2013 Toyota Highlander steering NHTSA complaints: Steering

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2013 Toyota Highlander (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Toyota Highlander steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Toyota Highlander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Toyota Highlander Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jul 012018

Highlander

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My steering wheel on VIN#(xxxx) feels clunky when I turn corners. It scares me, like it feels like a ghost is jacking it abruptly into the turn it does not happen all the time. I went to this site to check up on problems, and recalls. Put my VIN # in and lo and behold, people have experienced this same thing and found that the whole steering column became loose and had to be changed out! this ought to be a recall. I'm scared. To check up on the site I used go here: Https://driving-tests.org/VIN-decoder/ put my VIN in and you'll see 1/3 way down the page "most recent complaints" there you will read what is happening to my SUV. I bought the car used from a Toyota dealership and the warranty is not going to be used on this because they don't know of any recall. Do I wait until my steering column becomes loosened? this has been happening intermittently from summer til present time. Parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mystic, CT, USA

problem #28

Feb 082019

Highlander

  • miles
I started feeling a clicking/clunking feeling in the steering column a month ago, especially when I made turns. I was also able to feel that the steering wheel has started to get looser. On 2/8/19 Toyota recommended that the intermediate steering shaft be replaced. I had this part replaced for $428. There's 58,254 miles on the vehicle. This is my 3rd Toyota vehicle in 30 years and I have never had any major problems in the past. I understand the new shaft may have an improved design I hope so it does not occur again. I am very disappointed that there has not been a recall to replace this part. Does there need to be a serious accident or even someone getting killed in a car accident because of this faulty intermediate steering shaft??

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #27

Jan 162019

Highlander

  • 64,000 miles
Clunking noise from steering wheel. Internet search revealed possibility of steering wheel coming off resulting in accident. This could be a severe problem and needs a recall.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #26

Feb 082016

Highlander

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2013 Toyota Highlander was purchased used in 2015 with about 40,000 miles on it. In 2016 the car started to make a "thumping" noise when I make a left turn over a bump but it didn't happen often and I thought it was related to my garage entry of a 1.5" bump in the pavement. Most noticeable at low speeds but that may be a result of the lower interior noise. The care has had these noises become more prevalent since I first noticed it. The car has approximately 80,000 miles on it now and it is getting more pronounced. It occurs when you hit any type of bump and more often when turning the vehicle. I have seen many reports of this and expect Toyota to offer their owners a repair for this issue. This is not the type of quality I expect from Toyota having owned a Camry (1987), rav-4 (2006) and now my second Highlander (2002 & 2013).

- Ocean, NJ, USA

problem #25

Dec 102018

Highlander

  • 65,887 miles
Vehicle started making a clunking noise 3 days ago. Brought it into the dealership to have it repaired. Was informed it was not covered under warranty and it would cost $507 in repairs. After reading many complaints about the same issue it actually is making me a little concerned.I have always owned Toyota's and never have had any issues. My mileage is 65,887 I truly believe that this issue needs to be recalled and replaced. I noticed a loud clunking noise when I made left hand turns or if there was a speed bump or a dip. The steering wheel also didnżT feel the same either almost like it's loose. Iżve owned this vehicle for approx 1 year ourcahsed certified pre owned. The dealership really frustrated me today and now I question even keeping this vehicle. If this shaft plans on going out every 30-60K miles id rather dump it and get a different vehicle.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #24

Nov 242018

Highlander

  • 58,000 miles
Around a year ago, at approximately 58000 miles, I began to notice a knocking sound and steering vibration when I turned in either direction at low speed in city driving. I took the vehicle in for evaluation at rice Toyota. The technicians could not hear anything. I took it back at 61,118 in February 2018 as the steering had gotten worse, now loose and sloppy feeling at any speed. They could hear/feel it this time and I was told it was the electric power steering motor and to just "turn the radio up". I was ready to trade the vehicle in, as I felt unsafe driving it anymore, but knew I couldn't in it's current condition.I did some research and found that others were having the same problems. There was even a tsb (bulletin T-sb-0034-13) issued on 4/26/17 regarding the steering pinion shaft. After I felt that I couldn't drive this car it anymore, I returned to rice Toyota once again on 11/24/18 at 67,770 miles and the repaired the vehicle. "immediate steering shaft needs to be replaced" for a total of $588.23. The vehicle now drives better, however, I have lost faith in it, as well as Toyota. This is a very serious safety issue that needs to to be addressed for the safety of anyone driving a 2008-2013 Highlander.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #23

Nov 012018

Highlander

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My complaint is about steering column noises, play, looseness and feedback through the steering wheel. It is described in a service bulletin: Tsb-0034-13 I have 97,000 miles on the vehicle and the play is becoming more noticeable as mileage increases. It is very disappointing that Toyota knew about this issue and issued the tsb before I purchased it new. How are owners supposed to be notified about these things while under warranty?

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #22

Jul 022018

Highlander

  • 72,000 miles
Steering makes a popping/clicking sound when making turns. Seems to be getting worse as it started with just turning left and now does it right as well

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #21

Jun 012018

Highlander

  • 48,000 miles
Clunking noise within the steering when I turn, especially at lower speeds. Took it to a repair shop and they indicated it was the intermediate steering shaft. 48,000 miles at the time.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #20

Nov 072018

Highlander

  • 57,665 miles
I started hearing a popping noise in the steering column under the steering wheel. The noise became louder as time went on especially when I made turns. On 11/07/18 Toyota recently diagnosed the problem as an intermediate steering shaft and I made an appointment to get it fixed at the dealer for $584.92. There's 57,665 miles on the vehicle. I can visibly see there's slack in the steering shaft where it connects to the rack and pinion. II am a 65 year old woman who bought the vehicle new and drove it very gently. I understand the new shaft may have an improved design I hope so it does not occur again. It's very concerning if I lost control while driving. I would think there should be a recall before someone get's hurt.

- Endwell, NY, USA

problem #19

Oct 252018

Highlander

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started hearing a loud popping noise underneath the steering wheel or pedals. Noise became louder as time went on especially when I made turns. Toyota recent diagnosed the problem as an intermediate steering shaft. Was originall told it might be a rack and pinion problem. Hopefully that this doesn't now turn into something else. This is not covered under my powertrain warranty. Very upset.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #18

Jan 012018

Highlander

  • 85,000 miles
Knock in the steering wheel when turning.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #17

Oct 162018

Highlander

  • 54,853 miles
Vehicle had a knocking noise heard and felt from steering wheel when turning. Seemed to be more prominent at lower speeds, occurred when turning right and left. Took vehicle to Toyota dealer and diagnosed as a failed intermediate steering shaft. Vehicle was outside warranty at 54,853 miles. Research indicates this is a common issue with this year Highlander and Toyota has issued a tsb, but has not issued a recall to date. Cost of repair was $463.34.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #16

Sep 012018

Highlander

  • 60,000 miles
There is a clucking noise in the steering when turning. It seems like the steering wheel mechanism is falling appart.

- Lithia Springs, GA, USA

problem #15

Apr 012018

Highlander

  • 36,000 miles
While travelling in high speed lane on I80 near sacramento ca. I attempted to adjust telescopic steering wheel and the steering wheel came off in my hands and by grace of god was able to slow and get off road on the hand high speed breakdown lane and somehow remount the steering wheel. Vehicle currently at dealership for repair and I was told that the steering and mount would need to be replaced and will cost in excess of $2000. I have contacted Toyota, started a case file with them and waiting on their reply.

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #14

Jan 022018

Highlander

  • 63,000 miles
While turning the steering I feel a klunk this is happens always when turn the wheel. Frustrated really need your help. Regards..

- Elkridge, MD, USA

problem #13

Mar 012018

Highlander

  • 70,000 miles
This vehicle has a knocking or clunking sound when turning the steering wheel. This is a common complaint on Toyota Highlanders but Toyota is not offering to fix these vehicles when out of warranty. This is a defect in these vehicles and should be fixed by Toyota free of charge.

- Batesville, AR, USA

problem #12

Feb 262018

Highlander

  • 37,000 miles
The vehicle has around 37K miles and started to get a bump or thud sound when turning to right and turning over all begin to get sluggish. I took it to the dealship fred haas in houston and it was diagnosed with a drive shaft problem and required a expensive repair and front end alignment. I questioned the service rep as it seemed to be very low mileage for a issue with the drive shaft. He advised that it was not covered as my 36K 3 year standard warranty had run out. After researching it seems that this is a Highlander defect and should be covered by a recall. If this car had 80K or more miles I might be of a different opinion but this car is way too new to have an issue like this especially on such an important element like steering. This is an obvious engineering and manufacturing problem and a replacement part that will only have a 1 year warranty is not good enough.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #11

Feb 122018

Highlander

  • miles
There is a clunking noise when turning at low speeds. My mechanic says there is a defect in the design of the steering shaft. He said this commonly occurs with this model Highlander, something supported by numerous complaints about the same issue. Toyota denies responsibility and won't issue a recall, though it is a safety risk.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #10

Sep 152017

Highlander

  • miles
When turning right the steering was making a clicking/knocking sound. I only have 30000 miles on the car, which I have had 100000 plus miles on cars and never had this issue. Apparently Toyota has diagnosed this with a bad U-joint in the steering intermediate shaft with a hefty price tag to fix. This seems like a complaint from multiple people and on multiple sites. I think this should be looked into by Toyota and considered a recall item. Very disappointed in my Toyota right now.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?