ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

7.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$360
Average Mileage:
59,200 miles
Total Complaints:
378 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace window regulator (214 reports)
  2. replace windows plus regulators (62 reports)
  3. not sure (31 reports)
  4. recall the part that is defective (21 reports)
  5. calling Chrysler lack of customer service center (10 reports)
  6. disconnected regulator and window permanently stays up (10 reports)
2006 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #358

Mar 182016

Liberty Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 149,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It was the 2nd week of March. I arrived at the High School for my teenagers swim meet. Parked my 2006 Jeep Liberty, got out, locked it up and headed on my way. A few hours later I returned only to find my rear passenger window..... Gone! I'm looking for glass on the ground, inside the vehicle, shaking the door, to no avail. So, I figured it out. The window, is inside the door! Upon arriving home I decide to play Ace Detective by searching the internet only to discover, I am not alone! After reading several complaints about this same problem I began to accept the fact that #1, this is a very common flaw within this vehicle, sadly, it was gonna cost me a lot of money to have it fixed, and lastly, it's been to claims court several times with requests for it to be considered a recall situation only to have the Courts dismiss and throw out the claim!

Oh yeah, did I mention there's rain in the forecast! Now I'm dealing with the obvious! Tape plastic to the door frame around the window area, only to have that sticky, won't come off, gonna ruin my Jeep, residue that is left behind after the window is fixed. Oh yeah..... Did I also mention the fact that we were supposed to leave for a week long vacation in just 2 days and my Son is coming in from Ohio for a week and we had planned for him to use the Jeep for transportation while he was here?

I decided to wait until after vacation to have the window fixed so my Son was nice enough to find this crazy awesome plastic product to cover the window area with an adhesive that won't stick to the paint when you remove it. We were minding our own business just 4 days later when I received a text from my Son, informing me that guess what.......... Your other rear window fell in!!!!!!!! Just as it had happened to me. Parked, locked it up, went inside, came out later to find it gone. In the door!! So needless to say, upon my return home, we took our Jeep to our auto repair shop, and $600 + later, the windows are now, where they should be! Unfortunately, from what I have read, repaired, replaced, fixed, what ever description one wants to put on it, several other people report they have had a recurrence, of this flaw 2, 3, 4, even 5 & 6 times! So, we wait. Wait to dip into my hard earned savings or go ahead, add some more debt to that piece of plastic one carries in their wallet! Surely one does not have plans for any of that extra money. I am torn about this issue with my Jeep as I love it! It's comfortable, convenient, and looks great. However, looks like I'm going to have to choose between maintaining yet another odd, off the wall, expensive, repair (there have been others) for our Jeep since Chrysler has let me down, or continue to put that money away for my children's college fund. Easily said, I'll ride horse back to graduation before putting another cent into this vehicle for zero piece of mind!

- Vince C., Grass Valley, CA, USA

problem #357

Oct 012007

Liberty LTD V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Replaced regulators, at least 4 times, gave up and now back windows are up permanently. Not to mention, fell of the track so the driver's side passenger window is being held up with a wrist pad from a computer. The gel thick ones. !#$!#%#$%!!!!!

- Tanya A., Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #356

Mar 092013

Liberty Limited 2.8L Turbo Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

both rear windows failed within a couple weeks of each other. and I never put the windows down, im a ac guy.

- Spyros D., Binghamton, NY, US

problem #355

Nov 182010

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,278 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This was the first occurance.not annoying yet. I have 7 more of the same problem. Left rear window again this time

- Jim R., Wylie, TX, USA

problem #354

Nov 182015

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,469 miles

Five years of peace. Since this is the 8th one to break, I thought it might be due some special consideration. If for no other reason, all the time we spent on the 7 other occurance. Borowing vehicles, getting rides, missing work, etc. Via a chat with Jeep customer service it was flat to bad, so sad. They do feel my pain though.

- Jim R., Wylie, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #353

Nov 182010

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,278 miles

This was number 7. 2 of them this time. The right window went again. There surely must be a problem with these regulators.

Update from Nov 21, 2015: Wow! 6 and 7. A twofer. Stop it damn it. That is 7 windows! 7

- Jim R., Wylie, TX, USA

problem #352

Mar 092009

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,283 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This was the first occurrance. Not annoying yet. I have 7 more of the same problem. Left rear window again this time

Update from Nov 21, 2015: Number 4. Enough already. The left rear broke again. This is getting freakin ridiculous. Out of the dozen or so cars I've owned with electric windows, none have had a window break once, let alone 4 times.

- Jim R., Wylie, TX, USA

problem #351

Jun 292009

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,212 miles

This was the first occurrence, not annoying yet. I have 7 more of the same problem. Right front window this time

Update from Nov 21, 2015: The 5th window broke. Now it's just plain out of control. Who has 5 windows in the same vehicle break. Who!

- Jim R., Wylie, TX, USA

problem #350

Oct 072015

Liberty Sport 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,379 miles

I was very surprised, looking on line for a replacement of the window regulator, that failure of this part is very common in the Jeep Liberty 2006. Living on a tropical island with salty surroundings I thought it is just 'one of those things' that come with the territory.

My garage wants me to pay $394 only for the part+shipping. I was shocked so looked up this part in Amazon.com. I will have it shipped over myself and the part is 'only' $82.32

I hope the replacement will last for a long time.

- Petra P., Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

problem #349

Sep 062015

Liberty Sport 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

Bought the vehicle used and was well aware of this well known issue before purchase courtesy of the internet. Dealership purchased from was great and when asked about the Liberty curse prior to purchase the salesman/mechanic said he had to replace a regulator before putting it on the lot. Go figure.

I was ready.

Sure enough less than a month after purchase the drivers side rear window regulator failed. One Youtube video and a plastic zip tie later the window may never go down again but the problem is solved. Three more to go!

I feel sorry for those that purchased the vehicle new and had something as simple as window regulators fail over and over. If I were some with 3....4....5.... failures you bet I'd be screaming too.

I guess when your company is used to taxpayer bailouts quality control and customer service cease to exist.

http://www.wsj.com/articles/fiat-chrysler-brands-get-poor-ratings-in-quality-study-1434560748http:

blog.caranddriver.com/fiat-chrysler-quality-chief-resigns-one-day-after-terrible-consumer-reports-rankings/

- wildhawk, Boscobel, USA

problem #348

Sep 232015

Liberty LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 131,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It just fell into my car. I keep my car in great condition, and have an extended warranty. This should not have happened.

- Margaret J., Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #347

Nov 282013

Liberty 2X4 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

Came out to my car one day and the window had slipped down about half way down overnight. It wasn't stuck, so I was able to duct tape it to the top if the door. It has been like that ever since. Nothing says American like a Jeep with a duct taped window. Lol.

- dragongrl81, Modesto, CA, US

problem #346

Feb 052015

Liberty 2X4 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

Ok, so this is window number three. It's been stuck in the door for months now and I haven't fixed it or the other rear window that is broken, and I've been taping that one with duct tape. Also, my drivers side front window sounds like it's about to break, too. I took it to the dealer yesterday because I was under the impression there was a recall for this particular problem. No such luck. They wouldn't fix them this time because the 7 year warranty has expired. Now I'm stuck carting my kids around with them exposed to the weather, and have to live with the fact we all might die a fiery death if we're rear ended. If I could give this P.O.S. back to Chrysler, I would.

- dragongrl81, Modesto, CA, US

problem #345

Jul 152010

Liberty 2X4 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

I purchased my 2006 Jeep Liberty in February 2006. Thankfully I purchased an extended warranty because a year later the window on the front passenger side got stuck about half way down. I took it to Central Valley Chrysler Dodge Jeep to have it fixed. They had to replaced the entire window and motor because of this little tiny plastic piece called a lift gate. Apparently it's attached to the glass in some way, so if it breaks, you have to replace the whole kit and kaboodle. Talk about a design flaw. Several weeks later I received a letter from Chrysler stating they were aware of the problem, and would extend the warranty from the first in service to seven years. This might seem nice, however, if they replace the broken parts with the same faulty ones, they have to know they aren't fixing the problem. They're creating more expenses for their Jeep enthusiasts on the road.

- dragongrl81, Modesto, CA, US

problem #344

Sep 042015

Liberty Sport 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,800 miles

Third occurrence. Sept 4, 2015. Lift plate broken & need new window regulator.

First time, same problem. Was covered under warranty 11/18/2008.

Second time, same problem. Not covered under warranty, but opened a case with Chrysler Customer Assistance (at the suggestion of my awesome service adviser at my dealer) and paid $135 co-pay in 08/07/2012.

This time, took it to the dealer for evaluation and its the same window regulator problem again. Contacted Chrysler Customer Assistance again. Had the rudest, most awful customer service person ever (Debbie, operator DF1207). I won't bore you with the details of what transpired.

Went through my service records and found the invoice for the 2012 repair, which had my case number and the phone number directly to my case manager. For the hell of it, I called the number and although it wasn't the same person, it was a very nice and helpful person named Julie. She listened to my concerns over this issue happening to my vehicle every three years and advised me a supervisor would be contacting me within 24 hours. A case manager from Jeep contacted me the following day and I'll keep you posted on how the rest of this goes. I'm hoping for just having to pay a "co-pay" like the 2012 occurrence, but we'll see.

In the meantime, my service adviser tell me the window regulator part is on NATIONWIDE BACK ORDER. Uh, Chrysler/Jeep....that should tell you something....perhaps that everyone needs this part because IT KEEPS FAILING?!? Fortunately, I have another vehicle I can drive so I told my service adviser to hold the car hostage until the nationally back ordered part comes in.

Update from Sep 23, 2015: I received phone calls from Chrysler Customer Service & Jeep Customer Assistance keeping me updated on the status of the part. Apparently, my request had been expedited for one reason or another. I got a call when the part shipped and again when it arrived at the dealer. I called my advisor and he said jokingly, "Well, it would have been nice if they told me the part arrived." None the less, it was worked on that day and I just picked up the vehicle. Paid $361.20. Now I have scanned and sent my payment receipt and full dealer invoice to the Jeep Customer Assistance case manager as requested. Now I wait. More to follow with an outcome of if they're going to pay for it, help me pay for it or tell me I'm SOL.

Update from Oct 5, 2015: 10/05/2015 -- 2nd update -- Received a call about a week ago from Jeep Customer Assistance saying they'd received the invoice & proof of payment I'd scanned over to them. Said the documents had been reviewed and....wait for it....they'd be sending me a check for the amount of the part ($198.90) within seven business days. I hadn't posted this until now because I was actually waiting for the check to show up. Just picked it up from the mailbox. So, the bottom line is this 3rd occurrence has cost me $145...and I'm totally ok with that.

It pays to contact Chrysler and/or Jeep Customer Assistance. Yes, it would have been super awesome if they'd covered the whole thing, but the fact that it cost me $145 instead of 361 is pretty awesome in my book. I haven't lost all faith with Chrysler-Jeep.

- Jill D., Campbell, CA, USA

problem #343

Mar 022015

Liberty Limited 3.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 26,000 miles

This the third time it failed. 1st time it happened it was fixed by warranty, 2nd time I had to pay $300, third time I will wait to fix it myself.

I was not aware of lawsuit until I did a search to repair it myself!

- Juan M., Lorton, VA, USA

problem #342

Jul 092014

Liberty Limited 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

Here I go again! I was driving taking my daughter to daycare last summer & the rear passenger side window just fell. My daughter was in the back seat, “Mommy why is the window down?” she asked. I had the air on, that is why she asked that question. I told my daughter that I did not let window down, I kept driving but the window kept falling lower & lower. Eventually I pulled over to the side & added tape to hold window up, I keep tape in my jeep because what happened before.

The same mechanic told me that it was the window regulator. This is ridicules! Not to mention embarrassing! It’s a shame something drastic have to happen before anything is done. This is a problem & Chrysler need to take responsibility for their carelessness. There’s too many complaints regarding this problem, people are not just making this up.

My friend son asked me, “Why is there tape on the windows?” Chrysler?????

- parkerm, ANOKA, MN, USA

problem #341

Feb 082013

Liberty Limited 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

The rear passenger driver side window would not come back up after I let the window down to get some of the snow off of window. I tried to let the window up, but no such luck, every time I would press the button to let the window up all I would get was a loud nose. So I stop what I was doing & was able to pull window up. Now I have tape holding up the window.

I took the vehicle to a mechanic that work on jeeps and was told that I need a window regulator.

- parkerm, ANOKA, MN, USA

problem #340

Mar 162011

Liberty Sport 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

THE BOTH FRONT WINDOWS FELL DOWN AT DIFFERENT TIMES. HAD TO PAY TO GET THEN BOTH FIXED. BACK WINDOWS FELL DOWN AND I GOT ONLINE, FOUND A FIX TO KEEP THEM UP WITH BOLTS AND THAT IS HOW THEY HAVE BEEN FOR YEARS. TOOK MY DAUGHTER LIBERTY IN FOR RECALL ON GAS TANK ISSUE, TOLD THE SERVICE REP ABOUT WINDOWS PROBLEM AND HE SAID REALLY, LIKE HE'S NEVER HEARD ABOUT THE PROBLEM. ALL IN ALL THE JEEP HAS BEEN A GOOD CAR FOR MY DAUGHTER, JUST WINDOWS ISSUE

- Greg S., Spring, USA

problem #339

Aug 042010

Liberty LTD 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

I still own a 2006 Jeep Liberty Limited. My teenager now drives it. Both rear windows have fallen down, within a year or 2 of each other, and both are now tied up due to high cost of replacement. Apparently, the Chrysler replacement regulators break, too, so why would I bother to spend the money only to have them break again. I called Chrysler right after the first one broke, and spoke to customer service there several times. There was no recall, and no warranty. I called the dealer and was informed that the cost to replace one was over $400.00. I took it to a repair shop, and they came to the same conclusion.

After the second one broke, I called Chrysler again to complain. I was told that there was an extended warranty on the regulators, but that my Jeep was now beyond that. I forget if it was in time or miles. So why didn't they contact me about this warranty? I get other recall notifications. And the first time one broke, it would have been covered. Unbelievable.

Also, they say it is not a safety issue. What if one of my son's friends in the back seat had to get out in a hurry after an accident? Neither of those windows work.

Thanks, Chrysler.

- Jennifer F., Wyoming, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?