Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004-2006 Nissan Maxima has widespread transmission problems. It starts with the vehicle jerking when shifting, & progresses to full-blown transmission failure.

Maxima owners report spending $3,000 to replace the transmission, typically around when the odometer hits 100,000 miles.

There's a class action lawsuit filed in late 2011, & it is still in the "discovery" stage. Apparently, these things take time ... far too much time.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Maxima transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Oct 242010

Maxima

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission shifting real hard in 2006 Nissan Maxima.

- Oberlin, LA, USA

problem #46

Oct 202010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Our 2006 Maxima started having transmission problems at about 80,000 miles. When shifting from 1st to 2nd gear, there is a pause when trying to accelerate and then a violent jerk. This is a severe and dangerous problem. Nissan needs to be responsible for this fix.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #45

Oct 092010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
2006 Nissan Maxima with 79,000 miles starting to have major problems with the transmission. When accelerating, around 20-35 mpg, the engine revs high RPM and acceleration slows, and then suddenly jerks into the next gear, sometimes slightly lurching forward when this happens. When decelerating something similar happens, the car will rev high rpms and then bang or jerk into the next gear. It seems to be much worse when accelerating and appears that it is happening when changing from 2nd to 3rd gear. I have read many complaints online in official sites and user forum sites. This seems to be a widespread problem that is not being addressed by Nissan. In three days I am taking it to the dealer where I will have to pay $96 to have a diagnosis performed. Nissan should either recall vehicles with this transmission, or extend the power train warranty to cover repairs when more people start having this problem. When pulling out into traffic and losing acceleration, this could be an accident waiting to happen.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #44

Sep 012010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Nissan Maxima. I brought my car to the dealership because the car started shifting hard when going from first to second gear and 2nd to 3rd. It also has significant jerking when downshifting or trying to go to the next gear. The transmission slips as the engine RPM's rev as well. The car is bucking when I pull out onto a road and the gear feels like it's not catching so I'm afraid with that hesitation that someone will hit me from behind. A few times I felt like I had gotten whiplash it was jerking so badly. Also, driving in reverse or even braking (slowing down) the car jerks and sounds and feels as though I'm being hit from behind. The car is jerking when accelerating. The car stalls then surges forward.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #43

Oct 102010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Own a 2006 nissa Maxima. Serviced monthly and now beginning to have major, dangerous transmission problems. Hard, jerking transmission shifts while accelerating or slowing down. Took it in for repair and auto transmission shop could not get any reads on problem through diagnostics. I have been told Nissan dealership will replace transmission for est. $3500. This is a widespread problem with Maximas as I have seen many, many on-line complaints. It is a defect and should be recalled immediately. I will pursue to get this fixed by Nissan at no cost as it is a dangerous situation. The jerking does actually make people in the car have severe, quick unexpected body jerks. Please investigate. Thank you.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #42

Jul 122010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 75,052 miles
My 2006 Nissan Maxima transmission starts slipping around 75,000 miles. When driving and it is switching gears around 20-30 mph it starts to jerk really hard. And also does the same when slowing down.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #41

Sep 262010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A couple of weeks ago, I started to notice that my 2006 Maxima (75,000 miles) was shifting hard (jerking with a slight delay prior) in low gears, especially 1st to 2nd. The problem also occurred when putting the car into drive from reverse. It occurred approximately 75% of the time, but I couldn't find a definite pattern (car was cold or warm.) I took it to a mechanic who recommended the transmission be replaced and it is currently in the shop getting a new transmission. The mechanic told me that it's a faulty case bushing in the center support and even with a new transmission using the same faulty part, the problem will arise again. I contacted a local Nissan dealership and spoke to the service manager. He stated Nissan did extend a transmission warranty on some cars to 120,000, but mine was not part of that recall. If it's a product defect, no current remedy will permanently fix the problem.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #40

May 172010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
1.on May 17, 2010, I was involved in a car accident in my 2006 Nissan Maxima where someone had rear ended me very hard. After getting the car back from the body shop.I noticed that when shifting gears the car stalls and jerks violently. Also when driving the transmission starts to slip, meaning I am pressing the gas pedal but the car isn't going anywhere, then it kicks back in place causing the car to jerk extremely ruff. 2. this problem so vaden Nissan say that the transmission is going bad and the extended warranty that I have on the vehicle, basically the won't do anything until a service light or code shows up, which is absolutely crazy. It occurs every time I drive it. It seem to when the car warms up it begins to happen. 3. I have taken it to vaden Nissan four times within a 3 month period. First they topped of the transmission fluid, second time the replaced the motor mounts, third time they replaced the starter and the fourth time, the service advisor told me I had to keep driving it until a service light came on. 3.

- Savannah , GA, USA

problem #39

Jun 272009

Maxima

  • 100,000 miles
I purchased my 2006 Maxima in November 2007 and I had no problems in the beginning. Then while trying to put the car in drive it started hesitating. This lasted for a few moves, then I noticed the car jerking. At first I thought it was something I did, but it continued to do from time to time. I went and got my transmission flushed thinking that would solve the problem. The problem has gotten worst, not I have slow done in traffic if a car in front of me is turning and when I accelerate again it will do a heavy jerk. I have two other friends who have had the same problems. I took my car to the Nissan dealership and was told it was the transmission and it needed to be replaced. I told the dealer how is this so this is a Nissan. He explained that they all go bad like that. I told him that I also have a 1994 Nissan Altima with 300,00 miles on it and I have never had a problem with the transmission. This is a manufactures problems and the way the car jerks it may one day cause a serious accident. This is no way hundreds of people can have the same problems and it not become a manufacture problem.

- Brantley, AL, USA

problem #38

Sep 212010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 110,810 miles
I own a 2006 Nissan Maxima. I brought my car to the dealership because the car started shifting hard when going from first to second gear and 2nd to 3rd. It also has significant jerking when downshifting or trying to go to the next gear. The transmission slips as the engine RPM's rev as well. The dealership told me that my transmission fluid was a little dirty but they could not find anything wrong with my transmission. They did a transmission flush and it did not help at all. I brought the car back 3 weeks later because the service engine light came on. They now are saying I need a new transmission when just 3 weeks ago they said they couldn't find anything wrong. I said you how come you couldn't tell me that 3 weeks ago. Now my service engine light has gone off and I am still having the same issues. I cannot believe that there has not been a recall on the transmissions on this car. I went online to Consumer Affairs and there have been hundreds of customer complaints under Consumer Affairs. Why has there not been a recall" this is a safety hazard and someone is going to end up getting hurt. What is it going to take for the company to do a recall" I filed a complaint with Nissan Consumer Affairs. When they called me back they said that there is nothing they can do. They said it is up to NHTSA to issue a recall. I cannot believe that Nissan usa cannot to anything to help the customers. Please take a few minutes and sign on to Consumer Affairs and see how many customers have filed complaints regarding the transmissions in the 2006 Nissan Maximas. Every single one of them are having the same exact problem as I am. There is definitely something faulty with the transmissions. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lunenburg, MA, USA

problem #37

Sep 042010

Maxima

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Maxima. The contact was driving 30 mph when the vehicle began jerking abnormally with the illumination of the check engine warning light. The vehicle stalled within seconds. In addition, when shifting into reverse, the vehicle would exhibit the same failure. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and it was taken to a local repair facility for diagnostic testing. The mechanic discovered that the transmission was defective. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer where the dealer advised replacing the transmission. The manufacturer was contacted but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the dealer advised that transmission failures were common in his year, make and model. The failure mileage was 99,000.

- Washington Dc, DC, USA

problem #36

Dec 172009

Maxima

  • miles
I was driving in stop and go traffic. I was at a stop. As traffic began to move again my car jerked and sped up fast could not stop with breaks hit car in front of me. My car jerks every time transmission gets hot. Notified Nissan Consumer Affairs, was told that there were not enough complaints to say that something was wrong with the transmission in the 2006 Maximas. So nothing was done. I've taken my car to 2 different transmission shops they say that every Maxima 2006 they looked at is having same problem.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #35

May 152010

Maxima

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Maxima.the contact was driving 15 mph when he noticed a hesitation and a violate jerk when attempting to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer four times with concerns of the failure but the dealer was unable to duplicate or locate a failure within the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 91,000.

- Greensboro, AL, USA

problem #34

Aug 172010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Maxima. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph when the vehicle shifted first to second gear with an abnormally violent jerk. The failure continued to recur intermittently while shifting from first and second gear. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the transmission fluid was flushed. The failure continued to recur intermittently and the service engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer where they were in the process of diagnosing the failure. The failure mileage was 79,000 and the current mileage was 85,000. Updated 12/21/10. Updated 12/29/10 updated 01/06/11 updated 01/14/11 the consumer wanted to know if the information she faxed was received. Updated 01/24/11 updated 04/20/11

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #33

Sep 162010

Maxima

  • 78,000 miles
I recently purchased a used 2006 Nissan Maxima with 78K miles. Car has been beautifully maintained but almost immediately began noticing hard shifting from 1st to 2nd gear and 2nd to 3rd and even significant jerking when downshifting. Tranny slips as engine RPM's rev as well. This car is a safety hazard as it can not be counted on to deliver power or speed to the wheels when needed and will definitely be a safety hazard when in wet or icy conditions due to transmission issues. I have researched this issue and discovered many other owners are experiencing the same issue. I find it hard to believe that there has been no recall by Nissan as this is most certainly a serious safety issue that will eventually claim innocent lives.

- Sherwood, AR, USA

problem #32

Sep 022010

Maxima

  • 63,000 miles
2006 Nissan Maxima with transmission problems. 1 to 2 gear and 2 to 3 gear shifts abruptly, slips, jerks, on both upshifts and downshifts. Transmission bangs from 1st to 2nd and the car hesitates off the line. Off the line, the car revs freely before it's able to catch a gear you get a whiplash sensation between shifts. Coming to a stop at a signal the 3rd to 2nd and 2nd to 1st gear downshifts are extremely harsh accompanied by a loud bang. When shifting from R to D, there is a few seconds delay before the transmission goes into gear with a loud bang. This all happens when the car is warmed up with at least 15-20min. Driving time.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #31

Aug 262010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
2006 Maxima with approx. 68K miles. Car started to jerk and make a loud noise when shifting from drive to reverse and reverse to drive. Car began to stall and surge forward. Car now jerks on many gears and gets stuck on some. I stopped driving it when the RPM's shot up and the car took a while to kick into gear while driving home from a game. 1 week later I hesitantly decide to take it to a mechanic who says that he has noticed this transmission issue on a lot of 04 and 06 Maximas. The part itself needed to be bought from Nissan and cost $1,000. Please investigate this defect so that it can become a recall.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 182010

Maxima

  • 80,754 miles
2006 regularly maintained Nissan Maxima with a little under 81K miles started jerking and making a loud noise when shifting from drive to reverse and reverse to drive. Shortly after noticed that when accelerating car hesitates then surges forward. This happened once or twice a week, within 2 weeks started to occur more frequently and now whenever car shifts 1st to 2nd gear and vice versa. Took car to mechanic who advised transmission is deteriorating and needs to be rebuilt. According to mechanic and internet, this is a common malfunction with Nissan transmissions.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #29

Aug 052010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Purchased 2006 Maxima from Alabama Nissan dealership in 2008. Well maintained. Current oil changes, tire rotations and changes, always used premium fuel. Ran great. Until!!!!!!! in 2010 noticed I could feel gears shifting. Took it to mechanic and he advised me that there should be a recall on this particular year due to transmission failure and that is extremely dangerous. Now 8/2010 it shifts hard from 1st to second and back from second to first. This makes acceleration and deceleration extremely unsafe. Surprised to see so many complaints similar to mine and Nissan not fixing it. Car only has 75,000 miles and it is unsafe to drive.. I am a single mom and always have children in my vehicle. I am contacting an attorney and taking the car to the dealership where I bought it and if no recourse I pray no one gets hurt.. including me cause I can see what happened with Toyota and I really would hate for it to happen with Nissan.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #28

Oct 012009

Maxima

  • 60,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Nissan Maxima as a brand new vehicle. Recently, it started having some problems (at approximately 60,000 miles). When I change gears from park to reverse, from reverse to drive, or when accelerating from 1st gear to 2nd gear there is a hard jerking. Sometimes it will take a few seconds to change gears and my RPM's go up. It has died on me at a stop light. I took the car in for a diagnosis, and they said I needed a transmission flush. I had the flush done, and the problem was still present. The problem has become worse. I have read about the exact same problem on numerous websites. I have spent countless hours researching this problem, and have come up with the same conclusion...I am not the only one with this problem!!!! please, let's work on getting a recall into effect from Nissan. It's only right!

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?