsible dealers neglecting this issue could result in severe bodily injury or death.

- Detroit, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?