Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2001 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for Honda Accords & other models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as settlement for a class action lawsuit, but that period is over & owners of Accords with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad. Also make sure your 2001 Accord has been checked for the airbag recall: excessive pressure may cause metal fragments during airbag deployment.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
48 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,773 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #201

Nov 062015

Accord

  • 250,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As crazy as it sounds, I just had the takata recalled air bag replaced several weeks ago in my Honda from takata. Today November 6th I was involved in a front end collision going around 35mph on a state highway. The new replaced air bag on the drivers side steering wheel never deployed but the passenger air bag did deploy. The tow truck driver said he has never seen just a passenger air bag go off and not the drivers bag go off to. The drivers air bag never deployed is there a problem with this new air bag from takata not going off or an installation issue?. the air bag was replaced by smart Honda dealership in des moines Iowa several week ago. The car is at impound right now at the towing company it is not going anywhere because of the damage to the car. There is a police report of the accident...thx

- Fonda, IA, USA

problem #200

Oct 102015

Accord

  • 129,409 miles
First of all I'm the original owner. Ive had my SRS dash light come on in the past and Honda replaced my seat belt buckle and Honda had covered the repair on this. The light came on again recently and when I took it in for an oil change the dealership checked the light issue and told me the SRS unit was bad and it would be at least $700 for the repair. I feel this is a major safety issue(airbags won't deploy) and I am seeing this is quite common on this particular make, model, year. I feel that this should be a safety recall because it can definitely be a contributing factor to a fatality in the event of a serious accident.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #199

Jun 192014

Accord

  • 173 miles
To Honda corporation re: Recall department on June 19 2014 I was driving my 2001 Honda Accord coupe when I was suddenly hit by a delivery truck who was trying to make an illegal left turn in front of me. My car was total. The front side and passenger side of my car are totally demolished. The irony of it all is that, the front and the side air bag failed to deploy. And as the result I was severely injured without the protection of the air bag. On March 2015 which is almost a year after my accident I received an air bag recall letter from Honda corporation. I should have received the warning and recall letter before my accident which is June 19 20014. Honda corporation is responsible for my injuries for making a defaulted air bag and failed to warn me about the situation before my accident. I am asking the maker of Honda to pay for my outstanding medical bills which is incurred due to the accident. I still have my Honda. Honda corporation refuse to reply to my letter. That's why I am making this complaint to the Honda corporation truly samson tesfasion 444 lucas avenue #11 los angeles, ca 90017 (213)481-1917

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #198

Sep 022015

Accord

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was traveling at approximately 45 mph, rear ended a vehicle stopped in traffic to make a left hand turn. Vehicle sustained heavy front end damage front passenger side of vehicle. Air bags failed to deploy.

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #197

May 282015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not provided.

- Somerville, TN, USA

problem #196

Aug 192015

Accord

  • 198,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The manufacturer stated that the part was on a national back order. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 198,000.

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #195

May 252015

Accord

  • 125,569 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,569.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #194

Jul 292015

Accord

  • 114,000 miles
When can I expect an answer to my question? #10743472. Thank you, Mr. Gil. Mckale

- Marcus Hook, PA, USA

problem #193

Jul 232015

Accord

  • 1,014,000 miles
After we received the letter from the Honda division, we feel that the vehicle is too unsafe to drive. Our question is a short one. Who is responsible for the charges to tow this vehicle to our local dealer? thank you in advance for considering this question

- Marcus Hook, PA, USA

problem #192

Dec 222014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owned a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving at 40 mph making a right turn, the contact believed the tie rod fractured and was unable to control the steering. The contact crashed the vehicle into a tree. The driver side air bag deployed. There were metal pieces that came out of the air bag. The contact sustained injuries to the forehead, lower back, and right shoulder. The contact received medical attention one week later. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) and believed the failure was related to the recall. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Springfield , OR, USA

problem #191

Jul 062015

Accord

  • 11 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The date listed above should be 2/14/2001, when I first bought the car. When I was driving it home the airbag light up. I took the car bag and I'm not sure what was fixed. As the years passed by the light continued to light up. I took the car back to the service department several times. They never offered me another car or fixed the problem. As the years went on there was finally a recall issued. But to this day the light still comes on. I should have been compensated a defective car but I was never offered another car or a reduced price. I recently received a recall notice but your website does not list my VIN. Can I bring my car to the headquarters location in torrance for an inspection/fix the problem and I would like to be compensated for buying a new car that did not live up to Honda's standards from day 1 ( February 14, 2001)... updated 09/30/15

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #190

Mar 312014

Accord

  • 101,000 miles
I was T-boned on the drivers side. The airbag deployed and metal lacerated my eyelid causing a cataract and permanent pupil damage.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #189

Jun 112015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Driver and passenger air bags did not open in the dash during a rollover and front end hit. Driver had head injuries from the rollover when his head hit the top of the car. He would have been pushed back in the seat if the bag would have worked. The air bags on the side of the front seats did open. There were no passengers. Updated 9/23/15

- Waukegan, IL, USA

problem #188

Jun 012015

Accord

  • miles
2001 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete recall notice.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #187

Jan 302015

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Honda Accord. Attorney representing consumer writes in regards to drivers airbag inflator module recall notice issues. The consumer sustained serious injuries from the frontal driver's side air bag, when the inflator module ruptured causing metal fragments to protrude through the air bag cushion striking the consumer in his head as well as across his fingers. Recall # 14V351000, was referenced.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #186

May 212015

Accord

  • miles
Recall results states a recall was issued June 19,2014. We have never received a recall on this and have lived in the same residence for over 25 years. At one time, my "side passenger airbag alert" light was staying on. Honda supposedly fixed the issue. But driver's side airbag was never corrected to my knowledge.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #185

Feb 022015

Accord

  • miles
I have been trying to get the recalled airbag replacement for Honda for months and they will not replace the recalled airbag. I have called several times and they always tell me that my name is on a list and it will take a month to get the replacement part. I've been calling since at least Feb. 2015, I called to May 20, 15 and relieved the same answer. I've been called the torrance Honda center 2280 crenshaw blvd, torrance, ca 90501 (855) 587-2662. I need to know how to get this recalled airbag replacement.

- Lawndale, CA, USA

problem #184

Mar 192015

Accord

  • 150,000 miles
Honda case # N032015-03-1903237 ** I have removed the airbag module from the steering wheel for the interim. Honda of America(hoa) is refusing to cooperate with me in regards to the safety recall notice for the driver side steering wheel airbag inflator -- NHTSA recall 14V-351. Contacted hoa at 1-888-234-2138 on March 19th, 2015. I asked if I could take the airbag module/assembly to the dealer and have the airbag inflator replaced while it is off the vehicle. I advised hoa I do not wish to take my vehicle to the dealer, only the airbag module itself. Hoa advised "no". I asked for further review, by "case review", of my request and to be contacted via letter because I do not wish to provide my telephone number. As of May 19th, 2015 I have not received any communication/letter from hoa. Called hoa again on May 19th, 2015 and was advised they will not send a letter. They wish to contact me by phone. As of May 19th, 2015, I advised hoa I will no longer be contacting them and asked the hoa representative to advise the case reviewer that I will simply not have the recall performed and will leave the airbag module off the steering wheel/vehicle. I have reviewed, to the best of my ability, local, state and federal law regarding safety recalls and can find no law that states I must abide by the manufacturers guidelines for replacing safety devices. It is my understanding that a manufacturer must replace the defective safety device regardless and should make every effort to assist the owner in performing safety recalls. Please contact me via letter -- I will not provide my telephone number, email, etc. As it is not required by local, state or federal law. The address I am providing is the same address hoa has on file for the VIN.

- Rossville, GA, USA

problem #183

Apr 132015

Accord

  • miles
I have been in two wrecks that were not my fault over a month period and my airbags did not deploy when I was hit on the front driver side bumper or when I was hit today on the passenger front bumper when I got my car they said that the issues was fixed in Sept 2013 and I received another recall again so I need so answers.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #182

Apr 272015

Accord

  • miles
In March of 2015, american Honda motor co., Inc. Contacted me via mail concerning a defect in the driver's front airbag inflator of our family's 2001 Honda Accord. The letter states, "the defect in these vehicles could kill or injure you or other people in your vehicle." The letter further instructed owners to call any authorized Honda dealer to a make an appointment to have the defective part replaced at no cost to us. I shortly thereafter contacted our local dealer (diamond Honda of glendale) to make such an appointment and was told that the necessary part needed to be ordered and that it should arrive within a couple of weeks. Four weeks later, on April 27, 2015, I contacted the dealership to follow up on the matter, as I had not heard anything further since the initial call and was told that the part was on backorder and would "hopefully arrive next month or maybe June." When I expressed my concern that this was such a serious defect as to warn against injury or death as stated in the recall notice and pressed to know exactly when the situation would be resolved, I was told that the volume of vehicles that needed this repair resulted in such a backorder and could not be told an exact date of when to expect repair, nor was I offered any mitigation for the dangerously defective nature of our vehicle in the meantime. I fail to see how this situation is in any way surprising to the parts distribution division of the american Honda motor co., Inc., and is nothing more than a poorly executed/motivated response to an important safety issue with their vehicles that is perpetuating a dangerous situation for millions of families (mine included). I wish to file this report with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to document such a lethargic response on the part of the american Honda motor co., Inc. In regard to this important safety recall.

- Glendale, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?