Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004-2006 Nissan Maxima has widespread transmission problems. It starts with the vehicle jerking when shifting, & progresses to full-blown transmission failure.

Maxima owners report spending $3,000 to replace the transmission, typically around when the odometer hits 100,000 miles.

There's a class action lawsuit filed in late 2011, & it is still in the "discovery" stage. Apparently, these things take time ... far too much time.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,392 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Maxima transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments (Page 8 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #166

Sep 012009

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Nissan Maxima transmission is shifting hard and slipping. It shifts hard between 1st & 2nd gear and between 2nd & 3rd. It slips out of gear between 2nd & 3rd and then slams into gear. This is an extreme safety hazard. I have been told by a Nissan service consultant that the transmission needs to be replaced. So, I went for a second opinion. The independent transmission specialist told me this was common in the '04 & '05 and most likely the valve body. He stated he was surprised it lasted this long. There are thousands of complaints of the exact same issue. Of those who chose to go to an independent transmission shop all have replaced the valve body and had no further issues. I have contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs and I was told to take it to a Nissan service center.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #165

Nov 222010

Maxima

  • 75,000 miles
My car is a 2005 Nissan Maxima that I purchased in Nov 2004 brand new, I am the only driver and for some strange reason I started having problems with the gears changing from 1st to 2nd, then it started jerking and feeling like it was going to shut off while I was driving. I took it to the dealership and was told I need a new transmission and motor mounts (cost $4000+). I am so very upset because that is a lot of money and I need my car for work. I contacted nmac an asked if they would consider paying for this replacement because I'm sure they are aware of the problem, but I was told there was nothing they could do.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #164

Oct 022010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
2005 Nissan Maxima transmission failure. Apparently looking at www.consumeraffairs.com shows this to be a common issue. I took it into the shop and they tell me I need a new transmission. It started jerking severely while changing gears and then one evening got stuck in 5th gear. I'm not a mechanic so I don't know what more information might be needed.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #163

Dec 012010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

05 Nissan Maxima sl transmission jerk when your shifting gears they replaced the transmission once after the car being new for 2 new years and now its doing the same problem.

- Montebello , CA, USA

problem #162

Oct 012010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
My 2005 Nissan Maxima started jerking about 2 and half months ago. It would start jerking after the car was driven for 15 minutes. Everytime it would reach up to 20mph or slow down to 20 mph my car would slightly jerk. I took it to my mechanic she said I needed to have the motor mount repaired which I did. It did not solve the problem. I went to another mechanic and they felt the jerk also. He said it was the transmission but it shouldn't do that with only 75,000 miles. The car jerks everytime it is driven some jerks are harder than others. I feel a car with only 75,000 should not have transmission problems.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #161

Jan 102011

Maxima 6-cyl

  • miles
Like all other I have a 2005 Nissan maxiam transmission when out got another did same so Nissan have a mayor proplem and nee D 2 fix it not hide it.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #160

Jun 172010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. transmission shifting rough 2. transmission slips out of gear while shifting from second & third. Happening everyday while driving. 3.contacted Nissan Corp. And they told me I need them to check the transmission, my auto repair person told me it needs to be replace.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #159

Nov 282010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that when he slowed down to make a turn the transmission downshifted abruptly. The failure mileage and current mileage was 66,000. Updated 3/8/11 the vehicle was inspected and it was determined and it was determined the valve body assembly needed to be replaced.

- Poway , CA, USA

problem #158

Jan 262010

Maxima

  • miles
My car jerked and jumped as all the other complaints. I have not trusted the Nissan dealership since the day I bought the car and it was not under warranty so I took to an outside transmission shop. I paid $3000 to have the transmission rebuilt. The technician as well as myself did a lot of research because they were having difficulty repairing. We found compliant after complaint. I will be searching and be added to every class action lawsuit I can find. My technician is will to fill in the gaps. It has taken 6 months and my car still is not operating perfectly. I will never buy another Nissan product. If you have any questions please contact me to hear all the details. I do not have enough room to explain in detail.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #157

Dec 282010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 65,700 miles
Our 2005 Nissan Maxima is jerking when moving from a complete stop. Transmission shifts out of gear and "clunks" back into gear with a screech of tires. I see where tons of complaints are being filed from other 2005 Maxima owners. Why are you folks doing nothing about this problem" my car had roughly $65,000 miles on it. Nissan needs to own up to this problem and fix it. This is clearly a defect. Why are you people ignoring this defect"

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #156

Dec 242010

Maxima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Nissan Maxima powertrain went out in 2007 and I replaced it and was told this is something that Nissan is aware but have not released a kit to fix it. It is Dec 26, 2010 and the replacement transmission went out Dec. 24, 2010. This car has had hard shifting and I have been told the mounts need to be replaced in response to the hard shifting just 3 weeks ago.! I am not fixing this car again. In 2007 I called Nissan and filed a complaint and nothing was done. The NHTSA has to get involved. The car stopped shifting while my little car was in the car with me on the road. We were almost slammed from behind but the driver behind me swerved in time. Please, please do make Nissan do something about this. I now have a 35,000 dollar piece of junk sitting in my driveway and I have to go purchase another car. I will be filing a suit!

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #155

Dec 162010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 139,015 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima and just like everyone else I am having transmission problems with this vehicle. It jolts hard when going from park to drive or if I reverse and go to drive. Also the cars gear slips between 2nd and 3rd gear. I think it's ridiculous the amount of people having this problem this a vehicle the same year and model and the complaints I have seen and no one is doing nothing about getting it fixed. There should be a recall!!! does someone have to get killed for the issue to be addressed??

- Collinsville, OK, USA

problem #154

Dec 092009

Maxima

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. While driving approximately 55 mph, the automatic transmission failed. The rpms suddenly increased rapidly when the contact shifted gears. The contact pulled over and turned the vehicle off; the transmission seemed to reset itself when the vehicle was restarted. The dealer stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer who referred him to the dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000 and the current mileage was approximately 115,000.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #153

Dec 062010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 77,435 miles
I filed a complaint about my 2005 Nissan Maxima #10357629 -9/25/10. The situation was the transmission and not mentioned the timing chain. The transmission shut down ; stopped ; failed ; ceased to function fri. Nov /12 /10 @ 5;00 pm during rush hour in the center of the busiest freeway in my area leaving me thankful to god and the riverside cty. Freeway service patrol with which I filled out a survey #217446 their # 951 369-3691. Accidents were behind me somewhere the two driver said I was fortunate to not suffer injury and damage. The Maxima cost of repair to Nissan's product is over $ $6,000. The Maxima has only 77,435 miles. These are electrical and mechanical defaults and there are scores of owners reporting similar to identical experiences about their Maxima cars from 2004 through 2007. I find it hard to believe that NHTSA haven't recognized this as a dangerous situation. Why don't the people that buy these products in good faith get the backing of the NHTSA. There are recalls on windshield wipers and small things like that- that anybody can replace within twenty dollars but this is a substantial problem, this is money for paying rent for months, this is the cost of surgery to keep a working person ambulatory, this is a call for help, a call to keep some of the profits of foreign corporations at home.this is when the force of the NHTSA's authority should seemingly come to the forefront demanding they stand behind their products as safe and trustworthy and certainly not a vehicle doing sixty miles an hour during rush hour coming to a dead stop with vehicles pealing to all sides in all directions desperately avoiding collisions and personal injury as well as injury to others and destruction of property. Here I was sitting there eyes shut tight waiting for the slam of some vehicle into mine that refused to budge. I felt like I was in the midst of committing suicide without being able to prevent it. Like a nightmare, some evil occurrence descending. Help!!!

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #152

Nov 012010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
2005 Maxima sl - 67,000 miles. Recent transmission problem - jerking when shifting gears after driving for a few miles. Took car to dealership for repair and was told I needed a new transmission.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #151

Nov 042010

Maxima

  • miles
My 2005 Maxima was violently jerking, stalling and hard shifting from 2nd to 3rd gears and vice versa. I kept telling Nissan that something was wrong with my transmission even though it's their job to tell me what's wrong with my car, but while my car was 500 miles short of the 60000 mile power train warranty expiration Nissan kept telling me that I needed a power flush, got that done it did make a huge difference for a couple weeks then the problem continued. Brought my car back to Nissan at 60100 miles and they gave me an estimated list of repairs that needed to be made for approximately $10,000 which included $4185 to replace the transmission. How is it that within a matter of weeks and only 600 miles that it goes from a power flush should fix the problem to you need a new transmission, new starter, etc. For a minute I thought I was being punked! I then contacted 1-800-nissan1 which was a waste of time they supposedly reviewed my complaint and told me that unfortunately they won't be paying for any of the repairs especially not the transmission because herb gordon Nissan had no knowledge that I've ever reported the transmission problem, but luckily for them I keep everything that pertains to my car, when I faxed all the diagnosis reports for the past 5 months to the regional specialist he told me that unfortunately the decision had been made not to pay for the repairs and that if I want to appeal the decision I should go through the better business bureau. Wtf"?? it tells a lot about the manufacture when they only have a 3 year or 36000 mile warranty with a 5 year or 60000 mile power train. Nissan is the absolute worst, will never buy another vehicle from them. Buyers beware if you want to throw away more money then your car is worth. Nissan is the way to go!!!! ??????????"

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #150

Aug 202010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I bought a 2005 Nissan Maxima 3.5 SE about 3 months ago. Well when I bought it I noticed the next day it was jerking tremendously so I called the dealer back and told him what was going on. Well he said take it to his mechanic and they would pay for it to be fixed. So I did as he said and took it to his mechanic. Well his mechanic said it was it was the rear motor mount and it had broke because of the shifting so hard and he fixed it. Well I thought that had fixed the problem..well 2 days later it was still doing the same ol' thing shifting real real hard between 1-2nd gear and then when your downshifting it jerks between 1-2nd gear. Well I called the mechanic back and he wasn't available and the guy said he would have him call back. Well, he never called back. And then after that it really never shifted hard. Well guess what..its back and its doing it worse than ever! so I did a little researching and come to find out there are thousands and thousands of complaints about this happening to so many people who own a 2004 up to a 2006 Nissan Maxima. And it is the transmission. Sometimes my car takes forever to shift and I am so scared to pull out on the freeway and it not go and then ill get hit and die. So I know it is in-fact a defected transmission because I owned a 2001 Nissan Maxima gle before I got this one and it never ever had problems at all. And I am so surprised Nissan hasn't recalled this because of the thousands of people complaining about the same thing with there 05 Maximas shifting hard when going to 1-2nd gear. And then downshifting. It is a very serious problem and someone will get hurt or killed because of this. I have printed off hundreds of complaints about this and I really need help along with the other thousands of people out there with the same car and same problems. All I want is my car fixed. This is not fair to us especially after we pay thousands of dollars for the vehicle and then have to turn around to buy a new transmission. Please help!

- Cedartown, GA, USA

problem #149

Nov 202010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima that jerks really hard when it shifts from 1st gear to 2nd gear.

- Zachary, LA, USA

problem #148

Nov 042010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 87,975 miles
My car would just start to jerk really hard once it was in 2nd gear and going into 3rd gear. It would start of by occurring every 3rd day, but it worsen so I had it taken into a mechanic to look into it; he couldn't find anything wrong. Car was running fine for about 2 weeks, then it began once again with the hard jerking as I was still in 1st gear it jerked into 2nd gear with a loud clunking sound at the end. This time I had took it to another mechanic in which he suggested to change the transmission oil in which he did. Once I got my vehicle back it ran fine for the first day, on the second day the problem had returned again and seems to just to get worse.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #147

Apr 142010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I purchased a 2005 Nissan Maxima brand new in January 2005. I had never driven the vehicle other than local to work. At 66000 miles my transmission began hard shifting. I contacted Nissan corporate office to authorize an out of warranty repair and they refused. It cost me $3200 to replace the transmission. Now I am having strange noises coming from the front end. I believe it is the suspension. This car has not lived up to my expectations and I hope someone will take into account the many complaints regarding this make and model car and make the consumers back whole. I will never purchase another Nissan product simply because the products are poorly manufactured and Nissan does not stand behind its product.

- Augusta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?