Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,636 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Sep 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It's been over 2 moths and 5 visit to dealer still got same problem car is Honda Accord 2013 and it's smart start car won't start sometimes it takes 20 min 40-50 try to start the car lost of same year Honda owners are having same exact problem you can see it in google search or youtube dealer always told us the car got no problem but were having same problem 2-3 times a day we get stuck every where we go since car does not start.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #32

Aug 222014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
On Jan 24th, 2013 I took my car to the Honda dealership for a problem with my power steering. The eps (electric power steering) system indicator came on and off several times and lost power steering during those times. The problem has been intermittent. The Honda dealership tried to fix the problem 3 times. On Feb 5th, 2013 the intermittent power steering problem seemed to be fixed. Then on Aug 21st, 2014 the power steer problem started again. I returned to the Honda dealership and Honda tried again to fix the intermittent power steering problem. On Aug 22nd, I drove my Honda Accord out of the dealership and had to turn around and bring it back because the carsżż eps (electric power steering) system indicator light came on and off again and I lost power steering during that time. IżżM now waiting to see if the intermittent power steering problem can be found and fixed. Since I bought my car the smart entry system indicator light has turned on and off intermittently without an adverse effect that I know of. I know an intermittent problem is hard diagnose and fix but IżżM starting have less and less confidence in Honda the company that manufactured my car..updated 11/03/14

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #31

Jul 132014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
While driving to Chicago (2 hours away) with my wife and 11 year old my maintenance minder light came on to tell me it was time to get an oil change. Since it was a Sunday I couldn't take it in. I couldn't make an appointment until 7/16 to get in for an oil change. On 7/16 I sat in my car to go home, but my dash lights were all lit up. Brakes, electric steering, ABS, check engine, my speedometer wasn't working and many more lights remained on. I called the dealer and they told me it was safe to drive it over to them although I heard a grinding sound, my brakes were soft and my steering wheel was very stiff. I went very slow since my speedometer or mileage wasn't working at all. The next morning my dealer called and claimed that a rodent was the culprit who chewed on some main wiring harness of the entire car. I find this hard to believe because why didn't it happen after the oil light came 2 days before" why didn't my wife's SUV get affected by this? this is a huge quality control issue that Honda needs to fix. What would have happened if all of these lights came on while I was driving my family on the highway"

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

problem #30

Jun 032013

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

False low tire pressure indication. Honda Accord owned for 12 months, less than 12,000 miles, I have received a low tire pressure indication for the fourth time. The previous three times, before taking my Accord to the dealership, I checked the tire pressure. All four tire pressures are within recommended settings. After receiving my vehicle after service, the service department reports all four tire pressures are low. The last time the service manager indicates the tires need to be re-inflated every 2 - 3 thousand miles. Continued false indications is as much as a safety issue as the indicator not working at all.

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #29

May 082014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 13,500 miles
I recently had a very serious issue with my 2013 Honda Accord regarding unintended acceleration. While pulling into a parking spot at a garden nursery I applied the brakes but they did not respond in anyway, the engine then revved up making a loud noise, the car lunged forward over several railroad tie barriers, bushes, hit a truck that was parked in the lot and came to rest in a mulch pile. Luckily the truck and mulch stopped the car and I was able to put it into park and turn it off. There is considerable amount of damage to the side of my car and the property of the nursery. This happened on May 8, 2014 at 5:00 pm. It was a gravel parking lot, dry sunny day. This Honda was purchased new in 2013 and is a 4cyl with cvt transmission and has approximately 13,000 miles. The car had to be towed to the dealership where it sits now waiting for a Honda representative to investigate this issue. It was a blessing that no one was standing in front of my car. Much of my decision to purchase a Honda was because of reliability and safety; however, I do not feel safe driving this vehicle. This is my first Honda and I am thoroughly disappointed and alarmed after this incident.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #28

May 032014

Accord

  • 18,000 miles
Pulling into a parking space, stopped before I could put the car into park, the vehicle lunged forward into a brick wall before stopping. Prior to this incident on 4/28/14 the windshield was replaced due to a crack in the windshield after this the ldw (lane warning device) didn't function properly. 4/30/14 another windshield was installed and the ldw did not function properly. I was told to have the camera on the rear view mirror recalibrated, before I could have this service performed the accident occurred.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #27

Mar 122014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With the keyless entry I was able to leave the car in gear, turn the car off and start to leave the car when it started rolling downhill. I have done this several times when exiting the car quickly. The car does give a slight beep, but not enough notification for me to realize that I am not in park. Our previous car had a key and if I forgot to put it in park, the car could not be turned off letting me know right away what I had done. I am concerned that this has certainly happened to other people and should be looked at as a major flaw to the keyless entry systems.

- Gregory, MI, USA

problem #26

Apr 052014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 8,200 miles
While coming to a stop in my parking spot, I applied the brake and the vehicle suddenly accelerated, with engine surge /loud noise and there were no brakes...... car plowed over parking spot barrier, into shrubs, balcony beam and neighbor's screened patio. There is considerable damage to my vehicle, shrubs, neighbor's patio and my balcony. This was a terrifying event. Investigations by insurance co and mechanic are pending at this time.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #25

Mar 122014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
Two months after the purchase, the navi went out on the vehicle. The navi was repaired; however, March 3rd, the back-up camera went dark on the screen; after several attempts it worked again. Mar 8-10th, I drove the vehicle with no problems. Mar 11th, I worked from home; the vehicle was not moved during the entire time. The vehicle keys remained on the kitchen table. Tuesday, Mar 11th, at 3:00A.M. (spouse moved his vehicle to the street) the vehicle windows were all closed. I reiterate, the keys were on the table and the windows to the vehicle were all closed. Mar 12th, 7:00, on my way to work, I noticed first that the driver side window was completely rolled down and rain had poured in. When I opened the car door, I was amazed to see that all of the windows were down and the sun roof completely open. I've never even opened all the windows at the same time since owning the vehicle. Shortly after driving the car, all the system lights came on and fds failed was displayed on the dashboard indicator. I called Honda, informed them of the problem and then drove the vehicle to the dealership. I was later informed by the service assistant that both boxes (I'm guessing electrical boxes) had a substantial amount of water in them, shorting out the system. Honda is seemingly comfortable with shifting the cause of the problem, e.g., that I probably...left the windows open, pressed all three buttons on the automatic key (didn't even know you could do this) or maybe had the keys in my purse and something pushed all three buttons simultaneously. In short, the window as well as who knows other parts were affected by a malfunction in the electrical system.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #24

Oct 182013

Accord

  • 2,975 miles
While driving at approx. 10mph, I pressed the engine start/stop switch and it shut the engine down completely. After applying my brakes and coming to a full stop, I put the transmission back into park and it started automatically back up. This event should be investigated by Honda and a safety interface designed and installed to prevent this from happening at full highway speeds possibly resulting in a serious and deadly accident asap. The engine start/stop switch is located approximately 2 inches away from the air conditioning temperature control up and down button switches. The depression of the start/stop switch could occur while driving attempting to control the temperature of the air conditioning.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #23

Oct 182013

Accord

  • 2,975 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at approx. 10mph, I pressed the engine start/stop switch and it shut the engine down completely. After applying my brakes and coming to a full stop, I put the transmission back into park and it started automatically back up. This event should be investigated by Honda and a safety interface designed and installed to prevent this from happening at full highway speeds possibly resulting in a serious and deadly accident asap. The engine start/stop switch is located approximately 2 inches away from the air conditioning temperature control up and down button switches. The depression of the start/stop switch could occur while driving attempting to control the temperature of the air conditioning.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #22

Jan 242014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
Vehicle does not start easily. 3-5 ignition attempts are needed to start it every time. However, once it starts everything seems fine. The battery was checked by the dealer and found to be fine. The problem is not cold related as it occurs even at 40 F.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #21

Feb 262013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
My wife had placed her fob in her purse & placed the purse in the trunk. When I started to drive the car (with my fob in my pocket), the trunk opened. I pulled over into a parking lot, closed the trunk & started driving. Again the trunk opened, I pulled over, closed the trunk & began driving. The trunk again opened, I pulled over & my wife realized that her purse was in the trunk with the fob in it & that might have been the problem. She removed her purse, we started driving & the trunk stayed closed. We did not recognize it as a safety issue at the time but have since realized that if an item had flown from the trunk into the path of a following car, it might have caused an accident.

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

problem #20

Nov 032013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
While driving, my fcw and ldw lights came on and system failure was flashing in the middle of my speedometer. Pulled over turned car off and back on, warning lights still flashing. Dealers service department was closed (it was a Sunday evening). The next day, started the car and the warning lights were no longer flashing. On Tuesday, the tire pressure warning light comes on as I am driving, followed by the fcw and ldw lights and system failure was flashing again. Car has been at the dealership for 2 days now and they called and told me all of the failure was due to low tire pressure. But, I had just had my tires rotated at that dealership the Wednesday before.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 282013

Accord

  • 3,111 miles
Dealer did a recall update of audio system in March 2013 to repair defects in audio system. This update immediately began to interfere with the car's cell phone blue tooth connection causing loss of pairing, loss of speed dials, etc. I have contacted the dealer and Honda factory representative repeatedly. The only response I get is they are working on a solution. Spoke to Honda engineering several times. They offered two suggestions which did not solve the problem. Recently I spoke to engineering and their suggestion this time concerns me. I was told that shifting the car out of park before the phone pairs seems to cause the phone failure and if I delay until the phones syncs that appears to be an remedy. When I asked if this was the permanent solution I was told no but now they know what is causing the problem and they will have a fix soon. I an concerned because what would shifting out of park have to do with my phone connecting to the car. If Honda is using a system that is so integrated that a failure of the phone system ties in with shifting out of park what other potential failure was caused by the March update of a radio " could that update also affect the transmission, engine or braking system? Honda has known about my problem, there are many others with the same problem, since March and they claim they have been working on a solution since then. Could it be the problem is more severe then Honda will admit" in the mean time I own a car with a defect that is unsellable and one that could also be potentially very dangerous. My fear is that many car owners will just write off this system failure as no big deal and will use their car phones minus the hands free blue tooth. If so they could be driving a car which has been impaired in other ways, possibly with a defective safety system that resulted from Honda's audio update.

- Springfield, PA, USA

problem #18

Oct 262012

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
2013 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle software issues and seeks a new vehicle at no cost to them. Consumer states vehicle is a lemon law issue. The consumer stated the dealer was unable to repair or correct any of the non-conformities after a reasonable number of repairs over a ten month period. The problem with the TPMS persisted from the second week ownership. The pressure light problem would come on at random times on a monthly basis. After ten months, Honda stated it was a software problem, and they did not know when the software update would be available.

- Masury, OH, USA

problem #17

Sep 152013

Accord

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, all of the warning indicators illuminated on the dashboard unexpectedly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the mechanic stated that a screw had chipped an electrical wire. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 12,000. The VIN was not available.

- Little Elm, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 272013

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,700 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, all of the warning lights illuminated as the vehicle began to shake violently. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic for diagnosis but no cause for the failure was determined. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed the throttle position sensor would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred. The failure and current mileage was 8,700..... updated 10-17-13 when the consumer read the invoice, it stated technician checked and found dtc code P2135 tp sensor A/B incorrect voltage correlation. The technician recalibrated the tp sensor. The third time the incident happened, the consumer was about to merge onto the highway, when suddenly the vehicle screeched and started to violently shake all while the dashboard lights lit up. The vehicle immediately decelerated to less than 20 mph in the middle of the highway. The vehicle was returned to the dealer, where the replaced the throttle body assembly. However, the problem happened again for a fourth time, where the technician replaced the computer. Updated 10/31/13 updated 12/5/13

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #15

Jan 142013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
Since I bought my 2013 Honda Accord ex-L in January 2013, I have had issues with stereo system. At times, the stereo will not turn on or it will turn on but the display screen is blank. Other times, "no disc" appears on the display when I turn the car on. I don't listen to cds, therefore, I never changed the source to play a cd. I only listen to xm. The dealer stated they cannot do anything to fix unless I bring the car in while the issue is happening. The issue is intermittent and never happens while near a dealer. I did receive a recall in April 2013 and took my car in for the stereo software update. Did not solve my issues.

- Fruit Cove, FL, USA

problem #14

Jun 122013

Accord

  • 3,000 miles
Two false TPMS low pressure warnings, second occurrence 7/19/2013. Tire pressure during both occurrences was correct when subsequently measured with tires 'cold' after warning. TPMS was recalibrated after both false warnings. TPMS is an indirect system, computed through ABS system. Checked with american Honda for a firmware update, none pending.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?