2015 Jeep Cherokee transmission problems: transmission failure, check engine light on

Transmission Failure, Check Engine Light On

2015 Jeep Cherokee (Page 1 of 4)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Jeep dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
18,620 miles
Total Complaints:
62 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace transmission (28 reports)
  2. not sure (14 reports)
  3. reflashed transmission software (8 reports)
  4. transmission replaced (4 reports)
  5. replaced transmission at 4200 miles and less than 6 mos old (3 reports)
  6. chrysler determined the vehicle was defective & replaced it (1 reports)
2015 Jeep Cherokee transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #62

Jan 012018

Cherokee Latitude 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

AVOID THIS JEEP LIKE THE PLAGUE!!! HAPPY NEW YEARS... and my transmission goes out! Owned the vehicle for a year and the transmission goes out. We always stay up on our maintenance and have owned a total of 10 Jeeps throughout the years. Never had a problem like this one. Sense Fiat has bought the original Chrysler it has never been the same!!! AVOID THE JEEP CHEROKEES.. We have 2 2004 Jeep Libertys, one with 200,000 and one with 150,000 and they run great. Never a major issue.

WORST JEEP I HAVE EVER OWNED!! AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAQUE.

AVOID

THIS

JEEP

AT

ALL

COST

- , Cottage Grove, US

problem #61

Oct 062017

Cherokee Trailhawk V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

click to see larger images

transmission failure, check engine light on transmission failure, check engine light on

Jeep locked up in the middle of an intersection. Engine continued to run but I could not shift at all. No power steering or brakes. Coasted it off the road. Check engine light came on. Had to be towed.

- , Cranberry Township, US

problem #60

Jun 012017

Cherokee Trailhawk 6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Since June, (right after the first year lemon warranty, go figure), the check engine light came on. Took it to the dealership and they found codes that they have never seen in a Jeep. Found codes from Dodge Dart. Ended up resetting the code and the next day they came back on. Two weeks of them trying to figure out what is going on, they called corporate. Corporate could not figure out what was going on either but figured it had something to do with the transmission. So after 5 times of going back and forth to the dealership, they replaced the transmission. It was fine for 3 days. Check engine light came on but for some electrical problem. So they fixed that in 5 hours. 2 days later, it is back on again.. I am going to take it back down to have them see what code it is but am not having them touch it. I am calling corporate to get me a new damn vehicle. Tired of wasting my time having to drop off the vehicle. Oh get this, The first 4 times they had my jeep, they could not get me a loaner vehicle until corporate signed off on it. Yes I made them drive me to work and to the store multiple times. But they finally got me one, which I had for a total of 2 weeks. I'm hoping I will get good news on how I can get rid of this vehicle since I wouldn't feel comfortable selling it to someone and make them go through this hell. Jeep Trail Hawk 2015.

- , Tooele, ut, US

problem #59

Jun 232017

Cherokee Trailhawk 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,280 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I drove the car home off the lot, the check engine light came on about halfway home. So, since day 1 I have had issues. It has a very hard shift which occurs on every ride I take, and I have taken it to the dealer to have it serviced for a transmission problem 3 times already. Of course I bought this used with 15k miles on it and had no option of getting out of my purchase. I guess I should have done more research on this vehicle because now I know there are hundreds out there with the same problem. I was driving down the interstate a few days ago, in 5 o'clock traffic, going 70 MPH (I know that sounds crazy at 5 on a Friday but yes I was able to go that fast) and the service transmission came across the screen and the check engine light came on and the car lost acceleration (the gas pedal wasn't working). I was all the way over in the fast lane, and panicked. Of course I tried to keep my cool when I realized what was happening. Cars were coming up on me very quickly so I signaled to the right and got over as quickly as I could and put my flashers on. Thankfully I was near a family members exit and I pulled into the grass on the off ramp. I turned the car off and waited a minute or so and then turned it back on. The check engine light was on still but the service transmission message was no longer there. I took a minute to calm down and tried the gas. The gas was working so I slowly crept at about 15 MPH to my aunts house and it was shifting more horribly than it ever had in the past. I was completely unsure what to expect and I was incredibly scared as I have no idea what a failed transmission could do (yes I was praying nothing was going to blow up because, after all I had no clue what could happen at this point) but I took my time and proceeded with caution. I was able to safely park the car and I called the dealership and had it towed at their expense as it is covered under warranty. Every time I bring the car in, the update the software and hope that it fixes the issue (it never does) and now I have a much more serious problem on my hands and feel completely unsafe getting behind the wheel of this vehicle. I bought this vehicle to feel safe driving in rough conditions, and to use it to pull a trailer with a jet ski, and to take it to the mountains and not fear getting stuck. Now, I get to fear driving 10 minutes to work every day and fear going too fast as I was when the transmission failed, because I could have been rear ended on the interstate and caused a huge pileup. I could have been run completely over by a tractor trailer. I could have been killed and caused harm and even death to others simply because the transmission failed at a terrible time. I am so thankful that I am fine. I am however afraid to drive my car now. These software updates have not helped and the issue is progressively worsening. I don't want anything worse to come of this; I don't want to be hurt and I don't want to hurt anyone else. The service mechanic I work with says the next step may be replacing the transmission or a valve of some sort if I remember correctly. But I was instructed to open a case with Chrysler (which I had already done about 6 months prior) so I called in again to update them on the situation. They didn't care at all; the representative said it was documented and to call back if anything else happens. Well I sure hope I'm alive enough to call you back, because judging from what I'm hearing about everyone else's situation, this is in unresolved issue and will continue. I realize that there is not a fix for this problem, but this was mass produced and sold to thousands of people; it was affordable too because I know I'm not rich, and the more affordable it is, the more people that can get their hands on it. I realize they won't just buy back everyone's vehicle affected and make this right, but I would appreciate it if something was done to give us a way out. Not everyone can afford to take on a whole new loan and take a loss on their vehicle; I know I can't. I just want to feel safe. Buying a newer version of this vehicle won't help either; as long as we're dealing with the same transmission and software, this problem won't just go away. This should not be an issue in the first place, and the vehicle never should have been released. When the issue was discovered, sales of this vehicle should have been halted (of course not, who am I kidding) and now here we are, lives at risk on a daily basis, hoping there's some way to make this right. Chryslers customer care sure didn't seem to want to make it right. "Let me put you on hold and see what I can do for you" "OK it's been documented, call us back if anything else happens". Yeah... sure.. So the next step is to wait for something to happen again?? What a response. I honestly cried after I got off the phone because I realized how irrelevant our lives are to them in that moment. This is a crappy situation we're all in, and I'm not quite sure what to do next! I hope no one has to die for this to be properly addressed. Good luck out there everyone.

- , Fort Mill, US

problem #58

Aug 022016

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

My husband and I were on the highway going 75mph when the transmission light went on. We went on the off ramp and 10 seconds later. Our Jeep Shook violently and stopped. Right on the off ramp! Imagine if we were still on the highway. We would have been hit from behind or the Jeep would have flipped. We could have been killed! We took our Jeep into the dealers and they told us we needed multiple software updates. The car dealership sounded completely annoyed that I asked about the safety of my vehicle. And said "I don't know." I then asked how will I know if my Jeep needs future updates. They said I have to ask...ask really??? I was sold this Jeep with the idea of "safety" after I was involved in a car accident. That totaled my last car. I don't feel safe. I'm not sure how I will be able to put my young son back into this vehicle. I'm not sure how I will confidently go back on the highway. Which my job requires me to do. I feel disappointed and at a loss. I feel like my safety and my families safety doesn't matter to this corporation. I used to love my Jeep and was excited to show and tell everyone it. Now my story will be much different.

- , Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #57

Feb 122017

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,788 miles

You purchase a new vehicle, thinking it will be reliable, and safe to drive!!!!! WRONG!!!!!!! This Jeep I have is a piece of junk! It has been in 5 times for warranty repairs in less than a year. Thanking God it is still under warranty!

So, the car is loaded up with people from out of town, and we are going to go to church on Sunday morning. We get about 1/8th of a mile from our driveway, and all the lights are going off, the cars chime is going off like crazy, and floored it will maybe go 20 mph. We turn into a neighbors house, and go to back out, and we have no reverse. I was very thankful that we had some younger adults in the car with us, as we needed them to help get out and push it out of the driveway, so we could go back home.

We called roadside assistance, and a tow truck was out to collect my car within an hour. I had made an appointment with the dealer on Tuesday for my Jeep, as there was a rear axle seal leak, and the locking lug nut lock was missing, and they were the last to rotate the tires. After waiting a few hours I called the dealer, to check and see if they had a chance to look at it, or when they would be able to look at it, as I needed a loaner, since I had some doctor appointments I needed to get to. I got the famous last words "Let me call you back". What a joke!

Two people I talked to on Monday told me that, on Tuesday, when I called, since I supposedly had an appointment, and figured my jeep should have been looked at that day, I was told, after I refused to leave another message, that appointment times are really only a suggestion. The dealer did not get my car in until Wednesday, and then they only looked at the rear axle issue, parts needed to be ordered. Finally on Friday, I get a call that my car is done. They did an update, which took care of the check engine light issue, and had to replace the rear axle shaft seal. This dealerships customer service is completely lacking.

My Jeep, although fairly new, with under 19,000 miles on it, is not a reliable piece of transportation. I was not going to go with another Chrysler product, but I was told how great Jeeps are! I was not told EXCEPT the 2015 !

- , Richmond, US

problem #56

Jul 312016

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealer not cooperating with repair neither is Chrysler/Jeep manufacturer. My transmission went out is not drivable, had to tow to dealer and was told they have a back log of transmission work and couldn't get to it for 3 months. I complained to Jeep Manufacture who said that unless they can actually determine a repair they can't authorize a rental car for me. Dealership Tomball Dodge told me it was Chrysler, and Chrysler says it is up to dealership to provide me a car while it sets on their lot waiting to get in for repair. In the meantime I am paying for my rental since I work and need a vehicle, and am paying my monthly payment on a vehicle I can not drive. JEEP 2015 is the worst! It is sad when the manufacturer will not support authorizing an outside transmission tech for me to take the vehicle to. Tomball Dodge/Jeep told me they only have one tech to handle all their transmission repairs. Car under warranty and they won't give me a loaner or pay for a rental. I just read where Jeep has a recall on the 2015 Jeep Cherokee transmissions (recall S55). What a mess this will make for Jeep.

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #55

Dec 132016

Cherokee Trailhawk 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,281 miles

2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 18281 miles - V6. 1:45pm 12/13/16 I was stopped in an intersection making a left hand turn. Came time to go, hit the gas and heard a loud "crack" from the front/passenger side of the Jeep then a "rattle", then nothing. The engine revved up but no power to the wheels. Rolled through the intersection, pulled over, put the car in park and turned off the motor. Got out, looked around, nothing broken, no fluid on the ground. Popped the hood, again, nothing noticeable (I don't know what I'm expecting to see. Maybe an "On/Off Switch" that is in the "Off" position). Anyway, re-started the vehicle and the engine light was on. Put the vehicle in drive, but would only go about 10 mph... The motor would rev up, but again no power to the wheels. Limped along the highway with the flashers on and pulled onto a safe side street and called Triple-A. As I was sitting, engine off, I began to roll... the vehicle was in Park! Cranked the wheels into the curb and set the E-Parking Brake. Got a tow to the local dealership and explained the situation to the service tech. He told me it was covered but couldn't say what "it" was. Really? Pretty sure he knows what "it" is based on all of the transmission complaints I've seen on line here. Thought I'd post as well so others could see. So far, the dealership has been really helpful. I'll be following up and updating as we go.

Update from Dec 14, 2016: 12/14/16 UPDATE - Got the vehicle dropped off last evening around 4:45pm and the service techs at the local dealership were right on top of the issue first thing this morning. At 9:30am, got a phone call that the Jeep needed a new transmission and one had been ordered. It's a week out. Parts and labor will be covered under the warranty. More to follow.

- , Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #54

Nov 282016

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles

I BOUGHT MY BRAND NEW 2015 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LATTITUDE NOV. 2015 IT HAS HAD 3 RECALLS SINCE AND THAN BEEN IN THE SHOP 2 TIMES FOR THE ENGINE LIGHT !! FIRST TIME THE SAID IT WAS SOME SENSOR AND WAS FIXED.... I LEFT THE DEALER AND DROVE ABOUT 2 MILES AND THE LIGHT CAME BACK ON AND ALSO HAD THE CIRCLED A SYMBOL ON ALSO, I CALLED AND WAITED ABOUT 2 WEEKS BEFORE THEY COULD GET ME BACK IN AND THEY CHECKED IT AGAIN AND NOW ARE SAYING I NEED TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED WHICH WILL TAKE A FEW DAYS BUT THEY ARE NOT PUTTING A NEW TRANSMISSION IN THEY ARE PUTTING A REMANIFACTURED ONE.... I FEEL LIKE THIS IS BS I PURCHASED A NEW VEHICLE AND NOW THEY ARE PUTTING SOME OLD REMANIFACTURE TRANSMISSION IN. I SHARED MY CONCERN WITH THE DEALER AND HIS ANSWE WAS THAT I AT LEAST HAVE ABOUT ANOTHER 4 YEARS TO MY WARRENTY IN CASE IT FAILS AGAIN. MY LUCK IT WILL FAIL JUST AFTER MY 4 YEARS IS UP AND I AM SCREWED. I BOUGHT THE JEEP BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS GOING TO BE A VERY RELIABLE CAR..... MAN WAS I WRONG.... NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. THIS IS JUST ONE OF A LONG LIST !!!!

- , MERIDIAN, ID, USA

problem #53

Nov 102016

Cherokee Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,500 miles

I took my Jeep in for an oil change and any recall work that needed to be done. When I got the vehicle back my service engine soon light came on and the message that my start/stop engine was unavailable. I took it in November 23rd where they had it the full day. They updated software and told me the issue was fixed. Before I got home (less than 4 miles) the same thing happened with the service engine soon light and message displayed.

I took it back in Nov 28th and they looked at it all week and could not find the issue. They even said that mechanically my transmission was perfect. I called corporate and got a case number and they called the dealership. They called in a corporate regional technician to take a look at it on Monday Dec 2nd. He gave the dealership some things to test. The dealer tested it and they found the issue Tuesday morning the December the 3rd and said that they needed to replace the transmission and they will have it first thing Wednesday morning and the technician might have it completed Wednesday night and if not early Thursday. I called Thursday morning and they said that they won't have it done until Friday or even Monday. I asked the service lead what was the problem. He said there wasn't any issues and that sometimes these take longer than anticipated. Really? We are now talking 2 to 3 times longer than they promised. Also they quit calling me to give updates on the vehicle. I have to call corporate to get information on my vehicle.

What makes me mad is that this problem with the Cherokee transmissions is now widely known. The lead tech even told me this over the phone so why did this take 6 days and a regional tech to find it? Then the empty promises of when they were going to have this fixed. I also wonder when they gave it back to me after they said they fixed it the first time if I wouldn't bring it back right away and allow my mileage to go over 36,000 mile warranty (it was at 34,500). I just want to get rid of this crap vehicle. I just know I am going to have issues with it.

If you know some government agency or something to report my issue let me know.

- , Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #52

Sep 142015

Cherokee Limited 3. V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,159 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the 4th time since then that the car shifted into neutral, emergency brake came on, dashboard "lit up".

Service manager has no idea when "another fix" will happen. This last time, I had to have it towed to the dealership and has been sitting there for over 3 weeks

- , Edinboro, PA, USA

problem #51

Sep 032016

Cherokee 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,458 miles

Do not buy a Jeep Cherokee 2015 they are a piece of crap! Transmission problems have been reoccurring!!

- , Canyon, TX, USA

problem #50

Sep 062016

Cherokee Limited 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,005 miles

So after 4 months of transmission problems, 3 trips to the dealership (and they are clueless of how to fix it) it finally decided to quit working all together. And of course it left my wife stranded at work. Awesome, great new design of a terrible transmission there Jeep engineers.

- , Columbus, IN, USA

problem #49

Sep 132016

Cherokee Trailhawk 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,100 miles

I was stopped at a stop light and when the light turned green I pressed the gas pedal and heard an awful noise. The next thing was the service transmission notification came on and the vehicle wouldn't go above 20 mph and had no power. I had roadside assistance tow it to the local dealership and Chrysler and the dealership were really helpful. In the morning I went to grab the loaner, since I had it dropped off after hours the night before, the guy told me that the car wouldn't even go into gear anymore. I still don't know exactly what is wrong since they might be able to look at it today or tomorrow. Their transmission guy is extremely busy. I have and so does everyone I have talked to that the car will need a new transmission. The build date was 12/14.

Update from Sep 15, 2016: UPDATE: Just got a call from the dealer saying that it is a faulty sensor and they are going to replace it. I will keep you guys updated if that solves the problem. If this keeps happening and I have to take it back more than 3 times for transmission problems I will file a lemon law claim.

Update from Oct 5, 2016: UPDATE: So after two weeks to no fault of the dealership they replaced a faulty PTO unit. The reason why it took so long was because Chrysler had these on back order and none of the other service centers in the Michigan area had one, which tells me that a lot of the Cherokees are having this issue. I also found out that the software updates were never done and it had to get 7 updates. This is after I religiously take it in to get the oil changed. Make sure that next time you take your car in to get it serviced you ask specifically about the updates. The car seems to okay and shifts a little better with the new unit and software. I have had cars that shift a lot rougher and never really noticed the hard shifts in the lower gears. Luckily it was all under warranty and I had a loaner car from the dealership the entire time.

- , Westland, MI, USA

problem #48

Sep 122016

Cherokee Trailhawk V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

We have had ongoing issues with this transmission. Replaced once its never worked correctly, Now its back in the shop complete failure all dash warning lights back on no power, and all this happened on the way home from the supposed repair again!!!!

- , Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #47

Jun 252015

Cherokee Trailhawk 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles

The same afternoon we purchased the vehicle, on the way home the auto start/check engine light came on. Took it back to dealer following day and they replaced a relay for the auto start. Transmission steadily has gotten worse over the past 10 months. Slipping, no power at takeoff, and clunking. Finally last week the auto start/check engine light came on again. Took it back to dealership. That's where we start getting pissed off. Service advisor told us we were due 5 software upgrades. And that we were lucky that we were still under warranty because these upgrades would cost $95 a piece out of warranty. How are we to know about these upgrades? There is no way of knowing other than asking your dealership. So they performed the software upgrades and "flash" the computer. I even believe they replaced the TCM. Picked up the jeep after 3 days worth of service work and ALMOST made it home(30 miles). Auto/start and check engine light back on. Took it back to dealer following day and 3 days later they are replacing my transmission. This is absolute BS. Forget the financial aspect of this, my biggest problem is the safety of my family in this vehicle. It's Not safe and it's not reliable. $35k+ for this??? This problem is obviously not going away. So someone has got to do something about this. Please help.

Update from Jun 23, 2016: Update...just got a call back from dealership that just changed my transmission. The new transmission failed at startup. Chrysler now overnighting another one. This is completely unacceptable.

- , Troutville, VA, USA

problem #46

Jun 182016

Cherokee Trailhawk 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,235 miles

I was driving about 45 MPH on a 4 lane road and heard a clunk and then lost all acceleration and the car slowed to a stop. I was able to coast into a side road but then when I attempted to put the car in park, it just kept rolling. I restarted the car and when I tried to put it in reverse it had a horrible clacking sound and would not accelerate. I was able to put the park brake on to keep the car from rolling and wait for a tow truck. It is 91 degrees with a hear index of over 100 degrees and I am still waiting for the tow truck. The Jeep has 29,235 miles on it currently.

Over the last few months I have had it in the shop twice when all of the gear lights would randomly come on while I was driving.

At 2,667 miles the transmission was replaced when it locked out in 4th gear.

This is obviously a problem that hasn't been resolved and has caused rough and jerky shifting in low gears the entire time I've owned the jeep.

- , Leawood, KS, USA

problem #45

Jun 042016

Cherokee Trailhawk

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,600 miles

My husband and I purchased our 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk in February 2015. Since the first week we owned it, my husband noticed that the transmission didn’t feel right (he is the primary driver). The 9-speed transmission shifts at odd times to the wrong gear, and on occasion jerks when shifting – and this problem has been consistent from day one of ownership. 1st Gear: The drivetrain engagement from a stop feels like it can take a full second from the moment we step on the gas to when the car actually starts moving. And once it does start moving, it’s a coin flip if you’re going to steadily get up to speed or squeal some tires. 2nd Gear: The 9-speed hangs out in 2nd gear far too long, especially when on a slight incline. 3rd Gear: When the transmission finally shifts into 3rd gear it can be an aggressive, lurching transition. Going from 2nd to 3rd gear is a great way to feel what whiplash feels like, without the inconvenience of having to get into an accident. On 06/04/16, only just over 1 year of ownership and 12,600 miles, the Jeep failed completely on the freeway. We were driving 50 mph in heavy Southern CA traffic when the “TRANSMISSION SERVICE REQUIRED” light and the red check engine light flashed on and we lost all power. This happened instantly and without any warning. We had to throw on the hazard lights and dodge oncoming traffic to move over 3 lanes to exit the freeway at less than 5 mph. This was a terrifying experience and we are lucky the Jeep did not cause a major accident! We called for Jeep roadside assistance to tow us to a dealership, so after over an hour wait for the tow truck, we were towed to the Tustin Jeep dealership. They did a software update and said it was fine. After what happened, I find it hard to believe a software update would fix the issues. FCA has remained adamant that the problem is not mechanical, but software related. They’ve released 3 software patches to date but owners have only reported “marginal” improvements from these updates. One week later on 06/13/16 the transmission was still functioning poorly (hard shifts, up shifting as you apply the break downhill, etc.) and then we had another problem. The alarm went off without warning and would not shut off, even when the Jeep’s engine was turned on. Only after several minutes and pushing every button on the key multiple times did it finally stop. We took it to Placentia Jeep and they looked into the transmission and alarm. After having our Jeep for a week, they did yet another software update for the transmission and disconnected the GPS. They explained that the GPS that was installed at the dealer after the fact was interfering with the factory installed alarm, and that caused the alarm to go off at random. This is a big problem because we were charged $1295 extra for that feature and it is now disconnected. The dealer also found that the battery power was below half, and they felt that the radio was pulling from the battery even when the Jeep is turned off. They found no resolution for this problem and asked us to return after a week or two to reassess the problems. We have done some research and are now aware that after multiple failed software updates, a class-action lawsuit was filed against FCA in August 2015. The lawsuit says that the “Cherokee transmissions are so riddled with problems that Jeep dealers have no idea how to make repairs.” Even the dealerships can’t argue that point. In addition, the lawsuit says owners have lost use of their car because they’re constantly being “repaired” and the lack of a fix greatly diminishes the vehicle’s value. We agree with this as all of these items will show up on a CARFAX report. We are currently working with a case manager at FCA resolution team (Sonia #214-583-2155). Our goal is to get Jeep to buy back this lemon so we can buy a safe, reliable replacement vehicle. We only hope more deaths or injuries have to happen for FCA to admit fault and do the right thing!

- , Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #44

Jun 112016

Cherokee S

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,864 miles

We spoke with the dealership and were advised that it was a coding problem with the software and that a patch was needed. They installed the software patch to the computer system and stated the transmission was fine and did not need to be replaced. When asked about how they already had the software patch in place, we were advised that they already had it and it was a known issue. We inquired why weren’t we contacted if it was a known issue and were told that they didn’t know which Jeeps were affected so had to “wait and see” which cars presented with a problem. This is a really safe and customer oriented solution! So Jeep knew there was an issue and that the transmission could stop functioning at any time and failed to advise their customers through phone, email, or mail communication even though the safety and security of their customers was at stake here.

I do not feel safe in my vehicle or that I can take it on long car trips (i.e. more than 30 minutes). This is a brand new vehicle and if I wanted a clunker I would have bought a used vehicle and taken my changes. Part of what you are buying with a new car is the safety and security of knowing you won’t have to deal with these issues with LESS THAN 25K miles on the car.

What if this were at night? What if I was alone with my child? What if it wasn’t normal business hours? What if we were 10 hours from home and in the middle of nowhere? What if this was your 18 year old daughter up in the mountains and in the ice and snow and her transmission failed? What if we were in a horrible car accident and someone was injured or worse, what if it was fatal? I’ve never been more disappointed with a company for failing to put basic respect and safety in front of the bottom line. My questions for Jeep are what are you going to do to make this right? What are you going to do to make this better and make our car safe?

- , Jamestown, NC, USA

problem #43

Apr 302016

Cherokee Latitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,542 miles

First check engine light on 4/23/2016, "service transmission". Took it to a dealership who said that it stored the code so it is a software or TCM problem and once it cycles a couple of times, the light will disappear. Well, it did! Then it came back on 4/3/2016 as we were entering an intersection and lost all transmission control.

We nearly got t-boned. Car crept to a parking lot and we shut it off. After about 10 minute, we started it back up, put it in gear (with a loud clunk) and took it to our dealership. Well, they said that it was not a danger and to bring it back on Monday (May 2nd), so we did. We picked it up on May 4th and was told that the software needed updating. So, I drove my daughter to church and it messed up the whole way there. It hard shift, clunked, lost transmission during a turn through an intersection and then lunged forward when it finally caught the gear.

I called the dealership and took it right back. They kept it until May 18th, replaced all kinds of things including the transmission, the TCM, parking break modules, etc. I drove it 3 days and it started acting out again. So, I took it back on May 23rd (Monday). They called me on June 1st and said it was ready. I had the dealership print me out the detailed service reports and the VIP report. It is amazing that they say they have worked so hard on it but the tech only logged a small amount of time on it.

The last trip was on May 23rd and that is the only day that they tech looked at it. Yet, they kept it until June 1st? What is up with that? Well, I had been talking with the dealership where I bought it from and they said if it did it again to call them. The day I picked it up, the transmission immediately started slipping, so I called them and they said bring it to them.

Today is June 7th and they still have it. The engineer from Chrysler will be here tomorrow to look at it. They said he is going to take out the transmission and tear it apart to find the problem. Guess who else will be there, too? You got it, ME!!!

- , Riesel, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?