Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Nissan Altima has multiple problem trends including the CVT transmission, and now that this model is out of warranty, it earns our "avoid like the plague" badge.

Owners complain about vibration and transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission), a whining noise from the power steering pump, and constant windshield problems that appear to be the result of poor design.

Be warned: the 2014 & 2015 Nissan Altima appears to share these same problems.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,929 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 8 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #163

Jul 282014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 47,326 miles


My wife's vehicle was stopped on I-95 about a car length behind a minivan that had also stopped for debris in the road, a Toyota pickup truck hit the rear of her car at speeds in excess of 60mph pushing her car into the minivan in front of her at a speed of at least 30mph, the SRS airbag in her car failed to deploy and quite possibly the seatbelt as well. My wife struck her head on the vehicle's left side roof support beam and suffered a concussion, whiplash and other lesser degree injuries as a result. It is my understanding Nissan has had issues with SRS failures in 2013 Altima.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #162

Aug 052014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 13,100 miles
We have tried to have Nissan fix our passenger side airbag at least 3 times (one including for a safety recall issued) and the problem is still occurring. The dealership has replaced the sensor once and reprogrammed the computer system twice. The most recent time this occurred is the date above. The airbag is off when I am sitting in the seat and I am a 130 pound female. This doesn't happen every time I am in the passenger side but it could be off on a trip 15 minutes away from my house and on the way home it could be on. We have notified the dealership that this still occurs and we met with what they said was one of their "best technical experts" and were told that there is nothing wrong with our vehicle and they will do nothing about this problem because it is working to manufacturers specifications. They said it could be the way I am seated in the seat or the type of road we are driving on. We have multiple videos of me in the passenger seat, sitting upright, with the light on stating that my airbag is off.

- Troy, IL, USA

problem #161

Aug 182014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 26,041 miles
With 130 - 140 lb passenger in front passenger seat, dashboard indicator signals that front passenger airbag will not deploy. Vehicle has been returned to dealer for recall service under NHTSA campaign number 14V138000, but this did not resolve the problem.

- Olmsted Falls, OH, USA

problem #160

Aug 032013


  • 2,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on several occasions where the failure was unable T be replicated. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V138000 (airbags, electrical system) but the failure recurred. The contact noticed that the air bag light was indicating the air bag was off when a passenger was seated in the front passenger's seat. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.

- Lathan, NY, USA

problem #159

Dec 182013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 19,523 miles
My 18 year old son, weighing aprox. 135 lbs, 5'11", sitting in the passenger seat with his feet on the edge of the seat. I see the air bag indicator light go on. (indicating that the air bag is turned off.) this has happened at least 5 times. After 1st hearing about the recall for this same issue, I was expecting to receive a letter from Nissan. Didn't happen. Even though my car is exhibiting the same defect that has been recalled, I have been told that there is not an issue...

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #158

Jun 202014

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,076 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the front passenger airbag illuminated off when the seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that there was no failure with the airbag. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system).the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,076. Updated 9/4/14 the consumer stated the recall, did not rectify the problem. Updated 09/18/14

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #157

Jul 262014


  • 26,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag sensor illuminated intermittently. The dealer cleared the computer code, but the failure recurred. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V069000 (air bags) and 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #156

Jul 032014


  • 13,900 miles
I received a notice of recall for the passenger side air bag. I scheduled the prescribed fix with the dealer, kline autoworld, maplewood, mn, and the dealership told me they fixed the recall problem, 07/03/2014. Then, on or about 07/16/2014 the passenger air bag warning off light came on with my spouse in the passenger seat. I contacted the dealer twice regarding this warning light. So far the dealership has not gotten back to me. The consumer stated on seven occasions since the recall fix, the air bag light illuminated when an adult passenger was sitting in the seat. Updated 06/10/15.

- Frederic, WI, USA

problem #155

May 032013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
After driving the car for a few months, I noticed that the passenger air bag light would go on with a passenger sitting in the seat. It didn't happen all the time but when it did, the light could stay on for an entire trip. In this Nissan car, when the light is on, that means the air bag is off. I took my concern to the dealership where I bought it. The dealership replaced many of the parts under the seat in an attempt to solve the problem. By October of 2013, Nissan sent a special technician to five towns Nissan in inwood, NY to address my problem. He replaced the railing under the seat but told me the system was working correctly and they were just making me happy. However, in may of 2014, I received a recall notice for my very problem. It turns out many others must have had the same issue. The recall was a software re-program of the occupancy sensor. But, this recall did not fix the issue. I have spoken to Nissan Consumer Affairs many times and they treat this like an individual problem. They actually ask me what I would like them to do. I tell them I want the air bag to inflate during an accident so my passenger doesn't die. I'm fed up with their response. The company that makes the system needs to address the problem. Like with all car companies, they conceal the truth and wait until people die before they solve a problem. I have now taken my car to two different dealerships, nine times in the past fifteen months and there is still no solution.

- Oceanside, NY, USA

problem #154

Jul 142014

Altima 6-cyl

  • 5,300 miles
Although my 2013 Nissan Altima had the passenger side airbag fixed at the dealership after a voluntary recall, the issue still persists. The passenger side of the vehicle does not detect someone sitting in the seat most of the time so the air bag light comes on notifying the driver that the air bag is off.

- St. Clairsville, OH, USA

problem #153

Jul 032014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 33,500 miles


Other driver ran a red light hitting the side of my car doing over 50 mph and the side impact air bags did not deploy.

- Lyman, SC, USA

problem #152

Jun 282014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 8,956 miles
I have had trouble with my cars " air bag off " warning light staying lit with a passenger in the seat ever since I bought the car new. It has been to the dealership to be " repaired " 4 times. Each time it was not corrected. Recently I brought the car in for this problem as part of the safety recall. Despite this, once again this past weekend the " airbag off " light comes on even though a passenger is in the seat. The light will come on randomly and then stay lit the whole time I am driving... no matter how the passenger sits or moves in the seat it will not turn off until the car is turned completely off and then restarted. Now the dealer says to bring the car in for the 5th time and they will see if there is an error code. ( in the past there has not been any error codes retained ) I feel this car is completely unsafe for my family until this problem can be fixed... until then I never know if my airbags are truly working correctly... and I don't want to have to find out after an accident that they weren't. my last Nissan !

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #151

Jun 292014


  • 13,709 miles
Adult was seating in passenger seat and no airbag light came on. Never had this happen until after I took it to the dealer for the recall repair.

- Moores Hill, IN, USA

problem #150

Jan 012013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Passenger airbag light turns on sporadically, whether a 150 pound adult is in the passenger seat or absolutely nothing. Issue was first noticed more than a year ago. The vehicle was brought to our very professional and courteous Nissan service department immediately and they said that it would need to be recalibrated. The problem recurred consistently over the last year with service department mechanics repeatedly performing the same "fix" that the manufacturer had given them for the issue. Once the recall was announced and we got our car in to the garage, we were told that the same "fix" would be performed. As expected, the issue was seen once again 3 days after the vehicle had received the recall work.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #149

Jun 212014


  • 11,000 miles
Adult passenger sitting in the front passenger seat. Airbag light indicating the air bags will not deploy goes on intermittently. Had the latest recall fix applied several weeks ago but this problem was not fixed. Been to the dealer 3 times for this problem.

- Perkasie, PA, USA

problem #148

Apr 252013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated when an adult passenger was seated in the front seat, the air bag sensor light illuminated indicating that the front passenger seat air bag system was defective. The contact stated that the air bag sensor light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired under the NHTSA recall campaign number 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system) but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 1,000. The vehicle was taken to the dealer four times. They re-programmed the computer twice, and replaced the sensors, to no avail. Updated 07/22/14

- Troy, IL, USA

problem #147

Jun 122013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
Passenger air bag light stays on while passenger is sitting in the seat. Problem started a couple of weeks after I leased brand new car. The problem is ongoing for over a year now. The fox Nissan dealership cannot replicate the problem so Nissan will not offer any resolution. I've been trying for a year now and the problem persists, Nissan or dealership cannot say if the airbag will work in the case of a crash. I'm paying monthly lease payments on a car that may or may not be safe. What ever happened to customer service? took the car in last Friday for the airbag recall, problem is still there after dealership updated the software problem. Both fox Nissan dealership and Nissan regional field rep said there is nothing more they can do since they can't replicate the problem. Apparently the photos of the problem they had me take we're to make me feel like they actually cared. I can't believe I'm continuing to make payments on this unsafe vehicle.

- Middleville, MI, USA

problem #146

Jun 142014


  • 17,857 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated while a passenger was sitting in the front seat the air bag light illuminated. The contact shut the vehicle off and restarted it and the air bag light shut off. The failure recurred within twenty minutes. The failure occurred on three occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The dealer repaired the air bag sensor; however, the failure recurred. The failure mileage was 17,857. The current mileage was 18,200.

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #145

Sep 052013


  • 3,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact's vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number: 14V138000 (air bags); however, the failure recurred. The dealer stated that the floor mat sensor needed to be reprogrammed. While a passenger was seated in the front passenger seat, the air bag sensor failed to illuminate. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000. Jcc

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #144

May 032014


  • 19,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact noticed that the air bag safety features on the vehicle were disabled. The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle because an error code could not be determined. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000.

- Horsehead , NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?