CarComplaints.com Notes: It's rare when a newer vehicle has defect trends. Judging from the identical 2017 model year, the 2018 Honda CR-V is likely to have at least two — overfilled oil levels with a gas smell, & heat not working.

Both problems affecting the Honda CR-V's 1.5L "Earth Dreams" engine appear to be related to cold-climate regions.

CR-V owners report overfilled oil levels due to fuel in the oil, & sometimes a gas smell in the cabin. That problem appears to be related to fuel injection which Honda hopes to fix via a software update. Honda so far has only conducted a recall in China & a "product update" in Canada.

CR-V owners also report no heat even after warming up their CR-Vs for 30 minutes — not even enough to defrost the windshield. So far, there has been no fix from Honda for this issue.

8.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
3,350 miles
Total Complaints:
9 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (8 reports)
  2. honda says won't fix the problem(s) (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2018 Honda CR-V fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2018 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #9

Dec 172018

CR-V EX 1.5L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,588 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2018 Honda CR-V definitely has a oil dilution problem. Bought the car in August 2018 . I checked the oil regularly and noticed that the oil was getting more and more dirty at a faster rate then expected. By December 2018 I brought the car to the Honda dealership for its first oil change. By then the oil was getting pretty dark on the dipstick and only had 2588 miles on the odometer, didn’t know if this was normal or not.

Talked to the customer service people and they assured me all was normal and not to worry., also the oil reminder showed 70 percent left.. after I kept checking the oil regularly and as before the oil got more and more dirtier and by May with the oil reminder showing 60 percent left and smelling gas on the dipstick I change the oil myself and with only 5341 on the odometer. I'm saving the oil in a clean unused container, the smell of gas is very powerful. Also have sent a sample to a lab in Ft. Wayne, In for analysis.

With fuel mixed with the oil I would think this would have some effect on the viscosity of the oil so the engine isn’t getting the protection it’s supposed to get.

- William K., Lancaster, US

problem #8

Dec 072018

CR-V EX

  • CVT transmission
  • 3,800 miles

Mileage 3833- Noticed a gas smell in the car and when finished driving and parked. Contacted dealer and had oil changed and was informed that other complaints had been received and that parts were on order for a product update. After 300 miles of driving ( fully warmed up and over 30 mile trips), the gas in oil smell still occurred. In January we received a notice from Honda that the product update recall was available for our CRV-EX and to make an appointment. Called the dealer and appointment time was 3-4 weeks out, . Scheduled appointment for the earliest we could get in on which was February 12, 2019.

Mileage 5119- We brought the car in on that date and Honda Product Update 18-114 was done where the oil was changed, PGM and TCM updated, the A/C control unit replaced and the Throttle Position reset and PCM learn procedure reset.

Driving method- Warm up less that 1 minute, longer trips on highway over 30 miles, no long idling, auto start never used.

After about 300 miles the gas smell returned and the oil dipstick level was increasing and smelled of gas. Compared the smell to a 2018 Subaru with the same driving conditions and mileage on the oil change and it had no gas smell on the oil dipstick. Called the dealer and they were in agreement that they were still having complaints after the so called product update 18-114 and would work on their end. They said to try calling Honda at 800-999-1009 and discuss the problem.

February 25, 2019 checked the oil dipstick and it smelled of gas and was above the upper fill line and dirty.

March 2, 2019- Checked oil and it was over the dipstick high mark and smelled of gas. Called Honda and they were very receptive, discussed and documented all the issues and past dealer visits and made a case number to follow up on. Honda said to go back to the dealer and have another diagnostic performed and call Honda back with the results. Called dealer and made an appointment(will update when finished with the appointment).

- danesky, Ham Lake, US

problem #7

Dec 062018

CR-V EXL 1.5L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32 miles

click to see larger images

fuel in oil fuel in oil

I purchased my Honda CRV EX L on Dec 6, 2018. A week later I found out about the oil dilution problem. I took it to the dealership the next day and the Sales Manager confirmed a pungent smell of gas in the oil. Whether he was telling me the truth that he was unaware of this problem being worldwide, is not known. But, I made him fully aware with printed documentation that Honda Canada is fully aware of this disgusting oil dilution problem along with other noted problems this overrated SUV has.

I have since written to American Honda as well as NHTSA, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety,Consumers for Auto Reliability and Safety, Center for Auto Safety and the Governor of Maryland. I, too received a call from Honda today saying they would not fix the problem. With their apathetic attitudes, the only thing they care about is keeping their job while I am paying their salaries. Well, they don't know who they are dealing with. When I am done, American Honda will have wished they had taken a different position because this woman is about to take action in a big way and Honda eventually will no longer have the reputation they've once enjoyed for so many years while consumers like myself who pay top dollar for their overpriced cars get taken advantage of and ripped off.

There are too many people who have complained about this oil dilution problem and other notable issues as well as valuable information online that supports the evidence pointing right back to the manufacture. This is the beginning of the end for Honda as far as I am concerned.

- e,,7906, Baltimore, US

problem #6

Dec 062018

CR-V EXL 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 32 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

fuel in oil

What a full blown MF-ing bad nightmare. We just purchased A 2018 CRV-EX two months ago and a week after our purchase learned from online sites that gas is getting into the oil. HAPPY HAPPY JOY JOY! After putting $3,000.00 down and financing $24,000.00. THIS IS AN M F ing DISGRACEFUL RIP OFF WE GOT INTO, would have been nice to have known of this BEFORE WE BENT FORWARD. Even the dealership in Hunt Valley, Maryland didn't know of this F ing mess. She took the new piece of "manure" back to the Honda dealership and had the sales manager take a whiff of the oil under the filler cap. He just stood there and said yes, there is a strong smell of gas in your oil. Another HAPPY HAPPY JOY JOY moment short lived when we found out there is NO RECALL ON THIS CRV EX in the state Maryland. But, there are many other states that do have recalls.

Finally, my better half has sent certified letters to the NHTSA, center for auto safety, customers for auto reliability, advocates for highway and auto safety, center for auto safety, Honda motor JOKE of America and one goes out this week to the State of Maryland Governors office.

WE THE PEOPLE HAVE BEEN F ing RIPPED OFF, LIED TO and F ing PILFERED again and again and AGAIN AND IT SUCKS.

- ercommunications, Baltimore, US

problem #5

Dec 212018

CR-V EX-L 1.5L Turbo Charged

  • CVT transmission
  • 4,500 miles

click to see larger images

fuel in oil

When I noticed the heater/defroster not working, I also saw the complaint of gas smell on the dipstick so I checked. I have 4,500 miles on the car not quite ready for an oil change. I definitely smell gas in the oil.

I called McLarty Honda of Little Rock and told the service department of the issue and they informed me it's normal to smell gas in the oil in a new vehicle. I disagreed with him and proceeded to tell him I knew there was an issue with 2017's and that this vehicle must have the same issue. He told me there was no issue or recall on my vin#. I'm so sick of these guys thinking consumers are stupid and don't research these things. Of course there is nothing I can do if Honda does nothing to rectify this problem! So they changed the oil ....oh my gosh, so now I will check the freaking oil every week until I smell gas in it again and once again return to the dealership with the same issue.

I have driven Hondas all my life and never had these kinds of issues! I don't understand how Honda can roll out 2018's with the same engine issue as 2017's! I called American Honda to let them know of the issues and they told me the oil change was all they could do ...there is an issue but no fix so no solution to my problem. WTF I'm supposed to drive my new $30,000 vehicle and add excessive wear/tear on the engine because you won't fix it!!! I'm pissed last Honda I'll buy! I've started a complaint with Arkansas Attorney General....Lemon Law maybe...

Update from Feb 6, 2019: I returned to the dealership with only 500 miles on an oil change because I noticed how high it was on the dipstick. They took a sample and sent to blackstone lab. The results show 2.5 % more than normal . I sent the information to dealership and called Honda America . Honda told me there was an issue with the vehicle and the engineers are working on a fix but in the meantime continue to drive to vehicle! They told me to contact my dealer if. Was concerned with driving the vehicle with fuel in the oil and so I did call the dealership. The dealership played me the 1 minute video of how oil dilution is normal for this car. There is nothing they will do. So American Honda tells me there is an issue and the dealership tells me it’s normal . I have no recourse but try a lemon law. I’m so furious!!!

- Rhonda F., Little Rock, AR, US

problem #4

Oct 012018

CR-V EX-L 1.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

Smelled gas in the cabin, checked the engine oil level and it was over the high mark. Brought into dealer, they acknowledged the problem of oil/gas dilution due to the bad engine design, but only temporary fix was an oil change, which they did. Waiting for a "permanent" fix from Honda. The car was driven for 25 miles each way, so it was not just short trips that caused the issue. Honda needs to stop blaming consumers for their sh*tty engine. I will never buy another Honda again, screw you Honda.

Update from Feb 11, 2019: The dealer applied the fix per the TSB but my oil is still being diluted. They advised to come back in 1000 miles to check the oil level again. Not sure what they plan to do next. This nightmare is getting worse.

- Nhat N., Chicago, US

problem #3

Nov 252018

CR-V EX 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 2,984 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

fuel in oil

I purchased this CRV a little over 3 months ago; so happy about my first Honda! Then I read a lot of complaints about its fuel in oil problem. I rushed to check mine, hoping I could be spared. No such thing! The oil level is obviously above the maximum, and the smell is awful gas smell. Previously I sensed such smell now and then and didn't think it was a big problem and the engine could be harmed. Now I am waiting for any fix coming from Honda. Or I will have to sell this car and call it my first and last Honda ever. Extremely disappointed.

- Vivian Y., Lynnwood, WA, US

problem #2

May 232018

CR-V Touring 1.5L T

  • CVT transmission
  • 500 miles

We bought this NEW CAR THINKING----now we can go on a long road trip,WRONG,now we are afraid to leave town for fear the engine will stop because of the over fill of the oil caused by the gas leaking into the engine, Honda says,nothing wrong, what a joke Honda has become, either they are not willing to fix the problem or they don't know how, I live in Indiana where it gets hot and also cold, we bought the car in the month of May when it was 80 degrees and the problem started in the first 500 miles and is still continuing to this day and the temp is now 28 degrees so the temp has nothing to do with the problem, it's the engineering problem that they know nothing about

- Wally F., West Lafayette, IN, US

problem #1

Mar 152018

CR-V EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,475 miles

By this point, we are two oil changes in within a couple weeks.

Honda Case Mgr called back on 3/2 and said they talked to a tech at the dealer to get my info. Said this issue is caused by the cold and will disappear as it warms up. Under review for a repair, working on since mid-January, will warranty all oil changes, check my oil every couple days (yes, every couple days). Assured I won't be forgotten when there is a resolution, they are waiting on engineers for the fix, and have a list of all people with the issue. Thanked me for my patience, of which I've been VERY patient and kind. I asked for weekly updates, even if there is not a status to provide.

3/3 - I'm 50 miles away shopping and I start smelling faint gas fumes again.

3/4-3/6 - We take a chance and travel 350 miles on a weekend getaway. We had some fuel fumes, but nothing horrible. Just what has become the usual.

3/12 - Got home after bringing my daughter to dance class, put car in the garage. Husband went in the garage about 30 minutes later, told me I better move it outside, garage reeked of gas. Keep in mind the temps have been in the 20 and 30s now.

3/15 - Oil Change #3. Oil over full. Oil and filter changed, advised nothing new from Honda, they know as much as we know. Keep checking the oil. Since the one call from my case mgr, I have received no additional follow ups.

- Michelle M., Willow River, US

Not what you are looking for?