Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Nissan Altima has multiple problem trends including the CVT transmission, and now that this model is out of warranty, it earns our "avoid like the plague" badge.

Owners complain about vibration and transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission), a whining noise from the power steering pump, and constant windshield problems that appear to be the result of poor design.

Be warned: the 2014 & 2015 Nissan Altima appears to share these same problems.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,239 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 12 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #87

Jun 102013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle passenger air bag "off" warning lite comes on intermittently when an adult, weighing approximately 160#, is in the passenger seat.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #86

Oct 152012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Passenger air bag system malfunctions despite Nissan replacing the sensors in that seat on 9-25-2013. Previously this malfunction occurred about 6 times during the period 9-8-2012 to 9-25-2013. Nissan unable to replicate error in shop or ascertain cause. Only when I produced video evidence of the malfunction did they take action and replace seat sensors. The problem persists.

- Landenberg, PA, USA

problem #85

Dec 012012

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician explained that the passenger's weight was not enough to activate the sensor. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 5 and the current mileage was 4,464..... updated 10-17-13 updated 10/23/2013

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #84

Jun 292013

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the passenger's side air bag warning light illuminated for 30 miles. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis on three different occasions and on the third visit, the air bag sensor was replaced. The failure recurred one week later. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and current mileage was 2,200. Updated 9/24/13 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 09/25/13

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #83

May 152013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 700 miles
The airbag light on the dash that signifies if the airbag is off or on is inconsistent. The light is supposed to light for a brief 7 second boot up period then extinguish, regardless if there is a passenger or not...with the exception of a under weight passenger with the seat belt fastened. The most common irregularity observed is for the light to extinguish as expected however with a passenger that weighs well over 100 lbs, the light will come on randomly while the vehicle is at high speed and not extinguish until the vehicle is shut down. The first dozen times or so, I would ask the passenger to move their weight or wiggle to attempt to have the light go out and re-engage the airbag but this was to no avail. Once the light trips while the car is underway, it will not go out. On occasion the behavior is that the light stays on after the boot period and even when a passenger sits and buckles up, the light stays lit. Again, every indication is that there is no airbag during this period. I took the car to a Nissan dealer on August 27th and they said they could not find any "codes" and although they could not guarantee me the airbag system was engaging properly, they could not do any more then reset the system until Nissan Corp was contacted and offered a tech to look into the vehicle VIN record and investigate. I contacted Nissan and received a case number (119977748)on 8/28 via phone. Nissan contacted me on 8/29 to advise that the would investigate and contact me in early September as to their findings. I am also attempting to determine if there has been any follow up letter to the Nissan Corp letter 13V-069 dated 2/28 sent to the NHTSA, recall management division indicating that Nissan intended to have a recall for a similar problem.

- Jonesborough , TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #82

Nov 262012

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
Safety concern, proper operation of air bags (SRS light on). This is a major safety concern. One month after purchasing a brand new Nissan Altima 2013, a major light indicator came on. This light brought up concerns. Are the air bags working properly" will the air bags deploy correctly upon impact? are the air bags working at all? will the air bags deploy while driving? will the air bags implode and affect the steering process? is this an indication that there is an electronic or electrical circuit malfunction? after buying a brand new vehicle, should I even have to deal with these issues, questions or concerns? in addition to the above safety concern, the list of electronic, electrical and mechanical issues continues for the newly bought vehicle. There was an issue with the power steering, the brake system, bubbling paint and concerns with the engine compartment and interior compartment of the above mentioned vehicle. All this is reflected in each of the invoices submitted for your perusal. In addition, upon starting the vehicle, it continuously has a rough idle, a rough start at times the vehicle stalls out. He is at a loss because who should he take his vehicle with this concern" all in all, sir all these vehicle discrepancies are troubling to have with a brand new Nissan Altima 2013 and all of these issues within the last nine months. Also, there were problems with the power steering, the brake system and concerns with the engine and interior compartments. In addition, upon starting the vehicle, it continuously had a rough idle, a rough start at all times and the vehicle would stall.

- Ojai, CA, USA

problem #81

Jun 122013

Altima

  • 3,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag and the seat belt warning lights were illuminated. The contact mentioned that the seat belt warning light would illuminate although the seal belt was latched. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where unknown repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 3,600.

- Goshen, OH, USA

problem #80

Aug 182013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 428 miles
The passenger side air bag light came on as I was a passenger in the front seat of the Altima. Therefore, the air bag turned off which is a safety issue. I am a 5'7" adult female weighing around 140 lbs. I contacted Nissan corporate offices today and they said there is no recall on this problem for this vehicle. However, I noticed online that there have been numerous recalls for this problem on other Nissan Altima's, so why not this one" is this an ongoing issue that has not been corrected" I will also be sending a complaint regarding our 2008 Altima that has the same problem. This problem has not been fixed on this 2008 vehicle, either.

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #79

Aug 012013

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Nissan Altima. Consumer writes in regards to problems with the passenger seat air bag warning light. The consumer stated the passenger seat air bag light has been on continuously. After doing some research, he found it was caused by the failure of the sensor in the seat that determined whether the seat was occupied by an adult or a child. The consumer installed spacers between the passenger seat rails and the seat in order to raise the seat by one inch. The Nissan dealership informed the consumer that altering the vehicle voided the warranty covering the faulty sensor. The consumer believed the changes he made resulted in the passenger seat still being more firmly anchored to the floor pan of the vehicle than the power seat that sat beside it. As far as the sensor was concerned, it could not tell the difference between the seats original configuration and the alterations that he made. The consumer asked the service manager if he restored the seat to its original configuration, would it be considered un-altered; he said no. The very fact that he removed the seat constituted altering it.

- New London, NH, USA

problem #78

Aug 142013

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
I got Nissan Altima 2013 in Sep. 2012 and since then I have been taking this car every month to dealership for airbag off indicator, which remains lit even when passenger is seated with seat belt on. This has happened multiple times and weight of the passenger ranged from 130 to 180 pounds. The most serious of these incidents was, when I drove my car for 15 miles (2 miles on city street and 13 miles on freeway). So far, I have been told by dealership that there are no error codes, they would reset some sensors but it hasn't made any difference. I was told it could have been because of the way passenger was sitting, so one time I asked passenger to jump on the seat, that 180lb passenger was jumping in the seat but the airbag off light still remained on. I noticed there are multiple complaints about this issue, and I hope these complaints will eventually get desired recall attention.

- Rose Hill , NC, USA

problem #77

Jun 222013

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Nissan Altima. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle passenger seat air bag malfunction. The consumer stated upon leaving the dealership, he noticed a light on the dashboard indicating the passenger seat air bag was not functioning. When the consumer called the dealership, he was advised by the salesperson, that his wife should jump up and down on the seat to correct the problem. On July 3, 2013, the consumer returned to the dealer to correct the problem. The consumer was informed the computer did not indicate there was a problem, and since the vehicle only had a few hundred miles, it should be ok. On July 13, 2013, the consumer returned to the dealer, where the consumer informed them, the light appeared on the dashboard on three separate occasions, while driving on the highway. The consumer insisted that the proper repair be made, only to be told that removing the seat and changing the sensor could not be accomplished at his request and under no condition would the repair be implemented without a recall notice from Nissan.

- Seaford, NY, USA

problem #76

Dec 102012

Altima

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated while the seats were occupied by adult passengers. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the passenger's side mat sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V069000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100.

- Teaneck, NJ, USA

problem #75

Dec 102012

Altima

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated while the seats were occupied by adult passengers. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the passenger's side mat sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V069000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100.

- Teaneck, NJ, USA

problem #74

Aug 022013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 800 miles
I got Nissan Altima 2013 in Dec 2012 and since then I have been taking this car every month to dealership for airbag off indicator, which remains lit even when passenger is seated with seat belt on. This with has happened multiple times and weight of the passenger ranged from 130 to 180 pounds. The most serious of these incidents was, when I drove my car for 15 miles (2 miles on city street and 13 miles on freeway). So far, I have been told by dealership that there are no error codes, they would reset some sensors but it hasn't made any difference. I was told it could have been because of the way passenger was sitting, so one time I asked passenger to jump on the seat, that 180lb passenger was jumping in the seat but the airbag off light still remained on. I noticed there are multiple complaints about this issue, and I hope these complaints will eventually get desired attention.

- Fremont , CA, USA

problem #73

Mar 042013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
Head on collision to drivers side airbags did not deploy.

- Las Vegas, NM, USA

problem #72

Mar 202013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 380 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician performed repairs under NHTSA campaign number: 13V069000 (air bags) however, the failure recurred after the recall repair was performed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer six times. The air bag sensor in the center console and in the front driver's seat was replaced. The failure continued after every repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 380.

- Oxford, NY, USA

problem #71

Oct 302012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Since purchasing the car, the air bag light remained on after starting approx. 12 times in 8 months. To shut the warning light off I had to shut car off & restart to correct. Dealer first said due to way wife was sitting, next time they mentioned tsb bulletin, 3rd time they mentioned corrected tsb & replaced sensors, 4th time, engineer told them about a fix replaced modules, 5th time engineer showed them fix on an earlier car, 6th time field engineer said w/O confirmation nothing can be done. Dealer stated that each time computer showed no problem. No explanation other than check owner's manual and light will go on intermittently. When the light stayed on, my wife shifted her body as well as raised her body and landed on seats, then got out of car and jumped into car -light stayed on until I shut off car and restarted. I believe the dealer tried his best and has closely worked with me. It's not the dealers fault but Nissan's allowing this to happen. I contacted the Nissan regional people and they were very nice but they said there was nothing that could be done without confirmation. Nor would put in writing that the airbag would work if car was in an accident. What they did say was that as of the time of the dealers check, the airbag was operational. I was also reminded that the airbag was a secondary restraint system. Gee, I thought it was an integral part of the car's safety equipment. When I asked if a design flow, I did not get an answer. Why does Nissan have this problem and not any other manufacturer" do earlier Nissan have the same problem"

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #70

May 152013

Altima

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning light illuminated while the seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 200.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #69

Apr 012013

Altima

  • miles
Passenger airbag sensor was occasionally showing that airbag deployment was deactivated when there was an adult passenger seated in that seat with their seatbelt on. Took it into Nissan dealership the car was purchased from and they said there was a recall on my vehicle for a faulty sensor, and they "reset the software" for this system until the part came in. Went back to same dealership for the recall to be fixed for a second time and they again "reset the software" and the service manager stated that the manufacturer said they need to reset the software twice before replacing the sensor. I called Nissan and they stated this was not true, and it should be replaced not software reset. If they are lying and cutting corners on replacing a recalled part that puts somebody's life in danger, then what else are they lying about.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #68

Sep 032012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 2,826 miles
When a passenger is sitting in the front passenger seat the air bag light will come on, indicating the air bag for that passenger is turned off and will not activate in the event of a collision that would otherwise active the device.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?