Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Nissan Altima has multiple problem trends including the CVT transmission, and now that this model is out of warranty, it earns our "avoid like the plague" badge.

Owners complain about vibration and transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission), a whining noise from the power steering pump, and constant windshield problems that appear to be the result of poor design.

Be warned: the 2014 & 2015 Nissan Altima appears to share these same problems.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,929 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 6 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #203

Jun 182013


  • 9,977 miles


My car have some issue I took the car complaining about the pax light airbag NHTSA num 14V138000 but as of now the problem exist and another NHTSA 13V069000 occupant detection system may disable pas airbag and this problem still exist on my car and another problem that I have my car has 3 new transmissions and only has 24763 miles.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #202

Sep 012012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
1) the low beam headlights are entirely inadequate to provide sufficient lighting intensity and distance. The lights barely illuminate about 2 car lengths ahead, which is too short a distance at speeds above 25-30mph, making highway travel at night very dangerous. Objects in the path of travel and on the side of the road are not visible in time to safely respond. Street signs and turns are nearly impossible to identify if they are not near street lights. This issue has been present since buying the car, which has been to the dealer multiple times for adjustment, but they insist that the lights are set within specs. The high beams provide excellent lighting, but when switched to low for an oncoming vehicle, I am suddenly driving without sufficient light. This is such a frightening problem that I prefer not to drive this car at night. I can't believe that these lights meet safety standards. 2) the passenger side air bag light often indicates that the bag is not activated even when there is an adult sitting in the seat. This was supposedly repaired in a recall 5/2014, but continues to happen. The dealer says "don't worry about it, " that the bag will deploy if needed. I have no way of knowing if that is the case and I believe this is a safety concern.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #201

Feb 012013


  • 1,500 miles
From the very beginning the air bag light comes on, no matter the weight of the passenger. It does it at random times. I have had it in 6 times, plus had the recall done last year. I just took it in after speaking with Nissan usa and they can not recreate the problem. I have pictures showing it not working. The reprogrammed the seat and hope that fixes it. Too bad it is not the first time they have reprogrammed it. The seat belt light comes on after someone gets out of the car and stays on like the seat is telling it there is someone in the car. Nissan has been no help on fixing this. I did advise them if I was to get in a wreck and it not deploy they will have a lawsuit on their hands. The topper I bought my car brand new, I had $500 negative equity. I have never skipped a payment, make extra payments and have a low interest rate. I am almost $7000 upside down on a 2 yr old car. I will never buy a Nissan again.

- Adkins, TX, USA

problem #200

Jun 072013


  • 500 miles


2013 Nissan Altima - contacted dealer shortly after purchase concerning passenger airbag disable light coming on when my wife (105 lbs) is sitting in the passenger seat. Dealer could not reproduce error and no error codes were found. Re-call was performed in May 2014, and did not resolve the issue. After many visits to the dealer complaining about the unresolved passenger airbag issue we were told the seat belt is the primary protection and the airbag is only supplementary. Feb 2014 dealer was finally able to reproduce the problem by placing two 50 lb salt bags in the passenger seat. Dealer contacted Nissan technical support for assistance, but they were told it was within allowable limits, therefore its okay and nothing will/can be done. After purchasing what we thought to be a quality vehicle @ $30,000+ only to find out we have no airbag protection was very disappointing to say the least, unfortunately this will not be corrected until there is a fatality associated with this issue. Current mileage is 23,731.

- Kimberly, WI, USA

problem #199

Jan 312013


  • 1,050 miles
Air bag light stays on indicating the air bag did not turn on.this problem occurs about 5% of the time. Problem has been worked on 12-15 times.Nissan says they cannot duplicate problem. There was a recall for this problem and work was performed on 10-16-14. It did not help!! work was last performed ON2-5-15 and they say they cannot duplicate problem so they cannot help me.could you help me??

- Lakeland, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #198

May 212013


  • 5,676 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. While driving at approximately 45 mph, the front passenger side air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,676.

- Gallatin, TN, USA

problem #197

Aug 222014


  • 30,733 miles


Wife was driving West bound on Ohio St rt 125 doing 40 mph when a car going East bound on Ohio St rt 125 attempted to make a left hand turn in front of her and hit her head on bringing the car to a complete stop in just a couple feet. None of the airbags went off. The seatbelt did not lock up. None of the safety equipment on this car worked during this head on collision.... updated 02/19/15 updated 10/28/2015

- Bethel, OH, USA

problem #196

Jun 272014


  • 12,736 miles
The occupant classification system (airbags) turn off when the passenger seat is occupied by person weighing 130+ pounds. This happens if car is idle, and at all speeds. Car has been taken to the dealership to be serviced for the recall on 4 seperate occasions and dealer has acknowledged that they do not know what to do as they have tried multiple remedies and cannot fix it. They refuse doing anything else to do and say it is not their problem. The dealership is Nissan of mckinney in Texas. General manager is david kelly and service technician is matt johnson. I do not feel safe in the car as this is a serious safety hazard. There is a rebuttable presumption that a reasonable number of attempts have been undertaken to conform a motor vehichle to the applicable express warranties. It has been subject to repair on 4 seperate occassions. The car has guards on the underside of the car that have fallen off on 3 seperate occasions and been fixed to no avail. The dealership acknowledges that they sold an extended maintance warranty to me and miss represented the product and did nothing to make amends until I inquired on several occasions. Nissan of mckinney in Texas sold the 2013 Nissan Altima with premium dunlop tires and charged a premium for the tires at the time of the sale. The orignial dunlop tires are bald an will not pass inspection, which was acknowledged by matt and general manager david kelly, at 19,000 miles. These tires have a 65,0000 manufacture warranty from dunlop/Goodyear and the dealer will not make good or replace the tires as they are clearly faulty. The missrepresentation of the 2013 Nissan Altima has caused an extreme amount of undo stress and the dealership refuses to make any remedy at all. Nissan of mckinney Texas and their general manager have sold me a car that falls under the Texas lemon law.

- Mckinney , TX, USA

problem #195

Jan 242015


  • 35,000 miles
Yellow light on dashboard shows that the passenger air bag is deactivated even though an adult passenger (approx 150 lbs) is seated in passenger seat. This has been occurring intermittently since car was new. Took car to dealer several times. I was told they couldn't find anything wrong. Then received recall notice for this problem. Took car to dealer and recall fix was supposedly performed, but problem still persists. NHTSA needs to take action on this widespread problem before someone gets killed.

- Grandview, WA, USA

problem #194

Nov 152013


  • miles
Air bag deployment. The passenger side air bag will not deploy if the person sitting in the passenger seat weighs below 130 pounds. According to Nissan the sensor will not activate if the person sitting in the passenger seat weighs below 130 pounds. Therefore if we were to get into an accident which requires airbag deployment, it will not deploy. My partner weighs about 110 pounds. According to Nissan the NHTSA mandated this and can not change the setting.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #193

Aug 252014


  • 33,000 miles


Various times the passenger airbag off indicator will come on a stay on even if a passenger is stilling in the seat. It sometimes says on until the car is turned off and then restarted or can stay on for 30 minutes or more and then go off. Sometimes the red dash seatbelt light will come on even when just the driver in the car and the driver's seatbelt is fastened. I have brought the car to the dealer three times relating to this and they did not find anything wrong, the third time the mechanic said that it happens with his Altima also and he thinks it is just running a self-test. I don't agree and it worries my passengers when it come on in the middle of a trip. It worries me also that both indicators seem to be random on when they illuminate. Several times when I drop off a passenger and the car remains running and gets out of the car, the red seatbelt indicator comes on as if the passenger is still in the passenger seat without the seatbelt fastened.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #192

Jan 222014


  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated on the front passenger's side and deactivated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the OCS software needed to be replaced and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags). The remedy failed to repair the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of failure. The failure mileage was 100.

- Southlake, TX, USA

problem #191

Nov 292013


  • 48,342 miles
Making a left turn when I was almost finish my turn when I was struck by a motorcycle. The motorcycle struck the passenger rear door of my vehicle spinning my vehicle around. Caving in the door the airbags never deploy. My passenger lost his eye do to glass shatter in his face and eye!!!!

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #190

Nov 012014


  • 24,000 miles
I purchased a 2013 Nissan Altima S from carmax on 10/5/14. The car was suppose to be a birthday present to myself seeing as though I had not purchased a car in 12 years. I was very excited, but shortly after purchasing the Altima, I started to hear squealing coming from the brakes, and also roaring and rumbling which started in the front of the car, and proceeded to the center. I also complained about the car locking up and driving sluggish, and then releasing once the rumbling briefly stopped. I am also hearing an annoying whining sound coming from the right side of the vehicle. When I took the car back to carmax, they told me the roaring was coming from my windshield washer compartment that was loose, and that my brakes were fixed. Needless to say, I left and drove around the corner, and the squealing brakes and roaring came back. I took the car to a Nissan dealership in my area, and after telling them about the roaring and the whining, the service manager told me that he's quite familiar with the sound, and there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. He stated that the whining sound is coming from the power steering and the roaring is coming from the way I am driving the vehicle. How dare he! I only had the vehicle for a month before I took it to the Nissan dealership. He would not even try to look into the list of issues I requested to be fixed. The Nissan manager told me to go back to carmax or I would have to pay for the brakes to be fixed, and even charged me to rotate my tires. I left paying him for a service that I did not originally come in for. I went back to carmax and they finally fixed my brakes, but still could not find anything wrong that would cause the extremely annoying roaring and whining noises. This has been a nightmare, and I am thinking about taking legal action.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #189

Sep 072013


  • 2,887 miles
Since the day I bought the vehicle the passenger air bag was malfunctioning. They tried to repair it more than 3 times but was unsuccessful. And the case is being dragged on (the manufacturer is taking advantage since even the mileage is adding up all this time) without a proper solution and they(manufacturer) seem to disregard the fatal nature of a critical safety issue.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #188

Oct 252014


  • miles
As many others have previously reported, this 2013 Altima will not detect an adult passenger (140+ lbs) and will turn off the passenger airbag. The initial safety recall work was performed on the car (prior to our purchase of the vehicle), but the problem continues to happen. We have talked to several dealers who have not been able to do anything to fix the problem because it appears that Nissan doesn't know how to fix it. This huge safety concern makes the car unusable when we need to have more than one person in the car and we cannot get the airbag to work properly. NHTSA: Please force Nissan to do something about this issue!

- Warrensburg, MO, USA

problem #187

Sep 132014

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
Cpsc: I1490345: 2013 Nissan Altima. Consumer stated the air bag light is on. The dealer informed the consumer, there was nothing they could do. The vehicle was recalled earlier in the year, for the same problem and a software fix was done. However, the air bag light illuminated again.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #186

Aug 102014


  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while parked, the front passenger side air bag on light failed to illuminated when the seat was occupied. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- Commerce, CO, USA

problem #185

Apr 242014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag deactivated warning light illuminated intermittently while the seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the technician was unable to find a failure. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 11,000. Updated 01/20/15 also, the key fob failed. It did not recognize the key id. The consumer was unable to unlock the door. On several occasions, the vehicle would not start. Updated 02/231/5. updated 10/7/2015

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #184

Nov 292014


  • 12,500 miles
Had recall for passenger airbag light performed in June. Have had multiple occurrences of the pass airbag light turning on with an occupant in the passenger seat since the recall. The latest happened yesterday with my wife seated in the passenger seat. Its beginning to concern me that in the event of an accident the passenger airbag will not deploy. Judging by the complaints on this issue this is still a problem that Nissan hasn't been able to fix. NHTSA needs to reopen an investigation for this issue.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?