Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004-2006 Nissan Maxima has widespread transmission problems. It starts with the vehicle jerking when shifting, & progresses to full-blown transmission failure.

Maxima owners report spending $3,000 to replace the transmission, typically around when the odometer hits 100,000 miles.

There's a class action lawsuit filed in late 2011, & it is still in the "discovery" stage. Apparently, these things take time ... far too much time.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,392 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Maxima transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments (Page 4 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #246

May 152011

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 46,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. after warm up takes about 5 seconds to click into gear after the shift lever is put in "D" 2. very hard jerky shifts between 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 1st and accompanied by loud clunking noise. 3. transmission slips out of gear during regular driving alllowing the engine to rev freely then jerking back into gear with a loud clunk. The is followed by a burnt oil.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #245

May 202011

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the transmission began slipping gears with the vehicle jerking violently. The contact maneuvered the vehicle to the side of the road and shut off the engine. Upon restart, the failure continued. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated the transmission would need to be replaced. The transmission had been previously replaced in 2010. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000. Updated 07/20/11 updated 08/03/11

- Blue Island, IL, USA

problem #244

Sep 022010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
When the engine is warn and you shift from park to drive or reverse the car jerks really hard before it goes to the desired gear. Once it picks up you will feel a jerk while driving especially when you are slowing down from high speed to a stop. It really jerks around 2nd and 3rd shifting, picking up or slowing down. During driving when you depress the accelerator, it does not pick up right away and the engine will rave before it kicks in with a jerk. The transmission slips before it picks up. Once you start acceleration, there is a rattling sound when you press the gas. I have taken it to the dealership several time and they tell me they cannot find anything wrong with it and that I should always use premium gas. The last time I had to spend $500 to replace the visa valve and evap valve the problem still continues. This happens after driving the car and it has warmed up. The dealership cannot replicate the problem because whenever you take it in they wait till the engine has cooled down before they take it for a test drive. It sounds to me like they do it on purpose. My car is about 110K miles and this started about 10K miles ago.

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #243

May 102011

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission issues. After 65,000 miles 2005 Nissan Maxima jerks between low gears shifts and slips frequently during normal driving. A transmission flush has been done on this vehicle as recommended by Nissan service staff however issues continue.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #242

Apr 012011

Maxima

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that when shifting to second gear she would feel a hard jerking motion and hear a knocking noise. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised her that they were unable to diagnose the failure and said it may be the transmission. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 110,000.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #241

Mar 192010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Transmission jerks really hard causing neck pain and cause vehicle to stall or lose power on the hwy.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #240

Apr 152011

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2005 Nissan Maxima in November 2010 with 55,000 miles on it. We have recently noticed that the transmission shifts really hard when decelerating. I took it to aamco transmissions, and they have indicated that the vehicle needs a new transmission for about $3200 total. It seems awfully ridiculous that a transmission would go out after only 57000 miles. I was hopeful that a recall had been issued so that I wouldn't need to pay for the repair.

- Riverton, UT, USA

problem #239

Oct 012010

Maxima

  • 86,000 miles
Transmission is slipping very bad. Car jerks hard when shifting form 1st to 2nd gear. When coming to a complete stop car jerks and sometimes won't shift. When putting car in gear there is a hard shift or jerk.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #238

May 152011

Maxima

  • 86,000 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima I've had it going on 2 years and my transmission is going out. I've kept the car maintenance by the dealer and has taken really good care of the car... I've heard alot of the 4 same complaints on these cars just wondering why nothing has been done about it. Me and my daughter almost stopped in the middle of traffic because of it, its not safe and for it not be so many complaints on these cars there should be some kind action.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #237

May 032011

Maxima

  • 75,000 miles
2005 Nissan Maxima transmission issue-Maxima has 76K on it, transmission keeps slipping, feels like you are getting kicked from behind or rear ended, Maxima will also slip gears and rev up..

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

problem #236

Feb 062011

Maxima

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that the transmission would not shift from first gear and the vehicle would not accelerate past 10 mph. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and they advised that the transmission would need to be replaced. The failure mileage was 86,000 and the current mileage was 110,000.

- Harrisville, RI, USA

problem #235

May 242011

Maxima

  • miles
Over the past year (since Feb 2010), I have contacted Nissan about transmission problems with my 2005 Nissan Maxima. The car gives a hard jerks when going from 1st to 2nd gear. Yesterday while driving my Maxima on the freeway (luckily I was driving in the far right lane), it completely stopped and would not accelerate. My transmission went out. Thank god, I was not hit and killed. Nissan is fully aware of the 2005 Maxima transmission problem that thousands of consumers are experiencing but yet they are doing nothing to correct the problem. I am filing a complaint against Nissan because they were fully aware about the transmission defect.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #234

Mar 312011

Maxima

  • 82,000 miles
I am a 2005 Nissan Maxima owner, after 82000 miles my transmission is now bad. As a college student I do not have the $4300 to replace my transmission. Nissan has declined when asking for any for a assistance with this issue. This is a major safety concern. People could be seriously injured.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #233

Dec 012010

Maxima

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, she applied pressure to the brake pedal and the anti lock brakes engaged. The brake pedal began to pump and the vehicle exhibited an increased stopping distance. During the failure, the anti lock brake light illuminated. The failure began to recur intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the anti lock speed sensors were rusted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Approximately three months later, the failure began to recur and the vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer where the contact was advised to replace the anti lock braking system due to excessive rust and corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the vehicle would violently jerk when downshifting and accelerating at low speeds. The failure mileage was 56,000 and the current mileage was 69,890.

- East Orange, NJ, USA

problem #232

Jan 012011

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I own a 2005 Nissan Maxima. Shifting from 1st to 2nd or 2nd to 3rd is dangerously hard. The car jerks almost violently in and out of gear. This has been occurring for the past 4 months. Mind you that I just purchased this car about a year ago. I was recommended to get a transmission flush but that did not fix the problem.

- Ruckersville, VA, USA

problem #231

Mar 192011

Maxima

  • 120,000 miles
Transmission is slipping very bad. Car jerks hard when shifting form 1st to 2nd gear. When coming to a complete stop car jerks and sometimes won't shift. When putting car in gear there is a hard shift or jerk.

- Festus, MO, USA

problem #230

Feb 052011

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I purchased my 05 Nissan Maxima with 60800 miles from a Nissan dealer. At about 70000, the transmission began to show signs of costly repairs. The transmission jerks very hard when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear and then when slowing down from 2nd to 1st. Just shifting from P to D at times there is about a 3 - 4 second delay then engages to only here and feel a very hard clunk and jerks really hard again. With all the hard shifting the motor mounts are probably going to wear out prematurely too. After going online and reading so many other 04 - 05 Maxima transmission issue with the same symptoms around the same mileage. I am convinced this is a factory defect.

- Buda , TX, USA

problem #229

Mar 202011

Maxima

  • miles
The contact owns 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated when the vehicle was placed in drive the transmission began to hesitate and there was a hard thump when he tried to accelerate. The contact took the vehicle to a mechanic who stated the body valve caused the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 100,000.

- Priceville, NC, USA

problem #228

Nov 092010

Maxima

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated the vehicle would jerk violently when shifting from first to second gear while driving approximately 10-30 mph. The failure also recurred when decelerating. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was advised to replace the motor mounts and transmission. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000 and the current mileage was 73,000.

- Forestville, MD, USA

problem #227

Feb 282011

Maxima

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. While driving approximately 20 mph, the transmission began to slip gears unexpectedlyaccomapnied with an abnormal jerking with hesitation. The contact was able to continue driving and the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they replaced the transmission. The manufacturer was made aware of the faulty transmission. The contact stated that prior to the failure, the catalytic converter and ABS sensor were replaced. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Palis Heights , IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?