Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Nissan Altima has multiple problem trends including the CVT transmission, and now that this model is out of warranty, it earns our "avoid like the plague" badge.

Owners complain about vibration and transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission), a whining noise from the power steering pump, and constant windshield problems that appear to be the result of poor design.

Be warned: the 2014 & 2015 Nissan Altima appears to share these same problems.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,239 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 4 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #247

Jul 192015

Altima

  • 57,072 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

If I'm driving, when I try to stop the car, I press the brakes the brakes do not activate. The car does not stop it keep rolling on. I have to pat the brakes to stop the car or press the brake a second time for the brakes to catch. It feels as though it slips pass the brakes! I also took my car to Nissan for the latch recall every since I got the recall "fixed" the pass air bag light pops on when no is in the passenger seat and my car will state that I have 100 miles (more or less) of fuel but my fuel gage will read empty and I will need gas as the gauge states!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #246

Nov 102015

Altima

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the OCS warning light remained illuminated. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The passenger sustained head and neck injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,000.

- Gulf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #245

Nov 102015

Altima

  • 45,000 miles
Passenger air bag light comes on intermittently with an adult passenger in the front seat weighing approximately 140 lbs. The yellow airbag off light comes on intermittently. It usually goes out after about five seconds. Sometimes it stays on. I sometimes pull over and turn off the car and restart and it usually goes out like it is supposed to. Took car to dealership where we bought it. They said they couldn't duplicate the problem. They reset the computer. Problem still persists. I have made several complaints with the dealer. Dealership said they could not resolve the problem because it is a weight issue with the person sitting in the seat. 140 lbs and under the light might come on. Looking online, it looks like many people are having same problem. This is a definite safety hazard. When light is on, air bags won't deploy if in an accident occurs.

- Colchester, CT, USA

problem #244

Nov 212015

Altima

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front passenger airbag remains disabled when full sized adult is sitting in front passenger seat. Car was taken to dealer over one year ago for recall on this issue. Still has not been resolved. New recall issued Oct 2015, took vehicle to Nissan for fix on 11/24/15. Nissan will not fix, say they have no way to fix the issue. Nissan states I will have to continue to drive a vehicle with inoperable passenger air bags. Showed Nissan service dept video of full sized adult sitting in passenger seat, vehicle running, and "airbag off" light illuminated in center of dash. Nissan states there is no fault in the system, and passenger should just "move their legs" to arm the system. Passenger seating position does not arm airbag or alter the function of the faulty system. Problem occurs randomly, with vehicle moving/stationary.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #243

Sep 072015

Altima

  • 23,000 miles
The passenger airbag disabled light has come on twice in two months while my wife (110 lbs.)was seated squarely in the center of the passenger seat.. I notice this right after starting on a drive. My wife moved around in the seat trying to get it to recognize her presence with no luck. It reset-ted both times after stopping the car and having her exit and reenter. This vehicle had already had this issue serviced under the previous recall. I took it to the dealer last week. They said that they could not duplicate the problem so they sent me home without making any repair. I have video evidence put forgot to get it out of my wifes phone before she left for Japan for aq three week trip. I will upload it when she returns. This is my wifes car so I will put her name on the contact form.

- Stevensville, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #242

Nov 022015

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Nissan Altima. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle airbag recall and primary hood latch issues. The consumer stated the air bag was not working properly. According to the owner's manual, the light was suppose to come on and then go off, to shoe that it was working properly. The consumer was informed the hood latch had been oiled.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #241

Nov 062015

Altima

  • 29,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The front passenger air bag light remains illuminated when an adult passenger is seated in the front passenger seat. This continues to occur even though the car was serviced for this recurring problem by the Nissan dealer last week under the recall campaign. The software update performed by the dealer has not solved the problem.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #240

May 012013

Altima

  • 150 miles
2013 Nissan Altima sv purchased brand new, April 2013.. my passenger side airbag light detector is constantly intermittently lighting up when my daughter, who is 18 sits in the seat..she weighs about 115 lbs. To get the light to turn off, and therefore hope the airbag works, if god forbid we get into an accident, I have to turn off the car, have her get out, then get back in and then start the car again..this usually results in the light going out and then we can proceed "safely" on our way, with the airbag hopefully operational. That's pretty bad when we already have a ritual to figure this issue out, don't you think"? I did take it to Nissan where I bought it new, 2 years ago and they told me that she doesn't weigh enough for the sensor.. I have a friend who weighs 180 lbs and the light also occasionally goes on with her in the seat!! so, by Nissan's reasoning, then 180 lbs isn't enough to activate the sensor???? she loves it because it makes her feel thinner, but seriously, this is ridiculous! something is obviously wrong with either the airbag or sensor! now, I see Nissan has a recall for this exact same issue that I have been dealing with for 2 years, but somehow, my car is excluded when this is exactly what I have had issues with. What is the reasoning here?" also, I live in Florida, where the humidity is very high and I know there have been many issues with the takata airbags where the humidity is high, like here where I live and drive. Ps, ...other than this, I really do love this car..wish this would get straightened out, or Nissan may have some lawsuits on there hands with regards to these airbags!!

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #239

Sep 272015

Altima

  • miles
The car randomly displays the front passenger airbag deactivation light when the seat is either occupied by someone weighing 130-180 pounds or the seat is empty. All components of the front passenger system have been replaced and recall number 14V138000 has been performed. Since this randomly happens, Nissan says "if they can't duplicate the problem, they cannot and will not fix it." This started at approximately 20,000 miles and has continued since. The vehicle was being driven on the roadway and the light will sometimes come on. A Nissan rep said today, October 29, 2015, that if the front passenger airbag was to deploy while occupied by my wife(5' 5" 180 pounds) or daughter(4' 10" 130 pounds) that "they would be seriously hurt or killed if the airbag deployed." I have pictures and videos showing the malfunction. It has happened on numerous dates.

- Westfield, MA, USA

problem #238

Jul 012014

Altima 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the front passenger seat was occupied but the passenger side air bag off warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the seat was being occupied by a 180 pound passenger. The vehicle was previously taken to a dealer where the front passenger air bag system was replaced. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer who indicated that the system was operating as normal and the failure was undetermined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.....updated 12/30/15

- Westfield, MA, USA

problem #237

Oct 232015

Altima

  • 35,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side airbag light does not cycle off when a adult is on board. This occurs aprox 15% of the time and requires the car to be shut down and restarted. This mitigates the problem most of the time. Car has been in for repairs for this problem on 3 occasions to include the spring 14 algorithm recall. If anything, the computer reprogram made it worse. Nissan dealers have no fix and ignore the problem. Dealer treats me like it is my imagination even though I have video recorded the light on at speed several dozen times. My car is a lease and it is going back in 6 months. This problem is dependent on the "boot" process failing. The light does not come on during travel if it properly cycles when the car is started. If the light successfully goes out 5 seconds after start, it stays out. I am assuming that the passenger airbag is engaged and will function? this problem has occurred from the very first day until now, ongoing....35800 miles.

- Jonesborough, TN, USA

problem #236

Sep 102015

Altima

  • 22,345 miles
I have a 2013 Nissan Altima. The passenger seat air bag occupant sensor comes on showing that the passenger air bag is turned off when an adult is sitting in the seat. The adult is 200 lbs. The light will stay on while driving. My car was recalled for the occupant sensor classification reset. It did not change anything. It still does the same thing. I have complained about it numerous times to the dealer. The dealer says there is no fix for this and no codes in the computer. It seems that if the passenger sits in the car, buckles the seat belt before the car is started then the issue happens less often, as if the car only checks if the seat is occupied on startup.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #235

Aug 012015

Altima

  • 20,000 miles
The passenger side airbag light comes on indicating that the airbag is disabled when a passenger is in the front seat.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #234

Sep 012015

Altima

  • miles
My passenger air bag light intermittently comes on when an adult is seated in the passenger seat. Sometimes it comes on when no one is seated. Soon after this first happened, I received a recall, and on May 9, 2014, took my car to the Nissan dealer. It was "reprogramed" and did not fix the problem. I took it back on June 6, 2014, and the report says "general maintenance". the problem persisted. I took it again on Nov 14, 2014, and the "strain gauge" was reset. I was told to return if problem persisted, which it did (and continues to do). Very frustrated, I returned June 25, 2015. The problem "cannot be verified", so nothing was done. I returned again Sept 8, 2015 and was really truly upset that this serious potentially life threatening problem is still unable to be eliminated. This time I was told that it is a "design" problem and cannot be fixed by mechanics. I was told engineers have been called to the dealership to address this same problem and that they are unable to fix it. I find it hard to imagine that Nissan wants to dust this off. It cannot be fixed" I imagine the next time I go in they will poke out the light bulb, or perhaps put black tape over the light so it won't "disturb" me. Should I just "not worry"? what is the remedy, and how much longer do I have to drive the care with the worry that the air bag will not operate in the event of a crash" I find this intolerable.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #233

Sep 172015

Altima

  • 51,000 miles
My car was a part of the Altima airbag recall in 2014. The action was taken by the dealer. The Altima has always had the issue of the passenger seat not registering it's occupant on an intermittent basis. The only way to have fixed this was to shut my car off and recalibrate the system. Today, nothing was in the passenger seat yet the airbag and seatbelt light were lit. This means that the Altima believed someone was in the passenger seat even though it was completely empty. I no longer feel safe for a passenger to sit in the Altima.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #232

Dec 302013

Altima

  • 100 miles
The vehicle was involve in the 2014 recall for the safety defect due to a computer program could misjudge the weight of the person in the front passenger seat and conclude that a child instead of an adult was sitting there. The local Nissan dealer has tried at lest 5 time times to correct to no avail

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #231

Aug 232013

Altima

  • 500 miles
2013 Nissan Altima sv; passenger side airbag indicator light illuminates, representing that the airbag is off, when a passenger weighing 118 lbs is present in the passenger seat. This is the 5th time reporting issue to Nissan. To repeat issue, park&stop car on hill with the passenger side of car on the downhill side of slope. Have passenger seated and buckled into seat prior to starting car. Light will stay illuminated until car is turned off, passenger exits car, car is turned on and light goes off. In addition, this has occurred while driving on interstate. Incidents captured via video and available for viewing. Incident reported to Nissan after taking to dealer 4 times without resolution. Subsequently Nissan denied requests. Vehicle going for 5th time to dealership on 8/7/15. Https://www.youtube.com/channel/uc7ti0vvaa6P1-lburwfh4tq

- South Park , PA, USA

problem #230

Jul 022015

Altima

  • 66,000 miles
The red airbag indicator light does not go off on my vehicle - the exact symptom listed in recall campaign id PC214. The dealership said that even though my car is a 2013 as indicated in the recall notice that the recall does not apply to my car because the VIN number was not included. My car is the same year, with the same problem indicated in the recall and they want me to pay to have it fixed. I have reported this to Nissan and I am waiting to hear back.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #229

Sep 082012

Altima

  • 550 miles
I have a 2013 Nissan Altima. The passenger seat air bag occupant sensor comes on showing that the passenger air bag is turned off when an adult is sitting in the seat. The adult is 200 lbs. The light will stay on for 15-20 minutes while driving. My car was recalled for the occupant sensor classifacation reset. It did not change anything. It still does the same thing. I have complained about it numorous times to the dealer. The dealer says there is still not a fix from Nissan. I want this fixed. Please help.

- Rossville, GA, USA

problem #228

Jul 052013

Altima

  • 1,600 miles
First and foremost, this vehicle is not safe since the air bag light for the passenger has never worked. More than 6 times the dealer has tried to fix to no avail. I wont let passengers sit in the front for their safety. I always have them sit in the back. It looks like I am their employee/driver. Also a huge problem is the cvt transmission. It shudders, grumbles and the whole car vibrates intermittently. First the dealer said it was the alternator and replaced it, that didnt fix it so they said it was a bolt, that wasnt it, finally they just gave up and said they dont know and "they cant reproduce the problem" its all a scam. This car is defective.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?