Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 1999 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, engine shuts off while driving, & peeling paint. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

Engine stalling while driving in the 1999 Accord is typically caused by a defective ignition switch -- inexpensive to repair (under $200) but dangerous.

Peeling paint has also been an issue for these Accords. Most of the complaints are with darker paint colors -- especially green & blue.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$310.00
Average Mileage:
118,406 miles
Total Complaints:
85 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (65 reports)
  2. new ignition switch (4 reports)
  3. replaced ignition switch (electrical portion only) (3 reports)
  4. dealership replaced ignition switch (2 reports)
  5. i had a problem with my car stalling (2 reports)
  6. it was the bad ignition switch which needs replacement (2 reports)
1999 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1999 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1999 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

May 302009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,218 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This time the car died without warning while braking to a stop. I had driven approximately 6 miles when the incident occurred. See my multitude of prior complaints.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #24

May 282009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

This time I backed out my garage and started up the driveway. When I pressed the accelerator, the engine promptly died, which has never happened since I bought the car. I shifted to Park and restarted the engine, which promptly died again. I started the car for the third time and gave it extra gas. This time it kept running. I revved the engine for a few seconds and drove away. So far I have added complaints on 4/20/09, 5/15/09, 5/18/09, 5/19/09, 5/20/09, 5/22/09, 5/25/09 and 5/27/09. In these cases the car was moving (fast, medium or slow) or coming to a stop when it died. I could easily have been injured or killed in a couple of these cases. I'm not sure how many others are experiencing this problem, but there are 15 similar complaints for 1998 model Accords. The dealers don't know what to do about this, but Honda needs to look into it. I may refer to the NTSB.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #23

May 272009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

This time there is a slightly new twist to my problem. I had driven about a mile from my home and was traveling on a surface street at 45 mph. Suddenly the immobilizer system indicator light came on (page 55 in your owner's manual) and the engine seemed to shut down. I shifted into neutral while still moving and tried to restart the engine, but it grinded as if still running. After a couple of seconds, the light went off and the car began running normally. The owner's manual says this light comes on when you have inserted an improperly coded ignition key. However, as indicated in a previous complaint, the Honda dealer says I do not have an ignition problem. In fact, my ignition has already been replaced under warranty-recall. Just in case the chip in my key was going bad, I switched to my spare Honda key (it came with the car, it's not a cheap immitation). However, the car continues to die unexpectedly so I'm guessing that's not my problem either. See my previous complaints on 4/20/09, 5/15/09, 5/18/09, 5/19/09, 5/20/09, 5/22/09 & 5/25/09.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #22

May 192009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This time the car died while pulling into the turning lane for accessing a freeway on-ramp. There was a break in traffic so I should have turned left across traffic onto the on-ramp, but instead the car died. I am lucky not to have been rear-ended by the car on my tail, who anticipated that I would make my turn and that he/she would follow. After coming to a stop, I put the car in neutral and restarted it. I pulled onto the freeway at the next opportunity. See my previous complaints on 4/20/09, 5/15/09 & 5/18/09.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #21

May 152009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

This time the car died while trying to merge into heavy freeway traffic. This situation almost caused an accident, but thanks to alert drivers behind me I was able to shift into neutral and restart the car while coasting before being rear-ended. See my previous complaints dated 4/20/09 and 5/13/09.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #20

May 132009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

My car began dying while driving on 4/20/09 (see previous complaint). This happened at various speeds under various conditions until I took it to the Honda dealer for evaluation on 5/6/09. They could not diagnose a specific problem but recommended fuel cleaner in case the fuel system was dirty. This has done nothing to resolve the problem. On 5/13/09, the car died at freeway speeds while going up a slight incline. I shifted into neutral and restarted the car while moving.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #19

May 182009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This time the car died while trying to pull out of my subdivision onto a busy street. I had just started the car and had driven maybe two blocks down a 60% grade to the intersection. Because this intersection is unusually busy, I planned to come to a "rolling stop" and then pull on out if there was a break in traffic. However, the engine died and I was barely able to stop before ending up in the intersection with no control over the vehicle. I could easily have been injured or killed in this situation. Since Honda can't seem to fix my problem, I have learned to creep up to intersections to avoid loss of control at a critical time. See my previous complaints on 4/20/09 & 5/15/09.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #18

May 222009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

This time I drove to my daughter's house, about 10 miles. I parked the car for about 2 hours, so the engine was warm (not cold or hot). I backed out of the driveway and drove about 100 feet. I was going about 25 mph when the engine just died with no warning as usual. I shifted into neutral and restarted the motor. See my previous complaints on 4/20/09, 5/15/09, 5/18/09, 5/19/09 & 5/20/09.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #17

May 202009

Accord EX V$

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

This time the car died while trying to pull out of the Wal-Mart parking lot. When I pulled up to the exit, the car just quit, as usual with no warning. I shifted into neutral and restarted the engine so I could pull out before the cars behind me got more upset. See my previous complaints on 4/20/09, 5/15/09, 5/18/09 & 5/19/09.

- , Louisville, TN, USA

problem #16

May 052009

Accord DL 4 Cy

  • Manual transmission
  • 119,540 miles

Someone has to have a solution out there!? Anyone? The Honda dealer we use doesn't have any idea but they are willing to troubleshoot at $150/hr with no guarantees. I have read one of the technical manuals that are very detailed and feel like this is so over my head. I'm Stuck. Any ideas?

- , Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #15

Apr 012009

Accord EX V Tec

  • Manual transmission
  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My honda stalls randomly, while driving on the freeway at 65MPH, or at a stop sometimes it will not start. I have changed the ignition switch and have had a diagnostic done, the diagnostic says that car needs a new catalytic converter. My step dad, who is a mechanic, says that the stalling is totally unrelated to the catalytic converter. I took the car to a Honda mechanic He suggested a new key, got the new key - car did not stall for over 2 months. I thought my problems were solved (I was relieved). yesterday the car stalled on me 3 times: once at a stop, while I was driving down the road at 45MPH, and after I stopped to put gas in. I tried to restart and it wouldn't start ( the RPM's drop to zero and the car stalls all the lights on the panel turns on says the doors are open, trunk open, check engine light turns on the green key light blinks, battery, oil light and brake light turn on) but the radio stays on and the air conditioner stays on. Each time this happens it takes about 5 minuets before the car will start back up. The car has a new battery and the alternator is about 2 years old. Each time the car stalls I have to push it out of the way of traffic to the side of the road or if on the freeway, put the car in neutral and coast to the side of the Freeway. My 9 year old son is terrified to go anywhere in this car and my husband and I are frustrated. I fear for my safety and especially the safety of my son. Does any one have any idea what could be the reason for the stalling??? Called Honda headquarters they don't know what the problem is and say that my car does not have any recalls on it. They told me to try the ignition switch at my own cost which I did and car still stalls. Can anyone give me any other suggestions.

- , Sun City, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 152008

Accord LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles

I had the same problem that several others have had with stalling. This ended up being an ignition problem that was covered under a recall notice that I had failed to follow-up on.

- , Gray, GA, USA

problem #13

Apr 012005

Accord 2.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I have had many of the same issues that are listed on the CarComplaints.com website regarding stalling of my 1999 Honda Accord. For 4 to 5 years, my Accord has stalled for no apparent reason or would not start up right away after sitting a few minutes when the engine was warm. I had taken my Honda to several places for checkups, I have replaced the battery and a sensor several times before a diagnostic check indicated that I likely had an ignition switch problem. That repair company referred me to my Honda Dealership where I purchased the vehicle new and the dealer could not duplicate the problem.

Yesterday my wife had the car on the city of Memphis's busiest street when it stalled with her in the center lane without any warning by the indicator lights. She called me frantic, telling me that almost every car passing her nearly hit her. I called the police to help get traffic control to help her. She as a few others have indicated could not get the car to shift gears to neutral while stalled. Finally after sitting 10 minutes she was able to start the car. If this would have happened and my wife was rear ended with my 19 month old daughter in the car, I would have likely gone nuts on Honda. Instead this morning I took the car into the dealer who kept the car running for a while when they were able to get the car to stall (or so they say). The dealer switched out the ignition switch at a cost of $300 on top of the $75 diagnostic at the dealer one month ago and a $49 diagnostic at a small service station not to mention the sensors that were switched out that did not solve the problem.

I have already filed a complaint with Honda indicating that this problem is a life safety issue which they should replace free of charge. If this happens again I will likely see a lawyer; I just pray that my family is not injured or worse. This morning the dealer indicated that the problem could also be the main relay but since they were supposedly able to duplicate the problem they replaced only the ignition switch.

Please let me know if anyone else is involved in litigation to get this problem resolved and also receive reimbursement for any work related to the problem. Thanks.

Scott - Memphis, TN

- , Memphis, TN, USA

problem #12

Aug 082008

Accord EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

Car first began stalling randomly, once every three weeks or so. Took car to local mechanic and was told that car needed a tune-up. New spark plugs distributor cap and about $250 later got the car back and the same problems. Next the check engine light came on. Took the car to Napa and found out the post catalytic converter O2 sensor was bad. Replaced that myself for $101 and cleared the check engine light. Thought i cured the problem and 2 weeks later I'm driving in rush hour traffic down busy freeway and the car stalls again. Luckily, there is an onramp area I can pull over to. Took about 5 minutes of trying to start the car before it finally starts. Frustrated, I go home and Google 1999 Honda accord engine stalls and find out that Honda had a recall in 2002 with the ignition switch. Turns out it can get too much current and short out. Well, after entering my vin number into Honda's website I find out the recalled problem was fixed already. I drove to a Honda dealership and purchased a new ignition switch and replaced it myself in an hour for $52 plus tax. This was about 4 weeks ago and no problems yet.

- , Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #11

Dec 272005

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

After stalling several times on the road,

we checked the internet and found there was an NHTSA

recall for this.

Problem: The electrically coded key becomes worn,

losing contact with the ignition switch.

Solution: A new key and/or switch free from Honda.

- , Ventura, CA, USA

problem #10

Feb 052009

Accord LX 4-cyl Vtech

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

I'm having the same problem. I'll put the keys in the ignition, turn the key (but not start the car). The lights come on, flicker, go out, then come back on.

Also for some reason, occasionally when I'm driving, the car will jerk, slow down, and the RPM suddenly drops. I've never had the car stall out when I'm driving it, except for a time when I parked and it dropped out. Has ANYONE found a solution to this?

Update from Jun 6, 2009: As posted before, I was having the same problem as everyone else. Took it by a mechanic and I had the intake manifold checked and cleaned. While checking, I mentioned the lights flickering to the mechanic, and he tested the ignition. He knew immediately the switch had gone bad (misaligned, was the world he used). Went by the local Honda dealership, bought an OEM Honda Genuine ignition switch (electrical part only) for about $70.00. Took it back to the mechanic, they had it fixed in 30 minutes and for about $65.00. Haven't had any problems since.

I did NOT have the original ignition, it had been replaced in the 2002 recall. Be sure to call your car's dealer and find out if its had the ignition replaced. If not, you might be eligible for a new one.

- , Rome, GA, USA

problem #9

Jan 012009

Accord EX 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 155,000 miles

Car stalls randomly. It will start then struggle to stay running. I will be driving down the highway and it all gauges will shutoff and car semi-stalls then continues running like everything is normal. Also there is a clicking noise that goes on while in park and gets much worse when I put it in drive. I don't know if these problems are related or not. My car has probably stalled at least 30 times. I'm pretty surprised that my car still runs normal with a problem such as this. Alternator, battery, and starter are all pretty new. Any ideas? I feel if I keep driving, I'm going to wreck my car unexpectedly.

Update from Jul 15, 2009: Its definitely the ignition switch like the other fella said. The added bonus here is that you may be able to get it fixed for free. There was a recall for 97-00 models for the ignition switch. So call your dealership and find out if it has already been replaced or not. If it has and its faulting again, then you have to pay for it because they will only replace recall parts one time.

- , Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 012008

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles

I am still trying to research what is causing the stalling on this car while I am driving. I have taken it to the dealership I bought it from, they could no duplicate the problem. I have take it to a Honda dealership shop so they can check it. There was a recall on the ignition switch and that was replaced, but that did not fix the stalling issues I am continuing have. I have replaced, spark plugs, ignition wires, distributor cap, the ignition coil was replaced and I am still having stalling issues. The only thing that I haven't done yet is to check and test the PGM-FI main relay. I am so frustrated there has to be a fix to this problem! I don't drive it often due to it stalling out of me on the highway going 75MPH and I work 45 miles from home. I can be in the city and it will stall out on me. When I do take it out I have to make sure I am near a shoulder or inner turning lanes just in case the vehicle decides to stall out on me and this concern is very stressful.....

- , Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #7

Dec 132008

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 155,400 miles

On Dec 1st 2008 morning, wife attempted to start the car. On first attempt acted like it wanted to start but didn't. On second attempt a minute later she said engine went er er..er and did not start. On the third attempt five minutes later turned key engine started normally, as if there never was a problem.

On Dec 11th 2008 afternoon, I drove car less than 5 miles, stopped at a light, then turned left, car engine stalled, coasted to safe area. Put the car in park and it started back up as normal. No more problems.

On Dec 12th 2008. I cleaned the battery post of a 2 1/2 year old battery.

On Dec 13th 2008 afternoon, I drove car approximately 15 miles, where it sat for over an hour. After seven miles on the return trip, traveling at 50 mph the car engine stalled in traffic. I managed to safely coast and make the next right turn. I turned the key and the engine engaged as if it hadn't stalled to begin with.

Currently we are skitish about using the Honda until we are able to correct the problem to our satisfaction. We are currently driving another vehicle. Putting the Honda on the road would be an accident waiting to happen. For drivers who tail gate, I sure hope you don't run up on a car that just stalls in front of you. There is no warning it just happens. No telling how many vehicles there are on the road with similar stalling problems.

I have been searching the internet for possible fixes. Now I am looking for input from drivers whose vehicle have a similar problem. Preferably from those who have had the problem corrected with no reoccurring.

Update from Jul 28, 2009: I got my car back from Coggin Honda on Atlantic in Jacksonville Fl on 18 Dec 2008. I have not had any problems since. I had the following work done at a total cost of 496.32, I should be receiving 136.00 back as a good faith gesture since the car is no longer under warranty. There is an oil change 24.00 included in the total price.

The dealership installed (35130-S84-A01) steering switch (harness cable assembly) parts 76.71 and labor 195.88. I also had (32410-S84-A00) starter cable assembly installed parts 46.06 and labor 95.25. The connector to the positive post (of the starter cable) was corroded and needed to be replaced.

- , Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #6

Sep 032007

Accord EX 2.3L, 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

I'm having the exact same problem as all of you. 2.3L, 4 Cyl, 200k miles. I've been having the problem for over 1.5 years and still cannot find anyone to fix it. But as I've been assessing this problem, I think I have it whittled down to a few key culprits:

1. Alternator (obviously it's having problems routing electricity ) 2. Fuel Filter (when i restart it, if i rev the engine, it seems to run fine) 3. Computer chip (if this isn't working, there's only one sign - nothing else fixes the problem)

** Anyone who says you need a TuneUp, ask them if they tested the all the spark plugs, and wiring first. It seems the tuneup is not a fix for this problem, but it's the mechanics first assumption.

As with the other parts, I recommend buying used from salvage yards to keep the price down. THEN, take the part and go to your favorite garage to have them install it. I will be working on this in the coming months. Please let me know if anyone has tried these things and the results. I will do the same and post any progress i have.

- , Columbia, MO, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?