ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler 200 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #114

Apr 202018

200

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had safety recall on active head restraints, I received a notice and I proceed to take my car to my closest dealership, they told me the tipm was reprogram, new orc module was installed and S61 occupant restraint controlled recall. They told me my car was ready to pick up. But I still have the same problem. I asked why my airbag light was on and they stated my car can be check again but they are going to charge me 125 dlls only for the diagnosis, parts and labor will be charge separately, I cannot pay for that, and I am worried about the safety of me and my family. Would you please help me.give me any options. At the time of this happen my car was park in my house. The next day when I was ready to go to work the airbag light turn on.please help me. Thank you

- Eagle Pass, TX, USA

problem #113

Aug 142017

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called a local dealer (carl burger Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram world (8355 hercules St, la mesa, ca 91942) and was informed that the part to do the repair was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #112

May 162017

200

  • 8,000 miles
This car has a air bag sign in dasboard. 7-8 months ago there was a air bag recall for this car but the Agency said it was for different part recall which means this car still has an airbag sign in dashboard. I am not sure when did the sign appear first time. One day I started this car and their was an airbag sign and it never disappear after that.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #111

Sep 132016

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags) and 17V640000 (air bags, seats); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (oliver C joseph Chrysler Dodge Jeep, 3795 il-15, belleville, il 62226) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #110

Dec 052017

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags); however, the parts to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Sunset Dodge-Chrysler-Jeep-Ram (7745 South tamiami trail, sarasota, fl 34231-6841, 941-922-2400) was contacted several times and informed him that they only received two replacement parts per month. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #109

Sep 292017

200

  • 80,566 miles
The contact owned a 2012 Chrysler 200. While the contact's granddaughter was driving 10 mph and making a left turn, another vehicle crashed into the front passenger side. The air bags failed to deploy and the driver side seat belt failed to restrain the driver, which caused her head to hit the steering wheel. The driver sustained bruising to the forehead, but medical attention was not required. The front seat passenger was uninjured. A police report was filed. The vehicle was driven to a local auto body shop where it was deemed a total loss. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (air bags, seat belts) several months prior to the failure. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified as the recall notice stated that owners would receive a second notice when remedy parts become available. The failure mileage was 80,566.

- Mason City, IL, USA

problem #108

Oct 012017

200

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2012 Chrysler 200. While the contact's partner was driving 25 mph, the driver crashed into a wall to prevent rear ending another vehicle. The driver sustained injuries to the back and neck, which required medical attention. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed from the scene and confirmed destroyed. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags), but the vehicle had not been serviced. The approximate failure mileage was 147,000....updated 10/17/17

- Pequannock, NJ, USA

problem #107

Apr 252017

200 6-cyl

  • 115,486 miles
Takata recall unknown my car stalled out on the side of the road and I left it there to be picked up by my mechanic the next morning. I found out the next day that my car had been crashed and I went to the tow yard where the vehicle had been taken to retrieve my personal items from the vehicle and noticed that my airbags did not deploy. My car has been considered a total loss by geico car insurance. Geico claim number [xxx]. I still have my title, it is a rebuilt one. Geico has been taking their sweet time to reimburse me for my vehicle. The actual accident occurred on April 25th, 2017. The police report is inaccurate. Today is August 30th, 2017 and I'm still waiting on a check. The tow yard has apparently become the lienholder so I've been told and geico has to pay them off before they can pay me? I don't know it's crazy. There would be no lien if geico had handled this in a timely manner. I have had to come out of pocket to purchase a cheap car in the meantime while I wait. I have just recently received emails from carfax saying that my car may be at risk of being recalled so I put in my VIN number ([xxx]) and it says that my Chrysler 200 2012 is a S61. However, I was aware the passenger seatbelts were locked but I was still able to wrap the driver's belt around me. Furthermore, I've had numerous headlight issues in both headlights and the ac eventually stopped working. There was also a check engine light on that could not be turned off. I spoke with Chrysler and they told me nothing can be done as far as reimbursement at this point because I have no possession of the vehicle. However, the title is still in my name and the possession issue is geico's fault. I am looking for some type of justice in this situation it could have been me in the crash. I am [xxx] and it says under federal law that my vehicle can be replaced. #16V-668 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #106

Jan 072015

200

  • 64,000 miles
The contact's spouse owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. While the contact's spouse was driving 45 mph, her vehicle was cut off by another vehicle and crashed into a wall. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the C3/C4 cervical vertebrae and a laceration to the knee, which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent facility. The vehicle was repaired; however, the contact was concerned that the air bags were never replaced. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags). A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #105

Sep 192016

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer Dodge, Jeep, Chrysler of winter haven, Florida was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lake Albert, FL, USA

problem #104

Feb 112017

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter back in January that a vehicle I own has a safety recall of "loss of airbag and seat belt pretensioner deployment capability during a crash. I emailed them back in February and was told I needed to wait they would get back to me as soon as possible, I emailed again in April was told the same thing it is now August. My son drives this car, would they be so laid back if it was one of their family members ? I would appreciate it, if you could tell me how I can take this further. Thank you

- Amityville, NY, USA

problem #103

Sep 012016

200

  • miles
Recall date was September of 2016 and almost a year later the parts still have not be released to dealers to fix this issue. This seems like an excessive amount of time to wait for such an important recall issue

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #102

Aug 072017

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The local dealer and manufacturer were not contacted. The contact stated that he was informed a year ago that he would be contacted when parts became available and that owners would receive a second notice in August 20017 when remedy parts became available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Whitinsville, MA, USA

problem #101

Sep 302016

200

  • 90,987 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the air bag indicator illuminated. The local dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,987.....updated 11/16/17

- Sumpter, SC, USA

problem #100

Nov 122016

200 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The lake shore dealer was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/07/17

- Martin Shores, MI, USA

problem #99

May 312016

200

  • miles
The light of the air bigs is always light on when driving. I never had accident.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #98

Sep 132016

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was contacted by email at recall@mopar.com and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #97

Sep 262016

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (East hartford Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge of hartford, Connecticut) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts would be available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #96

Jul 102017

200

  • 47,206 miles
Recall was issued in September 2016, for; "vehicles may experience loss of air bag and seat belt pretensioner deployment capability in certain crash events due to a shorting condition resulting in a negative voltage transient that travels to the occupant restraint controller via the front impact sensor wires." It is now July 2017, without an estimated repair time nor when or how the situation could be fixed.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #95

Sep 132016

200

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer (eide Chrysler, 1112 Missouri ave, bismarck, nd 58504, (701) 223-1170) did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bismarck, NV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?