Print this page
2013 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems: excessive oil consumption

Excessive Oil Consumption

2013 Chevrolet Equinox (Page 1 of 4)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chevrolet dealer.

8.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,020
Average Mileage:
69,450 miles
Total Complaints:
76 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (52 reports)
  2. replace rings and pistons (15 reports)
  3. replace intake and output solenoids (4 reports)
  4. replace engine (3 reports)
  5. intake manifold and crankshaft seal replaced (1 reports)
  6. replace rear main seal, exhaust manifold, & o2 sensor (1 reports)
2013 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #76

Feb 182019

Equinox LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,693 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I been having a problem with my oil in my car, ever time I turn around, I have to change my oil, and this was becoming expensive. About a year of going through this, I received a letter from General Motors, telling me that my car may be exhibit excessive engine oil consumption less than 2,000 miles per quart, due to piston ring wear. So I took my car to the dealer, and was told that, my car was over the 120,000 miles and they not going to fix it. I need to know how many people are having this same problem, and do anyone know how long this problem existed. I need help I don't think that it's fair that it's their fault that they put a defeated part in my car, and telling me that I have to fix it, this is crazy.

- Beverly Q., Fort Washington, US

problem #75

Feb 152015

Equinox LT Ecotec 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

This has been an ongoing issue since we purchased this vehicle. It has never gone away. We have had it serviced multiple times. Has cost quite a bit of money.

- Teresa F., Champaign, IL, US

problem #74

Jan 282020

Equinox LT 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

Consumes oil like crazy! I had to change the oil every 2,500 miles. Not to mention the check oil light never worked! It would make a knocking/ticking noise and that's when I knew I had to add more oil. Awful SUV.

- Jordan G., Omaha, US

problem #73

Mar 252020

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,575 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought this car in January 2020 and after a couple of months I noticed it revving while idle so first thing I check is the oil which turns out to be just about empty. I'd driven less than 3,000km and it had an oil change done just at purchase. Unfortunately due to Covid-19 my dealer and mechanic were closed. I learned of the issue and special coverage for this issue and took it to a local GM dealer who had me pay almost $80 for an oil change and said I would have to bring it back to have the level checked. They also informed me that I'd have to pay for any repairs as the special coverage expired for my vehicle on January 22, 2020 - two months earlier. I talked to GM directly and they refused to cover the repairs if needed even though I was only 2 months out. This was disgusting customer service. This is my first GM and after this I don't know if I'll get another. My used car dealer us supposed to be taking care of this for me thankfully.

- Dawn M., Kitchener, ON, Canada

problem #72

Oct 102018

Equinox LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

Why hasn't General Motors responded to the excessive oil consumption complaint for the 2013 Equinox? Man up Chevrolet, I'm done with your product. Have had 2 of these SUV's and will not buy another one. Not a reliable vehicle - I'd be ashamed to put this product on the market. I cringe when I see a commercial on TV for the Equinox.

- Karen B., Liberty, KY, US

problem #71

May 012019

Equinox LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

This has truly been the most annoying and scary problem! I'm constantly having to add oil, approx 4-6 quarts per month. Yes, I do have regular oil changes performed by a mechanic. Constantly have to restock the 4-6 quarts of oil that I keep as "spares just in case" in the back of my Equinox. The engine light would come on, act like it wants to stall out, totally freaking me out! Knowing how important proper oil level is, I always check that first. ALWAYS, the oil is extremely low, sometimes not even showing up on the dipstick and I just added oil less than a week ago! So, I add more oil, time and time again. Sometimes 1 quart, sometimes, 1, 3, 4 quarts! Its ridiculous! Constantly checking under my vehicle to see if any has leaked all over the ground. Never a drop, it just keeps burning it. I have taken it to a mechanic at least 3 separate times to hear, I don't see any oil leak, it has to be using the oil. Well, thanks Einstein! As a single mom, I have enough to worry about without having to worry about my engine blowing up every time I have to drive somewhere. It's stressful and has me paranoid to drive long distances because I'm paranoid I'm going to get stranded on the side of the road with a blown up engine and no money to pay for a new one! I definitely expected much more quality out of Chevy/GM. And then to find out that they hid the problem! I'm beyond mad and will never look at Chevy/GM as a reliable, trusted vehicle if they don't get this fixed. Just disgusted....

- Jill B., Saint George, SC, US

problem #70

Dec 022016

Equinox LTZ 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wish we hadn't bough this car!! I got a 2013 equinox LTZ with a huge oil consumption. I don't qualify for the recall due to high mileage now. My car gets an oil change every month and I add 1 qrt per week. Where does the oil goes?? The dip stick is always dry. My car is commuter 80 miles in, 80 miles out and I'm surprised it has not broken down. Just the fact that the oil vanishes fast is what bums me out. I had a huge leak under the car oil all over the frame and pulleys. I went and changed the crank shaft o ring seal and fixed the leak, but it turns out that seal keeps breaking, so I had to change it 3 months later and now again I will change it because I see oil leak again. I can hear the engine bone dry on oil all the time..no engine light whatsoever though!!!?? wtf is wrong with this car?? No more Eco Chevy for me!!

- Uriel H., Stockton, US

problem #69

Nov 152015

Equinox LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

I’ve had my 2013 Chevrolet Equinox since 2015. I’ve had pistons replaced, oil leak “repaired”, and now my engine. It’s been issues after issue since I’ve gotten this car and the dealership says there’s nothing they can do. I have to put oil in my car every 3 weeks. I’ve been stranded with my kids and I’ve had to miss work due to my car constantly having issues and being in the shop. You pay good money for a lemon and no help. The dealership didn’t even tell me about recalls and I’m at the dealership ever other month. I happened to check online. Smh. No more Chevy or GM period for me.

- Serita H., Decatur, US

problem #68

Jan 312019

Equinox LT 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

On 1/31/2019 I was pulling in my driveway when my car stalled. No check engine lights or anything came on. It started right back up, I finished pulling in my driveway and it stalled again. Started up again and engine was making a knocking noise. Immediately shut car off. When inspecting the car, the whole underneath of my car was covered in oil and oil was dripping out from under the engine. Had car towed to dealership. Was told the PCV unit had become "junked up" causing it to put out too much pressure which caused the rear main seal to blow out and crack the exhaust manifold, and that it messed up an oxygen sensor. Well the warranty on my vehicle had run out in 8/2018, so my out of pocket expense was $2,612. I did much research on this and it is a common problem!!!! How is this not a recall issue???? 2 weeks after getting my car back my radio quit working....that's another $1200 expense!!!! Also a common problem!!!

- Stephanie W., Elizabeth, WV, US

problem #67

May 012017

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Problem started 2 years ago! I thought my 2013 Equinox was leaking because their was no blue smoke or burning oil smell. I had 3 different shops tell me that they found no leak. IMPOSSIBLE I said! With as much oil I was adding, it had to be leaking!! I am adding at least a quart every 2 weeks.! This is ridiculous!!! This was my first new car and I can't believe GM would be as snaky as they are!! This is a HUGE and EXPENSIVE issue!!

- Jason H., Maple, WI, US

problem #66

Feb 012019

Equinox LX 4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I OWE $10,000 ON THIS CAR AND I NEED CHEVY TO FIX IT! IT IS BURNING OIL LIKE CRAZY

The Chevrolet Equinox Ecotec engine lawsuit was filed in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida - Ellen Berman and Dayana Guach, et al., v. General Motors LLC.

The plaintiffs are represented by Ahdoot & Wolfson, P.C., Greg Coleman Law, and Whitfield, Bryson & Mason LLP.

Chevy Equinox oil consumption complaints:

- Joyce C., Canton, US

problem #65

May 102019

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

I have a 2013 Chevy Equinox. I just paid $2600.00 in January because the engine light came on and they supposedly fixed the problem. Yesterday the engine light came on again (camshaft sensor). I took it to the same dealer (Christensen Chevy in Highland Indiana) again. Now they tell me it is going to be $3500.00 to fix the problem. They said it is using excessive oil and I need my pistons and rings changed. This problem should have been fixed in January. Now I am reading that they are supposed to tell me to do an oil consumption test. I was never told this by them. I am reading about it now. I believe Chevy should recall these engines and fix them properly. I am reading now that this was a known problem by Chevy and they do not care. I will be willing to join ANY lawsuit case that comes along about this problem. I need a car now and I cannot pay $3600.00 after already paying $2600.00 four months ago. Believe me Chevy will never get my business again. I still need this problem fixed.

- Joyce W., Merrillville, US

problem #64

Jun 012018

Equinox LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles

I bought this car 2016 and started having problem with oil consumption first year I owned it. I took it in for oil change and I was completely out of oil. The dealer, Neil Huffman Chev, in Frankfort KY told there was an oil consumption issue with the Equinox and I had to do an oil consumption test every 500 miles for 5,000 miles. We did this at end they called GM and were advised they wouldn't do anything it hadn't lost enough oil.

Bought in again down the road for oil change and it was out of oil again so they told me do the oil consumption test again. WELL guess what. I had check engine light come on after having it show oil loss every 500 miles and dealer is now telling no idea why someone had me do this test as this vehicle isn't included in oil consumption problem.

Now they tell me I need timing chain, piston rings etc a new engine!! I owe 8,000 more than the car is worth and have no money to buy a new engine so I am screwed. I bought extended warranty as it had 70k miles when I bought and ext warranty goes to $100k apparently..HERE IS THE RUB...if they had dealt with this the first time we saw it was running out of oil which was over 10,000 miles ago I would've been on my extended warranty!!

It hurts..the dealer screed up and GM sucks

- Sheila E., Frankfort, KY, US

problem #63

Jan 262018

Equinox LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

Purchased this 2013 Equinox used January 2018 90K miles when bought. 2 weeks after purchase on a trip from VA to PA - on the highway and all the sudden the car shuts off, dashboard flashing all lights- engine power reduced. 70 mph to 0 in 1 second. Thank the heavens that I was able to get the car off the road to the shoulder before getting slammed in the rear. I cut the car off checked the water and oil and there was no oil showing on the dipstick. I had just had the oil change 2 days before the trip $80 (oil change). Called triple A and they towed me to the nearest repair shop.

The repair shop said it was nothing wrong just ran it low on oil- BULLSHIT! Added 4 quarts of oil to the car and then tried to start the car and it was buck jumping and rocking back and forth, cut the car off tried to start again and same issue. After sitting for 3 hours (car still won't start)

on the 5th hour of sitting the car finally started. I was able to make it home.

- Jennifer R., Scottsville, US

problem #62

Dec 212018

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

Equinox began jerking when stalled. It shook violently. I took it in. I was told I was out of oil. The Check Engine light never came on. I was not due for an oil change. Tire place said it burns oil. They charged me for an oil change. One month later same issue.

I take it into the dealership. I am a few months over on the power train warranty. They charge me $400 to clean engine and add oil then tell me the fix is to pay $3500 for new pistons/rings among other things. As I am waiting to get my vehicle a lady with another 2013 Equinox tells me that she has the same problem. She brings her Equinox to the dealership every 1000 miles. They fill up her oil at no charge. I think ask Service Advisor if this is a common problem and he says yes, but not a major problem because their is no recall. I ask WHY IS THERE NO RECALL??????? A $3500 repair is not major?????

I am very upset now. Still paying on this darn lemon. Chevrolet likes to advertise that they are the most reliable. LOL. That JD Power study rates vehicles after 90 days. That means nothing. I want a vehicle that lasts. Who do I contact to complain?

- Tre B., Warren, MI, US

problem #61

Jan 302019

Equinox LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Not knowing about the excessive oil consumption prior to the incident and not doing enough research before buying. I am very disappointed in this issue since the part itself is less than $30.00 but the deal was wanting $4,000.00 to fix, ridiculous. Never had bought the extended warranty before, thank goodness I was talked into purchasing this time and the repairs will cost me $200.00. However, I have been told that this problem could occur again next winter. There is no way I would be able to afford this problem again, let alone the inconvenience this has caused. I don't understand why there hasn't been a recall on this problem Chevrolet is having. How do I get on the class action lawsuit?

- Lisa B., Barnhart, US

problem #60

Aug 052017

Equinox LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

Add us to the list! 2013 Chevy Equinox 2.4L burning through a quart of oil every 1,000 miles! Purchased used from a Chevy dealer in May 2017 with around 60K mi, oil changes every 5,000 mi. Didn't notice a problem until August 2018 when we noticed the vehicle running really rough and noisily. We were stunned to find it needed 5 quarts of oil!

Long story, we did the oil consumption test 3 times with the dealer before they acknowledged it has a problem. It's going back in to the dealer for them to look further into it. I'm definitely not encouraged by the complaints I'm reading here about GM refusing to fix the issue despite having known about this issue since the 2010 model year. I'm going to try and find out the status of a lawsuit filed last February for this exact problem.

https://www.carcomplaints.com/news/2018/chevy-equinox-oil-consumption-lawsuit.shtml

- Shopper J., Concord, NH, US

problem #59

Nov 052018

Equinox Limited 2.4L, V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

I have had to add at least 3 quarts of Mobil Oil1 in between the last two oil changes.

- Chris H., Bloomington, IN, US

problem #58

Aug 012016

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Had to check and add oil several times a month in addition to regular oil changes. Couldn't figure out the problem but it went through a lot of oil.

- Jenn C., Shipman, VA, US

problem #57

Jan 262019

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

Bought Equinox new in 2013, had it serviced regularly, oil changed every 3000 mile, driven by my wife. Paid off November 2018. Car started sputtering on a trip and broke down along side the road with 76000 miles on it. Towed to a Chevy dealer, dealer said engine needed replaced, cause low oil, contacted Chevy customer service, a week later they got back to me. They offered to cover 30% of the dealer estimate of $7200, but the dealer had to use a new Chevy engine, which is apparently $2500 more than a 3rd party engine. So disappointed Chevy knew this was an issue and chose not to contact owners. Long story short, if you have GM stock, sell now, because no one in my family will ever purchase a GM product again and from reading the complaints, that's the going theme.

- Nelson E., Penn Yan, US

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?