Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2001 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for Honda Accords & other models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as settlement for a class action lawsuit, but that period is over & owners of Accords with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad. Also make sure your 2001 Accord has been checked for the airbag recall: excessive pressure may cause metal fragments during airbag deployment.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
48 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,773 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #181

Dec 212008

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving during inclement weather, the driver crashed into a snow bank and veered to the left. As a result, the contact's vehicle crashed into the front of another vehicle. The air bags deployed. The driver sustained fatal fractures to the fifth and sixth vertebrae that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V260000 (air bags). The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was unknown... updated 02/19/15 updated 02/20/15. Updated 03/31/15 updated 04/02/15

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #180

Dec 092014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front end of the vehicle. As a result, the air bags deployed and metal fragments discharged from the air bags. The driver sustained face, ear and leg injuries due to the metal fragments from the air bags that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number:14V351000 (air bags). Updated 01/07/15 updated 01/15/15.....updated 12/29/15 picture received 01/29/16 updated 2/23/2016

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #179

Dec 062014

Accord

  • 120,000 miles
Nthsa recall number: 14V351000 was told this is not for my car but shows up on the app.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #178

Dec 062014

Accord

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nthsa recall number: 14V351000 was told this is not for my car but shows up on the app.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #177

Dec 062014

Accord

  • 120,000 miles
Nthsa recall number: 14V351000 was told this is not for my car but shows up on the app.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #176

Nov 172014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
While driving home from work I noticed the cover in the steering wheel, which covers the air bag became elevated approx 2 inches on one side. I took it to my local Honda dealer and they said it was not under any recall but advised I get it fixed. (cost $ 971.00) I took it home to decide what I was going to do. I was too afraid to drive it (the feeling of having a loaded gun pointed at my face. I have just had catarack surgery and if the bag went off in my face I could be left blind). After one week of it sitting in my garage I decided to get it fixed. I paid the amount. I have registered this complaint/concern with Honda case #[xxx] regarding the takata air bag. They told me that should my car become part of the recall I would be reimbursed. - thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Totowa, NJ, USA

problem #175

Dec 012014

Accord

  • 166,097 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the supplemental restraint system (SRS) warning light continuously illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 166,097.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #174

Dec 042014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The dealer repaired the vehicle, but the contact was concerned that the passenger side air bag might be defective. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #173

May 142014

Accord

  • 204,300 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was uncertain if the passenger side air bag or the driver side air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 204,300.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #172

Nov 162013

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
Honda has not responded to four requests to repair vehicle due to safety recall for airbags.

- Kaunakakai, HI, USA

problem #171

Oct 312014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #170

Oct 272014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Dear sir or madam: I took my 2001 Honda Accord V6 to Honda dealer ([xxx] of frisco, tx) for airbag recall on Oct 27, 2014. I was also getting engine warning sign on my dash board. After airbag repair I returned home and found following comment on my invoice : "redesigned airbag inflators are not available for installation at this time." Next day I called the dealer and american Honda. Dealer has not responded to my voicemail and american Honda customer service said they will respond within 24-48 hours. So far no one has reached out to me. My question to them was if you did not have the redesigned airbag inflators then how have you fixed the airbag recall issue. Regarding dashboard engine warning sign dealer said I need to install ega pipe kit to avoid clogging of ega port. Honda is aware of this issue as per their service bulletin 99-085 and were supposed to install the ega pipe kit free of cost. Honda never sent me any communication nor any of past Honda dealers informed me about this problem. The dealer asked me $650 to fix the problem and even charged me $107 for diagnosis of this problem which was diagnosed earlier by autozone technician in just 1 minute for free. Honda dealer even refused to do state inspection saying my car will fail the inspection if this kit is not installed. I asked both american Honda and dealer to install egr kit for free since it's a design issue with their engine but so far both of them have refused to install it for free. I would request you to take these issues with Honda especially the airbag, egr port issue and lack of communication regarding problems in their cars. No wonder Honda comes at top in quality surveys since they are not transparent enough to communicate problems with NHTSA or customers. I am worried about me and my family's safety while driving this car. Thanks.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #169

Oct 292014

Accord

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact was involved in a front end crash where all of the air bags deployed. The driver's side air bag became detached from the steering wheel after deploying. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 11V260000 (air bags). A police report was filed and the contact experienced minor burns and whiplash. The vehicle was taken to a salvage yard for inspection. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #168

Oct 272014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
I am trying to get my drivers airbag replaced. Today I received a call from my Honda dealer telling me my appointment to have my car fixed is cancelled and they do not know when they can repair my car. They also refused to give me another car to drive. My car has a serious safety defect and is not being repaired. Can you please help me.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #167

Sep 152014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ocala , FL, USA

problem #166

Sep 152014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #165

Oct 202009

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Previous airbag recall for correction was accomplished by local Honda dealer on 9/24/09 - 10/02/09. Shortly thereafter the passenger side airbag indicator light started to "illuminate" whenever the front passenger seat was vacant. Stays on while seat is unoccupied, but returns to "off" when seat is occupied. Returned to dealer regarding situation but dealer service person would not address the problem unless a fee of $100 was paid for a "diagnostic check". did not pay dealer for problem that they were responsible for correcting initially so problem continues.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #164

Oct 012014

Accord

  • miles
2001 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall. The consumer stated the parts would not be available, until the end of the year.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #163

Oct 152014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/24/14 the consumer stated the airbag was repaired on 10/24/2014 updated 5/6/2015

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #162

Apr 142014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owned a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 40 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front end of the contact's vehicle. The air bags deployed and caused the contact to sustain head, neck, and back injuries. The front passenger sustained injuries to the chest from the air bag deployment, which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Fort Lauderdale , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?