2014 Honda Odyssey transmission problems: vehicle jerking, loud clunking noise

Vehicle Jerking, Loud Clunking Noise

2014 Honda Odyssey (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 and 2015 Honda Odyssey shows an early trend of transmission problems with clunking/jerking when shifting gears.

Most of these Odyssey transmissions are still under warranty, but so far Toyota generally hasn't been able to diagnose or fix the clunking problem — that's the reason for our low rating. Some owners have reported it was a stuck solenoid, & in a few cases Honda has replaced the entire transmission.

As more of these Odysseys start exceeding the 60,000-mile powertrain warranty limit, buyer beware.

7.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,100
Average Mileage:
17,400 miles
Total Complaints:
35 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (27 reports)
  2. none, Honda claims this is normal for their eco-transmission (2 reports)
  3. fixed the problem (1 reports)
  4. replaced secondary valve body (1 reports)
  5. so they did a software update and so far so good (1 reports)
  6. software update (1 reports)
2014 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Jul 012014

Odyssey EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I told Honda about this problem the same year I got van and years afterwards. They kept telling me it’s the oil settling in or I should have my brakes checked.. I told them the van accelerate then jerks. Tried to give it back.. van still jerks and the acceleration is terrible. If I don’t press hard on gas when merging, someone will hit me. Today, I’m still having the same problem. 23 payments left but I’m being forced to trade it in because of recalls.

- silente629, Mount Vernon, US

problem #34

Mar 122018

Odyssey EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

Finally was able for service manager to experience problem (harsh clunking, jerking while shifting). Waiting for factory approval to replace the trans & order parts at 57200 miles. Was an intermittent, occasional problem. When problem was present, engine ran at 2800 rpm at 70 mph on the highway. Honda store was very cooperative finding solution.

Update from Jun 7, 2018: Honda solved problem: replaced an external control module, updated trans code. Covered by factory warranty.

- Rl C., St. Joseph, US

problem #33

Feb 072018

Odyssey EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

When shifting from 1st gear to 2nd gear (20mph-> 30mph), a big clunk sound and bubbling. I sent my car to Howdy Honda Austin, they charged me $1250 but when I drive it there is no difference. I went back and they kept my car almost 1 week. After that somehow the bubbling on 20mph-30mph gone, but now my whole van is vibrating all the time :(

- Saq W., Austin, US

problem #32

Jan 012018

Odyssey SE 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,603 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

it was running all smooth until Jan, 2018. when shifting from 1st gear to 2nd gear (20Kmh-> 30kmh), a big clunk sound with big push forward. It was happening until you shutdown the engine. Brought it to the dealer and coulnd't see the same issue. They changed transmission fluid. a week after, it happened again. Stop and shifting to parking and then D, it was still happening. then turn off engine and restart it immediately, the transmission was shiftping as normal and smooth. I tried to wait until next time the problem shows up again so I will bring it to the dealer immediately and show them the issue without shutting down the engine.

- Wei J., Ottawa, ON, Canada

problem #31

Aug 282016

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

Same as other complaints of occasional extreme, violent clunk between 1st and 2nd triggering FCW failure light. Turn off the car and you might not get it again for awhile. We have had it in and the did the software and other bulletin items that it seems they should have been aware of and handled at our regular service (honda dealer we bought from and have all service done with). Bottom line is the problem is not fixed and would not duplicate at the dealer today. The van is with the dealer but research suggests they will be stumped. Very frustrating.

- Ken M., Spokane, WA, USA

problem #30

Dec 102016

Odyssey EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

On three separate occasions, once in March 2016 and twice in December 2016 my Odyssey with about 50K miles jerked violently during mild acceleration. The first time I was accelerating slowly in a residential neighborhood at about 20 MPH when it jerked violently. It felt like I had been hit from behind by another car and even engaged my seatbelt. I slowed down and it seemed to be fine. I acclerated very slowly and it jerked once again at which point I drove another mile or so to my house. My assumption was that significant damage had been done to the vehicle. It ran fine after so I took it immediately to the Honda dealership. They could not replicate the problem and therefore reinstalled PCM? software. The problem did not resurface for another nine months. Then in December when driving about 30 MPH and the vehicle shifting up in gear it jerked once again. This was not as violent but still very unsettling. One week later my wife was driving around town at speeds less than 40 MPH and it jerked 4-5 times. I returned it to the same dealership where they could, once again, not replicate. There no check engine lights, error code and the transmission fluid was changed about one year ago and was full. I called Honda America and they opened a case. I spoke with the representative but there is nothing they can do. There is no record of an issue like this or recall notices. They can only assist if the problem can be repeatable and will not perform any further tests until it can be repeated. If I cannot get the problem to repeat consistently (which is unlikely), I will likely sell and never buy another Honda again.

- Michael K., Loveland, OH, USA

problem #29

Aug 152015

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I heard clunk noise when the van was accelerated up to 40km speed. A couple of times after it disappeared automatically! I went to dealer and they said they could not find anything wrong!!

- tedqc, Montreal, QC, Canada

problem #28

Jul 112016

Odyssey EXL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

We only had this car for 3 days and ended up returning it to Carmax when our mechanic confirmed shifting problems and black fluid/metallic flakes (signs of internal damage). Have since found out about pervasive 2014 transmission problems, so I'm glad we were able to get our money back. Stay far away from 2014 Odysseys.

- aytn, Murfreesboro, TN, US

problem #27

May 122016

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

2014 Honda Odessey with 23,000 miles. Warning notice. Clunk sound. Drove slowly one mile and stopped. Was told by phone, transmission is covered by warrenty. Had vehicle towed to Dealer where I bought the car.

Now they are claiming not covered because rats ate something. Car kept in garage except a year ago when traveling. Car shares garage with German Shepherd. No evidence of rats.

They have ordered part. May be here next week.

Am totally disappointed with Honda.

Same garage for 45 years. No such previous problems.

Update from May 18, 2016: Honda Dealer says it is not the transmission although that was the warning that came on. He says rats ate something about the engine mount. Car is kept in the garage with a German Shepherd at night. Haven't seen rats there. $1100 to fix. Says not covered by warrenty.

Update from Jul 7, 2016: It wasn't the transmission which was covered. It was rats eating some wires which wasn't coveredl. $1100. Then the rats did it again. $1100.

Turns out Honda put soy covered wires underneath which rats and other rodents love. The dealer knew it when they sold the car in 2014. Then Honda notified the dealer to wrap wires and install some kind of a cage before they fixed ours the first time. Then they did after they fixed it the second time.

By the way, I learned on line that Honda sells the tape which has hot pepper sauce in it. My 84 year old husband and me 78 with cancer couldn't wrap the wires, but perhaps you could. I understand the soy covered wires are cheaper and environmental friendly. We have a 2010 and a 2014. Would not buy another Honda unless the wires were covered in the warenty.

- Lucinda B., Apopka, FL, US

problem #26

Feb 012015

Odyssey LX 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

Three Hondas in the past 23 years with defective auto transmissions (1999, 2003 and 2014). I posted this very real problem because the transmission in our 2003 Pilot has failed and Honda so far has refused to replace the 2003 transmission, which was replaced at 25,000 miles. Too many bad transmissions. I don't care so much about the 2014 defective transmission because I will walk away from the lease soon. If Honda does not fix the 2003 it is doubtful I will buy/lease another Honda.

- mecheng, Malibu, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 012015

Odyssey EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

They (Grossinger Honda of Chicago) keep it for over 2 weeks.

I have 6000 miles left on the warranty.

So does this mean that the new transmission only is good for 6k miles?

I'll ask.

- arreza-b, Chicago, IL, USA

problem #24

Dec 262015

Odyssey EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,070 miles

Problem with gear changing, it jerk and very rough in a slow speed up to 40mph. mention to the dealership when my last oil change, they said they found no problem.

- service.help, Daly City, CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 102015

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

Driving along the freeway 405 with traffic in Ca, car suddenly jerked when shifting gears upward or downward shift with ECO light on/off. Took it to Honda dealer and they couldn't find anything, no code what so ever.

- Alan D., Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #22

May 202015

Odyssey EX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,498 miles

This Odyssey I'm complaining about is my SECOND Odyssey purchased in year 2014. I purchased my first 2014 Odyssey on January 2, 2014. Around February or March 2014 I started having problems with it when I slow down and re-accelarate, mostly on yield signs and stop lights. On May 25, 2014, I took my family on a trip to Sequoia National Park. Everything's fine, until we got passed the park entrance and was gonna go up the hill towards the General Sherman tree. Heavy traffic going up the hill and we're only going about 10MPH. Suddenly, I felt like the transmission slipped or wheels lost traction, heard a mild "thud" and the van jerked two consecutive times. The van started to go backwards. I stepped on the brakes and put the transmission to "L" position. The van seem to be back to normal and we continued our drive uphill. I pressed the "D4" button thinking it'll help. We got to our destination, but we decided we gonna cut our trip short. We forfeited our hotel reservation in Fresno and went home.

On May 27, 2014, I took the van to the dealer. Obviously, they looked at me like I was making the whole thing up cuz NO CODE was found. I was told unless their mechanic was on the drivers' seat and the problem was replicated, nothing they can do. Disappointed, I took the van. On our way home, my wife and I decided we take a sightseeing trip to nearby Historic Folsom, CA. After our sightseeing, we proceeded to drive home. There was a stop light and we stopped. When the light turned green, I stepped gently on the gas pedal. I heard a mild "thud" and a mild jerk. But I decided to just drive straight home. All is well. Until August 12, 2014. The transmission problem reoccurred while my wife, her nephew, and I were sightseeing in San Francisco. We we're on a slight uphill going towards California Academy of Sciences. We were on a stop light (RED light). When the light turned GREEN, I pressed the gas pedal. Immediately, the van jerked and clunked! This happened about 10 times within one block! We decided to cut our sightseeing trip short and headed back home. I took my Odyssey to another dealer nearby. NO CODE, nothing to fix. They even kept my van for the entire day and drove it all over the place. They were unable to replicate my complaint.

I decided I had enough. I contacted Folsom Lake Honda and arranged a trade-in. On September 4, 2014, I got my second Odyssey. Everything's fine. On May 20, 2015, I took my brother and sister-in-law, who were visiting from Guam, on a sightseeing trip to San Francisco. Around 4:00PM we're done sightseeing and decided it was time to go home. I was in the middle of negotiating the up-ramp from Van Ness Avenue onto I-80E. Suddenly, there was that loud "thud" and jerk. My brother said, "I think there's something wrong with your transmission." I then told him about my first Odyssey's problem. For about 2 miles, the clunking/thudding/jerking occurred about a dozen times every 5 or so minutes. Heavy traffic then and we're only doing less than 40MPH. As soon as I got to a higher speed, the problem went away. Until we got to Sacramento. I took Mack Road exit to stop by the grocery store. I slowed down to about 20MPH. And then there was that noise again. On May 27, 2015, I took the van to the dealer. The service adviser thought there could be a problem with the torque converter. He checked online and found a "Service Bulletin" issued by Honda Corp. on March 2015. They installed the "Software Update", supposedly the "fix", and I was sent my way. Everything's fine until last September 4, 2015. The problem reoccurred 4 times! On September 5, 2015, I took the van to the dealer. Again, NO CODE was found and the mechanic looked at me like I was just wasting his time. I told him I know there's a problem with ALL 2014 Odysseys because I have a copy of the March 2015 Service Bulletin. I took him for a ride hoping the problem reoccurs. But it didn't.

I am currently considering my options. I must be the UNLUCKIEST Odyssey owner in the world. I was like struck by a lightning 2X! Two 2014 Honda Odyssey's purchased in one year, with the same problem. Terribly disappointed!

- lterbio, Elk Grove, CA, US

problem #21

Feb 012014

Odyssey EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

Wow. I am glad to see others having the same problem as me. This loud clunk during shift to 1st to 2nd gear started early last year right before my first oil change. This actually happened during a family trip and I had to cancel the trip and return home. I did not feel safe in this car at that time. It was shifting hard the entire way home.

The next day, I started the car and no more hard shifts. I I took the car to the dealer and they told me nothing wrong with the car and no code. They basically made me feel like I was making up stories to them. I called Honda America and they basically told me the same thing. No known issues. I was so upset that I have a new car that I am afraid to take long trips in. Back then there was no posts about this issue online so I thought I was the only one having this problem.

I took it to the dealer today for an oil change to just mentioned that I am still having this problem, to my surprise, they said their is a software update on this problem!

I then started looking online and I see tons of people complaining about this issue now! I am so relieved to see others complaining about the same exact issue. I am not crazy after all!

HONDA! YOU HAVE A PROBLEM! FIX IT!

Stop trying to mask the problem and stop blaming innocent drivers who bought your car thinking it's reliable.

- carguy9999, Oakland, USA

problem #20

Apr 272015

Odyssey Touring

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

Car has roughly 19k miles on it and yesterday when shifting to and from 2nd gear there is a very significant jerking motion. This occurred after a longish day of driving (2 hours ish) and the once the car was turned off is driving fine now. All fluid levels checked out. Have an appointment with dealership today.

- gusthebus, Davidsonville, MD, USA

problem #19

Jan 142015

Odyssey EX RES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,292 miles

Jerking motion in low gear and loud clunk. Nothing came up on scope at dealer so no fix - same as many other complaints listed for the 2014 Honda Odyssey.

Update from Feb 24, 2015: Problem came back again - this time the engine light came on and the drive indicator (D) was flashing. Took the car right to Honda and left it running so they could see the problem. They drained the transmission fluid and didn't find any fragments. They ran the scope and found the problem to be a stuck solenoid, which they said was likely due to the cold. The van ran fine afterwards. Will report if problem comes back.

- tdurette, Toronto, Ontario, canada

problem #18

Dec 082014

Odyssey EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles

I have had 3 Honda Odyssey's, this 2014 has a different, 8-speed transmission which had me worried. Very often, when slowing and I take my foot of the gas, it makes a clunking noise as if there is slack in the drivetrain. And if coasting to a stop light which turns green, and I accelerate, it often clunks hard into gear. There is no way that this kind of action and noise is not going to result in transmission failure!

- Ronald C., Cary, NC, US

problem #17

Nov 072014

Odyssey EXL 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

Loud clunk when shifting from low gear to a higher gear. Transmission appears to be stuck in 3rd gear since high RPMS at moderate speeds. This has happened 3 times in November and I was able to get to the dealer while it was happening. (This problem first occurred in Oct 2014 with 500 miles on it and was told the transmission would fix itself - since never happened till now (believed them). If the vehicle is turned off the problem goes away so you must keep vehicle running while waiting for service. I have noticed the other complaints are describing the same thing. I have a good dealer to work with and so far they have replaced a control module and valve body module and the problem happened again. On two occasions the dealer has used their diagnostic tools to capture information and send to Honda Tech. Honda Tech has said they noted a transmission problem (how insightful!). Dealer will be calling Honda Tech Jan. 26 2015 to get approval to replace transmission. The dealer must get approval from Honda for replacement of control module, valve body module and transmission which are the 3 steps apparently Honda believes are the solution to this problem. Means they cannot figure out source of problem.

My impression is: the dealers do not see these problems very often, if at all, and if they get one they rely on the diagnostic code, which there is not one. If it is a good dealer they will get in contact with Honda Tech and determine the three above steps need to be taken. I am not sure changing the transmission is going to solve this problem I will find out in the next few weeks/months. (I have yet to find a owner with this problem that has confirmed a fix). Appears that Honda lacks the diagnostic capabilities to pinpoint problem. It could very well be a design problem with the new transmission and/or software problem coupled with their engine management (cylinder shut off). If it was pure mechanical it would not be intermittent and disappear when the vehicle is restarted. As of now looks like roughly 40 - 50 2014 Odyssey owners have reported this problem on websites, bet there are more out there! I decided to report this now since I have come to realize Honda is clueless on how to address this problem. I think you have to go back 10 years or more to find this volume of complaints on Honda transmissions for the Odyssey (granted 40 is small relative to total production) but given you do not find hardly any mention on 2005 to 2013 Odyssey transmissions problems - HONDA YOU HAVE A PROBLEM!!

Will update on how transmission replacement went if approved. Since I went 26 days after valve module replaced without problem probably will need to update a few times confirming if transmission fixed.

Update from Feb 3, 2015: 02/03/2015: Honda approved replacement of transmission. I called Honda customer service and opened a case. Honda was very responsive to my complaint and I would recommend that people call Honda Customer Service about this problem. Will provide another update after replacement in about a month since problem is intermittent. Notice one complaint getting firmware fix Honda never mentioned that is fix???

Update from Aug 20, 2016: August 20, 2016: vehicle has 35,000 miles in total and transmission was replaced Feb 2015 at 14,000 miles. Problem has never occurred since transmission replacement. Lease ending and weighing my options buy the vehicle, lease a new one, etc. I was complaint #17 and now there have been 16 more. Though 33 complaints out of over 100,000 Odysseys sold in model year 2015 seems insignificant unless you are one of them. Looks like 2014 -- 2015 have this problem 2016 no reports. In reading complaints have not noticed anybody having transmission replaced which is an approved Honda fix to problem.

- Jim M., Shelby Twp, MI, USA

problem #16

Aug 222014

Odyssey Elite 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

THIS HONDA IS A TERRIBLE PIECE OF CRAP CLUNKY TRANSMISSION - SLAMS INTO GEAR AND JERKS AROUND ROUGH SHIFTING POS IT ONLY HAS 4000 MILES ON IT

MY JEEP WITH 210K SHIFTS BETTER

WENT TO HONDA DEALER AND NO CODES SET - SO NOTHING WRONG WITH CAR ACCORDING TO THEM

IT GETS GREAT GAS MILEAGE BUT AT WHAT COST? I WILL NEVER BUY A HONDA AGAIN IF THEY DO NOT FIX THIS PROBLEM

WE MUST BAND TOGETHER AND GET THIS TAKEN CAR OF - HONDA SHOULD BE ASHAMED

- Glenn K., Broomfield, CO, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?