ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,165 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1996 Chevrolet Blazer engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Chevrolet Blazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1996 Chevrolet Blazer Owner Comments

problem #15

Apr 232009

Blazer

  • 97,745 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchase my vehicle used on 12/4/01, I have had to replace the temperature gauge every year because it indicates it is overheating. 3 weeks ago it started saying it was overheating and smoke filled the interior of my vehicle with fumes. It was repaired. At 3:15 P.M. today, my car indicates it is overheating and now the service car light is on. This has been an ongoing issue with the coolant system. As soon as I turn the car on it indicates it is overheathing. Happening too many times.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #14

Jul 222007

Blazer 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
The contact owns a 1996 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact stated that the air conditioner would not function. In addition, the radiator hose was leaking and the vehicle was taken to a repair shop for inspection. The contact was informed that there was a crack on the block (heater core) of the radiator. The radiator hose was leaking at the connection of the hose. The vehicle also overheated at times, in which the mechanic stated that this failure was included in NHTSA campaign id number 06E043000 (fuel system, gasoline). The dealer refused to perform the recall repair because other work needed to be done at the contact's expense. The current mileage was 169,123 and failure mileage was approximately 165,000. Updated 09/15/08 the consumer stated brown sludge was found in the radiator. Updated 09/18/08.

- Algonac, MI, USA

problem #13

Oct 312006

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 174,000 miles
: the contact stated shortly after the vehicle was parked, flames were noticed dropping to the ground under the front end of the vehicle. Grey smoke was also observed coming from under the hood. The vehicle burned completely, and was considered a total loss. There was a police report and a fire department report processed at the scene. The heat from the fire melted the rear end of another vehicle parked in front of it, and did moderate damage to a third vehicle parked alongside the second vehicle. Updated 12/01/06.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #12

Mar 222005

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 895,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased 1996 Chevy Blazer 1/15/04 from carmax. Experienced frequent issues with heating and cooling. 3/22/05 1st mechanic found no trouble for 2 days, then determined thermostat was bad. 2nd mechanic replaced thermostat. Broke down twice due to pressure in cooling system forcing radiator hoses off. 6/4/05 mechanic reseated hoses & clamps, replaced radiator cap, and flushed system. 25 miles away from shop temp shot up to 260 degrees and blew all fluid out. Tried refilling and water is rushing out of the radiator end caps as fast as we're filling it. There's an extremely high level of sludge that appears to be dex-cool related in the overflow tank and has also been seen in the fluids that have been draining during breakdowns.

- Lillington, NC, USA

problem #11

Dec 152002

Blazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Our Blazer started over heating, we had it flushed due to a mud looking sluge in the cooling system and a new thermostat put in. About a month later it started over heating again. We again had it flushed and another new thermostat put in. A few weeks later it again over heated we had it towed in and found out that this time it had caused the motor to blow. We contacted GM they said it was not their proublem it was dexcool, we contacted dexcool and they said it was GM's proublem. We got the run around so we contacted the atty generals office and filled a complaint with them.

- Lennon, MI, USA

problem #10

Dec 152002

Blazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Our Blazer started over heating, we had it flushed due to a mud looking sluge in the cooling system and a new thermostat put in. About a month later it started over heating again. We again had it flushed and another new thermostat put in. A few weeks later it again over heated we had it towed in and found out that this time it had caused the motor to blow. We contacted GM they said it was not their proublem it was dexcool, we contacted dexcool and they said it was GM's proublem. We got the run around so we contacted the atty generals office and filled a complaint with them.

- Lennon, MI, USA

problem #9

Jan 222004

(reported on)

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Most of the problems that surfaced had already been repaired at least once. Most of the problems had already been repaired at least once under warranty and have recurred. The A/C seal leaked and needed a pump. There were problems with the idler pulley, oil filter lines, crank shaft, door hinges, power steering, throttle positioner sensor 2, left front axle seal, and the differential side covers.

- Sturgeon Bay, WI, USA

problem #8

Dec 302003

Blazer

  • miles
I have had to change the oil coolant lines on my 1996 S-10 Blazer 5 times since I have owned the auto. I purcheased it in 1998. It was still under warranty then, and the first time they did the work free of charge. Since then, every 12-18 months I find oil dripping in my garage, and I am told it is these lines. I have been told by 3 different mechanics that these vehicles are notorious for this problem. Can't anything be done!!

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #7

Sep 242003

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
Replaced head gaskets at 48K and again at 80K. Either dexcool eats the gaskets, or the gaskets go bad and let air into the cooling system which causes the dexcool to go bad. I read a lot of complaints about dexcool, head gaskets, and 1996 Blazer. There must be a connection.

- Comstock Park, MI, USA

problem #6

Aug 162003

Blazer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
I have a 96 Chevy Blazer with cooling problems. I have replaced the water pump 2 times in the last yr. The radiator needs to be flushed and clean about every 2 months due to slugged and rust build up. I have also had the upper ball joints break on me.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #5

Jan 022003

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,734 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealer replaced heater core due to leak and found sludge in cooling system (dex cool). Heater core replaced and system flushed 4 times. Heater core replaced again on 1/19/03, water pump replaced in 2/03. Radiator has large leak 5/22/03. Sludge visible in radiator and overflow bottle. Dealer/GM indicates problem with sludge build up caused by owner not maintaining system. Head gasket replaced in 2001 and windshield wiper circuit board in 2001 (bad solder joint) - GM indicated the windshield wiper problem not associated with VIN number. All costs out of pocket.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 211997

Blazer

  • miles
Vehicle was running hot, it would go past the half point and then would drop back, dealer states that this was normal.

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #3

Mar 072001

(reported on)

Blazer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The entire engine cooling system failed. Nlm

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #2

Feb 251999

Blazer 4WD

  • miles
Temp gauge climbed into red.per dealer coolent was contaminated. Blazer has never had anyone but dealer perform maintence etc...dealer could not find any reason for coolent to become contaminated. I understand there was infact a bullentine release for this & customers not notified because it was not causing any danger to passengers. However, it was costly to repair.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #1

Apr 041999

(reported on)

Blazer 4WD

  • miles
I had to replace the front brakes and get new rotors after 30,000 miles. Brakes are very loose, takes a lot of pressure to get them to stop. Dealer said my brakes were worn out, and needed to be replaced just 15K miles after the first service. Anti-lock feature kicks in when I drive over potholes or ice, and did not use the brakes. Also, windshield wiper problem. Wipers stop working intermittently. Dealer replaced the motor. Dealer said motor had shorted out, but the problem started to occur again. When the wipers stop and later start, after manipulating the controls, the overhead digital temperature guage turns off and on. Power window stuck in down position. Has been replaced twice. These three electrical problems (wiper, window, digital guage) seem related as they all cause a battery drain as indicated through the volt meter. Battery went dead after 6 hour road trip. Approx 50K miles on vehicle at time. Had been running the A/C the whole time, which seemed to drain battery.

- Reston, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?